Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Something dodge with the Chinese.

• 05-06-2017 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭

So I was chatting to a bloke who knows things. We got talking about Chinese restaurants. Every village in Ireland has one. In my small town there are seven. The bloke and I came to the conclusion something dodge is going on. Tis not food that is the main earner ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

chienese.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

How many Chinese have lived in Ireland and I have never heard of one Chinese funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Biggest Communist Party in the World and, in my view, the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Spice bags though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭elperello

myshirt wrote: »
    How many Chinese have lived in Ireland and I have never heard of one Chinese funeral.

Well you have now.

https://comeheretome.com/2012/08/29/triad-violence-in-dublin-july-1979/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Or a wedding.

Hmmmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I think the same in Spain on holidays.

So many Wok Buffet places, not a sinner in them. Meanwhile an Italian place next door is jammed.

How do they survive?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

How can you not know any Chinese people do I live in some weird ... other alternative universe???

Or a wedding.

Hmmmmm.
    I've been to three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

KungPao wrote: »

So many Wok Buffet places, not a sinner in them. Meanwhile an Italian place next door is jammed.

How do they survive?

Deliveries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Doesn't the Chinese goverment fund it's citizens to open restaurants and set up all over the world?

Thought I heard something about that.

Doesn't the Chinese goverment fund it's citizens to open restaurants and set up all over the world?

Nope. And not all of the Chinese community work in them in Ireland. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Nope. And not all of the Chinese community work in them in Ireland. :)

Yep..some open laundrys!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

So what's the craic, what visa do they get for here?

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Yep..some open laundrys!!
    Or become accountants or work for google.

Aaaand some open laundries.

c_man wrote: »
    Some are born here. They have to put up with us.

c_man wrote: »

Actually, the British government discussed the idea of resettling over 5 million Chinese in the north in the early 80"s

When hong kong was under british rule a lot got british/Eu passports became citizens. Some get student visas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Chinese are slowly, silently taking over the world without firing a bullet.

I was just in UAE last week and it feels like the Chinese outnumber the local Arab population

I for one welcome our new Chinese overlords :)

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Actually, the British government discussed the idea of resettling over 5 million Chinese in the north in the early 80"s
    The finite nature of the 99-year lease..genius. TAKE THAT DEV YOU DAFT GOAT!

rossie1977 wrote: »

I was just in UAE last week and it feels like the Chinese outnumber the local Arab population

I like dragons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭BlinkingLights

Like those irish bars you find literally everywhere...
    (plays dramatic music)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Deliveries
    I don't buy it.

These aren't hole in the wall places down a back alley. I'm talking huge grand places that can seat 100 people, must cost a fair whack to keep them running. Empty at 8pm when other places are out the door.

They probably wash more money than plates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I've been to three.

Don't ruin the conspiracy :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I much prefer Indian or Thai.

Like those irish bars you find literally everywhere...
    (plays dramatic music)

Even IN Ireland. What is with that? I thought we would just call pubs ..pubs.

I much prefer Indian or Thai.
    Also excellent ! nom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

My local Chinese doesn't even have a POS. Further driving easy to hide cash through the business. Layering I think they call that bit (hiding illicit funds amongst legal earnings).

I don't buy it.

These aren't hole in the wall places down a back alley. I'm talking huge grand places that can seat 100 people, must cost a fair whack to keep them running. Empty at 8pm when other places are out the door.

They probably wash more money than plates.
    They just do good service. And a lot of business. They are very hard working. 7 days a week etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Never see an 'omeless one though do you?

Some retire to China.

greencap wrote: »
    Never see an 'omeless one though do you?
    Do you know any ..like as real friends?? They are good peeps :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Like everything, there's an all over the place wikipedia page for it...

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinese_people_in_Ireland

I'm sure the gardai will deal sufficiently with any suspicious dealings, as long as they don't occur within their own organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Also in Kildare Village...although they may just have more money to spend on designer threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

My local Chinese doesn't even have a POS. Further driving easy to hide cash through the business. Layering I think they call that bit (hiding illicit funds amongst legal earnings).

Oh God is it time for the yearly KYC refresher course already (know your customer, anti terrorism anti money laundering course most people in financial services are required to do every year)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

How do they survive?

On a budget I imagine. Was in lidl and scallions are on special at 49c, an oriental woman in front of me had 43 bunches of them, 12 tubs of peanut butter, 10 trays of plums

So in effect when you get Chinese take away it's really all from lidl :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

My local one the other day wouldn't take payment over the phone by card, cash on collection only! That's a new one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭Paleblood

The OP is right. The restaurants are only a front, but only because the real earner is the deliveries. Just look at the size of Irish people these days. The Republic of Lard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

I don't know the Chinese restaurants tend to have at least some continuous business from what I've seen, especially considering their staff costs are probably (illegally) very low.

What I think is dodge is all the 24hr sex shops around places like Dublin in the modern age who needs to buy a skin mag at 4am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Did you know that the Dail and Aras an Uachtaran are both surrounded by Chinese restaurants.

Food for thought.
    Hah, see what I did there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

vicwatson wrote: »
    On a budget I imagine. Was in lidl and scallions are on special at 49c, an oriental woman in front of me had 43 bunches of them, 12 tubs of peanut butter, 10 trays of plums

Only rugs are described as oriental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

vicwatson wrote: »

How do they pronounce Lidl though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

These lads are always in the bookies aswell, and they're not putting on fivers and tenners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

The Economist had a really interesting piece on the Chinese and their attitude to their diaspora and to immigrants within their own country. So on the one hand they see any Han Chinese anywhere in the world as being their people and whose allegiance should be toward the PRC regardless of where they were born. At the same time it's impossible for foreigners to get citizenship in China. You can live there but you'll never get citizenship and have the same rights as the Han. They had an example of a guy who was born in China to Venezuelan parents in the 1960's who had come over under some kind of socialist cooperation. This guy does not have citizenship and now as he comes to the end of his career he won't have access to a pension despite having lived in China his entire life. They also don't take in any refugees (Japan and South Korea have similar policies but the Chinese are the worst on a per capita basis).

link to article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Do you know any ..like as real friends?? They are good peeps :)

righ'

karl pilkington reference an that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,216 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I have heard of one. They have a lovely headstone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Yes / no.

I can't remember the full story, but there was something about ensuring authentic Chinese cuisine was offered.

China Sichaun restaurant in Stillorgan was one such place. (now located in sandyford) I think it was the chef that was sponsored by the regional government.

Edit - found this article in nytimes

The better food in China is being cooked by chefs who have had the advantage of training under the old master chefs: Li Cheng Heng, for example, the Sichuan chef at the Golden Flower Hotel, a joint venture operated by the Chinese Government and a Scandinavian company in Xi'an.

Mr. Li, 42 years old, was also a victim of the Cultural Revolution, but he had been trained by a master chef from the age of 12. He gives full credit to his old teacher, who eventually became a chef at several Chinese embassies abroad, an honor accorded only to the country's best.

As evidence of the Government's renewed interest in its culinary experts, chefs like Mr. Li have been sent to Europe and America to demonstrate Chinese cooking and to work at foreign restaurants. The Sichuan Pavilion in New York is one of the first of these restaurants to employ its entire kitchen staff from China.

My local has been in existence for over 30 years...think they've gone thru 4 calculators in that time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

These lads are always in the bookies aswell, and they're not putting on fivers and tenners.

Asians love a gamble. Vegas pales in comparison to Macau. Even so, every casino here is full of them.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Money from cannabis grow houses isn't going to wash it's self.