Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budget sprayer

• 03-06-2017 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭

Have a 30 year old hardi sprayer here that's never gonna pass the test so I am considering upgrading. For the amount I do its not worth buying a hardi or lemken or the likes. What budget brands, jarmet, Bury., agrimat have people got and how are they fairing out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

was in similar situation, bought a 600 ltr Agrional, very pleased so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

orm0nd wrote:

Where did you purchase? I reckon a 400L will do everything I have to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭fanmanad

Same situation here. Old hardi not worth spending money on. Ordered a 400l jarmet last week with galvanised booms and a self fill pump. Hope to get it tuesday.

fanmanad wrote:
    Same situation here. Old hardi not worth spending money on. Ordered a 400l jarmet last week with galvanised booms and a self fill pump. Hope to get it tuesday.

orm0nd wrote:

Do you mind me asking what ye gave for them? I got quoted 2050 +vat for a 400L carrosprayer up the north and 1750 all in for a Bury a bit more local. The bury sounds like it could be good value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

Quoted 1650 all in for a 400 litre jarmet during the week, 10m Galv booms and Galv frame.

I'm in a bit of a quandary, I have a 400litre gaysa sprayer, working perfect with 10m Galv booms but the frame was only powder coated when new. It is very rusty now. Quoted 850 for a new Galv frame. Hardly worth it?
    Anyone know of a broken sprayer with a Galv frame to suit me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Quoted 1650 all in for a 400 litre jarmet during the week, 10m Galv booms and Galv frame.

I'm in a bit of a quandary, I have a 400litre gaysa sprayer, working perfect with 10m Galv booms but the frame was only powder coated when new. It is very rusty now. Quoted 850 for a new Galv frame. Hardly worth it?
    Anyone know of a broken sprayer with a Galv frame to suit me?

Can't help you but just wondering do you know his much a new 400 litre gaysa sprayer would cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

tanko wrote: »
    Can't help you but just wondering do you know his much a new 400 litre gaysa sprayer would cost?

I don't know but have a feeling they're a good bit more expensive than a jarmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

We've a taral. No bother really. Gaysa are the best and most expensive

1600 up north incl vat for the jarmet. Just happened to get a good deal on the £. A carrarospray was 2400 no self fill and a gaysa was 2750 with a self fill. All galvanised booms. Carrarospray fella didn't know how much self fill was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭adne

1150 euro up north for a 300l jarmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Bought a polish sprayer 1000 litre galvanised for 2500, most fields here are 10 or 20 acre so I got large enough sprayer

kevthegaff wrote:
    Bought a polish sprayer 1000 litre galvanised for 2500, most fields here are 10 or 20 acre so I got large enough sprayer

I think they are nearly all Polish makes??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭susign

Do you mind me asking what ye gave for them? I got quoted 2050 +vat for a 400L carrosprayer up the north and 1750 all in for a Bury a bit more local. The bury sounds like it could be good value.

I have no experience with the bury but I bought a Jarmet last year to cover around 40 acres of cereal crops and spot spraying grass land. I would imagine all of those low budget brands are fairly similar.I paid 2600 euro for mine with galvanised booms included. So far I am happy with it. A new hardy or berhoud would never pay for itself unless you are spraying huge amount of ground

susign wrote:
    I have no experience with the bury but I bought a Jarmet last year to cover around 40 acres of cereal crops and spot spraying grass land. I would imagine all of those low budget brands are fairly similar.I paid 2600 euro for mine with galvanised booms included. So far I am happy with it. A new hardy or berhoud would never pay for itself unless you are spraying huge amount of ground

I bought a second hand 400L hardi last week off donedeal. It had been through the test and was in good order gave 1200 for it.

susign wrote:
    David, you mentioned 17 + VAT for each post. I am hoping that's a typo? Is it not 7 + VAT. I am thinking of trying the clipex system on a few fields in the near future before I invest in replacing the rest. I met the distributor from Agri knives at the ploughing championships and I was well impressed with the product. I think I might use concrete steaks or my own steel posts for the strainers through. I would agree with your comment regarding the stays taking up too much ground, the cost of the end posts is another factor

I bought a second hand 400L hardi last week off donedeal. It had been through the test and was in good order gave 1200 for it.

Sounds like good value for money, at least if it's tested it would be easy enough keep it right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭pure breed

fanmanad wrote: »

Hi Fanmanad can I ask how much you paid and where you got it?
    Quoted €1390 delivered Whites Portadown

Think it was 1150 stg + vat and exchange rate. Yours seems cheap. Is that plus vat? Mine was galvanised with 10m booms!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭4odh4n

any reason why an older sprayer will not pass the test?? we have an old hardi 400l 8m sprayer at home and debating weather or not to refurb it, been to the local hardi supplier and can get all the bits I need for 4-500€, that will replace all parts in the pump, put new springs on the beams (to hold them open / closed) and a new section control unit with pressure regularisation

The thing is going a bomb, no drips, leaks and is very handy wee tool to have. Frame and beams have been strengthened / repaired over the years so going to take all apart and paint it up. it is stored inside all year round and might not even get used some years so very hard to justify a grand+ on something new/er

Am I right that they can only test a sprayer as it came originally?, i.e. they can fail a sprayer on not having a separate mixing tank if it did not have one from new? This sprayer doesn't even have a screw down lid!, just a lid that folds over and locks down, but thats how it was made

Anybody had any joy testing an older sprayer??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

4odh4n wrote: »
    any reason why an older sprayer will not pass the test?? we have an old hardi 400l 8m sprayer at home and debating weather or not to refurb it, been to the local hardi supplier and can get all the bits I need for 4-500€, that will replace all parts in the pump, put new springs on the beams (to hold them open / closed) and a new section control unit with pressure regularisation

The thing is going a bomb, no drips, leaks and is very handy wee tool to have. Frame and beams have been strengthened / repaired over the years so going to take all apart and paint it up. it is stored inside all year round and might not even get used some years so very hard to justify a grand+ on something new/er

Am I right that they can only test a sprayer as it came originally?, i.e. they can fail a sprayer on not having a separate mixing tank if it did not have one from new? This sprayer doesn't even have a screw down lid!, just a lid that folds over and locks down, but thats how it was made

Anybody had any joy testing an older sprayer??
    Who is testing them and has anyone been in trouble yet for using one that isn't tested ? Or for that matter has anyone not been able to buy spray without having the course done ?
    I have a new sprayer and course done but don't think I really needed them now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭pure breed

fanmanad wrote:
    Think it was 1150 stg + vat and exchange rate. Yours seems cheap. Is that plus vat? Mine was galvanised with 10m booms!

Thanks, Yeah it has a lance as well I'm told along with galvanise and the boom I'm not sure if it was 10 or 12 metre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Is it true if you buy a brand new sprayer you don't have to test it for 5 years?
    Just show the receipt to anyone's interested.

Bullocks wrote:
    Who is testing them and has anyone been in trouble yet for using one that isn't tested ? Or for that matter has anyone not been able to buy spray without having the course done ? I have a new sprayer and course done but don't think I really needed them now

Apparently when you get your next Bord Bia audit they are going to look for your sprayer records and cross check pcs numbers and your pu number and look to see that the sprayer is in test. Not sure what happens if your not in the quality assurance scheme though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭4odh4n

Bullocks wrote: »
    Who is testing them and has anyone been in trouble yet for using one that isn't tested ? Or for that matter has anyone not been able to buy spray without having the course done ?
    I have a new sprayer and course done but don't think I really needed them now

I have bought spray, not been asked for PU number (I have one), but name and address is always on the receipt, I have bought spray in NI and not been asked for either.

its a real balls of a thing, impossible to get a contractor to come and spray for an acre of rushes or docks, but its a real mission to get any info on what is required to test a sprayer.

it just keeps getting feckin harder and harder to play by the book... :mad:

4odh4n wrote:
    its a real balls of a thing, impossible to get a contractor to come and spray for an acre of rushes or docks, but its a real mission to get any info on what is required to test a sprayer.

Whereabouts are you there is a lad on donedeal in Roscommon advertising mobile sprayer testing I'm sure a quick phonecall will put you on the right path? Most lads have an ancient sprayer and instead of the repair work have just upgraded.

I agree, would need to do a careful costing on repairing an old machine and consider the annual cost of passing the test over next 5 yrs before spending. A new basic brand sprayer comes in anywhere between 1500 to 2500 euro depending on size and no test required until 5 yrs old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Got a 800ltr Jarmet in the spring for under 2k. Very happy with so far done about 50ac so far this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Got a 800ltr Jarmet in the spring for under 2k. Very happy with so far done about 50ac so far this year

Mind me asking where you got it yellow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

4odh4n wrote: »
    I have bought spray, not been asked for PU number (I have one), but name and address is always on the receipt, I have bought spray in NI and not been asked for either.

it just keeps getting feckin harder and harder to play by the book... :mad:
    Don't get me started , and we eating horse burgers then like . That sprayer course really felt like another soft job for a few lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Bullocks wrote: »
    Don't get me started , and we eating horse burgers then like . That sprayer course really felt like another soft job for a few lads
    I did the knapsack one last year and the one thing that struck me was the difficulty lads had in calculating how much spray to add to the knapsack. There was a wide range in ages and qualifications and the facilitator said it was the same in every course he gave.

The sprayer companies need to be giving simpler instructions to lads like for Grazon90, add 60ml to 10 liters.

If we don't cut out lads adding a few hundred mls to the mix for luck, we are going to lose products like MCPA against rushes.

I did the knapsack one last year and the one thing that struck me was the difficulty lads had in calculating how much spray to add to the knapsack. There was a wide range in ages and qualifications and the facilitator said it was the same in every course he gave.

The sprayer companies need to be giving simpler instructions to lads like for Grazon90, add 60ml to 10 liters.

Very wise words here, I agree with you 100 percent. I did the boom sprayer course, several of us attending the course agreed that we learned at least something from it. Some farmers who are spraying hundreds of acres for years may find it's a waste of time but alot of people (myself included) aren't natural experts on chemicals.

One huge problem is people complain about certain sprays not working properly but the main reason appears to be incorrect use. Adding the extra few mls of chemical to the mix in herbicides usually burns the plant off too quickly and therefore not enough time for the chemical to reach the roots. Overlapping or faulty sprayers can have the same effect.

There's huge cost in spraying so if we can learn to get the most from it we save alot of money by getting it right the first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Mind me asking where you got it yellow?

PM sent