Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Proof that Irish radio and comedy are finished

• 02-06-2017 12:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36

Irelands fastest rising comedian Alison spittle on with irelands best comedian/dj al porter and the hilarious Karl Spain. Mother of god it is diabolical beyond belief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

Irelands fastest rising comedian Alison spittle on with irelands best comedian/dj al porter and the hilarious Karl Spain. Mother of god it is diabolical beyond belief.

Don't like it? Don't listen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭Tayschren

Never heard of any of these, are they good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,604 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Tayschren wrote: »

If your a masochist sure.

I've met two of them and they are lovely people. All three comedians are quite funny, Karl especially. But not everyone likes them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭MortGoldman

Alison is great, delighted to see her doing well for herself, she's a lovely girl.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Went to see David O'Doherty recently, and unbeknownst to me beforehand Alison Spittle, who I had never heard of before then, was on as support. If you ever wanted a a demonstration of what it's like for a comedian to die on their arse, you would have got it that night. Apart from one guy near the front who was inexplicably slapping his thigh as he almost fell off his seat with laughter, there was barely a titter from the rest of the audience. I'm sure she's a lovely woman, but comedy is most definitely not for her and she'd be as well thinking of an alternative career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,358 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

Zaph wrote: »
    Went to see David O'Doherty recently, and unbeknownst to me beforehand Alison Spittle, who I had never heard of before then, was on as support. If you ever wanted a a demonstration of what it's like for a comedian to die on their arse, you would have got it that night. Apart from one guy near the front who was inexplicably slapping his thigh as he almost fell off his seat with laughter, there was barely a titter from the rest of the audience. I'm sure she's a lovely woman, but comedy is most definitely not for her and she'd be as well thinking of an alternative career.

For the benefit of the poster who never heard of Al Porter, he has been all over the tv and radio for the last few years. As regards the radio, he used to be a contributor to Colm Hayes' drivetime show on 2FM. More recently, he has his own show on Today FM at midday weekdays - there is a separate thread on this very forum about that show!! - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057697570&page=25
    He also is now presenting a dating show on tv.

In relation to Alison Spittle, she was a regular contributor to Newstalk's The Right Hook with George Hook in its last year in the drivetime slot.

Karl Spain is a standup comedian who has been on the scene for a number of years and has cropped up on the tv, in particular, on numerous occasions in the past, e.g. The Panel.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

In relation to Alison Spittle, she was a regular contributor to Newstalk's The Right Hook with George Hook in its last year in the drivetime slot.

Jaysus, I'd say that show was an absolute riot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

I'm an open minded kind of person so I watched a half hour of Alison on youtube, all I can say is it's a long way from funny, when I think we had Father Ted and now she is the best we can offer? It's cringe inducing.

Thank god for foil arms and hog is all I say. Head and shoulders above the rest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭buzzwell

Alison Spittle, a "comedian" about whom the Irish Times said "would of" and it never seems to have registered:

"You’d think during the boom someone would of built a vertical drop rollercoaster?"

Would you of Alison?
    Really??

http://www.irishtimes.com/blogs/poplife/2014/08/11/poplives-74-alison-spittle/

buzzwell wrote: »
    Alison Spittle, a "comedian" about whom the Irish Times said "would of" and it never seems to have registered:

"You’d think during the boom someone would of built a vertical drop rollercoaster?"

Would you of Alison?
    Really??

http://www.irishtimes.com/blogs/poplife/2014/08/11/poplives-74-alison-spittle/

It was perhaps a mistake.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Zaph wrote: »
    Jaysus, I'd say that show was an absolute riot.

It was mostly George doing his dirty old man routine and Alison giggling her head off. She has a good giggle, but I wouldn't pay to see her up on stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,735 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

For the benefit of the poster who never heard of Al Porter, he has been all over the tv and radio for the last few years. As regards the radio, he used to be a contributor to Colm Hayes' drivetime show on 2FM. More recently, he has his own show on Today FM at midday weekdays - there is a separate thread on this very forum about that show!! - http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057697570&page=25
    He also is now presenting a dating show on tv.

Karl Spain is a standup comedian who has been on the scene for a number of years and has cropped up on the tv, in particular, on numerous occasions in the past, e.g. The Panel.

You would wanted to have been totally avoiding Irish broadcast media but national and commercial to not have heard of Al Porter for the last few years.

And Karl Spain has been around for at least a decade.

Never heard of the other one I'd have to admit though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There's plenty of great Irish comedy about. One of the issues we have is economies of scale - really good comedians and groups don't get much spotlight without really spreading themselves all over the place. Hence all of popular comedians are radio presenters and/or musicians and/or actors and/or TV hosts.

Ireland is small so there's only so much of that space to go around, and we have a really bad habit of putting people on the air and then never taking them off again, no matter how irrelevant or needlessly expensive they become. Like Pat Kenny or George Hook.

Our really good talent goes to the UK, where there is space on the airwaves and bad presenters get dropped. The likes of Dara O'Briain, Graham Norton, Dylan Moran, Dave Allen, and up-and-coming people like Aisling Bea, have all been immeasurably more successful in the UK than they were or could ever have been in Ireland.

As a result we're often left with a relatively weak line-up. In London I'm sure you can go see an AAA-rated comedian every week, whereas in Ireland there may be two or three really good gigs a year by Irish comedians, the rest are people on tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭optogirl

Thank god for foil arms and hog is all I say. Head and shoulders above the rest

I cannot stand FA&H - saw them at Cat Laughs and it was really painful

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭dbagman

optogirl wrote:
    I cannot stand FA&H - saw them at Cat Laughs and it was really painful

Thank god someone said it. These clowns are horrendous. Seen them a few years ago at electric picnic. The tent was in stitches. Me and a girl that was a friend of a friend were there. We were the only 2 not laughing. Just did not get it at all. The only good thing to come from the experience of seeing them was I now own a house with said girl and are expecting in July. All in the name of some truly sh1t "comedy".

dbagman wrote: »
    Thank god someone said it. These clowns are horrendous. Seen them a few years ago at electric picnic. The tent was in stitches. Me and a girl that was a friend of a friend were there. We were the only 2 not laughing. Just did not get it at all. The only good thing to come from the experience of seeing them was I now own a house with said girl and are expecting in July. All in the name of some truly sh1t "comedy".

Congratulations! Yeah, I accept they are talented but that over the top high energy weak material just really grates on me - they fall into the whole 'Only Irish people will understand this' - followed by 10 observations about the Leaving Cert/Trabolgan/things yer Ma says/Gaeltacht/Crisp sandwiches category. Mildly amusing but not good enough IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Don't like it? Don't listen!

I don't! Makes for interesting reading on here. I can only imagine the OP isn't going crasy and they are muck.

It's this type of carry on why I don't listen to radio anymore, as you said above 'Don't like it? Don't listen!', and I don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭colinod0806

Oh my god it's almost as if comedy is subjective.
    Also, when people put comedy in quotes it makes them seem like a dick. If everyone else in the tent was laughing then it's comedy, whether you like it or not.

The title of the thread leans towards subjective analysis of the Irish comedy scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,692 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Alison Spittle must have an amazing agent because I have absolutley no idea how she gets as much air time as she does. If she played Vicar Street would even 50 people turn up? She's neither funny, intelligent or witty. She tries this zaney approach but it's dreadful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Well said.

Comedy is possibly the art form which riles people who can't understand why others think someone is funny but they don't, more than any other.

If people are laughing, it's comedy. Mightnt be what you like but you have to accept that others do.

Karl is great live. I don't like Al Porter but he can sell out vicar St a few times a year and can tour the country so many people do like him. Alison is creating her own TV show.

Comedy on radio in Ireland is hit and miss. The comedy showcase on RTE 1 being a case in point. Three good comedians but not a great show.

Oh my god it's almost as if comedy is subjective. Also, when people put comedy in quotes it makes them seem like a dick. If everyone else in the tent was laughing then it's comedy, whether you like it or not.

So im a dick for having an opinion? I heard these guys on a Dublin radio morning show recently and it was god awful. They did some skit about lying on your dating profile and it was pathetic. I can only assume as it was the Sunday of electric picnic half the tent was high as kites. In fact a quick glance around confirmed that for me. It's a sad reflection on the state of irish comedy if this is what is passing for it.
    Look I get people have different opinions and that's fine, but I really don't understand how these are making a living (if they even are) out of what they do.

optogirl wrote: »
    The title of the thread leans towards subjective analysis of the Irish comedy scene.

The title of the thread is hyperbole from one of the many drama queens who seem to be attracted to this particular corner of boards.

So im a dick for having an opinion?

Yeah sure, pretend that's what i said if it suits you.

I put comedy in quotes because it's my opinion the tripe these guys are peddling is far from comedy. How that opinion makes me a dick is beyond me. Skits about irish mammies is hardly ground breaking humour.

The title of the thread is hyperbole from one of the many drama queens who seem to be attracted to this particular corner of boards.

Yourself included.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

I put comedy in quotes because it's my opinion the tripe these guys are peddling is far from comedy. How that opinion makes me a dick is beyond me. Skits about irish mammies is hardly ground breaking humour.

I'm a fan of sketch comedy - not such a fan of FA&H but they do extremely well and tour around the country and have sold out Vicar St.

Comedians tend to do their most accessible material on radio so that it appeals to many people.

Des Bishop's Hot Press routine mightened have been ground breaking but it broke him in Ireland (in a good way back then).

You consider it tripe - that is your opinion - it doesn't make you a dick. But for many it is comedy that appeals to them.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I'm fairly well traveled when it comes to Irish stand up comedy having been involved in it in younger, more free-time allowing days.

Most of it is garbage but that's the same everywhere. What we Irish do differently is our celebration of mediocrity. It's probably an RTE thing but it's pervasive enough in society at large. We are also fed some of this garbage by legacy media due to familial or social connections. Go out and watch some of what's on offer on the Irish comedy circuit and decide for yourself but there are lots of genuinely funny stand ups who've never been on the broadcast media channels.

I don't think a discussion on who is funny and who isn't is useful because humour is too subjective. I find the likes of Dermot Whelan and Foil, Arms and Hogg very funny but I dislike the likes Russell Brand and Michael McIntyre.

Everyone loves Tommy Cooper though, right?

zoobizoo wrote:
    You consider it tripe - that is your opinion - it doesn't make you a dick. But for many it is comedy that appeals to them.

I understand that. And the great thing about opinions is everyone has them. But I just genuinely can't understand the appeal of that trio is all I was saying. I'd say I didn't like other comedians but i'd still get the odd chuckle watching them. I can't for the life of me see how anyone could find them remotely funny. I was only agreeing with another poster in my initial comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

I think the quality of comedy in Ireland is terrible too. But then it's not too much different other areas of entertainment. Is Ryan Turbridy really as good as RTE tell us that he is? Ray D'Arcy? I think it has a lot to do with celebrating mediocrity as was mentioned above.

I understand that. And the great thing about opinions is everyone has them. But I just genuinely can't understand the appeal of that trio is all I was saying. I'd say I didn't like other comedians but i'd still get the odd chuckle watching them. I can't for the life of me see how anyone could find them remotely funny. I was only agreeing with another poster in my initial comment.

Ah here careful now, the last time you agreed with someone about the lack of laughs at a comedy show you got her pregnant :pac:

To be fair i fully respect the opinion of those who dont like FA&H. I feel the same way about Tommy Tiernan, Al Porter and Jason Byrne. All three to me are about as funny as the prospect of being told by a doctor that i had full blown aids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭blackvalley

Well you do accept that a tent full of people would disagree with you ?

I think we should just accept and respect the mans opinion and leave the discussion move on here tbf. Agree to disagree. We are all adults here. Just because the consensus likes something it doesnt mean we are all meant to. Im personally a fan of FA&H, a huge fan. Im also a fan of Arsenal and the Tipperary hurlers. I accept that the rest of the world might feel differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I'm fairly well traveled when it comes to Irish stand up comedy having been involved in it in younger, more free-time allowing days.

Most of it is garbage but that's the same everywhere. What we Irish do differently is our celebration of mediocrity. It's probably an RTE thing but it's pervasive enough in society at large. We are also fed some of this garbage by legacy media due to familial or social connections. Go out and watch some of what's on offer on the Irish comedy circuit and decide for yourself but there are lots of genuinely funny stand ups who've never been on the broadcast media channels.

I don't think a discussion on who is funny and who isn't is useful because humour is too subjective. I find the likes of Dermot Whelan and Foil, Arms and Hogg very funny but I dislike the likes Russell Brand and Michael McIntyre.

Everyone loves Tommy Cooper though, right?

There is a contradiction between the first part and the second part of your post. In the second part you state that humour is too subjective to have a useful discussion on who is funny.

But in the first part you have already condemned the tastes of "we Irish" and the "legacy media" as garbage and a celebration of mediocrity. That is your subjective opinion and regardless of anyone else's familial or social connections it does not hold any more weight than those you dismiss in such insulting terms.