Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do GAA lads just love the WhatsApp?

• 02-06-2017 12:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭

Shticks, passion, hurling and the WhatsApp is apparently the order of the day when it comes to the lives of a modren day GAA player.

I've just seen a few articles now from the likes of Michael Duignan lambasting the app and Paul Galvin praising it for bringing a sense of unity to modren GAA teams.

But why WhatsApp and why do GAA players have such an an affinity to the app?

Why not use viber, kik, or teamer?

Do muck head simpletons even know how to use social media, like the YouTube or the Facebook without bringing scandal and drama to GAA? *insert stupid culchie long drawn out ha ha here*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

For the gambling groups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

The guards use Whatsapp as well for on-duty work catching criminals purposes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Shticks, passion, hurling and the WhatsApp is apparently the order of the day when it comes to the lives of a modren day GAA player.

I've just seen a few articles now from the likes of Michael Duignan lambasting the app and Paul Galvin praising it for bringing a sense of unity to modren GAA teams.

Do muck head simpletons even know how to use social media, like the YouTube or the Facebook without bringing scandal and drama to GAA? *insert stupid culchie long drawn out ha ha here*

GAA players use whatsapp because everyone has whatsapp.
    The same reasons anyone else uses it.
    What's the confusion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

elefant wrote: »
    GAA players use whatsapp because everyone has whatsapp.
    The same reasons anyone else uses it.
    What's the confusion?

Lol but my point is that it gets caught up in so much gaa consternation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

I'd assume WhatsApp is just as popular for participants of other team sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Lol but my point is that it gets caught up in so much gaa consternation

If you're referring to the current controversy that I think you are, I've seen similar dramas develop from soccer and rugby groups.

I guess it just happens most of our younger 'celebrities' in Ireland would be GAA players, so more likely to be the individuals in question here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Do muck head simpletons even know how to use social media, like the YouTube

So you want them to make a video every time they want to say something to the lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Seeing as you were able to post that comment on a social media website I would say that the answer is yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Do muck head simpletons even know how to use social media
    How to spot a jackeen in After hours...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Turfcutter

Why do troupes of performing dwarves just love the WhatsApp?