Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best example you've seen of 'money can't buy class'?

• 30-05-2017 6:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭

Needless to say for me, it has to be this girl:

It's not about her being spoiled that I'm arguing but rather how poorly glammy (the irony) she looks.

Don't know many posh people in Blackrock but I'm definitely sure that some would be on the line of this girl.

Kardashians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Conor McGregor.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Denis O'Brien

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭jeanjolie

Candie wrote: »
    Kardashians.

Didn't the Kardashians inherit their wealth from their deceased father?

I've heard that 'money doesn't buy class' applies to 98% people of 'new money' (i.e inherited it rather than earned it)

If that's the case, its no surprise there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Eh if they couldn't afford a ?700 a month mortgage on a house they have "no money".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Judge not lest Yee be judged.

Jealousy is an awful thing.

jeanjolie wrote: »
    Didn't the Kardashians inherit their wealth from their deceased father?

I've heard that 'money doesn't buy class' applies to 98% people of 'new money' (i.e inherited it rather than earned it)

If that's the case, its no surprise there.

I believe it was the manufacture and sale of home sex tapes, orchestrated by their mother, that made them famous and led to them becoming high earners.

Old money refers to money inherited through at least three generations, not self-made monied people, not what you think. New money usually refers to the newly rich who are also brash or vulgar, boasting about all they have, rather than people who simply make a lot of money and are discreet or tasteful about it.

Most people who are very wealthy would be hard to spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

A girl in uni here comes from upper class stock as she puts it. On nights out she exposes her t'ts, was caught giving oral in the toilet and spkts at people when drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭LaChatteGitane

It's not about her being spoiled that I'm arguing but rather how poorly glammy (the irony) she looks.

Don't know many posh people in Blackrock but I'm definitely sure that some would be on the line of this girl.

Blummin' idiots ! Awfully shallow people.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    A girl in uni here comes from upper class stock as she puts it. On nights out she exposes her t'ts, was caught giving oral in the toilet and spkts at people when drunk.

In the UK, upper class refers only to titled people. Not the wealthy upper middle classes. The best indication that she isn't upper class is that she told you she is, not her behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Which uni was that again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Judge not lest Yee be judged.

Jealousy is an awful thing.

I prefer to judge and be judged.

That family seemed working class to me. Tiny room.

In the UK, upper class refers only to titled people. Not the wealthy upper middle classes. The best indication that she isn't upper class is that she told you she is, not her behaviour.

Ah we'll disagree there Candie. Her behaviour is a better indicator of class than a title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

And her accent.

I mean Britain still has downton abbey type people - real old wealth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Melisandre121

Remember the KPMG girl..? Her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Live on a council estate - there's a guy who bought a 17 mercedes benz

And her accent.

I mean Britain still has downton abbey type people - real old wealth.

In fairness she didn't tell me she's upper class. Her supervisor told me she's some line of blue bloods.

Ah we'll disagree there Candie. Her behaviour is a better indicator of class than a title.

Obviously she has no class, which is in common with plenty of upper class types. Class has a few meanings.

What she definitely isn't, is upper class. In any sense of the term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Trump takes it to a whole new level.

In fairness she didn't tell me she's upper class. Her supervisor told me she's some line of blue bloods.

You said she defines herself as upper class.
    A girl in uni here comes from upper class stock as she puts it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

I Know a "spunk tank- Gold digger" that goes out to view properties in Dalkey and sets a target that she wil have this property "by next year", no real expectations in life, just get someone with cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

steddyeddy wrote:

Spitting after giving oral in the jax.

Cover the pints lads.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Stephen Ireland's Range Rover

Stephen-Irelands-Pink-Trim-Range-Rover-500x272.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Wait! What?! She's 11?! :eek:

Also why did they go on this show? It's just an embarrassment for everyone involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Chris Eubank.

756e6d73361815a0f67b95375c7a64ff.jpg

Close thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Has to be Trump with his gold plated everything jumbo jet. He's no better than the Arabs in Dubai who just want the biggest everything, money no object, because they can. You'd think humans would have evolved beyond the impulses of a magpie, some obviously haven't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

mad muffin wrote: »

Also why did they go on this show? It's just an embarrassment for everyone involved.

The parents should have spent some of the money on elocution lessons to get rid of that awful accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

mad muffin wrote: »

Most likely the mother trying to tout some new reality TV show idea now that she's spent her last cent on the child as if the child is some kind of doll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

Heh, a woman from Co Meath comes to mind who posts pics from whatever foxhunting society she belongs to & selfies with her latest BMW up on instagram.

Jumped up bogger if truth be known.

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    The parents should have spent some of the money on elocution lessons to get rid of that awful accent.

Ffs she is just a child.

Yes the amount spent on her is completely ridiculous but to me that interview is a bit too "let's laugh at the non posh family with poor taste".

Leave her be.

McGaggs wrote: »
    Which uni was that again?

LMB Cambridge. She is fit in fairness.

You said she defines herself as upper class.

Ah a mistake in fairness. I left out "friends" who seem to hang out with her for that reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Free-2-Flow

Please define "Class"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Digging up a six year old YouTube to add another 'class' obsessed thread shows some major issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭jeanjolie

Digging up a six year old YouTube to add another 'class' obsessed thread shows some major issues.

Calm down mate, it's only After Hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Live on a council estate - there's a guy who bought a 17 mercedes benz

Mercs can be had for 35k now. You'd get a top spec Skoda for the same money if you wanted. They're not the status symbol they used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

Mercs can be had for 35k now. You'd get a top spec Skoda for the same money if you wanted. They're not the status symbol they used to be.

Truly upper class people drive Volvos... those 20-30 year old tanks of Volvos. Or an ancient Land Rover. They don't give a ****e about a brand new status symbol every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,716 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

John Terry must be in the running multi millionaire and a complete w****r

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

John Terry must be in the running multi millionaire and a complete w****r

You could probably say that about 90% of professional footballers to be fair. And a lot of other sports, American football for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I'm not sure about the last line...I know a couple of them who make certain everyone knows.

As for the OP, one of the above people also lets everyone know how much she has to ''strain'' to ''get a sh** out''.

I'm not sure about the last line...I know a couple of them who make certain everyone knows.

That's a question of personal class rather than social class. You can have one without the other or both. You know people with one without the other.

The former is definitely more important than the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 sqwertypoo1934

Rathkeale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

benjamin d wrote: »
    Truly upper class people drive Volvos... those 20-30 year old tanks of Volvos. Or an ancient Land Rover. They don't give a ****e about a brand new status symbol every year.

Or else the 98 reg estate e300 merc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1 ratbatstoat

Monetary wealth and class are two things that people think ought to be related.

Class is a state of mind. A human quality. A recognition of .... well.....just class.

The snooker player who touches the cue ball by accident but illegally and isn't seen by the ref but owns up and takes the penalty.

That's class.

The millionaire who, although he is surrounded by his peers at an expensive dinner points out that the waiter was correct in pointing out that they were wrong about something.

That's class.

It's not about knowing the name of a restaurant in Monaco, because any clown can do that.

Class is just class. It's decency mixed with a dose of confidence and individuality.

You can read about or attend all the operas you want if you have an 8 figure bank account....and that doesn't mean you have or don't have class. You could be a bohemian.

But if you help the waitress clean up the tray of drinks she dropped afterwards.

That's class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Deagol

Company I work for used to be privately owned by two American guys. One of them owned a Silver Merc with Gold wheels. I was in the head office once and was asked what I thought of it (without knowing at the time who owned it), my description of it as a 'pimp-mobile' brought gales of laughter.

He was in Ireland once and sent his food back to the kitchen of a very expensive restaurant twice saying it wasn't cooked to his liking. Third time the food didn't come back out, the chef did, told him he didn't have pay for any food but he needed to leave :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Jaysus. Six years old....Wait, hold on. That would make her about 17 or maybe even 18?
    How long do we have to wait before it's "ok" to start googling her to see how she turned out?......might be one of those big-boobied glamour ladies now.
    For scientific reasons of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I believe it was the manufacture and sale of home sex tapes, orchestrated by their mother, that made them famous and led to them becoming high earners.

Old money refers to money inherited through at least three generations, not self-made monied people, not what you think. New money usually refers to the newly rich who are also brash or vulgar, boasting about all they have, rather than people who simply make a lot of money and are discreet or tasteful about it.

Most people who are very wealthy would be hard to spot.

Absolutely. My in laws are minted but you'd never think it. They drive a 10 year old car, never get anything done to the house, one holiday a year for a week even though they're retired. You'd think they were just your average joes.

My ex's parents also have a sh*t load of money and you'd know it within 5 minutes of meeting them. Always in holidays in Italy for weeks at a time, brand new cars every year, house is always being painted/extended, she looks like Mr T with all her jewlery, speaks like she's the queen even though she's from Offaly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Or else the 98 reg estate e300 merc

Not a 171 Merc with a Renault engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,660 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Class is a state of mind. A human quality. A recognition of .... well.....just class.
    That's class.

Ahhhhh......that's Bass.!