Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laughing inapporpriately at things

• 25-05-2017 10:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭

Today I was watching Sky News they were doing thier whole Manchester is together in solidarity bit.

It was all very somber serious...

The presenter said 'And crowd sang a song that is synonymous with Manchester'

Close up of crowd.

Crowd: "Sooooo sallly can waaaait she know's its toooo late...."

To be honest I cracked up laughing and turned it off, I was not expecting that!

Felt bad for laughing, but come on?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

When the undertaker came to our house after my dad died, my sister laughed out loud when he talked about double, triple and quadruple graves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Not me, but my wife does. She's got humour, gets the giggles at a funeral.

Today I was watching Sky News they were doing thier whole Manchester is together in solidarity bit.

Close up of crowd.

No need to feel bad. You were not laughing at the tragedy. You were laughing at the banality of the coverage of certain aspects.

Can't remember the exact reason but we all cracked up at my Dad's removal. And he'd have thoroughly approved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Pseudobulbar Affect. = Emotional incontinence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Close up of crowd.

Thats terrible.

If anyone sang an Oasis song as my tribute I'd rise from the grave and kick them in the balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I remember being in Leaving Cert and me and a girl were walking down the stairs messing and she slipped and fell and broke her leg. She was lying screaming on the ground and I ran back to our base room to tell the teacher and she was in the middle of teaching a class. I had the biggest grin on my face saying "Miss, Gemma just fell down the stairs and broke her leg" and then I burst out laughing. She got up from her chair and ran me out of the room! The poor girl lying at the bottom of the stairs legs akimbo
    I don't know what came over me I just got awkward and got the giggles.
    I still do it now if I have to be the one to break bad news, I almost have to stretch my mouth out first to prevent me from smiling.

anna080 wrote: »
    legs akimbo...

"Put yourself into a child"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Close up of crowd.

Same happened to me, except I saw a live bit where around 30 people tried to recreate it ,they awkwardly mumbled the general tune and a concerned reporter looked on with tilted head and pained expression. My mum was watching them and then chimed in and said "God love them, it's terrible...but they shouldn't have let these poor fellas sing".
    She didn't mean it quite as it sounded, but I couldn't help laughing but then also felt bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭MadamRazz

I laugh at funerals and when I see people hurt themselves (especially kids). I cant help it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

I had a bit of a giggle with my brothers walking behind my dad's coffin on the way to the graveyard. I do giggle inappropriately, but what I've been told is its another emotion and sometimes it's better to laugh than cry. :)
    Sometimes we must find some humour in difficult situations in order to cope.
    It does embarrass me sometimes, but most often people understand.
    I'm going through a difficult patch atm, and my bladder is very close to my eyes, I find laughter is so much better than crying . . Crying doesn't make me feel better, I actually get more embarrassed (although sometimes the laughing ends up in a little cry)
    Laughing gives me hope ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭Allah snackbar

Myself and a friend burst out laughing at the part in intermission where Farrell punches the shop girl in the nose , we didn't mean to but it just came out , it wouldn't have been too bad but it was in the common room of a hostel in Byron bay with 10 to 12 Swedish and German backpackers who not only didn't really understand the film nor the 2 clowns who burst out laughing at a women getting her nose broken

I burst out in fits at that girl being pulled into the sea by the Seal this/last week. Though I did have the benefit of retrospect knowing that she survived to walk away from it - but still.

I guess there are many sources of laughter. Mirth. Joy. Derision. Schadenfreude. And much much more. And even the most horrific event can highlight how purely ludicrous our existence is and be a source of dark humour. So yes I think I can find myself laughing "inappropriately" at times - though I would question sometimes whether it is all that inappropriate or not.

Existence is ludicrous at times. Even the most awful things can be laughed at sometimes. And sometimes _should_ be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

A few years ago my mom was on a really high a-frame ladder cleaning velux windows in her kitchen - ceiling is pretty high. Anyway whatever way she moved the ladder wobbled and she fell and landed on her side - pretty much right on her hip, no hands out or anything - slammed onto her side.

I just burst out laughing - i didnt know what to do other than laugh/ My dad came in and nearly punched me, i was standing there laughing and my mom was in a heap on the ground. She was ok after a few days but we still make jokes about me laughing when it happened. I think i got such a shock and she whacked off the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Earl _of _Sandwich

greencap wrote: »
    Thats terrible.

If anyone sang an Oasis song as my tribute I'd rise from the grave and kick them in the balls.

Anyway, here's wonderwall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Parchment wrote: »
    A few years ago my mom was on a really high a-frame ladder cleaning velux windows in her kitchen - ceiling is pretty high. Anyway whatever way she moved the ladder wobbled and she fell and landed on her side - pretty much right on her hip, no hands out or anything - slammed onto her side.

I just burst out laughing - i didnt know what to do other than laugh/ My dad came in and nearly punched me, i was standing there laughing and my mom was in a heap on the ground. She was ok after a few days but we still make jokes about me laughing when it happened. I think i got such a shock and she whacked off the floor.

It's actually a known phenomenon in cases of trauma, that victims (including witnesses) smile/laugh when it happens or when they remember it. It probably doesn't mean that you didn't care, just that you cared so much! Glad to hear your mum is OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

My father died a few months ago, and as that was happening, there was a priest that kept hanging round the hospital, always wanting to pop in for a quick pray over him. We couldn't get rid of him!

Eventually my father was moved to a hospice, and we had a meeting with the staff to discuss certain things. One of the things they asked us about was religion, and my mother, brother, and myself started to crack up, thinking that it was starting all over again. The staff were baffled, shocked even, until we explained it.

But at least we were the immediate family, so we could laugh inappropriately when we liked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

When a nurse came to take my blood tests for what felt like the seventieth time that week and asked me my name and date of birth AGAIN, I started laughing. ''Just in case you take the wrong person's blood'' I said, finding it hilarious for no reason. They scan the name tag on your wrist as well. It's very stringent for some reason. I'll have to watch myself or I'll end up in the psychiatric ward.
    My French teacher told me I had very black humour, but I forget why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Close up of crowd.

I heard that the council was handing out free soup to the crowds. You got a roll with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Can't remember the exact reason but we all cracked up at my Dad's removal. And he'd have thoroughly approved.

Coincidentally, the same thing happened at my dads removal - all because of something as stupid as the way I did my tie. It was really just a release from the **** that had gone on over the previous 2 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

Parchment wrote: »
    My dad came in and nearly punched me, i was standing there laughing and my mom was in a heap on the ground.

Ahm laughing away at that.

Similar story, my ma slipped in the kitchen and I was watching telly. I could hear a faint Niamh...Niamh... I finally bothered to go investigate and was greeted wi my ma doing the splits having slipped on a tile. I laughed so much I had to go out to the garden to let it all out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

I remember watching The Piano.
    A movie about The Holocaust so not exactly fertile soil for laughs obviously.

There is one scene, during the ghetto liquidation where one of the characters, in a wheelchair, is unceremoniously thrown out of an open window by an SS grunt and falls to his death.

There was just something comical about the casualness of it that I just burst out laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Same happened to me, except I saw a live bit where around 30 people tried to recreate it ,they awkwardly mumbled the general tune and a concerned reporter looked on with tilted head and pained expression. My mum was watching them and then chimed in and said "God love them, it's terrible...but they shouldn't have let these poor fellas sing".
    She didn't mean it quite as it sounded, but I couldn't help laughing but then also felt bad.

Utterly disrespectful to the families of victims also.

"Don't Look Back in Anger"

What bereaved parent isn't going to look back in anger at this atrocity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Wardling

I don't understand why but kids falling or getting hurt cracks me up. It's terrible. I'm a sucker for them compilation videos. Sore from the laughter afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

valoren wrote: »
    I remember watching The Piano.
    A movie about The Holocaust so not exactly fertile soil for laughs obviously.

There is one scene, during the ghetto liquidation where one of the characters, in a wheelchair, is unceremoniously thrown out of an open window by an SS grunt and falls to his death.

There was just something comical about the casualness of it that I just burst out laughing.

Actually that reminds me, I was in a fairly packed cinema in Yokohama watching Gangs of New York, and when I suddenly heard a bit of Irish language, I burst out laughing.

Both the Japanese and other foreigners were turning round to look at me, wondering what was so funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

There can be humour in everything. Nothing is off limits.

Back in the 70's Mike Murphy did the sports round-up on the RTE television news. While the newscaster was giving the details of an IRA bomb Mike was off camera but with a live microphone not paying any attention to what was being broadcast. Apparently as reports of dead RUC officers were being read out you could hear him laughing his tits off behind the camera at an unrelated joke someone just told him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭smaoifs

At my grandmother's anniversary mass there was a mother and twin boys in the row in front of us. They were part of the communion prep group so were around 8. They started hitting each other, the mother got between them, she ended up being kicked in the shins. Then the communion group all had to go up to get a blessing from the priest before he gave communion to the rest of us. One of them went but the other refused. The mother tried dragging him out to the aisle but he made himself rigid and ended up on the floor.

I nearly passed out trying to hold in the laughing and my sister nearly went into labour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Dont_zpskymjse5d.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Ninjini

I'm awful for laughing in situations where I feel uncomfortable. Worst of all is during arguments. As the argument heats up I have to stifle a smile or giggle which infuriates my OH, which in turn just makes me giggle more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Ninjini wrote: »
    I'm awful for laughing in situations where I feel uncomfortable. Worst of all is during arguments. As the argument heats up I have to stifle a smile or giggle which infuriates my OH, which in turn just makes me giggle more.

this you?
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDXrP9HET2A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Perfectly normal OP.

You know those days where the sun is shining through the leaves in the trees, you are licking an icecream, and you hear children playing in the distance, and you stop to think "**** it- we're all going to be dead some day!"

Yeah it's just the other side of that coin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I can't help myself. The most awkward was during a presentation, the girl sitting next to me said something funny and the speaker was being so serious, I started howling in the middle of it. She was glaring at me, which made it worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭LushiousLips

Thanks for the laugh guys. I nearly pis*ed myself reading alot of those.
    Couple of years ago there was some church thing on for Easter I think. People walked up the middle of the aisle to kiss Jesus feet on the cross. I was with my brother and his kid who was about 8 at the time. Course me and the 8 year old got into hysterics laughing and I laughed the whole way up the aisle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

A friend and I were putting up sheets of ply on a ceiling, I had the nail gun and ended up shooting a nail right through my thumb. He couldn't contain himself and I quickly followed suit. We were still breaking ourselves five minutes later trying to pull out the nail with a pliers and my fúcking thumb hopping with pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭LincolnHawk

I laughed my head off at Mr Hands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Being in a church is always a challenge for me for some reason. Can never stifle the giggles.

I think the worst case of it was when my mother dragged me along to some ceremony that some locally renowned "faith healer" was doing in the local parish. I was about 15 and at the time our brother was gravely ill and my mother was mad religious, took this notion that we should go and do a bit of spiritual healing on his behalf.

At the end of the mass he did some "laying of the hands" thing where people approached the alter and he placed his hands on their heads one by one (to "cure" them I guess). People started dropping like flies. Literally falling back without even bending their knees and collapsing to the floor. Maddest thing I've ever seen and I went from sniggering when I saw the first person drop to bursting into convulsions of laughter each time someone else went down. The more that dropped the less I could control myself. Ended up being escorted out by a very angry mammy who has still not forgiven me for it:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

on the day my father was buried we had all gone back to the home place after having the customary meal in the local . A neighbor who would have been very close to my father for 40 years called in to see how we were , after i poured him a drink he held it aloft and said ''here i am sitting in your house drinking your whiskey and there's nothing you can do '' well we all took a fit of laughing . It was just what we needed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

When I was about 13, my best friend and I were out hanging around. There was an elderly couple that lived near us and my friends mam use to help them out. Sometimes we would go to the shop to get them bread and milk and stuff too.

The husband of the couple was a bit mean to the wife sometimes though and he was a heavy drinker. My friend and I saw him out in the garden leaning awkwardly against the wall and calling the dog. We told him we'd find the dog but we said we'd help him inside first because he was clearly drunk.

When we were helping him, he stumbled a bit and with that, his wig fell off. I didn't know he wore a wig! And for a couple of seconds i was trying to register what happened, looking at the wig on the ground and then at the man. My friend got into a fit of laughter at the situation and the look of complete shock on my face!

For about 2 days after whenever she looked at me and thought about it, she'd laugh her head off again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭md23040

On a family holiday to Spain in the 1970's my aunt was swimming 20 metres out and laughing her head with large sets of waves smashing onto the shore. We were all grouped under 4 of those straw beach hats and saying how great it was Auntie Jean was having such a great time altogether and coming out of herself ,as she's normally very quiet and introverted. It was infectious watching her laugh more and more with about 15 of us eventually laughing too.

Anyway her Hubbie came back from his lunch at the beach bar and immediately dived in to rescue her since she's a poor swimmer and laughs when nervous.

Bless her when she came back onto terra firma, she was very shook up but saw the funny side of the whole thing. There was something about the 1970's, people were more care free and ambivalent and not so up tight generally about anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

I have this type of immediate shock laugh what I see something I wasnt expecting

tumblr_o0seov214u1qkejxno1_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Friend of mine revealed to me that her dad had electrocompulsive therapy back in the day. Her father has since passed away, so talking about him, and the ECT, is a very sore subject. "Jesus. That's shocking," I go, after hearing about it, a completely accidental joke.

Well I howled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The whole time. I nearly always see a funny side to things, but usually i'm the only one. When i explain why i'm laughing others do see it, but i have a morbidly dark sense of humour. Nothing is sacred with me. And 10 years of being a Garda didn't help. You have to have a "black" sense of humour in the Guards, and that coupled with my own fairly dark sense, i'll laugh at near anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

The whole time. I nearly always see a funny side to things, but usually i'm the only one. When i explain why i'm laughing others do see it, but i have a morbidly dark sense of humour. Nothing is sacred with me. And 10 years of being a Garda didn't help. You have to have a "black" sense of humour in the Guards, and that coupled with my own fairly dark sense, i'll laugh at near anything...

I can never explain why I'm laughing, I'm the annoying person that starts talking and can't actually continue because I'm laughing so much. And then when the other person gets annoyed i know that I should stop laughing and just explain to them what was funny, so I'll pull myself together but then burst out laughing again because knowing that you shouldn't laugh just makes you laugh more. It's actually awful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

md23040 wrote: »
    On a family holiday to Spain in the 1970's my aunt was swimming 20 metres out and laughing her head with large sets of waves smashing onto the shore. We were all grouped under 4 of those straw beach hats and saying how great it was Auntie Jean was having such a great time altogether and coming out of herself ,as she's normally very quiet and introverted. It was infectious watching her laugh more and more with about 15 of us eventually laughing too.

Anyway her Hubbie came back from his lunch at the beach bar and immediately dived in to rescue her since she's a poor swimmer and laughs when nervous.

Bless her when she came back onto terra firma, she was very shook up but saw the funny side of the whole thing. There was something about the 1970's, people were more care free and ambivalent and not so up tight generally about anything.

I had a very similar experience in Bundoran in the early eighties with my sister, she was out ahead of me in the beach and she started to laugh about something, I misinterpreted and thought she was running into trouble in the waves and started panicking and shouting to her which just made her worse. She just thought it hilarious my concern.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Friend of mine revealed to me that her dad had electrocompulsive therapy back in the day. Her father has since passed away, so talking about him, and the ECT, is a very sore subject. "Jesus. That's shocking," I go, after hearing about it, a completely accidental joke.

Well I howled.

I always thought that ECT was a back-in-the-day kind of thing, but actually they still do it in the likes of St Pats. Seems insane to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭md23040

My five year old nephew at the time of the Ireland's World Cup victory to Italy was at mass soon after, proudly wearing his green jersey, and during the consecration bit with the priest loudly saying, with the altar bell chiming "Holy Holy Holy". The nephew takes this as a cue, and equally loudly starts up an "Ole Ole Ole Ole Ole, Oooole, Oooole".

Hard to keep a straight face and burst out laughing.

Mind you the priest in fairness seen the innocence and funny side to it after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

Wardling wrote: »
    I don't understand why but kids falling or getting hurt cracks me up. It's terrible. I'm a sucker for them compilation videos. Sore from the laughter afterwards.

For your enjoyment - https://www.reddit.com/r/ChildrenFallingOver/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Close up of crowd.

At least it wasnt a busker singing wonderwall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

"Put yourself into a child"

had to 'like' this, as it looks like it went "whoooooosh"....

So, you never left , then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

i remember doing a course and there was this polish/latvian man on it. we were all sat round doing some roleplay and had to read out our work, then got feedback. when it was his turn, he read out in this garbled, broken english that foreigners often do when learning the language.

there was an awkward silence in the room for a minute and you could tell the tutor was stifling a laugh as she hesitantly asked us what we thought of it.