Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What kind of farming do you do ? (With poll)

• 25-05-2017 8:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭

Ok i worked out the poll or even a pole for some of ye. 
    Hearing lads give options on here wonder who does what kind of farming 

You can select more than one option

What kind of farming you do? 297 votes

Full time
    0% 0 votes
    Part time
    11% 34 votes
    Not farming
    26% 79 votes
    Dairy
    1% 5 votes
    Suckling
    10% 31 votes
    Other beef
    15% 45 votes
    Sheep
    12% 38 votes
    Tillage
    9% 28 votes
    Farm sold
    1% 5 votes
    Farm leased /rented out (fully)
    0% 0 votes
    Farm leased/ rented out (partly)
    1% 4 votes
    A part of farming family
    2% 7 votes
    No farm
    6% 18 votes
    Work in agri sector
    1% 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

Ok i start.

I part time suckler farmer . Rent out some of the farm as well.

Former dairy full time farmer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Former dairy farmer here as well. Half farm leased out and calf to beef on rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Full time dairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

PT sheep and pedigree suckler farmer, work in Agri Business.

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Former dairy farmer here as well. Half farm leased out and calf to beef on rest.

We should start a support group lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Part time. Suckler cows are the main game but keep a small few sheep because I love hardship and think the neighbours are under stocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Full time suckler. Was part time and will be again in the next few months but enjoying living the dream while I can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Full time Dairy Farmer with the Farm fully leased out too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

Part time suckler man here. Typical Small west of ireland farm not big enough to go full time not small enough to cut with a lawnmower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭mythos110

Part time suckling - 50 cows/3 stock bulls on circa 150 acres of hill farm. Sell about 2/3 of calves as yearlings and the rest at 18-22 months less my own replacements.

Working full time - 12 hours a day from the time I leave until I'm back. Have 2 x kids under 3, cut my own silage/do own reseeding/drainage etc as well. Only use contractor for baling and hedge cutting. Parents are still in good enough shape to keep the show on the road for me but I need a serious re-think in the next 2-3 years, as the wick is well burnt back at both ends at this stage.

mythos110 wrote: »
    Part time suckling - 50 cows/3 stock bulls on circa 150 acres of hill farm. Sell about 2/3 of calves as yearlings and the rest at 18-22 months less my own replacements.

Working full time - 12 hours a day from the time I leave until I'm back. Have 2 x kids under 3, cut my own silage/do own reseeding/drainage etc as well. Only use contractor for baling and hedge cutting. Parents are still in good enough shape to keep the show on the road for me but I need a serious re-think in the next 2-3 years, as the wick is well burnt back at both ends at this stage.

I spoke to another man who sold his cows lately . I said did he miss them or regret. He said no he was able to see his kids grow up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

mythos110 wrote: »

What do you do with all your spare time? :D

Fair play, that's a serious ammount of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

full time , family farm , dairying-forgot to put in the suckler bit- another bit to the thread would be if you have a successor? Interesting that there are so few tillage people

I am actally surprised there part time heavily out weight full time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Working full time for a Veg farm. Stuck down part of farming family as it made most sense!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Part-time sheep here, with most of the farm leased out. Taking it back in blocks thou over the next few years. Getting into beef in 2018.

Don't ever see myself full-time but the aim is to get to 50/50. It's currently 80/20 for office/farm.

Only time will tell if it works out like that.

Re successors: not an issue for me til 2042, unless I move to Mediterranean before then!

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 AgriMad

Dairy farming all throughout the year and same can be said for the agricultural contracting side of my business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Parttime farmer. Both I and the wife work fulltime. Bought the farm in early 2003 with intention of moving there. It is 10 miles from home. It is weanling/store to finish. Try to be in and out under an hour when cattle are outside and 1.5 hours during the winter. Spend 6-8 hours there on a Saturday's and 1-2 hours on a Sunday. Use contractor for silage( except cutting and drawing in) and slurry and have the place fairly well set up.

I am actally surprised there part time heavily out weight full time

Not really unless you have 150+ acres of good land you are unlikely to be able to go full time farming. Most drystock farmers that are fulltime are parttime contractors, tanglers, factory agents, hauliers etc as well. Could count the number of fulltime drystock farmers on one hand locally and full time dairy farmers on two hands. Some of the biggest drystock farmers near me work fulltime as well.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Full time dairy farmer with a young family. Intend continuing as such for the foreseeable.

We have built up our business by leasing, buying and equity arrangements to access land. In our area land freely makes north of €300 per acre. My rule of thumb is >€230 I'm out unless I can put in a roadway and walk a cow to it.

Due to this we have to lease land in other areas where the land is good but price is lower. By far my favourite option is equity arrangements where we share profit with the owner but also the risk.

If my kids aren't interested or capable enough I'll bring in a partner when I decide to retire. Retirement is off the agenda for the moment as I've 4 kids to educate sufficiently to allow them choose their own careers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

According to the poll, 29 respondents are full time farmers and 29 are dairy farmers. Who would have reckoned those stats prior to the poll!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Base price wrote: »
    According to the poll, 29 respondents are full time farmers and 29 are dairy farmers. Who would have reckoned those stats prior to the poll!!

What I cannot understand is the reluctance in IFA to accept this fact. Full time drystock farmer's are few and far between. Most that describe themselves as that are single men (sorry for being sexists) not having to support a family. Anyone that has to earn a real living has something else or a very large holding.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Full time dairy farmer with a young family. Intend continuing as such for the foreseeable.

We have built up our business by leasing, buying and equity arrangements to access land. In our area land freely makes north of €300 per acre. My rule of thumb is >€230 I'm out unless I can put in a roadway and walk a cow to it.

Due to this we have to lease land in other areas where the land is good but price is lower. By far my favourite option is equity arrangements where we share profit with the owner but also the risk.

If my kids aren't interested or capable enough I'll bring in a partner when I decide to retire. Retirement is off the agenda for the moment as I've 4 kids to educate sufficiently to allow them choose their own careers

Unfortunately not every one can be trusted, profit sharing/ equity arrangements sound ideal but lots of cases don't work out. Sharing profit and risk with you might suit you, but some would expect input into planning and management if taking a risk....I suspect you're too long self employed to tolerate that.
    Profit/risk sharing in a tillage situation sounds great too but landowner would need to live in the field at harvest.....amazing with satnavs etc the way loads get diverted/lost in transit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

rangler1 wrote: »
    Unfortunately not every one can be trusted, profit sharing/ equity arrangements sound ideal but lots of cases don't work out. Sharing profit and risk with you might suit you, but some would expect input into planning and management if taking a risk....I suspect you're too long self employed to tolerate that.
    Profit/risk sharing in a tillage situation sounds great too but landowner would need to live in the field at harvest.....amazing with satnavs etc the way loads get diverted/lost in transit.

If a person can't be honest in one's dealings one won't last too long. Seen a good few fly by nights putting their arms around the world go by the way side.

I only deal with families who approach us. I do mean families as in all people living in the house, last thing we need is a dog in a manger if there's a change in family circumstance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

rangler1 wrote: »

Your dribbling shyte, a load off a few dozen acres will be noticed, especially with most combines using yield monitors these days. The way these guys make money is on their charge for the work, anything else is a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭50HX

part time sucklers - sell weanlings in the fall

had to contract out a few more jobs what with young kids (or else i'd be on my todd/wouldn't see them:)

everyones situation is different but there's more to life than been buried in work til all hours every evening...took me to have youngins to realize that

they way we looked at it was that we are both working off farm so let the contracting eat into the bps a little...can't buy time but like i said everyones situation is different