Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uncomfortable truths about modern life?

• 23-05-2017 8:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭

Or life in general that everyone knows but few would ever admit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

We as mega consumers are destroying the planet at an alarming rate and none of us really seem to give a f*ck and carry on as is. We're burning all our bridges with Planet Earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

jeanjolie wrote: »
    It's acceptable to start a thread by just typing in some random question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

People, in general, are *****. You're best just looking out for yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Penny's new gstrings cut the arse off me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

How can anyone assume everyone knows something if nobody else has ever admitted to knowing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭jeanjolie

How can anyone assume everyone knows something if nobody else has ever admitted to knowing it?

Calm down mate...It's After Hours. You're assuming I'm competent typing all these questions :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

People are inherently selfish and most people hate each other. It's only by the grace of God that there isn't complete and utter anarchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,092 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

People start crap threads on Boards.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

We as mega consumers are destroying the planet at an alarming rate and none of us really seem to give a f*ck and carry on as is. We're burning all our bridges with Planet Earth.

and the most powerful man on earth is an advocate of the above :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

We're all dying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

The vast majority of people - even the ones we think are "cunts" - are actually ok and don't deliberately set out to be annoying, selfish or stupid. We should probably be a bit more forgiving of people's everyday faults and mistakes. Only a tiny, tiny number of people are truly bad.

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Penny's new gstrings cut the arse off me :(

Probably not meant to eat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    We're all dying.

From the day you're born.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

My granny used to say 'you sometimes have to listen to thunder' and today you sometimes have to read the dross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

People, in general, are *****. You're best just looking out for yourself.

This mindset is what causes people to become *****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

That the legacy site on mobile doesn't show who started threads so we can Skip them in glee.

Calm down mate...It's After Hours. You're assuming I'm competent typing all these questions :pac:

Oh there's little doubt about your competency. Now there's an uncomfortable truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

True but the planet will be fine. The people on it are f*cked. We are peasts on the surface, It's only a matter of time before we destroy ourselves or the earth destroys us.
    The earth will live on long after mankind is dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Advances in technology are making things an agoraphobe's dream, in not too distant future there could be no need to leave the house, Skype interviews, working from home, online banking, home delivery groceries.....and then this ;-)

http://www.newshub.co.nz/home/money/2017/04/meet-harmony-the-world-s-first-ai-sex-robot.html

Not saying it's all bad.....but I can see a lot more suffering from social anxiety in the future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

We'd mostly never admit it, but we quietly wish to fcuk we'd listened to the older people who told us to learn the guitar and how to dance when we were young.

If you're young, learn to play the guitar and to dance. And not some acoustic yoke - learn Electric.

If you've two left feet and are tone deaf, learn to write code. The world belongs to people who can sing, dance, play guitar or write code..be one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

Beyondgone wrote: »
    We'd mostly never admit it, but we quietly wish to fcuk we'd listened to the older people who told us to learn the guitar and how to dance when we were young.

If you're young, learn to play the guitar and to dance. And not some acoustic yoke - learn Electric.

If you've two left feet and are tone deaf, learn to write code. The world belongs to people who can sing, dance, play guitar or write code..be one.

All Hail our saviour

Justin+Timberlake+Set+Social+Network+2+gaiBOSqvHdbx.jpg

Many parents regret having their children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭pangbang

The most uncomfortable things these days is "truth" itself.

"We all look out for each other on this little planet!" Wrong.

"If we scratch their back, they'll scratch ours!" Wrong

"Biology and science are flexible!" Wrong

"Bail out the banks now, we'll be better later!" Wrong

"Class/money = intelligence, we should show them!" Wrong

"My feelings supercede logic!" Wrong

"Life will be fair for all one day!" Wrong

"Belittling people will bring them to our side of thinking!" Wrong

"Enforcing my subscribed hive-mind opinion will work out great!" Wrong

"If I ignore it, it'll go away!" Wrong

"I have nothing to gain by living outside my enforced bubble!" Wrong

"I don't need to think, because celebrity X told me what to think!" Wrong

"The odds are not stacked against me!" Wrong

"I don't need to think ahead!" Wrong

"Someone else will do it for me!" Wrong

"The media are trustworthy!" Wrong

"Governments have my interests at the forefront!" Wrong

"Lobster is worth it!" Wrong

"Pangbang is wrong!".........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,177 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

It's making people ruder and ruder, more demanding and insistent they deserve it all, the entitlement people feel now is way more than even 10 years ago.

Oh, and Google, alexa and the like should also only help you out if you say please at the end of a query.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

Too many people think they're special and unique when in reality very, very, few of us are.

Too many people use social media for validation.

Too many people think they're entitled to perfection in a partner and won't compromise, when people simply can't be perfect.

Too many people are intolerant of kids, the elderly, each other, and any inconvenience.

Life is nicer when you examine your expectations and prioritize what you allow to upset you. Pick your battles and be kind to yourself and others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

fryup wrote: »
    and the most powerful man on earth is an advocate of the above :(

You're an evil loser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Imagine the amount of damage you did writing that comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

The Chinese are implanting tiny microscopic listening devices in all western children's finger tips via fidget spinners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Manners have gone to fcuk and it drives me mad. Pricks just walking past when you hold a door open. I have actually started saying 'You're welcome'. I may appear mad, but rather mad and mannerly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Beyondgone wrote: »

@Beyondgone
    I wish you weren't right, but you are right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

The Chinese are implanting tiny microscopic listening devices in all western children's finger tips via fidget spinners.

That's a lie. They plant them in phones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Birneybau wrote: »
    Manners have gone to fcuk and it drives me mad. Pricks just walking past when you hold a door open. I have actually started saying 'You're welcome'. I may appear mad, but rather mad and mannerly.

Now I'm nearly 40 and I think people are getting more polite. Feral underclass excluded but they were never polite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Indeed. Smart work is the thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Knowing the right people with a mediocre standard of work gives you a far better chance of getting ahead than being good at your job and working hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭AnnaStezia

Crime does seem to pay.....

Now I'm nearly 40 and I think people are getting more polite. Feral underclass excluded but they were never polite.

I work in an office block and besuited people of both your and mine age are the main culprits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Pre-empted my reply ^

Ireland has a huge class problem.

This place used to be interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

Hard work, talent, and decency are no longer required for success. In fact, some workplaces see them as weaknesses. Ass kissing, back stabbing, and sneakiness seem to be rewarded in a lot of modern offices. The bosses want a bastard who would knife their own granny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

True but the planet will be fine. The people on it are f*cked. We are peasts on the surface, It's only a matter of time before we destroy ourselves or the earth destroys us.
    The earth will live on long after mankind is dead.

While that is true it's not a good excuse to carry on anyway. Its still horrible that we **** up species and ecosystems that are a product of millions of years of evolution.

How anyone can just carry on with everything and have children as if nothing is happening and all will be good... I don't know how they all do it tbh.

AnnaStezia wrote: »

Yup, but the lifestyles crap. It looks good looking in, but inside, it's crap. That one, age and experience has taught me. It's priceless going to bed knowing you're ok and no ones on the way to slot you. 6am comes every day for every criminal. 6am is when the cops call. No crim sleeps well at 6am. It's like their alarm clock. There's always that day when there's the hard knock. That wears thin. Guitarists sleep through till 11. Coders can too, because they're all night-owls. Sleeping well is priceless.

People think that their views/opinions and experience are typical of the country, or world, in general but they are usually wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

IQ is the single most powerful predictor of life outcomes in the social sciences, and yet is 70% or so genetic. You're pretty much born dumb, average, intelligent etc; virtually nothing you can about it in all honesty.

Also there are IQ differences between different ethnic groups, sometimes vast.

Same thing with attraction. You're not good with women or men because you're a nice person, or charismatic or to a great extent anyway. You're pretty much stuck at that level with whatever partner you can get and there's very little you can do about it.

Basically a lot of what is worst about you cannot be changed, or is very very hard to do so. Genetics play a far bigger role in your life than yous would like to admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Logo

AnnaStezia wrote: »

Yeah. In the best little country to do business... if you know where the skeletons are... and bunsen burner is a good little earner at the tax payer expense. Yeah. Justice prevails in this little country... if you were sat next to the judge in secondary school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

It makes no real difference if the vast majority of the population of the planet exists it not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭tracey turnblad

Being a cnut pays off being nice doesn't.

I feel like being Cnut because being nice for me just gets me heaps more ****... one Cnut I know is living the life while I have to pick up the pieces... I didn't ask for any of it... and what annoys me even more is I just can't be a Cnut cause I'm a sap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

People will judge you on your appearance and what you wear. Rocking up to work in a hoodie, combats and 'cons' might be grand if you work in a tattoo parlour, craft beer pub, or as a low-level code monkey/support drone in an IT company. However your one-fingered disdain for the norms of dressing in an appropriate manner for your age and desired role will have consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭pangbang

IQ is the single most powerful predictor of life outcomes in the social sciences, and yet is 70% or so genetic. You're pretty much born dumb, average, intelligent etc; virtually nothing you can about it in all honesty.

Also there are IQ differences between different ethnic groups, sometimes vast.

Same thing with attraction. You're not good with women or men because you're a nice person, or charismatic or to a great extent anyway. You're pretty much stuck at that level with whatever partner you can get and there's very little you can do about it.

Basically a lot of what is worst about you cannot be changed, or is very very hard to do so. Genetics play a far bigger role in your life than yous would like to admit.

Half agree. Most of what makes us is hardwired. BUT determination and clarity of vision can make a huge difference. Its the combination of both positives that's unstoppable, or the combination of both negatives that's unavoidable.

As for attraction, there are so many non-biological things at play, "attraction" itself is not pre-determined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Social Media is fake, utter nonsense, rubbish. I've no idea why we put so much store into it.