Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carpal Tunnel

• 23-05-2017 7:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone suffer from this , I was with doctor today who suggested splints or surgery. Have it in my wrist, probably from milking cows. If so how long was recovery? Also put me on blood pressure meds :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

My oh has it. She does a lot of computer work. Got injections into it but it's a recurring thing with no outright cure. Has a splint that she wears at night too.

It's repetitive strain injury of a type. Unless she stops typing and you stop milking, it's grin and bare it I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Doctor said they could do surgery to release the ligaments? Whats the splint like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It's basically a brace that goes around wrist. Thumb and fingers stick out.

Asked herself. It's actually dequervain's tendonitis that she has. Similar to carpal tunnel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I thought this was about a car port when I saw the heading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Sam Kade wrote: »

Same as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Don't discount the BP issue. Can be hard to get it under control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭jlm29

You can get surgery to correct it, but it's worth trying the splints first to see if they help. It's splints have a metal bar in them the hold the wrist in a straighter position which will help correct the irritation on the tendon.
    Did he refer you to physio? A lot of public physio departments will stock the splints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Sam Kade wrote: »

I thought it was an underpass for cows!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

whelan2 wrote: »
    Doctor said they could do surgery to release the ligaments? Whats the splint like?

My mum has it and has been advised by a specialist to do the surgery only as a last resort if all else fails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Reggie. wrote: »
    Same as

its a fancy phrase for your condition reggie

"**** cramp "

* im sorry mods *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,043 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I noticed the thread title (I'm not a farmer :D:D) - I had this and wound up having surgery on one hand. I'd tried the splints for a few months beforehand but they didn't cure it.

Got the worse hand (my non-dominant one) operated on - I have a 2" scar down the heel of my hand. It was very stiff and tight for a good while, and I couldn't put weight on it for the guts of a year (not that you'd want to most of the time, but I sail and heaving yourself up off the side of a boat is a thing we do often and involves the heel of the hand!)

The op didn't cure it completely - I still get pins and needles occasionally, but it made it a whole lot better - it had been waking me at night before with completely dead hands.

I still have it a bit in my dominant hand but it's not bad enough to look for it to be operated on - given the "disability" from the first one it'd want to get very VERY bad for me to look for another operation!

HTH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Anyone suffer from this , I was with doctor today who suggested splints or surgery. Have it in my wrist, probably from milking cows. If so how long was recovery? Also put me on blood pressure meds :rolleyes:

Just wondering if you swap hands between each row? I used not but I did the FRS milking course a few years ago and milk 'properly' now. I used have bad tendonitis in both elbows each Autumn after the year milking but haven't much now as both arms get equal use.

I was wondering if you had considered doing something like that course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭slo007

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I noticed the thread title (I'm not a farmer :D:D) - I had this and wound up having surgery on one hand. I'd tried the splints for a few months beforehand but they didn't cure it.

Got the worse hand (my non-dominant one) operated on - I have a 2" scar down the heel of my hand. It was very stiff and tight for a good while, and I couldn't put weight on it for the guts of a year (not that you'd want to most of the time, but I sail and heaving yourself up off the side of a boat is a thing we do often and involves the heel of the hand!)

The op didn't cure it completely - I still get pins and needles occasionally, but it made it a whole lot better - it had been waking me at night before with completely dead hands.

I still have it a bit in my dominant hand but it's not bad enough to look for it to be operated on - given the "disability" from the first one it'd want to get very VERY bad for me to look for another operation!

HTH.

Planning to have this done soon. Very informative about your recovery experience. Did you get any physiotherapy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Ive been thru this.... bought the t-shirt/surgery 9 yards.

No 1. In the end, I believe my issue stemed from my shoulders, learn how to stretch and floss your nerves from neck to fingers...

No 2. On a flare up (this time of the year) go to the river with a hot towel.

Dip your hands/wrists in for 20 seconds, then dry with warm towel. do this several times per visit.
    After a week see how you feel.... helped me alot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭148multi

What are the symptoms you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Lose the weight if you need to, I'm on BP meds for about 25years and my stomach is paying the price now, GP was warning me of stomach problems all along, every extra stone increases BP something like 20% if you're prone to BP
    Weight is 100% easier controlled at your age than mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

wrangler wrote: »
    Lose the weight if you need to, I'm on BP meds for about 25years and my stomach is paying the price now, GP was warning me of stomach problems all along, every extra stone increases BP something like 20% if you're prone to BP
    Weight is 100% easier controlled at your age than mine

Ye doing alot of walking at the moment. Bring kids to track most evenings, my ankle is goosed so I just do a few laps walking. Better than nothing . Doing 500k step challenge each month January was hard but should just make it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭148multi

Had both hands done, was struggling to open jars, dropping stuff all the time and some strong pain running down arm into the fingers.
    Was struggling to write my name it was so bad.

Didn't get any physio wore splints before the ops.
    Had my best hand done first (not my domiant one) and other a year later.
    Worked out good.
    That said I know a man that has both hands done twice, I think there's a big element of arthritis in carpal tunnel.
    As I understand it's important to get done before there's muscle wastage, relief should be more or less straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Feckin hell. I thought this condition only affected office workers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭grizzlyadams

My oh had it, she was a beautician and the constant working of the hands was the cause of it, she eventually ended up in santry sports cli ic and got the snip 🥺 and was back at work a week later and hasn't looked back since, fierce painful thing, she tried the splints, everything but twas the surgery was the only solution. Hope that helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Ye doing alot of walking at the moment. Bring kids to track most evenings, my ankle is goosed so I just do a few laps walking. Better than nothing . Doing 500k step challenge each month January was hard but should just make it

well done, I went for the 500k in july and got shin splints (they feel like a fracture) and had to stop for 3 weeks , I'm even still wearing shin supports.... again the difference between your age and mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭dohc turbo2

Have both done here, suffer from Artritis, took a long time to get strength back in wrists to pull stuff , taught I was in trouble , worked out good

Try the ice/cold water therapy... costs nothing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭slo007

Did you get the open release surgery or endoscopic for the carpal tunnel?

Me? open release both hands, long recovery, not fixed, found the ice therapy online and it worked immediately for me in combo with the flossing of the nerve from neck to fingers.. you should find the exercise on youtube. I'd say I had a nerve impingement..

If you go to a surgeon he'll recommend (drum roll)............… surgery of course.