Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The F'arcy D'arcy Show in association with Primetime - 20/05/17

• 19-05-2017 11:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

I just want to point out the only reason I've started this thread is so I could have my Leo Varadkar V Simon Coveney poll.

This week's Guest List

Ken O'Doherty became the World Snooker Champion exactly 20 years ago this month during a nail-biting final that gripped the nation.

I170415_142207_1573652oTextTRMRMMGLPICT000012666057o.jpg

He will be joining Ray on the couch to talk about the highs and lows of his career since then, as well as his memories of his mum Rose, who tragically passed away on Mother's Day this year after a short battle with pancreatic cancer.

Ex-Eastenders actress, Jessie Wallace will drop by with her Redwater co-stars Maria Doyle Kennedy and Angeline Ball to talk all about the RTE spin-off.

Kathleen-Alfie-and-Tommy-shane-richie-jessie-wallace-redwater-eastenders.jpg

Broadcaster Eamon Dunphy will provide some insight into a hugely dramatic week in Irish and international politics.

inpho_00599807.jpg

Forensic cyberpsychologist Dr Mary Aiken will join Ray to outline why it is so important for parents to educate themselves on the threats and opportunities which the internet provides.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/whats-on/whats-on-news/who-ray-darcy-show-redwater-10453833

FG Leadership Poll - Who gets your vote? 52 votes

Simon Coveney
    0% 0 votes
    Leo Varadkar
    34% 18 votes
    Coooorrrrrrkkkkk
    42% 22 votes
    Not Cooooorrrrkkkkk
    23% 12 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

I can't describe Coveney in words, but I have nothing positive to say about him. He represents big business and his thoughts on defense spending raise some concerns.

At least Leo is an educated man, one would hope he has some compassion.

His recent campaign against welfare fraud may be seen as 'far right', but I would disagree. We cannot allow a state to develop where welfare fraud is commonplace, and I am well aware it is only a small minority taking advantage of the system, those that are need to be removed from the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

"Broadcaster Eamon Dunphy will provide some insight into a hugely dramatic week in Irish and international politics."

This is genuinely LOL stuff. As if he's going to educate us all or something. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

riemann wrote: »

Being highly educated doesn't necessarily equate with compassion. It's a complete non sequitur. Leo is an opportunist. He sees which way the wind is blowing and he follows it. He launched his leadership campaign a long time ago, and his growing support is self-fulfilling. The gutless wonders in the FG parliamentary party are backing Leo because if they're seen to publicly declare for Simon Coveney at this stage, they'll be in the political wilderness for as long as this useless government lasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Being highly educated doesn't necessarily equate with compassion. It's a complete non sequitur. Leo is an opportunist. He sees which way the wind is blowing and he follows it. He launched his leadership campaign a long time ago, and his growing support is self-fulfilling. The gutless wonders in the FG parliamentary party are backing Leo because if they're seen to publicly declare for Simon Coveney at this stage, they'll be in the political wilderness for as long as this useless government lasts.

And what will it be replaced by? Surely not that shower that brought us to the cliff edge:mad:?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,748 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I can't describe Coveney in words, but I have nothing positive to say about him. He represents big business and his thoughts on defense spending raise some concerns.

His recent campaign against welfare fraud may be seen as 'far right', but I would disagree. We cannot allow a state to develop where welfare fraud is commonplace, and I am well aware it is only a small minority taking advantage of the system, those that are need to be removed from the system.

His Bilderberg meeting finished him off for me ever thinking anything of him after that.

http://www.thejournal.ie/simon-coveney-bilderberg-conference-1490010-May2014/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I was watching the Nine O'Clock News tonight and I felt sorry for Simon Coveney. He had a number of engagements in Clare today and was interviewed by the media with the two Clare FG TD's at his side, smiling and nodding away like little puppies.

That was until the issue of who they would support was raised by a journalist. Pat Breen gave a nervous laugh and there was a look of fear in Joe Carey's face. Simon saved their blushes by politely kicking the question to touch. A few hours later and the two brave boys come out in support of Leo.

Coveney isn't perfect but he comes across as being more sincere than Leo. Leo is a show man with a fondness for the spotlight. He is a man prone to doing solo runs, like when Alan Shatter was under pressure and Leo made a public statement that the Garda Whistleblower were heroes - he knew that this was going to very popular with public and it had the desired effect, it made him look very good. He has a few advantages over Simon, he has employed some very fine PR/Political advisors who have been carefully working towards this leadership campaign for the last year. He is a better communicator and does the soft focus stuff well - like plamasing councillors, senators, TDs and members of the press. There was great hope that Leo would be a good Minister for Health when he was appointed to the role but he turned out to be seriously underwhelming. I predict it will be the same when he becomes FG leader but I'm happy to be proved wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Seems like it has just gotten interesting.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/exclusive-gloves-off-as-key-coveney-backer-labels-varadkar-supporters-as-choirboys-35735260.html
    Dublin Bay South TD Kate O’Connell also took a major swipe at her constituency colleague Eoghan Murphy, who she described as Mr Varadkar’s “campaign manager”. During a speech at a private meeting in Ennis, Co Clare tonight, Ms O’Connell said she described TDs who have come out in support of Mr Varadkar as “boys that are singing for their supper.”

I do have to agree with her though. I was listening to Paschel Donohue on the radio the other morning, and it was frankly embarrassing. "Leo is great because of this, and Leo is great because of that." I was shouting at the radio "Well why don't you just marry him then Pascal!". It seems like all of this has been contrived and planned very far in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,736 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I think the last few posts have added far more political insight than Dunphy will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I think the last few posts have added far more political insight than Dunphy will.

And all without tears too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

As far as I can recall Dr Mary Aiken is hot.

Ahem, I mean yeah forensic psychology you say, cybercrime...should be interesting.

Eamo is always worth a look I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

But they already are, there are loads of resources already devoted to it. This was Leo playing to the crowd (FG members)

There has been a lot of speculation today that Simon Coveney may pull out of the leadership race. I sincerely hope he doesn't but I would completely understand if he did. I admire the guy for having the b@lls to put his name in the ring, it's more than some of his fellow ministers were prepared to do.

I'm still livid with the two spineless Clare FG TDs - Pat Breen and Joe Carey - I can't believe they posed for pictures yesterday with Simon and declared for Leo a few hours later. I know that neither man with get a position in Leo's cabinet because Leo he is too smart to hire such lightweights. Politics is blood sport folks :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,748 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I thought a few more would put their names forward.

Just watching the 9 O'Clock News....

Leo's campaign is super slick - full marks to his advisers, they're doing an excellent job - Leo's address at his launch had all the look and feel of a Taoiseach addressing the FG Ardfheis.

Meanwhile Coveney's launch in Cork had all the misery of the loser's hotel on All Ireland night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Well folks,

Bit of a mixed bag on tonight..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,297 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Lead-O Varadkar

*puts on sunglasses, leans back in chair*

Just watching the 9 O'Clock News....

Leo's campaign is super slick - full marks to his advisers, they're doing an excellent job - Leo's address at his launch had all the look and feel of a Taoiseach addressing the FG Ardfheis.

Meanwhile Coveney's launch in Cork had all the misery of the loser's hotel on All Ireland night.

Fait accompli.

Only consolation is that Leo will probably become the Fine Gael Taoiseach who's spent the least amount of time in office.

Thats some task ahead of him, fair play to him..

Great cause

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Stupid in my opinion.

This is a bit too gimmicky. I assume he took the concrete block out of it...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭A_smurf

Evening everyone. Looks like it's the penultimate show tonight... *huge sigh of relief* ;)

He is a deter-gent in fairness

Others will have to carry his gear up the mountain, when he could have done it himself.

Good Evening All

10 Boardsies have been knocked off my Christmas card list - ye know who ye are ..... :(

Good looking women for their age

This is probably going to be another diddle-di-idle Ballykissangel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Watching Most Shocking Celebrity Moments Of The 80's.Oliver Reed,now there was a chat show guest:mad:.If only we had him today.

Good Evening All

10 Boardsies have been knocked off my Christmas card list - ye know who ye are ..... :(

Not me, I voted for Simon as he follows me on twitter.

Phew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Just watching the 9 O'Clock News....Leo's campaign is super slick

I've lost a lot of respect for Leo over this. Telling the public that "there is no vacancy" on the one hand, then running back to the war room to plot and scheme. He's obviously had all this charade planned months in advance. The Allies put less planning in to D-Day.

Tonight, I want to be Maria Doyle Kennedy with nicer clothes....I like her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,365 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Angeline still a looker!

I saw Maria Doyle Kennedy playing with The Black Velvet Band back in the day, and now she's a granny :o

I was on holiday in Dunmore East last year, it's a very pretty village. When we went to the local shop we were served by Elaine who won Cabin Fever (2004). Not exactly breaking news, is it :D

Angeline's best work was when she played Molly Bloom in Ulysses. Worth a watch.

They look kind of uncomfortable sitting there together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Yeeeeeee.

Evening all. Half watching, half pouring strong lager into my belly.

I think Maria is naturally very good looking, she has aged so well, very few lines. I want her to go to Imelda May's hairdresser though.

Ray does his best to bring the tone down.

Kat has overdosed on the Botox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I've lost a lot of respect for Leo over this. Telling the public that "there is no vacancy" on the one hand, then running back to the war room to plot and scheme. He's obviously had all this charade planned months in advance. The Allies put less planning in to D-Day.

I never had much respect for Varadkar in the first place, but his recent behaviour has been particularly Machiavellian. Whatever happens, I hope Coveney picks up the majority of ordinary members' votes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 106 ✭✭HankScorpio102

Maria Doyle Kennedy. What. A. Milf.

Tough question.

Don't think I'll risk 2 quid on it.

I think Maria is naturally very good looking, she has aged so well, very few lines. I want her to go to Imelda May's hairdresser though.

She's a good looking woman alright.
    But as you say, just wondering if she does herself full justice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

That new Nissan Micra really doesn't look like a Nissan Micra.

"What was it loike?"
    "Did yeeeee film it?"

How about Elephant McElephant Face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Icsics

Last show new Sat yayyyy!

Plug for RTE1. Do they ever stop?

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Name the elephant....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,365 ✭✭✭✭walshb

His mother, Yasmine...definitely a Dublin elephant..

Ah jaysus, howya...