Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Grassland Ass. Sheep Walk and Talk

• 09-05-2017 3:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭

Is anyone heading to this. ? i wont get to it with work, but would love to sounds very interesting. why to christ cant they have these on a saturday morning? how many full time sheep farmers are there in the country??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Is it something like 60e to get in? Won't be able to go either tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Is it something like 60e to get in? Won't be able to go either tho

Yea €60, groups can do a deal, there's a meal and a bus on the day so it's not that expensive when everything is counted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

Where is it on?

razor8 wrote: »
    Where is it on?

Bloomfield hotel in Mullingar , I think it's morning in the hotel and bussed out to the farm after lunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭sheepfarmer92

Meself and the neighbour are heading to it, we are both full time will be nice to get away for the day, seem like itl be an interesting day, looking forward to hearing isaac crillys talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Enjoy the day lads. Was hoping go, but the gearbox went on my jeep which meant haven't been able to sell lambs recently. Just getting back on the road now and a local butcher rang me looking for lambs for Thursday morning. So heart wanted to go and hear Isaac crilly speak but pocket says need lambs sales in. So enjoy the day, determined not to miss the other big day out in athenry !!!

Let's say if an auld lad and a young lad (sixteen) went would they charge 60each or would the young las get in for free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Enjoy the day lads. Was hoping go, but the gearbox went on my jeep which meant haven't been able to sell lambs recently. Just getting back on the road now and a local butcher rang me looking for lambs for Thursday morning. So heart wanted to go and hear Isaac crilly speak but pocket says need lambs sales in. So enjoy the day, determined not to miss the other big day out in athenry !!!

Is there another day in Athenry this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

The farm is a good spot. Was only there last week. Some amount of grass there

Is there another day in Athenry this year?

Someone on here said 21st June ?

Let's say if an auld lad and a young lad (sixteen) went would they charge 60each or would the young las get in for free

Tell'em you have to babysit for the day, ya might have to sweet talk them to get a lunch ticket for him.......can you register on the day

rangler1 wrote: »
    Tell'em you have to babysit for the day, ya might have to sweet talk them to get a lunch ticket for him.......can you register on the day

I'd be the young lad tho:D

I can picture it now "Jaysus he's a big lad for 16" :D

Reggie. wrote: »
    I can picture it now "Jaysus he's a big lad for 16" :D

Show dem da tractor license shur I'm only 5 eleven anyways;)

What was the event like today ?

Very well attended, a lot of young farmers.
    Isaac Crilly was interesting, He's wintering ewes with soya hulls and soya bean in different ratios as they get nearer lambing along with wheaten straw.
    Philip creaghton reported on the trials in athenry, he reiterated something i said a couple weeks ago..... get as much lamb thrive as you can out of grass, but know when to introduce meal.
    Marketing guys were kinda positive but that brexit is the crux, I think they're hoping english lamb would be blocked from europe.
    The farm walk was very good, there was a lot of messages there but the main one was .....you can grow grass with wire.
    IGA willsurely put the presentations on the day up on the 'net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Thoroughly enjoyed it, great speakers although Brexit really has the potential to fook everything for everyone both sides of this border. The potential to utilise grass was hammered home and seeing it in action was great. I'd love to see me try n spread fert here on 20th Jan and cut it on 8th April. Unreal conditions compared to other parts of the country, but fair play to him.

Did you know Sam Wharry, couldn't believe his death.....he had a lovely farm and manged it well and i'm sure it was a difficult farm

That's my hometown

Reggie. wrote: »
    That's my hometown

Buses didn't go near the city of Castletown Geoghegan,.... we went round by Newells bridge and Dalystown

They went in the back entrance?

Yeah saw them setting the place up yesterday.

What sized paddocks did the afternoon farm have ? Were they reseeds ?

100 to 150 ewes in a group and paddocks weren't much bigger than a hectare,
    he does reseed, but not religiously, one paddock was reseeded mid 1990s.
    He has his own aitchison direct drill so he just sprays off and limes and drills

100 to 150 ewes in a group and paddocks weren't much bigger than a hectare,
    he does reseed, but not religiously, one paddock was reseeded mid 1990s.
    He has his own aitchison direct drill so he just sprays off and limes and drills

Would that be why ye gets better thrive in comparison to you because of the reseeds?

What was the main type of temporary fencing used?

I'm seriously considering trying the maeal and straw feeding. At what cost of a big 8x4x3 would you be paying. At home wed be paying upwards of 40 transport included. So that would be a big turnoff... Also would the **** be very sticky to go down sheep slats

Would that be why ye gets better thrive in comparison to you because of the reseeds?

What was the main type of temporary fencing used?

I'm seriously considering trying the maeal and straw feeding. At what cost of a big 8x4x3 would you be paying. At home wed be paying upwards of 40 transport included. So that would be a big turnoff... Also would the **** be very sticky to go down sheep slats

A few points today, he's selling pre weaning at 19kg dw, i'd be always on the limit allowed, he fed meals from july on last year I didn't start till after the ploughing, his profit wpouldn't be a lot different than mine, Don't know why his output/ewe is only €164.

Temporary fence is tape, he has the quad set up to put it up and he has plenty of reels so he doesn't need to take it down and put it up too often.,

Paying 13 for 4by4 round bales straw, Crilly has mesh floor and he uses wheaten straw and uses very little to stop them pulling it in, they haven't enough to waste, actually there's nearly enough fibre in most rations, you don't needmuch straw at all

A few points today, he's selling pre weaning at 19kg dw, i'd be always on the limit allowed, he fed meals from july on last year I didn't start till after the ploughing, his profit wpouldn't be a lot different than mine, Don't know why his output/ewe is only €164.

Temporary fence is tape, he has the quad set up to put it up and he has plenty of reels so he doesn't need to take it down and put it up too often.,

Paying 13 for 4by4 round bales straw, Crilly has mesh floor and he uses wheaten straw and uses very little to stop them pulling it in, they haven't enough to waste, actually there's nearly enough fibre in most rations, you don't needmuch straw at all

Why wheaten or would barley do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

Would that output not be very good?

That's lambs averaging €97 and selling 1.7 per ewe?

Making no silage here this year. Letting land recover and build up nutrients instead. Going to buy in all winter feed. most probably meal and straw only if possible. I only put them into shed a week pre lambing. How much meal per day would you feed from Nov up till 1 month pre lambing ?

The march lambers would be on grass only here until 20dec and then .5kg of a 14%p ration until 6wks before lambing, singles would then build up to .75 kg/day at lambing and multiples up to 1.3kg/day and triplets to 1.5kg or as much as they can eat. This year i tried feeding the triplets up to 1.3 and feeding that level for maybe 4 weeks before lambing, less chance of digestive upsets, doubles would only be on 1.3kg for a fortnight before lambing
    If you have good grass or silage decrease those recommendations by about .5kg/day
    also put up the protein to 18 - 20% at 3 - 4 weeks from lambing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Farm365

Sounds like a great set-up.What kind of stocking rate does he have? Does he house the sheep for winter? I presume he's moving the ewes daily with paddocks that small? What breed of ewe does he keep?

Farm365 wrote: »
    Sounds like a great set-up.What kind of stocking rate does he have? Does he house the sheep for winter? I presume he's moving the ewes daily with paddocks that small? What breed of ewe does he keep?

600 ewes on 46ha, anymore and he'd need a nitrates derogation, he houses the sheep for the winter,
    he has loads of different ewes, mixes of suffolk, belclare,texel, even charolais but they'd all have some belclare in them.
    Moves them every three to four days this time of year