Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Injured ewe - advice please

• 09-05-2017 9:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭

Walking on the Curragh several evenings ago, I found a ewe lying on her side in an area of gorse. I tried to get her on her feet but she just couldn't stand. To be honest, I thought she was on the way out, so left her alone. I checked back last night expecting to see a dead sheep, but she's still alive! I tracked down a sheep farmer on the Curragh, and he said he'd contact the owner. Unfortunately, the ewe is still there this morning. I was given a number for one of the rangers on the Curragh, but found him the most ignorant, unhelpful a**ehole I've come across in a long while. Where do I go from here? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Not much you can do I'm afraid. Sometimes they go on their back and just have to be righted but in this case it looks like the ewe is not well. I'd say she may have not been vaccinated and has a disease which she will probably die of. If she was mine, I'd bring her in and give her a 3 day course of antibiotics and see how she does. In an area the size of the curragh, I'd doubt if the farmer has seen her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Hotei

arctictree wrote: »
    Not much you can do I'm afraid. Sometimes they go on their back and just have to be righted but in this case it looks like the ewe is not well. I'd say she may have not been vaccinated and has a disease which she will probably die of. If she was mine, I'd bring her in and give her a 3 day course of antibiotics and see how she does. In an area the size of the curragh, I'd doubt if the farmer has seen her.

If I could contact the farmer myself, I'd have no problem showing him where she is. That's the problem though! I was hoping the ranger could give me a contact number for the farmer (I know the farmer's surname), but as I said, he was most unhelpful. I've been going out and giving her water and she's lapping it up (I dragged her into a shaded area of gorse) but with this hot weather I reckon she won't last too much longer out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭jmrc

call into the Garda station, those lads might have a contact number for the farmer/owner.
    or maybe local vet??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Hotei wrote: »
    If I could contact the farmer myself, I'd have no problem showing him where she is. That's the problem though! I was hoping the ranger could give me a contact number for the farmer (I know the farmer's surname), but as I said, he was most unhelpful. I've been going out and giving her water and she's lapping it up (I dragged her into a shaded area of gorse) but with this hot weather I reckon she won't last too much longer out there.

Read her tag number and tell the guards.....they're supposed to be allowed get information about the owner from the dept of agriculture ......a lamb fell off a lorry on the motorway here, I gave the tag no. to the guards and they traced him, he picked him up in a few days, lamb was fine, just a bit sore, came off the top deck too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Well done on doing what you've done so far. In fairness to the ranger it's not his job to make the farmers look after their stock.

You could ring the District vetinary office in Naas with the tag number, it should be in her left ear it's the long 12 digit number that they'll need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Hotei

Thanks all for the helpful replies.
    It's been sorted. I contacted the Dept. of Agriculture, who in turn contacted the sheep farmer. He rang me shortly after lunch to let me know that he picked her up. Not sure if she was going to survive, but at least she won't be suffering out there in that scorching heat.
    Many thanks again to all.