Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Turf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Black turf but don't seem to be much in a load we probably need 2 loads I think it's epensive fuel at that price

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Bullocks wrote: »
    Tradition here is turn , foot and refoot . Torture .
    Some lads will foot it straight up alright .

We used to:

Turn
    Foot
    Refoot
    Home

Gave up the turning about 10 years ago, hasn't made any odds. Now we wouldn't be a year ahead but always about half a year ahead, so fairly well seasoned.

First they came for the socialists...

On refooting, we see it as a nessessity, the bottom two are nearly never fit to come home.

• Registered Users Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Aravo

Feisar wrote:
    On refooting, we see it as a nessessity, the bottom two are nearly never fit to come home.

When box footing the bottom two are troublesome if there are wet spots in the box. But not this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭High bike

Anyone selling turf in the Limerick Tipp Clare area ,can collect

I wonder is turning a hangover from the slane cutting days?

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭anfieldrd

High bike wrote:
    Anyone selling turf in the Limerick Tipp Clare area ,can collect

Sent you a private message.

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭anfieldrd

kerryjack wrote:
    Lads how many yards of turf is in one of those 10 by 6 trailers with rail that are for sale for for 400 quid and how much a yard is it to buy on the flat , just doing my maths here for next year thanks lads.

Probably around 150 yards of 10 sod row, standard 10x6 is 100 yards of 10 sod row, it costs 90 to buy, 20 to foot and around €250 for standard 10x6 trailer.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Feisar wrote: »
    We used to:

Turn
    Foot
    Refoot
    Home

Gave up the turning about 10 years ago, hasn't made any odds. Now we wouldn't be a year ahead but always about half a year ahead, so fairly well seasoned.

Foot here. bottom 2 sods turned 90 degrees to where they were layed originally and flipped over . ( skin side down) all rest footed skin side up

a lot quicker to foot and if it rains like 9/10 other years the turf doesn't soak the water. lads laughted the 1st and 2nd year when we started it but now 3 or 4 other lads doing the same on our bog. refoot the stuff that falls within the first 4 weeks . then home when dry

Foot here. bottom 2 sods turned 90 degrees to where they were layed originally and flipped over . ( skin side down) all rest footed skin side up

a lot quicker to foot and if it rains like 9/10 other years the turf doesn't soak the water. lads laughted the 1st and 2nd year when we started it but now 3 or 4 other lads doing the same on our bog. refoot the stuff that falls within the first 4 weeks . then home when dry

We'll give that a run next year, cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

What are people's opinions of hoppers ?.I have got my turf cut with twelve sod hopper in recent years,found it very labourious to save.Just started footing this years after getting it cut with a six sod.Already feeling that it is much easier with the narrower rows.

• Registered Users Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Aravo

What are people's opinions of hoppers ?.I have got my turf cut with twelve sod hopper in recent years,found it very labourious to save.Just started footing this years after getting it cut with a six sod.Already feeling that it is much easier with the narrower rows.

That's just taking the hardship out of it. Turf is penance.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,505 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

the hardest part of footing turf like that is planning ahead.
    if one person is doing it all then you can work out a system that gives you room but if someone else goes against it then you have no room.

if your working from left to right then you need to start the row of foots as far to the left as possible , preferably outised the line of the row if you can.
    at times all you can do is go higher to regain some space.

an old man near us when he would run out of space would say its like dancing with a beautiful woman in a crowded dance hall, dont be afraid to get u close and dance a close box waltz. then he would do a little dance.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

All turned. Great weather for the bog. Only cut a fortnight.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Is there any worse job in rural Ireland, I've found the few bags of coal and a bit of timber is better than facing the bog, I'm not afraid of work but I hate the big so I don't bother with it

• Registered Users Posts: 11,121 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Is there any worse job in rural Ireland, I've found the few bags of coal and a bit of timber is better than facing the bog, I'm not afraid of work but I hate the big so I don't bother with it
    Picking stones is far worse.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I love the bog. I love footing turf. And I love drawing it home even better.
    I'm old enough to remember turf before the hopper turf took over. It's handy work nowadays.
    When I think of the hardship footing turf after the bagger on a spreadbank that a duck would sink on. Going to the makers name of a wet year load after load. And that was with twin wheels !
    Jaysus it's a cakewalk now. You can drive the family car to the edge of the plot.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,121 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I love the bog. I love footing turf. And I love drawing it home even better.
    I'm old enough to remember turf before the hopper turf took over. It's handy work nowadays.
    When I think of the hardship footing turf after the bagger on a spreadbank that a duck would sink on. Going to the makers name of a wet year load after load. And that was with twin wheels !
    Jaysus it's a cakewalk now. You can drive the family car to the edge of the plot.
    I love the peace and tranquility when footing turf. I leave the phone in the jeep and the rest of the world can feck off for those few hours every evening, although I hate get eaten by the midges :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭I says

Base price wrote: »
    I love the peace and tranquility when footing turf. I leave the phone in the jeep and the rest of the world can feck off for those few hours every evening, although I hate get eaten by the midges :)

Ah suffering jaysus TURF!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

It's turf fever I tells ya, old lads on masseys leading a queue of cars, there's not a tube of grease to be got in the town, random headcases cutting with slanes.
    Its fantastic stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Base price wrote: »
    Picking stones is far worse.

Anyone see the ploughed field on the outskirts of Tullamore heading towards Kilbeggan. Ever time I pass over the past few weeks the mountain of picked stones and rocks pilled up is getting bigger. Must be torture

• Registered Users Posts: 23 hempel

What are lads charging for 8x4 car trailer and fertilizer bags have my own bog at home just wondering is it worth selling

• Registered Users Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

the hardest part of footing turf like that is planning ahead.
    if one person is doing it all then you can work out a system that gives you room but if someone else goes against it then you have no room.

if your working from left to right then you need to start the row of foots as far to the left as possible , preferably outised the line of the row if you can.
    at times all you can do is go higher to regain some space.

an old man near us when he would run out of space would say its like dancing with a beautiful woman in a crowded dance hall, dont be afraid to get u close and dance a close box waltz. then he would do a little dance.

Luckily I have my own bank with drains each side,so don't have to bother about anyone with spreads either side of me.Definitely finding the six sod rows that I got cut this year much easier to work on.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭MfMan

Only ever used a potato fork to unload the trailer; would a beet fork be better...or worse..?
    No quips about tipping please, low shed roof puts paid to that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

MfMan wrote: »
    Only ever used a potato fork to unload the trailer; would a beet fork be better...or worse..?
    No quips about tipping please, low shed roof puts paid to that.

Beet fork can work well in my experience if the sods are fairly short. Longs sods are difficult to sink the tines in and tend to scatter when lifted. The fork is a great tool for the small stuff that's left on the floor of a trailer after it's been unloaded by hand, much quicker than picking it individually.

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Robeman

Saving turf is childs play now given that cut \ spread by machine. My father used to spend over a week cutting turf. Spreading was torture as turf was in a pile after cutting. Footing (or recling as we call it) was a must do and clamping some years, then putting out on side of road and finally bringing home. Now only have to turn and foot (not every year) then bring straight home off bank. It is so easy now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭TooOldBoots

Hopper turf is easier to dry too. Having said that, there's nothing worse than facing into turning a dozen or so hoppers by yourself.
    Help is the key to the bog.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Some week for saving turf.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭memorystick

Don’t do it anymore but made a good few pound when I was. I find now that the first things I need now after the bog are steroids and inhalers. The oul bronical tubes aren’t what they used to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Coming along nicely