Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Land Rolling

• 03-05-2017 12:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭

Did a bit of rolling about 4 weeks ago turned out mighty. Had more to do but felt ground was too dry. With the lack of rain since its now gone to the point now where I have 2 fields that were poached last year and it's difficult to walk them.
    Only thing the ground is now almost brittle.
    Anyone roll land in these conditions and what we're the results like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

same as that, I've have a silage field poached and left it go too dry, I've only a light roller so contractor was in yesterday with a heavier roller to try level it must check it out tonight to see how it went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Just while on the topic why are the bungs on a roller so bloody hard to open? My roller is just bouncing on the ground bought it second hand last year gave a full hour trying to open it last night and did not budge either bung by even a fraction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

20silkcut wrote: »
    Just while on the topic why are the bungs on a roller so bloody hard to open? My roller is just bouncing on the ground bought it second hand last year gave a full hour trying to open it last night and did not budge either bung by even a fraction.
    Silcut try heat or drop off diesel or both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

My roller was filled probably 10 years ago and hasn't been opened since.
    You could have a bigger job on your hands than you thought fighting with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Rollers usually are too light, Tractor is probably heavier on land.
    Roller is about 2 ton spread over 8ft, tractor is 3 ton on the same footprint probably.
    A neighbour here cut holes in the end and filled his with concrete,,,,,no problem getting stuck with that yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

I've heard of ppl putting oil into them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Sand is another handy trick. It mightn't be as heavy as concrete but it will take the shock if you hit a stone.

But answering the original question. Could you get your hands on a land leveller or chain harrow ? Just to take the rough edge off the fields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

lab man wrote: »
    I've heard of ppl putting oil into them

Ours is full of oil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

rushvalley wrote: »
    Ours is full of oil

Is oil lighter than water....it comes to the top if you mix them anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What if the oil leaks or would it ever leak. We opened ours with a big stilson,(sp)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

rangler1 wrote: »

Yeah it's about 90% of the weight of water but I think the idea is it's less likely to freeze and burst the roller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

Machine Oil is 900kg/m3
    Water is 1000kg/m3
    Sand is 1600kg/m3
    Concrete is 2400kg/m3
    Mercury is 13500kg/m3!!! Wouldn't like that to leak out of my roller though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

Yeah it's about 90% of the weight of water but I think the idea is it's less likely to freeze and burst the roller.

Our roller as the same water in it for more than 40 years I say. Never had problem with freezing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Sand is another handy trick. It mightn't be as heavy as concrete but it will take the shock if you hit a stone.

But answering the original question. Could you get your hands on a land leveller or chain harrow ? Just to take the rough edge off the fields

Could do alright.
    One of the fields is handy enough and the cattle are just out of it after giving it a right skinning so I might chance the roller tomorrow evening and see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We've kinda given up on rolling at all.

Contractor said that unless silage ground gets badly fitted or poached then one or two rounds on a field is plenty just to identify any stones knocked out of the hedge.
    He said that the compaction from rolling is too much on clay soils unless it's really really needed and running light stock were not seeing much damage.

Haven't had much poaching problems since we left cows and if we do then chain Harrow followed by quick run of roller.

Roller is full of water for last 35 years, never emptied and never any bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Well checked what the contractor rolled for me last night, just about made a difference leveled the earth well enough but still plenty hoof prints, it'll be grand for him cutting the silage which is the main thing.
    Must get a chain harrow at some stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

If you cant get it open throw concrete blocks on top of it for extra weight

Rollers usually are too light, Tractor is probably heavier on land.
    Roller is about 2 ton spread over 8ft, tractor is 3 ton on the same footprint probably.
    A neighbour here cut holes in the end and filled his with concrete,,,,,no problem getting stuck with that yoke

the problem with lads who go rolling is they expect the rollar to do all the work. They dont realise the weight of the tractor can do the difficult bits more effectively

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Just noticed today that silage fields that got the roller on the headlands all the docks died out where it was rolled. Grass is no way stunted at all. They were rolled when grass was about ankle height and hardly a dock to be seen where it was rolled. Any one else see this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,583 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Just noticed today that silage fields that got the roller on the headlands all the docks died out where it was rolled. Grass is no way stunted at all. They were rolled when grass was about ankle height and hardly a dock to be seen where it was rolled. Any one else see this?
    Don't worry they will come back

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Have often wondered what is the benefit of rolling fields with a good growth of grass on them?

Passed a field on a road last week,looked like a meadow field but the farmer was rolling it.....and there was about a half foot of nice grass growing in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,583 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Have often wondered what is the benefit of rolling fields with a good growth of grass on them?

Passed a field on a road last week,looked like a meadow field but the farmer was rolling it.....and there was about a half foot of nice grass growing in it.

There is idiots and then there are fools a d then there's that fellow

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

There is idiots and then there are fools a d then there's that fellow

Not ideal but that's abit harsh. 6inchs of grass is all that was there at most.
    What I'd be more critical of is rolling at this time of year after the weather we've had. Normally here as a rough rule of thumb if we don't have it done by easter then the grounds to hard to make any difference.
    I roll on closing if I can but if you have to roll later then whatever you do don't do it in the wet and yes there's a point when the cover will be gone to heavy and you will only damage your crop which will take a long time to recover.
    I hate the thought of earth going in with the bales so any poaching always gets rolled albeit allot earlier then this tbf.