Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone cut hay yet?

• 03-05-2017 12:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭

I see the silage thread going and with the weather we're having.....

Anyone cut the hay yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    I see the silage thread going and with the weather we're having.....

Anyone cut the hay yet?

Was thinking this yesterday but too afraid to start a thread on it :D

If ya had the grass it would be a great chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Reggie. wrote: »
    Was thinking this yesterday but too afraid to start a thread on it :David

If ya had the grass it would be a great chance

Who are u afraid of??:D

Don't be afraid to ask the hard questions.:p

I haven't got the grass myself but there's bound to be someone making hay.
    Even with Italian ryegrass or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Neighbour cut tedded and baled rushes does that count.....wouldn't chance it this early

Dozer1 wrote: »
    Neighbour cut tedded and baled rushes does that count.....wouldn't chance it this early

That's Kerry hay.:D

Ah no I'd count that as straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The grass is too leafy yet, imagine trying to get that fit for hay. Jaysus it's hard enough for fellas to know when it's fit during June/July never mind the first week of May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Why does a dairyfarmer need hay ha? I've finally manged to fully cut out hay here, any bales knocking around would always end up getting lobbed into the replacement calves when they should of been on grass!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Why does a dairyfarmer need hay ha? I've finally manged to fully cut out hay here, any bales knocking around would always end up getting lobbed into the replacement calves when they should of been on grass!

Ah just chewing the cud. Wondering if anyone is doing it.
    There's some work and time goes into making hay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Dew is too heavy to save hay. Way too early in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Dozer1 wrote: »

I wouldn't say it's a bit early to cut rushes.
    Have a good few cut here and no bother ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Too early for hay yet. Even last yr 3rd June the day we baled there was a slight dew on the grass. Would take too long to save green leafy grass this early.

It all depends on the humidity of the air.
    The less the humidity and less of a temperature drop at night. The less of the dew fall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

We mowed grass on Monday, kicked it out Tue, Wrapped it today. It was well on the way to hay. Last two days were serious drying days here. Sun with wind. Looking at it today I'd be surprised if it didn't make hay with two more good days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

We mowed grass on Monday, kicked it out Tue, Wrapped it today. It was well on the way to hay. Last two days were serious drying days here. Sun with wind. Looking at it today I'd be surprised if it didn't make hay with two more good days.

No baler refuses hay, I'd say you'd have plenty steam after a few days. I baled hay in 2006 during the very warm spell in July one field was a bit grassy and there was a bit of heat in the bales, no damage though. I wouldn't fancy making grassy bales this day of the year even small squares would heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

I never thought I'd see the day when lads would be discussing hay making with buds still on the trees.....

Well there ya go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

it could be a bad omen though. A dry spring often results in a wet summer.
    2010 was a great spring, also my last summer in bord na mona. The weather broke in July, but by then lots of fodder and peat was harvested.
    2012 also had a lovely mild spring, but a horrific summer that planted the seeds for the fodder shortage that followed in spring 2013. However, 2013 was the opposite. A very cold spring, easterly winds for weeks on end, but a scorching summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

it could be a bad omen though. A dry spring often results in a wet summer.
    2010 was a great spring, also my last summer in bord na mona. The weather broke in July, but by then lots of fodder and peat was harvested.
    2012 also had a lovely mild spring, but a horrific summer that planted the seeds for the fodder shortage that followed in spring 2013. However, 2013 was the opposite. A very cold spring, easterly winds for weeks on end, but a scorching summer.

Last year here in Cavan the spring was good but from end may onwards land got wet and then worse as summer went on, sont think there wasnt much dry weather after that.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    No baler refuses hay, I'd say you'd have plenty steam after a few days. I baled hay in 2006 during the very warm spell in July one field was a bit grassy and there was a bit of heat in the bales, no damage though. I wouldn't fancy making grassy bales this day of the year even small squares would heat.

Another serious day here. Sunny and a savage drying breeze.
    If we didn't wrap yesterday I've no doubt we have hay today.
    Over the years we made enough hay here to know what going to heat and what's not.

Another serious day here. Sunny and a savage drying breeze.
    If we didn't wrap yesterday I've no doubt we have hay today.
    Over the years we made enough hay here to know what going to heat and what's not.

Ya should have pushed on :D

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ya should have pushed on :D

We didn't want hay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

We didn't want hay.

I think Reggie meant for us, so we could all see did the bales heat afterwards... not for ye Genghis...

Jesus, tis all me me me with some people...

I think Reggie meant for us, so we could all see did the bales heat afterwards... not for ye Genghis...

Jesus, tis all me me me with some people...