Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asked for a QUOTE for driveway and contractor started the work

• 28-04-2017 3:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48

Hey all, I'm hoping you can advise me here!
    As I was on the way out the door to work yesterday the contractor doing next doors driveway asked me if I was interested in having mine done.
    He quoted me €4k which was a fair enough price but I told him I wouldn't have that kind of cash available. He then replied that I could pay it off over 2 to 3 months. I said that if this was the case (I had looked him up online and the website led me to think they're a large established business so they maybe have payment plans etc.) I could give him 3 monthly payments of approx €1300. He asked for a €2k initial payment which I refused as I just didn't have that available.
    I then went to work and he rang as I was going through the door. He repeated that he would need €2k so I told him that if he couldn't do the three monthly payments of approx €1.3 that I'd have to leave it off to which he replied "Ah sure we'll sort something out" and started ripping up my driveway.
    When I got home from work it had all been removed along with some of the lawn and there has been no mention of the monthly payments being available. I've given him €1500 and asked his men to stop work as they have the area cleared and the hardcore down, and his version of "working something out" was to ask me to find another €1500 for him by tomorrow.
    Can anyone tell me how to proceed with this? I haven't a hope of giving him the balance even if I just let all my bills bounce and didn't eat this month! This is the website if anyone has had any dealings with them....
    Tagged:

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,447 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Sorry....I can't allow/leave the link up there.

I had a look at the site. No (full) address = dodgy to me!

Really not sure what to advise you to do, other than suggest call the Gardai or a solicitor or both!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 brigadoon

Oh I'm sorry! I didn't realise I couldn't leave a link!
    I'm beginning to think the same :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

brigadoon wrote: »
    Oh I'm sorry! I didn't realise I couldn't leave a link!
    I'm beginning to think the same :(

Contact Gardai asap. This is a well known type of scam amongst some in that "industry"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Tell him to do one.
    If he won't get off your property ring the guards.
    Also haggle a reduced rate if he wants to finish the work.

I rang the Gardai and they're hopefully calling in tonight, although they did say on the phone that this sounds like more of a civil matter.
    I'm not knocking the work that's been done so far, and the lads doing it are very pleasant, but starting a job without agreeing terms and then bulldozing over someone who's made their terms clear (and has told you not to start the job if you're not on the same page) is frightening! My nerves are absolutely shot from the worry all day yesterday in work and from having repeated debates today with this guy :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

I rang the Gardai and they're hopefully calling in tonight, although they did say on the phone that this sounds like more of a civil matter.
    I'm not knocking the work that's been done so far, and the lads doing it are very pleasant, but starting a job without agreeing terms and then bulldozing over someone who's made their terms clear (and has told you not to start the job if you're not on the same page) is frightening! My nerves are absolutely shot from the worry all day yesterday in work and from having repeated debates today with this guy :(

He caused damage to your property without your express permission and trespassed onto your property to do so. I wouldn't let them fob you off with the 'civil matter' line tbh. May be worth getting a solicitors advice on it.

Thanks so much for your comments everyone, honestly the stress of this has my head wrecked. I'm not even thinking straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Don't pay another cent unless all the work is done. You shouldn't have given him anything to start with. Now you are on the hook, he has done money and can leave your driveway in a mess unless you pay up.

Exactly as above.
    They have trespassed and damaged your property.

The fact you are having debates with this person, more sounds like he is putting pressure on you.

Are you male or female, young or old ,
    not that it should matter, but I am thinking these are the type of people that would prey on the elderly or a female living alone.
    Apologies if I am presuming your one of the above, but I don't think they would be pushing there luck if you were a 6ft wall of muscle.

They sound like something out of rogue traders.

I thought I was being dramatic but I felt exactly the same!
    I'm a 37 year old single mother but I've a young looking face so people always take me for younger.
    I just want them to pick up and go! Can anyone venture as to how reasonable it would be to call it quits at €1500 for doing the labour and putting down the edging/hardcore on an approximate area of around 7 x 14 metres?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

I thought I was being dramatic but I felt exactly the same!
    I'm a 37 year old single mother but I've a young looking face so people always take me for younger.
    I just want them to pick up and go! Can anyone venture as to how reasonable it would be to call it quits at €1500 for doing the labour and putting down the edging/hardcore on an approximate area of around 7 x 14 metres?

Was it done correctly or will you have to pay someone else €1500 to fix it ?

I can't understand the gardai thinking this is just civil matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Damien360 wrote: »
    Was it done correctly or will you have to pay someone else €1500 to fix it ?

Easy way out. Like when two cars tip in a Dunnes Store carpark.

From what I can see of the job, if they left now I could secure the access to the stopcock valve with a concrete "island" and order about 5 tons of gravel and it would be fine for a few years at least! I'm just not sure if that €1500 would cover their materials etc and i'm not truing to do anyone over! I also have access to ZERO funds between now and payday so I literally CANNOT give him any more

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,447 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Damien360 wrote: »

I'm afraid that they will try and suggest this!

I checked that company. They are not a limited company. The company name is registered, but, only 2 months ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

From what I can see of the job, if they left now I could secure the access to the stopcock valve with a concrete "island" and order about 5 tons of gravel and it would be fine for a few years at least! I'm just not sure if that €1500 would cover their materials etc and i'm not truing to do anyone over! I also have access to ZERO funds between now and payday so I literally CANNOT give him any more

You've been a victim of extortion, report it to the guards and get them to do their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Sounds very like the behaviour of...

How long did it take them to do all that work?
    What kind of driveway are you getting?
    Gravel or bricks or?

I could be wrong as I am no expert.
    But if they did it right so far ,1500 might be about right if they removed all the soil and put down a thick hardcore base.

Honestly, thank you all for your comments, I have zero experience with anything construction related so although I felt like this was very scary, I wasn't sure that there was anything I could legally complain about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭MAJJ

amcalester wrote: »
    You've been a victim of extortion, report it to the guards and get them to do their job.

Exactly report to guards get a pulse record, this is a crime, record meetings, get support and witnesses. This happened to my father in law a lovely old gentleman who when younger would have beaten them senseless when pushed but no these type of scammers they extort vulnerable people.

XsApollo wrote: »
    How long did it take them to do all that work?
    What kind of driveway are you getting?
    Gravel or bricks or?

I could be wrong as I am no expert.
    But if they did it right so far ,1500 might be about right if they removed all the soil and put down a thick hardcore base.

I was at work for about 8 hours yesterday and they were here taking the driveway up with a mini digger. The digger had sprung a fault by the time I got home so someone was outside working on it, and they were at it all day today. They are supposed to be coming back in the morning to lay asphalt but the issue there is that I was originally told I could pay the work off over a period of three months. If he finishes the job tomorrow I have no access to funds to pay him, which was why I told him not to go ahead in the first place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

I was at work for about 8 hours yesterday and they were here taking the driveway up with a mini digger. The digger had sprung a fault by the time I got home so someone was outside working on it, and they were at it all day today. They are supposed to be coming back in the morning to lay asphalt but the issue there is that I was originally told I could pay the work off over a period of three months. If he finishes the job tomorrow I have no access to funds to pay him, which was why I told him not to go ahead in the first place!

Do not give him a cent from now. Keep a record of any correspondence as well. Send him a message, in writing, telling him that he does not have any permission to carry out further works or enter your property.

This is not legal advice, I'm not a professional, contact a solicitor.

They must be all out for the summer so.
    Because these tarmacaddam experts are around our area too.

First sight of them in there tracksuits and and I thought (well you know) :-D

Also I would go out and dig up some of the hardcore and see how deep it is.
    It should be at least 5 to 6 inches deep for a driveway with Tarmac , I am presuming that there isn't anywhere near that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭gogreen81

Interesting post
    I had a similar incident last year . Took quote from one guy for concrete to put a shed . I said I will confirm but he was insisting as he was saying that he has some nearby work next day . I never confirmed on his repeated request as I wanted to take more quotes . He shook hands to say goodbye
    Next day came back from office and saw concrete work done as he jumped from side gate and opened it to access garden . I called this guy to ask it it was him and I never said yes D he threatened on phone and then came outside my house to threaten x,y,z .
    Decided to pay him for his shoddy work . Calls Garda and they still haven't taken any action . No report as well

This is just scary! I've literally given him as much as I can without my bills bouncing so I don't even have the option of paying him to go away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

XsApollo wrote: »
    Also I would go out and dig up some of the hardcore and see how deep it is.
    It should be at least 5 to 6 inches deep for a driveway with Tarmac , I am presuming that there isn't anywhere near that.

This
    Look you're being duped most likely a couple of inches of hardcore and hate it down with the digger pour some tarmac over it quick roll gimme 2 grand you can pay me the rest later
    Probably won't show faults till the winter and you might have paid but if you call with an issue you get a discount and that's that

People like this tried this crap sucessfully with my Dad when he got sick and they are lucky we called the guards on them. He was an electrician and I'm in the building trade but he still got duped so don't feel bad.
    poor old Dad was embarrassed he had to call me but I got evidence together an expert opinion and then I ran then from the house and the Garda arrested them for something
    No charges but a clear message to leave him alone.

Get it checked no decent tradesman does what you are describing and it's a common thing for people to get caught on

This is just scary! I've literally given him as much as I can without my bills bouncing so I don't even have the option of paying him to go away!

Why would it be scary
    If you are scared call the cops if they are demanding money with menaces that different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭gogreen81

Go to guards personally . Don't rely on phone calls .

gogreen81 wrote: »
    Go to guards personally . Don't rely on phone calls .

Bring your kids and cry I'm not 100-% joking

Tigger wrote: »
    Why would it be scary
    If you are scared call the cops if they are demanding money with menaces that different

I find this very frightening! I literally got up yesterday to go to work and now I'm apparently on the hook for €4k! There's a mini digger sitting in my driveway and I'm being browbeaten by a complete stranger to hand over cash for a job I didn't actually agree to! I don't even know if he will just call it quits and leave or if he's going to get nasty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

I find this very frightening! I literally got up yesterday to go to work and now I'm apparently on the hook for €4k! There's a mini digger sitting in my driveway and I'm being browbeaten by a complete stranger to hand over cash for a job I didn't actually agree to! I don't even know if he will just call it quits and leave or if he's going to get nasty

No offence. But instead of posting on here you should pack your kids and yourself and go down to the local garda barracks. Then get on the phone to your nearest co councillor. Then get on the phone to your local TD.

This builder wont be shy about looking for the remainder of 'his' money. You'd be better off making your own preparations also.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Thread closed for moderator review.