Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Punchestown day 4

• 28-04-2017 5:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭

Riven light 3/1. Petit mouchoir3/1 both should run well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭famagusta

I think definite ruby has a great chance in the mares Chase. Though she'd be half her current price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

RP's description of Labaik today "disgraced himself on Tuesday". Must have gone heavy on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Ben Gadot wrote: »
    RP's description of Labaik today "disgraced himself on Tuesday". Must have gone heavy on him.

Tomorrow's headline will be interesting when he wins today on the bridle ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Wish i had backed Labaik at 18-1 last night, i took 14's, now down to 11's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

The money is coming....Labaik!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

I put it in a Lucky 15 yesterday with Sweet Company, Lydia's place
    And Peculiar places.

Waiting on Labaik for 160 for my 15 euro. So I don't invest anymore on it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Are people forgetting he's a Novice going straight into a grade 1 in his first start in open company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Tomorrow's headline will be interesting when he wins today on the bridle ;)

VVM will be 3 lengths clear at the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Meglamonia

I put it in a Lucky 15 yesterday with Sweet Company, Lydia's place
    And Peculiar places.

Waiting on Labaik for 160 for my 15 euro. So I don't invest anymore on it :)

Will you have any write up today copper?

Heading over myself today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

The money is coming....Labaik!

Took a punt at 16s last night, down to 10 now, couldn't resist, if he starts he'll go, if....

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

Meglamonia wrote: »
    Will you have any write up today copper?

Heading over myself today.

Day 4 of the Punchestown Festival gets under way at 3:40. The opening race is a hunter's chase and there is 12 runners going to post. This isn’t the best of races but it’s one of the older races at this meeting. Enniskillen won well here over the banks on Tuesday over Treo Eile. That horse won the La Touche here yesterday so the form is strong. Shin A Vee is the big danger, this horse has won this race for the last 3 years. He is 14 years old though and his best days may be behind him. ENNISKILLEN ★★ should take this race.

The 2nd race the 4:20 is a handicap chase for novice chasers. The Jessica Harrington trained Woodland Opera looks to have a good chance here. He won at this festival last year and could well win again. He’s starting to get his act together over fences. Diamond King and Le Prezien both disappointed at Cheltenham but could do better here. Last Goodbye who also ran at Cheltenham was very unlucky. He found an awful lot of trouble in running and flew home late to take 5th. Given a clear run today I think he could go close. He’s very unexposed and should put it up to Woodland Opera. LAST GOODBYE ★★★ (E.W) is my selection for this race.

The 4:55 is a mares handicap chase. It looks a tricky race to find a winner of. Slowmotion looks the big danger too all based on his last win. Girly Girl ran an eye catching race behind it then. She is now 8lb better off with that rival today and her trainer Jessica Harrington is in flying form. It’s a tough race but I like GIRLY GIRL ★★★ (E.W) at a nice price.

The 5:30 is the feature race of the week the Punchestown Champion Hurdle. Annie Power is an absentee from the lineup but it’s still a top class race. There isn’t much between the likes of Vroom Vroom Mag, My Tent or Yours, Petit Mouchoir, Brain Power and Arctic Fire in this. Ruby has decided to ride Vroom Vroom Mag. She was a gallant 2nd behind Apple's Jade at Cheltenham. She’ll take plenty of beating here today but the one I like is Petit Mouchoir. This horse has been a big improver this year and was a real good 3rd in the Champion Hurdle at Cheltenham. The interesting running in this race is the Supreme Novice Hurdle winner Labaik. This horse has its quirks as seen here on Tuesday when he didn’t start. There is no doubt he has the ability as seen when winning at Cheltenham. If he starts I think he could run a big race. It is risky backing him though. PETIT MOUCHOIR ★★★ looks the safest bet in this race.

The 6:05 is the champion novice hurdle due to be run over 2 mile 4f. Most of these ran at Cheltenham in the Neptune novice hurdle or the Albert Bartlett. Finians Oscar missed the Cheltenham festival but was flawless when winning at the Aintree Festival. He is unbeaten in 5 starts and looks to be a top prospect for the future. Death Duty was disappointing at Cheltenham but could return to form today. He looked a decent horse before that run. Bacardy’s and Let’s Dance look the best of the Mullins horses in this. Bacardy’s ran bad at Cheltenham and Let’s Dance ran 2nd to stablemate Augusta Kate. Let’s Dance has had a long season though and may find this too much. Finians Oscar is the fresh horse and his trainer Colin Tizzard is in top form. I’m going to go with FINIANS OSCAR ★★★★ over Death Duty.

The 6:40 is the champion hunters chase. On The Fringe was given a poor ride when placed at Cheltenham and pulled up in the Foxhunters at Aintree. I think he’ll be much better back on his favourite track and he has won this race for the past 2 years. Balnaslow looks to be the main danger but I think ON THE FRINGE ★★★★ will take this. The 7:10 is novice hurdle with 10 runners going to post. This looks a match between the Mullins duo of Riven Light and Montalbano. Riven Light is a promising sort but his jumping has let him down this season. He jumped better at Fairyhouse last time out in a better race. His owner Rich Ricci said that Punchestown was always the target and I think RIVEN LIGHT ★★★ can win today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

I think the good ground and step up in trip will bring on plenty of improvement in Outspoken in the 6.05. Will need Finians Oscar to run below form but taking a chance at 16s.

Three Wise Men at 14s looks a reasonable bit of value through form lines through Last Goodbye and Le Prezien in the second.

Elusive Ivy in the 4.55 looks very well handicapped versus some of her rivals and might go off fav, taken the 8s.

Going today so praying Labaik jumps off and we see how good he could be but the plunge this morning is a bit nutty for me..

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Girly girl@11/1
    Enniskillen@9/4
    Balko des flos@15/2
    VVM@4/1
    Fijians Oscar@7/4
    Monsieur Gibraltar@13/2
    Riven Light@9/4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

When you try and take advantage of Betvictor's offer...

MfEMFJW.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

Not puchestown but I've noticed horses from Richard Hannon stable are being overpriced quite regularly this year.
    The stable jockey is Sean leavy and he has gone to Doncaster instead of sandown where I think look kompany will win, so I will follow his rides at Doncaster which are big enough prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Surely Labaik is a rank price even if starting?

The 2mile novices have hardly proven any great shakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

I think the 2mile open division this year is piss poor

And wouldn't be surprised to see a novice take a step up to it in his stride

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭WickIow Brave

I reckon Labaik might be on a going day today lads. I've backed the divil anyway.

Also done:
    Retour en France (7/1) e/w
    Let's Dance (5/1)
    Montalbano (9/2)

I think Montalbano is actually the stable first string, WP has put Patrick on him to help in the amateur title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭irish_major

I think the 2mile open division this year is piss poor

And wouldn't be surprised to see a novice take a step up to it in his stride

This

The more I look, the more I think that if the little ****er jumps off he wins.
    The time in the supreme was 1 second slower than the champion hurdle. Rashann might be worth a tiny each way also.

I reckon Labaik might be on a going day today lads. I've backed the divil anyway.

Also done:
    Retour en France (7/1) e/w
    Let's Dance (5/1)
    Montalbano (9/2)

I think Montalbano is actually the stable first string, WP has put Patrick on him to help in the amateur title.

Added Balko des Flos e/w (7/1) in the 4:20.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The stable jockey is Sean leavy and he has gone to Doncaster instead of sandown where I think look kompany will win, so I will follow his rides at Doncaster which are big enough prices

Pat Dobbs is every bit as much the stable jockey as Levey!

Labaik should have no problem jumping off today with the application of a visor (money).

Labaik is getting ridiculously short, biggest price 8/1. I'd say you can guarantee he's going to start. Arctic Fire is now out to 6/1, that is absolutely massive. I can only see 2 winning the race - AF and Labaik. I'd give outside squeaks to WickIow Brave and Diakali.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

Labaik is getting ridiculously short, biggest price 8/1. I'd say you can guarantee he's going to start. Arctic Fire is now out to 6/1, that is absolutely massive. I can only see 2 winning the race - AF and Labaik. I'd give outside squeaks to WickIow Brave and Diakali.

Petit Mouchoir is gone out of the market which explains a good chunk of his shortening up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

beertons wrote: »
    Girly girl@11/1
    Enniskillen@9/4
    Balko des flos@15/2
    VVM@4/1
    Fijians Oscar@7/4
    Monsieur Gibraltar@13/2
    Riven Light@9/4

Singles or did you do a Super Heinz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Messi19

Petit Mouchoir is gone out of the market which explains a good chunk of his shortening up.

Rule 4 will apply now I'd guess but I hope I'm wrong

Warthog (4/1) in the last at Punchestown.
    Deauville (5/1) in the 2:20 at Sandown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭dk6dk6

Messi19 wrote: »
    Rule 4 will apply now I'd guess but I hope I'm wrong

20 cent rule 4 prior to 11.25

Heroditas wrote: »
    Singles or did you do a Super Heinz?

5c per line, ew super heinz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

@wicklow brave. I was actually more interested in Cougar Mountain in the G2 today (7/1!!!). Think Cox's horse will win the race Deauville is in.

At Punchestown, my each way

420 Balko Des Flos 15/2 (first time in a Hcap chase)
    455 Elusive Ivy 7/1
    530 VVM 4/1 (although ID Thief is tempting at 50s!)
    605 Death Duty 7/2
    745 Warthog 9/2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Shanee.

Punted Labaik at 16s Tuesday when he didn't start. Surely he jumps off today the way the money is speaking. Interestingly enough he drifted hard on Tuesday 9/4 to 4.6 at the off ...

STB. wrote: »
    @wicklow brave. I was actually more interested in Cougar Mountain in the G2 today (7/1!!!). Think Cox's horse will win the race Deauville is in.

I think My Dream Boat wants it softer. Yeah I might chance Cougar Mountain aswell actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

Shanee. wrote: »
    Punted Labaik at 16s Tuesday when he didn't start. Surely he jumps off today the way the money is speaking. Interestingly enough he drifted hard on Tuesday 9/4 to 4.6 at the off ...

If he jumps off and wins today I'll be a tad suspicious that his quirkiness has been "facilitated" at times. No gamble on him Tuesday, not a squeak, refuses and is given a big price in this race then is subsequently smashed in from 16's to 8's.

I backed him in the Supreme and have him at 16s for this so I'd be absolutely delighted if it happened but it's just a bit weird like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭knighted

If he jumps off and wins today I'll be a tad suspicious that his quirkiness has been "facilitated" at times. No gamble on him Tuesday, not a squeak, refuses and is given a big price in this race then is subsequently smashed in from 16's to 8's.

I backed him in the Supreme and have him at 16s for this so I'd be absolutely delighted if it happened but it's just a bit weird like.

Everyone loves a conspiracy theory and people believe this was planned , hense the plunge on him by every joe soap
    I pity the bookies staff if he does win, trying to explain a rule 4 to all non normal punters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Massimo Tara

Planet nine 5/1 Perth 17.25.
    Woodland opera 5/1

Anyone fancy bleu berry?

Eniskillen in the first is a massive price at 11/4 considering how tuesdays form was franked yesterday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

Lads, just an observation.... Brian Harding rides for last time today. Last race at Perth he has Anywaythewindblows, backed from 5s - 3s and trained by Nicky Richards whose father Gordon gave Harding his start. Seems to me like it will be trying anyways...

Was 14/1 last night, not a bad bumper though.

I did another one as its their money.

Shin a vee@15/8
    On fiddlers green@20/1
    Slow motion@4/1
    Labik@11/1
    Let's dance@9/2
    On the fringe@2/1
    Riven light@9/2

5c per line, ew super heinz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

shin a vee ew at 4/1 will do for me 1/4 odds bet365...only bookie doing 1/4

edit 5/1 better again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Enniskillen to win by 5 to 10 lengths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭jj mac

Labaik into 5s now. I'd still have my doubts about him starting and even if he does melon hasn't exactly given the supreme form a boost. Crazy price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

jj mac wrote: »
    Labaik into 5s now. I'd still have my doubts about him starting and even if he does melon hasn't exactly given the supreme form a boost. Crazy price.

4/1 in Boyles, they must have HUGE liabilities!!! :rolleyes:

Aren't Boyles paying as a free bet if he doesn't start with the field though

Yep, makes zero sense taking the insurance lower price, I know its not cash back but you'll be having a bet soon so can use that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

kfallon wrote: »
    Pat Dobbs is every bit as much the stable jockey as Levey!

It's not official but it's clear over the last year and a half that Sean levy is getting the better rides. You will see this more and more over the coming months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Apologies, didn't realise that. Shorter price than other bookies is justified so. I don't think he will jump off btw.