Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the damage? Well...

• 26-04-2017 8:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭

So I came out of work this evening to this (pictures taken later in better light)

2afa8fp.jpg

3524zdw.jpg

2ee8l1y.jpg

No note, no phone number :mad:

Luckily though the car park is access-controlled and I know the building manager well so I'll be asking him to check the CCTV for me in the morning, but how bad/much do ye reckon lads if I have to fork out myself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Pure scum, sorry to see. Did they damage the Audi badge too?

Assuming the bumper doesn't need to be replaced, €300-€400 for a good spray.

Add to that a parking sensor if it's knackered. Also depends if the socket that houses the sensor has snapped away from the backside of the bumper, might be able to epoxy it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Pure scum, sorry to see. Did they damage the Audi badge too?

Assuming the bumper doesn't need to be replaced, €300-€400 for a good spray.

Add to that a parking sensor if it's knackered. Also depends if the socket that houses the sensor has snapped away from the backside of the bumper, might be able to epoxy it back.

Yea it all happened today :( The sensor still works I think but I'm disgusted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

What a cvnt!
    Was looking at those sensors myself recently they're not big money 18€ I think.

I'll say a prayer for you that the bastards are on CCTV.

Look at it as an opportunity to clean up the front end (any chips etc), only way to look at bad luck like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I had the bumper on my F10 completely repainted last year after it was caught by a swinging gate in the wind, for €350. Worst case to me you would need the same and possibly a replacement parking sensor if it's fubared. Or it's possible that a body shop maybe able to do a smart repair on the scrape for less. Is the grill damaged also?

I didn't need this this month but unlike one or two of my mates (who are saying ignore it) it'll piss me off every day until it's fixed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Audi badge should be able to be got off ebay. If you find the knobhead who did it and ran then get Audi to do the lot.

bazz26 wrote: »
    I had the bumper on my F10 completely repainted last year after it was caught by a swinging gate, for €350. Worst case to me you would need the same and possibly a replacement parking sensor if it's fubared. Or it's possible that a body shop maybe able to do a smart repair on the scrape for less. Is the grill damaged also?

Grill seems ok but then I didn't notice the badge originally till it came off in my hand :(

There's a place locally that sorted out the door on my old one after one of the neighbours accidentally reversed into it (in that case though the girl went as far as getting my number from the estate agents to sort it out) so I'll bring it to him in the morning and see what he says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I didn't need this this month but unlike one or two of my mates (who are saying ignore it) it'll piss me off every day until it's fixed :(

Ignore it! Impossible.
    but it does look like you scraped a wall, but maybe not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

I'd take a walk around the car park tomorrow to see if you can spot any suspect damage on other cars. You never know, dopey prick might not have even realised it and will park there again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

You'd swear it was tore off a wall the way the marks are. It don't look like another bumper scrubbed against it.

Well it wasn't me.. I'd have noticed! Plus the sensors would be screaming as I usually drive past my spot, reverse at the corner and turn which activates them.

It was a glancing blow by the looks of it, not a direct forward hit. Someone scraped by you. There'll be no polishing up the chrome around the grill either if that's scuffed up, unfortunately something else to replace if it bothers you.

Well it wasn't me.. I'd have noticed! Plus the sensors would be screaming as I usually drive past my spot, reverse at the corner and turn which activates them.

I know it wasn't, it's just a right rough gash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭I love Sean nos

I'm disgusted!
    Don't blame you.

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Ignore it! Impossible.
    but it does look like you scraped a wall, but maybe not.

To scrape a wall like that (given the badge damage in the centre) you'd nearly have to hit it head on at a fair whack

I reckon a van or an SUV myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

these things boil my blood. Have had several cars damaged like this...once the day after a full respray and another time the day before selling a newly restored and painted mini (the passenger door was destroyed) and never a note left in the half dozen times it's been a nasty scuff, or worse.

I installed a front and rear cam into my latest car and have CCTV covering it at home. Next d1ck who damages my car will come out to a smouldering heap on their driveway.

and I don't mean a heap of poo

Another possibility is a trailer, it has the scraping of a metal edge or the likes. Do people towing use the car park op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

My next dashcam will have parking mode for sure. Techmoan reviewed a good one a while back with time lapse recording.

Hope you get lucky in tracing them anyhow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭I love Sean nos

goz83 wrote: »
    I hope the manky wh0re crashed and burned on the way home. OK, well maybe not that horrible
    May they step on lego every night for the rest of their lives.

My own car was scraped in a local carpark on the very day I first got it. I feel the OP's pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

bazz26 wrote: »
    If you find the knobhead who did it and ran then get Audi to do the lot.
    Agreed. An entire new front bit, etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

From what I can see there the damage is the badge, chrome grille surround, bumper and sensor. There isn't a hope in hell a car enthusiast can ignore this. When the grille on my RX8 was made sh!t of I felt I was driving around with no front teeth!

As others have suggested, a walk around the car park to find a car with scuffs in the right places would help. I hope it's on camera and that you get this sorted. As was also said, use this to get the whole front end rejuvenated if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Any word back from security OP?

They're looking into the footage. Should have an update later today on that.

My own thought is that, given where I park, a car/van perpendicular to mine may have backed into it when coming out of its space

xmo7le.jpg

(edited pic a bit) Mine would be the black car on the right.. the red SUV parked in front of me (but usually gone early), though there are 2 (fairly tight) spaces across from mine illustrated by the orange cars on the left

_Kaiser_ wrote:
    They're looking into the footage. Should have an update later today on that.

Do please BOL.
    As an aside surely manufacturers have looked into remote external recording before now. Is it an option on any of the latest S classes or 7ers anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Any update for us Kaiser? Don't leave us hanging! :pac:

Not yet.. building manager is to come back to me today about it. His boss was over yesterday so he got held up. Can't complain though as he's a good guy in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Harcrid

Did you get anywhere with this?

Sorry guys.. been a hectic week.

The building manager reviewed the footage which, while not showing the incident itself, did show the car coming in that morning without a scratch.

I've gotten quotes for the repairs and waiting for feedback now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

damn, sorry to hear that Kaiser, would have been nice to catch the other person.

Did it cost much in the end? Tell me fupp off if I'm being a nosey git.

Much delayed update...

So the building manager talked to his boss and they've agreed to cover the cost of the repairs :) Have sent them on a quote/pro-forma invoice now for them to pay and then it'll be getting sorted :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Great result. They sound like a sound bunch. :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I reckon they knew they were liable. A decent result though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

Not yet.. building manager is to come back to me today about it. His boss was over yesterday so he got held up. Can't complain though as he's a good guy in general.
    The building manager reviewed the footage which, while not showing the incident itself, did show the car coming in that morning without a scratch.
    Much delayed update...

So the building manager talked to his boss and they've agreed to cover the cost of the repairs :) Have sent them on a quote/pro-forma invoice now for them to pay and then it'll be getting sorted :)

Am I reading too much between the lines here?:pac:

CR 7 wrote: »
    Am I reading too much between the lines here?:pac:

I'd say so :p Strictly speaking they could have told me "sorry but tough luck" (cars parked at owners risk etc etc) but I'm just happy it'll be sorted as otherwise it'd have been a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Foreign Sports

Fair play, it's nice to see it getting sorted by the building management company.

As a matter of interest, who did you get the quote from?

I added some self inflicted scratches on the passenger side door of my car the other day and looking for a reputable place to sort it.