Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Disk Mower

• 25-04-2017 5:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭

Looking at buying an 8ft disk mower and looking for thoughts on what is the best currently.

Will do some small quantity of meadows maybe 30acres and mostly topping say 100 acres per year so not overly worked.

Currently have a 5ft6 vicon. Nice mower but needs some bed repair after hitting a rock backend of last year so thinking of upgrading.

Any thoughts on what make is best and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

I bought one in 2015 after a fair bit of research. For rougher ground Pottenger seemed to be recommended, for the cream of the crop in the general run of things John Deere were being plugged by a lot of lads. I went for the pottenger in the end & can't fault it so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Robson99

Have a Malone and very happy with it. Second choice would be a krone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

Just got a malone 800 last week. Mowed a couple a acres the weekend very pleased with it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭mythos110

Have a Malone 800 for the last 3 years. Grand on meadows but a disaster topping. Keeps leaving ragworth behind and skipping over grass when you try to cut a little higher for topping.

Have a JD1365 for mowing the silage and its unbeatable for quality of cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

For what your doing something like a maragon might suit you or these new samaz mowers perhaps ? Cheap, low maintenance and low HP required. Have 2 krone mowers here after having Kuhn and Major (which was a major disaster). Krone leaves a clean cut. Having the quick change blades and the safe cut system is great when your in ground your not sure of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

davidk1394 wrote: »
    For what your doing something like a maragon might suit you or these new samaz mowers perhaps ? Cheap, low maintenance and low HP required. Have 2 krone mowers here after having Kuhn and Major (which was a major disaster). Krone leaves a clean cut. Having the quick change blades and the safe cut system is great when your in ground your not sure of

Topping on rough ground would leave a marangon in bits. If you have level fields and drive it handy you might get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

krone easy driven, and roll pin saftey cut!! also very clean cutting!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I have a Lely splendimo 9ft. Find it excellent for both silage and topping. We top very little ground anymore, and don't know how it'd perform on rough ground...
    Traded in a trailed 8ft major topper that we bought new 27 years previously :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I have a Lely splendimo 9ft. Find it excellent for both silage and topping. We top very little ground anymore, and don't know how it'd perform on rough ground...
    Is that a centre pivot mower? Going over 9' with a mounted mower, the centre pivot is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

She didn't owe ye anything anyway.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

cjpm wrote: »
    She didn't owe ye anything anyway.....

My dad is a cow man. But hes a damn fine machinery man too. Most machines are bought nrw and end their days here too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Best mower? Kuhn
    Is it worth the price? Probably not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

I dont have a mower, but was told if i was considering one to look at Malone because the frame is galvanized ( the cow dung will eat into the non dipped frame i suppose) or Taarup/Kverneland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Malone don't have a top repair bed like jd or kuhn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭PN14

Thanks for all the replies lads. Good to get some first hand feedback from people.
    Going to look at a mid mount Kverneland. Had been advised to avoid a Malone by a friend who wasn't happy with the finish cut but would have thought that galvanized frame would be an asset.
    We have a few different dealers local so a project for the next few days to call into a few.
    Had seen the shamaz on donedeal not sure I d go down that route. They look ok but long term reliability & parts might be an issue

Malone mower will skin da ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

lab man wrote: »
    Malone mower will skin da ground

I have the Malone 8 foot, bought new three years ago.

Cuts meadow very clean but I find that I have to keep blades very sharp or else it's poor enough for topping as it passes over a lot of docks and thistles.

I'm only going by the trailed mower I have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

Sorry for bumping old thread. Currently have 5ft 6 rear mounted mower (vicon). Looking at rear mounted 8ft mower for 100hp tractor, good clean cut, easy changeable blades, does not clog. Also am I best to keep the smaller mower for topping. Any advice welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Aravo wrote: »
    Sorry for bumping old thread. Currently have 5ft 6 rear mounted mower (vicon). Looking at rear mounted 8ft mower for 100hp tractor, good clean cut, easy changeable blades, does not clog. Also am I best to keep the smaller mower for topping. Any advice welcome.

Have a look at Krone 8ft or 9ft shaft driven side mounted.
    Excellent build, recently upgraded from a 9ft conditioner to 9ft disk both krones. You'd fly away with the disk mower, no pressure on the tractor and cleans the ground very well. Has quick change blades as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭mycro2013

Kuhn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭ruwithme

If your grazing ground is fairly safe mow away with new mower. 8FT cut you'd never go back to 5ft 6. have a Kuhn 8ft disc here for both jobs.unbreakable so far 10 years now.

raypallas wrote: »
    Have a look at Krone 8ft or 9ft shaft driven side mounted.
    Excellent build, recently upgraded from a 9ft conditioner to 9ft disk both krones. You'd fly away with the disk mower, no pressure on the tractor and cleans the ground very well. Has quick change blades as well.

Why did you move away from a conditioner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ruwithme wrote: »

Was thinking that myself. To move away from a conditioner would have been a downgrade I would have thought

Reggie. wrote: »
    Was thinking that myself. To move away from a conditioner would have been a downgrade I would have thought

There's no real benefit as each swarth is being rowed up by rake in most cases. Resulting in the conditioner not being utilised.

ruwithme wrote: »

Tractor was under pressure for power (96hp) and a bit light on the back with the weight of the conditioner. Keeping the old one and removing the conditioner for topping as well tho. Tractor sings along with the new one even in very heavy crops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Gudstock

Krone have a great reputation for farmers machine, the quick change blades are a big plus also.

mycro2013 wrote: »
    There's no real benefit as each swarth is being rowed up by rake in most cases. Resulting in the conditioner not being utilised.

Alot harder to rake up non conditioned swaths tho. Esp if it gets rain

Gudstock wrote: »
    Krone have a great reputation for farmers machine, the quick change blades are a big plus also.

Only thing about quick blades is that the bed is at a steeper angle cos the discs are higher. Which in turn can cause the blades to become damaged more often

Reggie. wrote: »

Yes in a way, but conditioner on our own was totally clapped out and going to cost huge money to repair. Wanted to go new for a new mower for reliability with out having the tractor under too much pressure as won't be getting more power for a good number of years yet. Will probably pick up a tedder for this year to make up for the lack of a conditioner.

Dealers seem to be pushing krone mowers e.t.c in recent years. are they considered more affordable than the Kuhn and others?

8ft mowers mounted at rear 3 point linkage
    Marangon (Spain) 6k,
    Malone & Major 7k ish,
    Kverneland 8k
    Krone 8k ish,

There is no really difference in price if you dealing without the need to trade in. With a good discount available. Plus your buying out of season which will also beneficial.

Pottinger have an interesting model as there offering at 9ft is the same price as competitors 8fts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Gudstock wrote: »

We bought a new Krone 8ft mower there recently .... after 2 years of thinking about it ... checking alternatives etc ... from what I can figure they are very well made, cut well, have disk safety features and the quick change blades were the clincher.... Kuhn well up there too and Kverneland but went with Krone in the end... picking it up before the end of the month ... hopefully...

jimmy G M wrote: »
    We bought a new Krone 8ft mower there recently .... after 2 years of thinking about it ... checking alternatives etc ... from what I can figure they are very well made, cut well, have disk safety features and the quick change blades were the clincher.... Kuhn well up there too and Kverneland but went with Krone in the end... picking it up before the end of the month ... hopefully...
    Can you put spacers on the Krone for topping. Best of luck with it

Thx...Yeah you can get topping skids but they are not standard with it. We managed to get a set thrown in with the deal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Thx...Yeah you can get topping skids but they are not standard with it. We managed to get a set thrown in with the deal...

I have them here for a kverneland 9ft and only ever used them once the say she was brand new. Ever since I just lengthen the top link and it works away the finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Sami23

Did you go 8 or 9 ft and what did you end up paying for it. Only asking as I'm thinking of buying an 8ft myself this year and will buy Krone if I am. Thanks

You can get them all right but we didn't bother but our ground has nearly all been reseeded at this point or would be cut for silage every year anyways, think you would have a better job without the skids. On the bed there is a shear pin that protects every disk and if you were to hit something it pops up the disk to protect the others. You then just replace the pin there and then in the field (supposed to only take a few minutes but has never had to do it) and set off mowing again.

Sami23 wrote: »
    Did you go 8 or 9 ft and what did you end up paying for it. Only asking as I'm thinking of buying an 8ft myself this year and will buy Krone if I am. Thanks

8ft, €8,000 with skids inc. The standard asking price seems to be €8,400 but managed to haggle him down. Straight deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Sami23

8ft, €8,000 with skids inc. The standard asking price seems to be €8,400 but managed to haggle him down. Straight deal.

Thanks, big money but a very good machine.
    Best of luck with it anyway.

You can get them all right but we didn't bother but our ground has nearly all been reserved at this point or would be cut for silage every year anyways, think you would have a better job without the skids. On the bed there is a shear pin that protects every disk and if you were to hit something it pops up the disk to protect the others. You then just replace the pin there and then in the field (supposed to only take a few minutes but has never had to do it) and set off mowing again.

Generally we don't bother with skids when topping, but we have one field with a couple of stoney out-crops so they should be handy for that. Probably wouldn't have bought them, but they came as part of the deal.

Sami23 wrote: »
    Thanks, big money but a very good machine.
    Best of luck with it anyway.

Hope to knock 15 years out of it.

Hoping to do the same here, keep the oil changed and a light wash and oiling at the end of the year should keep it right.

Yes to all of the above. Our mower must be 20yrs old but it's well minded. I like the idea of a larger mower and I have personal control of things, but as I work full time it comes to a stage is it viable or am I just being a busy fool with cutting, turning, rowing, drawing in bales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

is that for the standard mower or the centre pivot?

Who2 wrote: »

That sounds like a standard mower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭jntsnk

What make was it? If it was a Krone it’s the standard not central pivot

RobinBanks wrote:
    I dont have a mower, but was told if i was considering one to look at Malone because the frame is galvanized ( the cow dung will eat into the non dipped frame i suppose) or Taarup/Kverneland

stay away from malone

Standard Krone mower, AMR 240 . The centre pivot adds around 1,200 if I remember correctly and I think the smallest centre pivot is 9ft. So a 9ft centre pivot was coming in around €10,500 or something like that.

Will see how we get on with this one for a few years anyway . Brother picked it up yesterday and was topping rushes before spraying over at his place...