Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Super Nintendo Classic Mini.

• 19-04-2017 10:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2017-04-19-sources-nintendo-to-launch-snes-mini-this-year
    Nintendo will follow up its smash hit NES microconsole with a mini version of the SNES, sources close to the company have confirmed to Eurogamer.

The SNES mini (or, to continue Nintendo's official branding, likely the Nintendo Classic Mini: Super Nintendo Entertainment System) is currently scheduled to launch in time for Christmas this year. Development of the device is already under way, our sources have indicated.

Nintendo's plans for SNES mini are also a major reason why last year's NES mini did not see a reprieve from discontinuation, Eurogamer understands, despite the latter's continued popularity and sell-out status.

I will pre order this the second it becomes available. Now, which games do you include cos SNES games are way than NES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Their ability to print money is unparalleled. I love it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I am 100% getting this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,570 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Preordering this the nano-second it's announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Off the top of my head.

Super Mario World
    Yoshi's Island
    Zelda LTTP
    Star Fox
    F-Zero
    Super Metroid
    Them Donkey Kong games
    Mario RPG.
    Final Fantasy 4-6 (maybe?)
    Mega Man games
    Chrono Trigger (maybe)
    Mario Kart
    Contra
    Them Castlevania games
    Kirby stuff
    Pilotwings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Sure I have a rasperry pi now, so you can stick it up the scalpers asses ninty :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Now that's a console I can get behind. And start grinding.

Better games, nicer controllers.... but they'll probably lock it down better than they did with the NES... decisions, decisions...

Maybe it's time to sell the NES mini at face value to a boardsie?
    And by face value, I mean specifically Claudia Schiffers face (assuming she didn't let the $5M insurance policy lapse)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Off the top of my head.

Super Mario World
    Yoshi's Island
    Zelda LTTP
    Star Fox
    F-Zero
    Super Metroid
    Them Donkey Kong games
    Mario RPG.
    Final Fantasy 4-6 (maybe?)
    Mega Man games
    Chrono Trigger (maybe)
    Mario Kart
    Contra
    Them Castlevania games
    Kirby stuff
    Pilotwings.

Super mario all stars might be worth a shot too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

Won't miss out on this one. Can see there being even greater demand than for the NES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,824 ✭✭✭Inviere

Instapurchase

(plus the US model, and the Jap model - I have terminal Nintendoitus)

• giphy.gif

I fecking told ya so! Nintendo know exactly what they are doing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Needs at least 1 of Street Fighter/Mortal Kombat/Killer Instinct

Street Fighter 2
    Mortal Kombat 1
    &
    Killer Instinct would all have me buy this at a stupid high price in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Wouldn't they only put 1st party stuff on there to minimise issues with rights management and revenue? Besides, with MS owning Killer Instinct through Rare, Midway / WB never releasing Mortal Kombat on VC and with any of the better versions of SFII on Snes being in direct competition with the release on Switch that will likely cost as much as this console will I don't see any of the 3rd parties having a good reason to co-operate.

If they leave the back door open again though, holy ****!

You'd think, but there was a bunch of 3rd party stuff on the NES classic. And the SNES final fantasy games are available on a million consoles and mobile now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Will be interesting to see what games are on it, more so the quirkier ones, the likes of StarTropics that was on the NES. The expected ones should be there of course, the likes of LTTP, Super Mario World, Donkey Kong, and possibly Street Fighter. I think they would be safe enough putting on Street Fighter there even with the Switch release. It would have been 6 months out by then, and with it being a slightly cheaper (although still a bit too expensive) Switch release, it might even be cheaper again by the time the SNES mini comes round. I can see it being more expensive than the NES mini as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,570 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Would they engineer internet connectivity, Nintendo Accounts and downloadable games? I wouldn't put it past them...

20 built-in games - visit the eshop to download more.

They'll definitely lock it down so it can't be hacked as easily as the NCM, that's a dead certainty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

What's the licencing like on the likes of Chrono Trigger, Turtles in Time, Secret of Mana, Battletoads, Super Castlevania and Super Metroid now a days, contra and earthbound too would be super. Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 be the best snes version, the roster was great.

Isn't battletoads Rare's thing? I think it's on that Rare Replay thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I want the American one and the European one.

fry_drooling.gif

Ya Battletoads is Rares. Would have been funny people playing it on the SNES mini and yanking the 1 foot controller cord, throwing the system across the room after dying on the Turbo Tunnel for the 4567th time.

I'm sure there will be quite a few third party games on it though, just like there was on the NES. Lot of companies best games were from that period too so certainly won't hurt them to get their games out there.

Isn't battletoads Rare's thing? I think it's on that Rare Replay thing.

Hence my question, double dragon too would be great, no sports games f-zero and clay fighters need to be on it. Megaman X too, damn damn damn let this be real please xenu let this be real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

People are gonna horde these when they come out, even if they increase the amount they produce it will probably be harder to get your hands on then the NES, the shortage of the NES version was well highlighted in the media and we have seen the crazy prices people have been willing to pay for one.

I'm buying two for everyone in my crazy mind, that's 84 of them if anyone's keeping count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭Danick

Do ye think it will be a limited run like the NES - I was a megadrive and gameboy kid but bought a SNES to play Streetfighter and Mario - best decision I ever made - still have it to this day - boxed and no yellowing - love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

I wonder will they have a mini scope!!

As for being hackable, surely they don't care, considering you can't buy any software for it. Like once you buy the console, thats the max money you're gonna pay to Nintendo, so whether you hack it or not, it isn't gonna cost Nintendo any money.

The_B_Man wrote: »

As for being hackable, surely they don't care, considering you can't buy any software for it. Like once you buy the console, thats the max money you're gonna pay to Nintendo, so whether you hack it or not, it isn't gonna cost Nintendo any money.

Ya I don't think the hacking makes all that much difference to them, you'd still have to buy the unit to put them on. The only time it may come into play is if they planned to release other units with more games on them, which seems unlikely. They even left a message in the source code for hackers anyway so they would have been well aware of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

The_B_Man wrote: »

They sell NES/SNES games for the Virtual Console, so they would be losing money if people hacked it like the NES mini and downloaded games on to it that they would have to pay for otherwise.

Of course there is a lot of other easier ways to get those games, but some people still do pay for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,590 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I'm sleeping outside gamestop from tonight til preorders go up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

jester77 wrote: »
    Needs at least 1 of Street Fighter/Mortal Kombat/Killer Instinct

Yes, one of all the different ones of all them would be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Striker

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,677 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Are people going to complain about scalpers skewing the market with no insight into their own hoarding behaviour?
    Can't wait!!

We had the same phenom as with the Nes Mini with most of the really big Ninty releases back in the day.

You'd see the release of OoT on the N64, they'd all be there, packed onto the shelves behind the counter at the start of December, tons of them.
    Then the dopes would wander in on the 24th of Dec and wonder where they all went.
    Then bitch and moan about not being able to get one and that it was everyone else's fault, from the shop to Nintendo.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Are people going to complain about scalpers skewing the market with no insight into their own hoarding behaviour?
    Can't wait!!

Steve X2 is gonna love you :D

In all seriousness, you can just as easily flip the coin and say if Nintendo restocked these there'd be no scalping going on either. The supply of these was SO low, from day 1, these were always going to be a scalpers dream. I doubt the amount of genuine collectors/completionists buying these is anywhere comparable to the amount of scalpers buying crates of them to profit off of.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,677 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

But they never had to.
    Nintendo were under no moral obligation to make more Nes Classic Mini consoles.
    It would have been great if they did, but I wonder how many more they were ever likely to sell.
    If we had seen a full stock going forward through 2017, would the device have remained in demand, particularly after everyone who wanted one had one.

But they never had to.
    Nintendo were under no moral obligation to make more Nes Classic Mini consoles.

No moral obligation whatsoever (not that giant conglomerates operate on morality to begin with, why would they). It'd have made good business sense to get another manufacturing run going though, I mean, there was WORLDWIDE demand for these things - they were like hens teeth from Dublin to Denver.
    It would have been great if they did, but I wonder how many more they were ever likely to sell.

Given the seemingly ever present demand, I'm willing to bet they'd have sold considerably more - thus putting the money back into Nintendo's hands, as opposed to the "bloke down the pub" types who've made a chunk of change off of these. Whatever didn't sell after the demand died off, would be sure to sell next Christmas anyway.
    If we had seen a full stock going forward through 2017, would the device have remained in demand, particularly after everyone who wanted one had one.

Hard to know how long the demand would last, and the trick I suppose is to make at least as much as you can sell - Ninty were way off here. I really don't believe a shred of blame can be put on people who bought two of these simply because they're fans of the company. Similarly, the low run was a guaranteed ticket for scalpers, and even they probably couldn't buy as many as they'd have liked! For me, I believe the run was just stupidly low to begin with, and that can only be a Nintendo thing - joe soap has nothing to do with it.

What's the licencing like on the likes of Chrono Trigger, Turtles in Time, Secret of Mana, Battletoads, Super Castlevania and Super Metroid now a days, contra and earthbound too would be super. Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 be the best snes version, the roster was great.

Well chrono trigger is square, but chrono triggers available on a lot of different systems now. Turtles is apparently Konami. Mana is also square now, battletoads is rare, and castlevania is of course, Konami. Super Metroid has been released on 3 or 4 different virtual consoles now, so I'd be surprised if that wasn't there.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Mr E wrote: »
    Would they engineer internet connectivity, Nintendo Accounts and downloadable games? I wouldn't put it past them...

20 built-in games - visit the eshop to download more.

They'll definitely lock it down so it can't be hacked as easily as the NCM, that's a dead certainty.

I'd be surprised if they bothered with downloadable games - that could potentially lose them game sales on Switch (assuming they've actually implemented VC on it by the time the Snes Mini comes out). My guess would be this will cost more to buy than the NES mini and they'll probably have a bigger production run knowing it will still sell out. But it'll be a limited run again.

Sounds like I'm among the minority again not being interested in getting one at all. Have the original, have a Pi3, waste of money getting these yokes in that case imo. :D

At least everyone that wants one has a decent heads up this time though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,382 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

If you do a bit of research which seems to be beyond most so called professional journalist outfits the issue with the NES mini isn't that Nintendo don't like money but an issue procuring essential components for the system. Apparently one source was damaged in an earthquake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    If you do a bit of research which seems to be beyond most so called professional journalist outfits the issue with the NES mini isn't that Nintendo don't like money but an issue procuring essential components for the system. Apparently one source was damaged in an earthquake.
    Oh, source? Can't seem to find anything about that at all.

Inviere wrote: »
    Hard to know how long the demand would last, and the trick I suppose is to make at least as much as you can sell - Ninty were way off here. I really don't believe a shred of blame can be put on people who bought two of these simply because they're fans of the company. Similarly, the low run was a guaranteed ticket for scalpers, and even they probably couldn't buy as many as they'd have liked! For me, I believe the run was just stupidly low to begin with, and that can only be a Nintendo thing - joe soap has nothing to do with it.

I suppose the risk was that, as an ongoing product, it could have sunk in the mire that the Megadrive clones occupy, that of a mere toy and stocking filler.
    I know that the quality of the emulation on those little Sega/@tGames devices is substandard, but the typical buyer just sees a nostalgia trip regardless of accuracy, and buys it, but then how many must they sell these days, pieces of sh1te that they are.
    I'll 'fess up, I've owned one or two and they've all been disappointing, but I don't that has anything to do with the sales.
    A Nes Mini Classic would have inevitably come to occupy similar space, not to mention dilute the market for Virtual Console titles, rather than the teaser for Nintendo products that it seems to have been.

Roll on the Snes Mini Classic!
    Pre-ordering just one, just for me, promise!

A Nes Mini Classic would have inevitably come to occupy similar space, not to mention dilute the market for Virtual Console titles, rather than the teaser for Nintendo products that it seems to have been

That's the thing though, if it was an intentionally low production run, the 'blame' doesn't lie with the few people who have bought two of them, nor does it even lie with scalpers - it was an intentionally made decision by Nintendo and the result has lined the pockets of scalpers and kept units out of the hands of genuine fans as a result.

If it wasn't intentional, and as a result of manufacturing issues/earthquakes (haven't seen anything written about that), then why announce a discontinuation of the product? Why not do another run when the issues are resolved?

Reminds me of Nino Kuni, on the PS3.
    I ended up paying a guy €60 for the game, in a Swords filling station, because there just weren't enough of the game produced!

So, yeah, I understand that the console could have done with a further run, but I think it did get a further run, didn't it?
    As a Nintendo fan of some years now, I would have liked to have seen the device continue to be available, and only cease with the release of the replacement this Autumn.

Who knows, they may completely confound expectations and include NES/Famicom games as an option on the Snes/Super Famicom Mini... which would be nice!

Indeed, they might even do another run of the Nes ones when the Snes one goes into production....same innards really, just a different shell I'd imagine.

Inviere wrote: »
    Indeed, they might even do another run of the Nes ones when the Snes one goes into production....same innards really, just a different shell I'd imagine.

koopa-troopa-red-green-pixel-art.png

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2017-06-01-xbox-e3-survey-mentions-nintendo-snes-classic-edition
    A Microsoft survey for Xbox Live Reward members has mentioned Nintendo's unannounced SNES Classic Edition microconsole.

Nintendo has so far said nothing about a follow-up to last year's smash-hit miniature NES, but Eurogamer sources have heard that the SNES Mini is indeed being planned for launch - as soon as this Christmas.

In a question that asks about the E3 announcements Xbox fans are most looking forward to, Microsoft listed the SNES Mini alongside its own Xbox Project Scorpio, plus reveals for the PS4 Pro and Nintendo Switch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

So what 20 games would you like to see, here's my list. It's not my 20 favorite snes games and I've excluded Japan only releases, I tried to include some co-op games and have a decent mix of genres.

Super Mario All stars + world
    Super Mario kart
    Street fighter 2 turbo
    Sunset Riders
    Chrono Trigger
    Final Fantasy 6
    Yoshi's Island
    Super Metroid
    Super Punch out
    Zelda link to the past
    Starfox
    Super Mario RPG
    Secret of Mana
    Donkey Kong Country 2
    Megaman X
    TMNT 4: Turtles in time
    EarthBound
    Zombies ate my neighbours
    Super Aleste / Space Megaforce
    Super Castlevania 4
    Contra 3
    F-Zero
    Super Ghouls and Ghosts
    Terranigma
    Final Fight 3
    Demon's Crest
    Wild Guns
    U.N. Squadron
    R Type III - Third lightning
    Kirby Superstar

A real tough choice for the developers. I hope licencing issues don't become a big problem.

Edit: Had to add another 10! Thought the nes only had 20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Striker... It has to have Striker!

To add to whats already up, Clayfighter, Ranma 1/2, separation anxiety, maximum carnage, iss, breath of fire, lufia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,548 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Would they be allowed Killer Instinct and Street Fighter?

Super Soccer, if only because I think I set a record for the quickest sending off. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Pilotwings
    Super Tennis
    Super Mario World
    SF2 Turbo
    Secret of Mana
    Earthbound
    Chrono Trigger
    Final Fantasy VI
    Zelda: A link to the past
    Kirbys Avalanche
    Super Mario Kart
    Turtles in Time
    Shadowrun
    Super Metroid
    Donkey Kong Country 2
    Killer Instinct
    Super Punch Out
    F Zero
    Super Castlevania IV
    Contra III
    Yoshi's Island
    NBA Jam Tournament Edition
    Super Star Wars trilogy
    NHL 94
    R-Type III
    Sim City
    Star Fox
    International Superstar Soccer Deluxe
    Super Double Dragon
    Super Bomberman 2

No doubt some classics I've missed. And just reinforces what I've always said: SNES = best console of all time!