Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster vs Saracens buildup

• 18-04-2017 12:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Unavailable: Jean Kleyn (neck), Dave Foley (wrist), Sean McCarthy (knee), Mike Sherry (back).

Questionable: Conor Murray (shoulder), Darren Sweetnam (HIA/concussion), Rory Scannell (ankle)

Full training: Duncan Williams (groin), CJ Stander (ankle)

Possible lineup (worst case scenario!):

Kilcoyne, Scannell, J Ryan, D Ryan, Holland, POM, TOD, Stander,
    Williams, Bleyendaal, Earls, Saili, Taute, Conway, Zebo

Marshall, Cronin, Archer, DOC, Deysel, Lloyd, Keatley, ROM

Who will win? 69 votes

Munster
    0%
    Saracens
    62%
    moby2101Icebergjv200011811athtrasnallcoolj14ablelocksbudhabobheebusjeebussydthebeatQuin_Dubslingerzmark_jmcmrsoundieKombuchaMshroomthomond2006KevinKTomtom364Joe Exoticscriba 43 votes
    Three cheers for Sireli Bobo
    37%
    [Deleted User]Iompairphily2002yosser hughesAll in alleyebrows63HigginsJ7oaksePTH2009SubpopulusZampexiledelbowsLostArtCookiemunsterQuint2010[Deleted User]Del.MontesulbertoDellyBellyRootsblower 26 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Jeez is Murrays injury that bad? Be very tough this one for Munster. Funnily I think if they win so will Leinster. And if Munster lose so will Leinster ( and the final will be played in front of a half empty Murrayfield). So-come on Munster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Saracens
    Full training: Rory Scannell (ankle)

I'm pretty sure he's in the 'questionable' category too, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Saracens
    I'm pretty sure he's in the 'questionable' category too, no?

Yeah reading it again you're probably right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭davo2001

Saracens
    Any idea how many tickets have been sold for Saturday? Would it be close to a sellout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

davo2001 wrote: »
    Any idea how many tickets have been sold for Saturday? Would it be close to a sellout?
    According to the Munster Rugby website, they've sold/distributed the 37,000 allocation they asked for. A couple public allocation tickets pop up on ticketmaster every now and then still.
    I'd say if its not sold out it will dam near be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,977 ✭✭✭✭phog

I saw a tweet today (Lifestyle Sport) saying it was a sell-out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭davo2001

Saracens
    phog wrote: »
    I saw a tweet today (Lifestyle Sport) saying it was a sell-out.

Nice, can't ****ing wait. Will be a great day out.

Update on Murray
    MUNSTER DIRECTOR OF rugby Rassie Erasmus said he doesn’t think Conor Murray’s frustrating shoulder injury will end his season and force him to miss the Lions tour to New Zealand.
    Erasmus all but ruled the scrum-half out of Munster’s Champions Cup semi-final against Saracens on Saturday in Dublin, which takes place more than six weeks after Murray first suffered a ‘stinger’ during Ireland’s Six Nations defeat to Wales.

?width=630&version=3344292

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭TheFitz13

Nice, can't ****ing wait. Will be a great day out.

I'm working it... absolutely sh*tting it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

No pressure on Munster for this one, Saracens are big favourites. Funny if it was in Thomond Munster should edge it but because it's in Lansdowne Saracens are expected to win with a bit to spare!

I'm liking the way it's setting up.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

buck65 wrote: »
    No pressure on Munster for this one, Saracens are big favourites. Funny if it was in Thomond Munster should edge it but because it's in Lansdowne Saracens are expected to win with a bit to spare!

I'm liking the way it's setting up.

Saracens are 4/6 on Betfair with the spread being only 2 points so the bookies don't have them all that far in front. That might change as the week progresses and we get more info on injuries. Either way, I can't wait for this one!!

Ultimate Rugby‏ @ultimaterugby

CJ Stander has made 114 carries this season in the Champions Cup, no other player has made over 100+ carries so far in the competition 💪

C9tLrDhXUAE4oTj.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

From Twitter
    Munster say over 37,000 tickets distributed via supporters club, season ticket holders & clubs for @ChampionsCup tie v Saracens on Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭budhabob

Saracens
    Folks, what's the reliability the game will be on YouTube on Saturday evening? I use either sports web to watch by sport, but have the god child's birthday on Saturday (inconsiderate so and so). Plan on having phone on flight mode, and will get a subscription if necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

budhabob wrote: »
    Folks, what's the reliability the game will be on YouTube on Saturday evening? I use either sports web to watch by sport, but have the god child's birthday on Saturday (inconsiderate so and so). Plan on having phone on flight mode, and will get a subscription if necessary.

I'm wondering the same thing. Planet Rugby YouTube channel uploaded Lienster v Wasps later that same day but I don't know for sure or a what time.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

phog wrote: »
    From Twitter

I managed to get 8 tickets no hassle thanks to my MRSC membership, best €35 ever :pac: probably saved €20 on Ticketmaster fees alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

There will be extended highlights on TG4 9:50pm Saturday if that's any help.

Car Flags
    Munster Car Flags

Show your support as you drive around the province this week and head for Dublin this weekend. Munster car flags are available from the reception at Irish Independent Park, Cork and Thomond Park, Limerick. Flags will also be available at Bank of Ireland branches across Cork and Limerick and in the following towns.

Tipperary: Thurles, Nenagh, Clonmel
    Kerry: Killarney, Tralee
    Waterford: Waterford City, Dungarvan
    Clare: Shannon, Ennis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

Saracens
    Been thinking about the team, the injuries make it interesting

Zebo, Earls, Saili, Taute, Conway, Tyler, Duncan, CJ, TOD, POM, DRyan, Billy, JRyan, Scannell, Kilcoyne

Cronin, Marshall, Archer, DOC, Deysel, Lloyd, Keatley, ROM

JOD 24th man Rory Scannell 25th man

B&I side then

Fitzgerald, Goggin, Arnold, Bohane, Wooton, Johnston, Griesel, Copeland, Oliver, O'Connor, DOS, Madigan, Scott, Casey, McCabe

Burke, KOB, LOC, Wycherley, Foley, Poland, Fitzgerald, Nash

If Scannell is fit enough to be the 24th man, then I have him starting or on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

What channel is showing the game on Saturday stuck in work unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,467 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

sioda wrote: »
    What channel is showing the game on Saturday stuck in work unfortunately

BT Sports 1

Highlights on TG4 at 21.50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

B&I Cup Final in Cork Friday, Euro semi Dublin on Saturday, walking dead Sunday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Great they don't work on sky go bollix

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I had to do a similar media-blackout for the Toulouse game and the full game didn't appear on YouTube til the following afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭budhabob

Saracens
    aloooof wrote: »
    I had to do a similar media-blackout for the Toulouse game and the full game didn't appear on YouTube til the following afternoon.

Ya, I think I'll just buy the BT for the month. Boo!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭zambrotta11

Would anywhere in Belfast show the match?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

It's on BT Sport. Loads of places will have it on live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Can ye fine gentlemen recommend a good spot to watch this in London?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,472 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

chupacabra wrote: »

Give the guys in the MRSC London branch a shout. http://mrsc.ie/branches/branches_london.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

There was an official MRSC bar in London but I've forgotten which it is.

The OLSC one was the Porterhouse in Covent Garden for a bit and it will certainly be shown there.

Saracens

OK, stay with me on this, but what about this?

It would be great craic I'd say.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Give the guys in the MRSC London branch a shout. http://mrsc.ie/branches/branches_london.php

I'd give those a wide berth and head to the Sheephaven Bay in Mornngton Crescent (Camden).

Many tv 's, decent beers and good food. A great bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Murray, Scannell look likely to miss this and saw a quote from Erasmus on a retweet earlier saying they are "hoping" Stander might make it.

Crap luck to lose 8-9-12 for biggest game of season if thats what transpires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Heard today that Lloyd has been made available to bohs this weekend, no idea how credible it is and my first thoughts were surely he would be with the B&I team if not the firsts.

But I will cling to the smallest of hope that Murray would be available on Sat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Saracens have 6 lions, and all good ones too. Not as many as we had for the 2009 tour, but they are 1 good team, certainly one of the best the competition has ever seen.

To win: We'll need luck and everyone to play to their best,...and a change of ref.

Boscoirl wrote: »
    Heard today that Lloyd has been made available to bohs this weekend, no idea how credible it is and my first thoughts were surely he would be with the B&I team if not the firsts.

But I will cling to the smallest of hope that Murray would be available on Sat.

He is def out:
    Warren Gatland has shed new light on the seriousness of the Ireland scrum-half’s shoulder/neck injury and says he must play at least once for Munster to prove his fitness to make the plane.
    The Lions coach definitively ruled the 27-year-old out of contention for Saturday’s Champions Cup semi-final against Saracens and revealed that the player had met with a neurologist about his problematic nerve issue.

Shouldn't this really be coming from Munster and not Gatland?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,472 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Shouldn't this really be coming from Munster and not Gatland?

Indeed. I can't imagine that Munster are too happy with Gatland right now.

Squad announcement tomorrow so it's not a huge difference but still not really his remit to go making that kind of announcement with the business end of the season rolling out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I'm sure Gatland couldn't give less of a **** about spoiling the surprise for this game.

He could very well end up missing the tour. I wonder did he do himself extra bad damage by playing on so long in that match, should really have been hauled off immediately.

Saracens
    Rightwing wrote: »
    Saracens have 6 lions, and all good ones too. Not as many as we had for the 2009 tour, but they are 1 good team, certainly one of the best the competition has ever seen.

To win: We'll need luck and everyone to play to their best,...and a change of ref.

Get the excuses in early, nice one.

yeeesh.

Get the excuses in early, nice one.

yeeesh.

Tongue in cheek, knew someone would fall for it, didn't take you long. ;)

I do expect Sarries to win.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Saracens
    He could very well end up missing the tour. I wonder did he do himself extra bad damage by playing on so long in that match, should really have been hauled off immediately.

You have no clue if that would have made any difference at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

sydthebeat wrote: »
    You have no clue if that would have made any difference at all.

Well it wouldnt have made it worse now would it ;)

Saracens
    Tongue in cheek, knew someone would fall for it, didn't take you long. ;)

I do expect Sarries to win.

Lol, nailed me. In my defence, when your tongue in cheek is exactly the same as all your other posts, you can understand my confusion.

You don't expect Sarries to win. You fully expect Munster to win.

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Well it wouldnt have made it worse now would it ;)

And that's it neatly summed up.

Really poor call from Irish management.