Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2017: Round 3 - Bahrain Grand Prix

• 14-04-2017 10:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭

Third round seems to be a scorcher. Mercedes hopes it will be cloudy on Sunday, as heat gives Ferrari an advantage in their mind. Wehrlein starts his season here, after he recovered from the injuries he endured during the race of champions.

C9SNjsHXYAAZcvW.jpg:small

Practice 1 — Friday, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
    Practice 2 — Friday, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
    Practice 3 — Saturday, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
    Qualifying — Saturday, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
    Race - Sunday, 4:00pm

Quali and Race on Channel 4 and Sky live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Practice sessions are live on C4 as well, thank god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭kopite386

Kimi having another bad day in the Ferrari some engine problem

kopite386 wrote: »
    Kimi having another bad day in the Ferrari some engine problem

Not a great start to the weekend for him, Ferrari have brought some upgraded bits and bobs, during FP1 would be a perfect chance to test them. Might compromise their running plans and evaluation now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭Harika

huh Sky says Sauber gets Honda soon, but Mercedes working with Honda to get them up to speed, for their benefit. As Mercedes profits from a competitive Honda more than from the lame joke it is right now.

Harika wrote: »
    huh Sky says Sauber gets Honda soon, but Mercedes working with Honda to get them up to speed, for their benefit. As Mercedes profits from a competitive Honda more than from the lame joke it is right now.

Well there's been plenty of talk about Sauber & Honda linking up, even just mentioned on C4 coverage. It's a real possibility I think.

I find it difficult to believe that Mercedes are helping a competitor though, what's in it for them to help Honda improve their engine ? I know Honda were looking for engineers outside of the Japan-centric bubble they've operated in but they can poach one or two guys with a big enough carrot.

skipper_G wrote: »
    Well there's been plenty of talk about Sauber & Honda linking up, even just mentioned on C4 coverage. It's a real possibility I think.

I find it difficult to believe that Mercedes are helping a competitor though, what's in it for them to help Honda improve their engine ? I know Honda were looking for engineers outside of the Japan-centric bubble they've operated in but they can poach one or two guys with a big enough carrot.

Honda brings cash, interest and business in. When they continue loosing, this will go away. One more team to be fitted with engines, less sponsors what could cause another team to collapse.
    Mercedes was dominating the old DTM, LMP1 and STC, when their competitors left because of lack of success those series imploded and they were called the grave diggers of those series. Not really good PR.
    And the more competition, the more visibility and worth has success that can be sold.

Harika wrote: »
    Honda brings cash, interest and business in. When they continue loosing, this will go away. One more team to be fitted with engines, less sponsors what could cause another team to collapse.
    Mercedes was dominating the old DTM, LMP1 and STC, when their competitors left because of lack of success those series imploded and they were called the grave diggers of those series. Not really good PR.
    And the more competition, the more visibility and worth has success that can be sold.

That would be a rarity in F1, a team who thinks of the sporting big picture. They are notoriously self serving, and the logical side of me just can't see a team or engine manufacturer serving anything but their own self interests. The bad PR is all being directed at Honda for their failure, Mercedes have more to lose than to gain by helping Honda. I do agree however, F1 needs Honda to be competitive though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,837 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Anyone here think the T-wings should be banned? I do as I think they are both dangerous and ugly. What if the one that came off of Bottas car had of hit Hamilton or any other driver for that matter. I think the FIA need to ban them sooner rather than later as this s the second time one has come off.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

AMKC wrote: »
    Anyone here think the T-wings should be banned? I do as I think they are both dangerous and ugly. What if the one that came off of Bottas car had of hit Hamilton or any other driver for that matter. I think the FIA need to ban them sooner rather than later as this s the second time one has come off.

Yep, thought Christian Horner was spot on in the press conference. He said much the same thing, they are ugly and dangerous. For it to fall off once it's bad, twice is unforgivable. If they can't make them work safely get rid of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,282 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Max-Verstappen-Red-Bull-Formel-1-GP-Bahrain-Sakhir-Training-Freitag-14-4-2017-fotoshowBig-8b9b3c71-1065797.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

"That didn't look as spectacular on-board, as it did when we were on-board"

David Croft, how did he get that job? Not only can he not form coherent sentences, but he consistently calls things wrong and and in between doing all that he expresses world's most stupid opinions on Formula One. For someone that watches every session, he is alarmingly clueless....

I would love to have the BBC coverage from a few years ago back again + Pat Symonds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭lolie

AMKC wrote: »

Yeah unsafe and bloody ugly, like tv aerials.
    The sauber and renault are the pick me the bunch.

Seems like all three top teams are close together, will be an exciting qualification

Perez out in Q1, shame his last run was hindered by the yellow flag for Sainz.

The midfield battle is unbelievably close though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Yeah, lucky for Alonso that the yellow came out as he was on the cusp of being bumped to 16th-plus.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

I wonder if Alonso had an issue or they decided to save the milage knowing that 15th was as good as it gets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Delboy2015

I wonder if Alonso had an issue or they decided to save the milage knowing that 15th was as good as it gets

Probably saving himself for Indianapolis :pac:

Savage Q2 lap by Hulkenberg. Give that man a top drive.

Didn't expect Renault to get both cars into Q3, some lap by Hulk.

Super job from Wehrlein as well, he may be a diva but the boy is quick.

Not a good day at the office for The Pink Panthers, will be hard to come away with points tomorrow given the relative performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Simon Gruber Says

It was an engine failure for Alonso's McLaren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

Good man Bottas!!!!

What a great lap from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Well done Bottas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

Gwan Bottas!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

david croft devastated :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Well done Bottas. Would love to see him beat Lewis tomorrow!

I was going to say that Hamilton may have gifted the pole to Bottas, but his lap time was stunning. Fair play Bottas, congrats.

Grim. wrote: »
    david croft devastated :P

Ben Edwards delighted! :)

Delighted for Bottas!

But the star of qualifying is Hulk, more than a second faster than his teammate, great job from him. I just hope he can manage a clean race

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

He seems a popular guy among the drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,723 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Fair play Bottas!

Verstappen out qualified again. He an amazing racer and qualifying seems to be his weakest point. I think he'll be top Red Bull this year and if he gains parity or even beats Dan in the qualifying battle, i think he'll bury him.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Delighted for Bottas!

But the star of qualifying is Hulk, more than a second faster than his teammate, great job from him. I just hope he can manage a clean race

If I know Hulk, he'll have an excellent first stint, pit, come back out, then someone will crash and force a VSC, and everyone else will pit costing him all sorts of track position.

He's all sorts of talented is Hulk, but he's consistently been let down by either strategy or absolutely rotten luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,837 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Excellent by Bottas. Here I was thinking I wonder which race it will be that he that he beats Hamilton in Quali and he goes and does it today.

Also great to see the two Renaults in Q3. Was a great Q2 lap by the Hulk and Pascal Wehrlein done very good too.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Force-India-Formel-1-GP-Bahrain-Sakhir-Donnerstag-13-4-2017-fotoshowBig-3ca1d133-1065629.jpg

Interesting barge boards on the Force India.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

It's all about the start today for a multitude of reasons. Can Bottas be agressive towards Hamilton? Will Hamilton be conscious of Vettel? Who gets off the line best?

I reckon we could see Riccardio coming out of the 1st couple of corners in the lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭ItsChecoTime

Hard to judge how good Hulk's qualifying was when his teammate is Jolyon Palmer..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭thierry14

Bit slow again, only 1.5 seconds quicker.

Will get nowhere near the lap record of 1.31 again.

Will they break any lap records this year?

Hype'd so much but cars not delivering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,723 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

thierry14 wrote:
    Will they break any lap records this year?

China was seeing lap records from early in Q2. They were seconds faster than last year so I don't know you're right on that. Lap records are a bit irrelevant since they keep making alterations to the layout for one reason or another so it's rarely exactly the same track from one year to the next.

This year isn't any faster than last year in Bahrain though so you're right on that point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Simon Gruber Says

This F2 race is one of the most exciting races I've seen in years.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

This F2 race is one of the most exciting races I've seen in years.

Absolutely brilliant race. Ballsy strategy call and LeClerc just showed how much of a star he is.

Oh it's nice to sit down to the opening music of The Chain on C4. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Interesting interview wit Bernie.
    What's with all the impressions? Same yesterday with vettel in the car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Who Is yer man on C4 with Webber and Coulthard?

Di Resta is painful to watch and listen to.

The C4 interview with Bernie was brief but reminded me why I was happy to see him gone, he equates social media channels as giving the content away for free and undermining the broadcasters. Would have blocked the Alonso to Indy 500 move as well.

KC161 wrote: »

Steve Jones is the presenter on C4 with DC & Webber.

Di Resta is the devil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

KC161 wrote: »

Welsh lad ? Steve Jones is his name.
    I'm worried paul gets over excited one of these days.

The C4 interview with Bernie was brief but reminded me why I was happy to see him gone, he equates social media channels as giving the content away for free and undermining the broadcasters. Would have blocked the Alonso to Indy 500 move as well.
    It was him who ****ed IndyCar in the 90s as well. On phone so can't go into detail but he really can be a piece of **** when he wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Alonso car is back in the garage. You'd laugh but it doesn't sound very funny.

Buttonftw, your inbox is full homie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Steve Jones is the presenter on C4 with DC & Webber.

Di Resta is the devil

Never heard of him, only turned on C4 as Sky were showing Di Resta.

The devil is kind compared to PDR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭lolie

Kimi full of chat on the grid as always.
    Ch4 should just let coultard do the gridwalk on his own, Webber not much use at it.