Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying an EV

• 13-04-2017 9:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭

Lads need quick info

A relative is buying soon. He was gonna spend 6k

Now i met a guy with a 171 Nissan electric this evening

Says he got 4k scrappage for a 03 Focus

And a 5k grant

Are those kinda incentives out there?

What prices and incentives did ye get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Everyone get the grant. It comes from the government.

Nissan are giving €4K scrappage on the Leaf. Hyundai were doing the same, but the Ioniq is in such sort supply, they've pulled the scrappage for a while.

The Leaf is being replaced later this year, so drive a hard bargain. They're gonna want to start shift stock soon.

Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Ok I was looking there

The 5k is only on 20k or more EVs

So say a 20k model 5k and 4k scrap that's 11k left

Now what the story with VRT i believe it's added in top of the grant anyone know where I'll work it?

I had hoped the 5k grant was for a 14k model but that kinda fecked up the budget as he has only 6k in the pocket. He was looking at a 1.0 yaris a 09 but i figured with grants and all if it came in around the same he'd do it as he's retired and only does short little drives

The price you see for the Leaf is the price after grant and vrt rebate. You then take the €4K scrappage off that price.
    I think with delivery and metallic, the basic Leaf comes in at €18k.

But I reckon there are another few grand to be gotten of that with the replacement on the horizon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Ok I was looking there

The 5k is only on 20k or more EVs

So say a 20k model 5k and 4k scrap that's 11k left

Now what the story with VRT i believe it's added in top of the grant anyone know where I'll work it?

I had hoped the 5k grant was for a 14k model but that kinda fecked up the budget as he has only 6k in the pocket. He was looking at a 1.0 yaris a 09 but i figured with grants and all if it came in around the same he'd do it as he's retired and only does short little drives

grants and scrap are for new cars only. A new leaf, I think, of the most basic model is still above 20k after the grant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭human 19

How much is he spending on fuel?
    I was gonna spend 7k on a guzzler but when I factored in a saving of 150 to 175 on fuel, I was able to get a 2 year old leaf for <15k

Thanks all. At those figures it's most definitely out.

But twas interesting looking all the same thanks :)

White Leaf on DoneDeal for €7k.

That's where you need to be looking.

Soarer wrote: »
    White Leaf on DoneDeal for €7k.

That's where you need to be looking.

Just saw it it's a lovely little thing, might look into it myself for 7k in the future

Would be doing about 50-70 miles a day myself