Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cameras on M50, possibly ANPR?

• 05-04-2017 8:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭

I was passing the M50 on Friday and Sunday and these are placed at J9 (N7) going northbound. I was wondering what they are?

https://youtu.be/fkFm6EDI2fI

It is two cameras as seen on the right hand side. Could they possibly be stationary Garda ANPR cameras?

7CX0KSM.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

The 2 yellow cameras?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭smilgy

Yep, just as you go under the bridge. More curious than anything. I know, the video isn't great, but surely other people have seen them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Finally, can't wait for this to come in. The amount of un-insured and un-taxed cars I have noticed over the past 6 months is amazing. They need to link the ANPR system to insurance and tax revenue database.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Finally, can't wait for this to come in. The amount of un-insured and un-taxed cars I have noticed over the past 6 months is amazing. They need to link the ANPR system to insurance and tax revenue database.

It's quite interesting how AnPost seems to be able to constantly harass people without a TV about TV License based on the absence of a record ("we know this address but there's no license to it!"), while the Motor Tax Office can't apparently match vehicle registrations with paid or unpaid tax records :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

smilgy wrote: »
    7CX0KSM.png

This kind of sh*t does my head in - "This is what we will all be up against very soon".

You'd swear the Gardai were the criminals for trying to enforce the law. The sooner these cameras are brought in, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    It's quite interesting how AnPost seems to be able to constantly harass people without a TV about TV License based on the absence of a record ("we know this address but there's no license to it!"), while the Motor Tax Office can't apparently match vehicle registrations with paid or unpaid tax records :D

It is not an offence just to have untaxed car...

IrishZeus wrote: »
    This kind of sh*t does my head in - "This is what we will all be up against very soon".

You'd swear the Gardai were the criminals for trying to enforce the law. The sooner these cameras are brought in, the better.

I would suggest not reading any of the comments posted under posts from those sort of pages..

smilgy wrote: »
    I would suggest not reading any of the comments posted under posts from those sort of pages..

Haha - I'm well aware of them but couldn't be arsed reading them :D

The ones commenting are the ones that will be off the roads overnight when these systems come in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

grogi wrote: »
    It is not an offence just to have untaxed car...

As it isn't not to have a TV license, it's just that AnPost "assumes" you have a TV and are in breach; Wouldn't be a stretch to assume an untaxed but registered car, which wasn't declared off the road, is actually circulating...I mean, I've seen cars in shopping center car parks with a tax disc from 2012!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

No irony in the above whatsoever :P:D:pac:

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    As it isn't not to have a TV license, it's just that AnPost "assumes" you have a TV and are in breach;

Actually it is an offence to fail to send the declaration and not to have a license... Broadcasting Act 2009, section 147 (4) is clear about that.

There is no such provision for Motor Tax. There are ideas about introducing continuous taxation - but they are only in the air atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

Actually it is an offence to fail to send the declaration and not to have a license... Broadcasting Act 2009, section 147 (4) is clear about that.

There is no such provision for Motor Tax. There are ideas about introducing continuous taxation - but they are only in the air atm.

It's an offence not to pay motor tax aswell. Generally only the offence of failure to display however is applied

Rather than discussing motor tax, insurance and the TV license, can anyone shed any light on what those two things are?

GM228 wrote: »
    It's an offence not to pay motor tax aswell.

No. It is an offence to DRIVE a car without motor tax. Massive difference...

So you cannot just take the list of cars, check what is taxed and fine the rest. You actually need to have a proof that particular car was driven when it wasn't taxed. APNR is essential for enforcement here.

To be clear:-
    You can't keep a car in a public place without paying motor tax, weather you drive it or not is irrelevant.

Fair point. I can keep untaxed car in private place though, right?

Correct, but you are required by law to declare it off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

And if you had an untaxed vehicle and didn't declare it off the road but had it parked up for a period of time, on private property...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

Only if you ever intend taxing it again at some point in the future.... so you won't pay arrears for time it wasn't on the road

1 exception, you can drive to and from NCT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Well given recent revelations around drink drive checkpoints and other ongoing scandals, the Gardai are hardly the whiter than white guardians of justice they SHOULD be to be honest.

I've no issue with ANPR cameras for insurance/tax checks myself, but I don't subscribe to the "If everyone paid we - ie: *I* - would pay less!" notion either. Not in this country.

Average speed cameras will be the killer. Forced to dawdle along on empty motorways (M3, M8 etc) and the M50 after dark for fear of getting points for being a few KM over :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Average speed cameras will be the killer. Forced to dawdle along on empty motorways (M3, M8 etc) and the M50 after dark for fear of getting points for being a few KM over :rolleyes:

AKA..driving within the speed limit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Great. Yet more big brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

Proof? you mean like been caught on camera on a road? which is the point of this system

Well given recent revelations around drink drive checkpoints and other ongoing scandals, the Gardai are hardly the whiter than white guardians of justice they SHOULD be to be honest.

I've no issue with ANPR cameras for insurance/tax checks myself, but I don't subscribe to the "If everyone paid we - ie: *I* - would pay less!" notion either. Not in this country.

I agree with you. There are probably many hidden secrets to be exposed over the next while and many Gardai are far from model-citizens, but the introduction of an ANPR system represents the Garda force entering the 21st century and removing the current "manual" processes that are leaving the system open for abuse.

This is a catch-up scenario, which if implemented well, should be fully automated - removing the possibility of the current scenarios we are seeing around MAT numbers etc. There should be no grey areas.

I do also hate the thought of Average Speed cameras... you will get people sitting at 100kmph on motorways, "just to be sure, like".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

It's usually scummy people on those pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Average Speed cameras can do "anpr jobs" ( tax, insurance, cloned plates) too

It needs to suss the registration number anyway

When it clocks you coming on to the motorway it can just pass on the registration number to a box that checks tax,insurance etc.

If the box responds you've no tax/insurance it can flag it

If there is a good few, it could suggest it might be a good day to set up a checkpoint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I also wonder if the ANPR camera's will be used as a revenue collecting exercise IE if your tax is out a few days does one get a fine in the post:rolleyes:.

Most cars these days have average speed readings on the trip computer so that will come in handy when the average speed camera's come in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

once they're not average speed cameras. The last thing the M50 needs is damn speed cameras.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

once they're not average speed cameras. The last thing the M50 needs is damn speed cameras.

Average speed cameras are meant to be introduced on all motorways by 2019. I remember an article from May 2015 about that. That muppet Varadkar was all for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

polan wrote: »
    Average speed cameras are meant to be introduced on all motorways by 2019. I remember an article from May 2015 about that. That muppet Varadkar was all for it.

Damnit….
    everything-illegal-blurb.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

With you there. If they were installed on all the entries and exits on the M50 and used for average speed checks, it would cut out the speeding completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

With you there. If they were installed on all the entries and exits on the M50 and used for average speed checks, it would cut out the speeding completely.

It would only incur more chaos on the already shite to drive on M50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

They probably did lots of are-average-speed-cameras-worthwhile-surveys*

( * one way is to scan bluetooths at one end of the road and scan them at the other end of the road - close enough for a rough survey )

this craic :

JfhSIdc.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

polan wrote: »
    It would only incur more chaos on the already shite to drive on M50.

Would you care to explain your theory on this matter, preferably backed up by some research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Would you care to explain your theory on this matter, preferably backed up by some research.

- It'd cause even more erratic driving from those who can't keep the car at a consistent speed or with the flow of the rest of the traffic as it is

- More last minute lane hopping as lower speeds will mean some will take more risks

- Less attention being paid to the road and the actual conditions because of speedometer watching

- It's ultimately unnecessary as speed on the M50 (especially at rush hour) is self-regulating due to the volume of traffic. The issues are caused by inattention, tail-gating and last minute lane changes (the latter often resulting in the former as leaving too big a gap can invite some idiot to try and squeeze into it to get a car length ahead)

As it is 100/120 is often too slow a limit for the M50/many of our quieter motorways, but especially after say 9pm when they become practically deserted.

I'd be more in favour of variable speed limits so long as they reflected the actual driving conditions at the time.. but of course that would require effort and flexibility... far easier to slap up some cameras and send fines to people for being a few km over.. that way you can point to "dealing with the problem" AND make some cash for your next self-appointed pay rise. :rolleyes:

But of course the "speed kills" types who can't judge conditions for themselves and drive appropriately as a result (whether it be faster OR slower) will think it's a great thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭CosmicJay

Bomb it down the motorway at 150 for halfway then slam on the brakes and take the remaining 50% at 50kph in the middle lane.

Overall M50 driving wont change much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

ANPR definitely going to be required at the O'Connell Street junctions when Cross City Luas starts up.

And on the buslanes on the quays.

That'll sort it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

cameras on city box junctions would be nice.

And mines to be detonated under muppets cutting left from the wrong lane onto south keys at butt bridge....