Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motor tax question

• 30-03-2017 7:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭

My wife was stopped by a garda today as the car insurance disc was not the current one. To cut a long story short, I had renewed the insurance but was never sent out the cert. That is now being fixed up. The guard has asked that I attend a station within 10 days and show PROOF that I have paid for car insurance, NCT and motor tax. I am ok with the first two, but is there any way of proving that the motor tax was paid? I have the disc displayed on the car, and I have a bank statement showing it debited (could be argued that this is my wife's car and not my own). There doesn't seem to be a way of getting a receipt from the Motor Tax online website. It would have displayed one on the site at the time. I always copy to word and then when I get the cert, I delete the word document. Anyone any idea how I could prove this? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Tell him to shove it.
    Prove you have insurance and were covered when the car was pulled over that's all you have to prove.

You don't need to prove you paid for tax or NCT.
    Bring the NCT cert with you and your tax disc.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

As above.

Having the tax disc on the car is proof that you have paid.

Bring all the discs with you when you do produce and ask for a pulse generated receipt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

THe tax disk is the proof you paid!
    Bring the insurance policy document with you..the page the disk was attached to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

He could have impounded the car, so I am grateful that I got away light. I will do what has been suggested, and see what happens. Thanks for the advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Ally Dick wrote: »
    He could have impounded the car, so I am grateful that I got away light. I will do what has been suggested, and see what happens. Thanks for the advice

Stupid question, but i take it from your OP that you had current NCT and tax discs displayed when you were stopped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Just to be clear OP, what did you have in the window?

Rothmans wrote: »
    Stupid question, but i take it from your OP that you had current NCT and tax discs displayed when you were stopped?

Sorry I had current NCT to November 2017, Tax to August 2017, Insurance cert expired September 2016. I know, I know, a very stupid mistake. I paid the insurance renewal in August 2016....but I now am sure that I never received the cert or the disk in the post. I have requested a replacement, and it is being posted out to me tomorrow.

RustyNut wrote: »
    Just to be clear OP, what did you have in the window?

Hi RustyNut. Thanks. See my response to Rothmans please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Sorry I had current NCT to November 2017, Tax to August 2017, Insurance cert expired September 2016. I know, I know, a very stupid mistake. I paid the insurance renewal in August 2016....but I now am sure that I never received the cert or the disk in the post. I have requested a replacement, and it is being posted out to me tomorrow.

Then you just need to produce insurance cert, NCT cert and tax disc as far as i can see. If you are still a bit uneasy about it,you could ask to speak to the guard himself/herself to make sure that's what they were looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Hi RustyNut. Thanks. See my response to Rothmans please

My guess is that you will get two summonses, one for non display insurance one for driving with no insurance. You bring all the appropriate paperwork to court and it will all be struck out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭blackbox

RustyNut wrote: »
    My guess is that you will get two summonses, one for non display insurance one for driving with no insurance. You bring all the appropriate paperwork to court and it will all be struck out.

You're unlikely to get a summons if you produce the documentation within the 10 days. (unless either you get an obnoxious guard or you were obnoxious to him/her)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

RustyNut wrote:

He/she won't go to court . They are only being asked to produce documents in the cop shop to show he/she is driving legally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

Ally Dick wrote:
    My wife was stopped by a garda today as the car insurance disc was not the current one. To cut a long story short, I had renewed the insurance but was never sent out the cert. That is now being fixed up. The guard has asked that I attend a station within 10 days and show PROOF that I have paid for car insurance, NCT and motor tax. I am ok with the first two, but is there any way of proving that the motor tax was paid? I have the disc displayed on the car, and I have a bank statement showing it debited (could be argued that this is my wife's car and not my own). There doesn't seem to be a way of getting a receipt from the Motor Tax online website. It would have displayed one on the site at the time. I always copy to word and then when I get the cert, I delete the word document. Anyone any idea how I could prove this? Thanks

Bring the tax disc and insurance cert and Nct disc/cert . The guard can easily check those anyways using IT services .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

and for statistics and reporting.. this will now appear as 2 stops.... lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Tell him to look up the tax disc status of the car on his Commodore 64 if he doesn't believe the disc is genuine, he should have access to it with that.

This happened in west Dublin. There were a load of cars pulled over....the cop was wondering how to approach it. In fairness, he waited till my wife rang me to ask me about it. He was looking to see if I had paid or not. I told her the details, but I didn't have the reference number. At that point, he told my wife that she was lucky he was in a good mood, and that I was to produce documents in the station. He said that I would probably get a "nasty letter" in the post, but he gave her his name and number and said to ask for him, and he would sort it out, if it happened. Not sure what that nasty letter might entail. On a footnote, there was a transporter in the estate to take away at least 10 impounded cars. My brother in law lives there and he saw it..so I was really very very lucky to get away with it. I was stupid, but I wasn't evading paying anything, so I am not beating myself up over it either way