Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horse Racing Memories Thread

• 28-03-2017 5:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭

Noticed there wasnt a thread of this type on here so just thought Id start one for us to share all our old memories be they good or bad of the sport in years gone by, favourite horses, races etc and generally just a discussion of some of the legends of yesteryear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

First thing that comes to mind is Denman winning the Gold Cup...loved that horse so to see him destroy the field from the front was something else!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Miall108

One of mine was Moscow Flyer winning the Tingle Creek in 2004. Probably the greatest race Ive ever seen, the horse kept finding more for Barry Geraghty when it looked like he was going to be picked off by Azertyioup and Well Chief turning for home. Fantastic performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Hawk Wing demolishing them in the Lockinge. He was a complete freak of a horse. Labaik winning the Supreme Novices too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Frankle in the 2000 Guineas was breathtaking .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Richard Johnson winning concurrent races, am sure I didn't imagine it, did I? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Dancing brave losing the 86 Epsom Derby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Best racing memory I have was at the Ballinrobe races nearly 20 years ago. A gang of my friends drove down for the day out and somehow ended up hitting Oliver O Brady's horsebox on the way into the course. Even though it was our fault and the lad doing the driving was after a few pints, he didn't say anything. After making sure everyone was alright, he waved us off with a tip saying that his runner that day Ansari would not be beat. Between all of us, we had 2.5k Euro on the horse and it ended up getting beat into second. We were about to go home penniless when a stewards enquiry was called with the winner being thrown out and ours declared the winner. Que mad scenes of celebration with the man himself in the parade ring. An absolute gentleman who is sadly missed in Irish racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭CheltenhamJ

Was in Newmarket to see Frankel win , unbelievable and v special , Irish champion stakes with Galileo and fantastic light was something else ( backed the wrong one though !!)

Montjeu winning a King George on the bridle has to be up there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Montjeu winning a King George on the bridle has to be up there too.

That was a day to remember at Ascot for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I know it's very fresh but arrogate's win in the Dubai World Cup was pretty impressive coming from last to first and then absolutely taking off to win by over 2 lengths. An interview with Mike smith tells that he actually had to hold the horse back in order to not take the lead too early. A slow start, held up badly in last place and then rockets on to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Yep those Frankel wins were a sight along with a few others, recall Rakti blitzing a field in the Lockinge some years back the splash on the racing post next day Rakti first, the rest nowhere accompanied by full page picture.

I guess Master Minded's champion chase win 19Lenghts was rediculous watched it in person. Another was Sea the stars Arc given the expectations and that he was able deliver with a huge field taking him on.

More recently, I've seen a few Lexus Chase finishes that you couldn't call 200 yards out Tidal Bays being the most exaggerated one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

Wichita Lineman's win in the William Hill in 2009 was the race that turned me into someone from someone looking to boost my funds for the weekend to someone with a passion and love for the game. Didn't have a dime on him but was mesmerized that day. Special mention to Harbinger's win in the King George, one of my favourite videos to watch when i need a pickmeup.

As for following horses, Coneygree's Gold Cup win or Simonsig's Neptune win. Two horses I'd followed almost since their respective first runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Always had an interest in racing since the age of around 17/18 but the 2011 Queen Mother was the turning point that got me hooked at the age of 20! I had a reliable tip for Sizing Europe at 16s, a horse I backed there on in. Haven't looked back since!

as for bad memories, Darlan's fall that led to his death is up there but before Cheltenham 2014 i had a sizeable e/w antipost of Sire De Grugy, Quevega and Big Bucks at decent prices (well for SDG) anyway. First two won so i decided to book a last minute flight and grab tickets to go over and hopefully see Big Bucks win a sizeable amount and if he didn't i'd be getting a decent enough return if Big Bucks placed.

I was due to go over to France for the Irish Six Nations game so i planned to go up to London after the racing and get the Eurostar on the Friday with one of my mates who lived in London at the time. I didn't actually have too much cash on me (payday was actually on that Friday) but with my treble placed online i thought i'd be alright as i had a cash card. When i got to the dublin airport to fly out i realised that for some reason my bank had taken out my direct debits a day early (Friday was Paddys day) so i was left with barely anything for spending money.

The flight then got rerouted to London because of fog and the airline hadn't put on any shuttle buses so i had to jump in a taxi with 4 other people that I didn't know and we settled on a £300 fee, £60 each. Eroding my funds basically to nil. It was alright though Big Bucks would come through for me and at least place...

Then after that debacle i had to make my way up to London but i'd not got enough for the fare, thankfully one of the lads i'd met on the taxi down paid for my fare (he'd won big on Doctor Harper in the Pertemps) and saved my bacon somewhat.

Then when i got to Paris i found out that my other big bet Silviniaco Conti had managed to throw away the Gold Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

as for bad memories, Darlan's fall that led to his death is up there but before Cheltenham 2014 i had a sizeable e/w antipost of Sire De Grugy, Quevega and Big Bucks at decent prices (well for SDG) anyway. First two won so i decided to book a last minute flight and grab tickets to go over and hopefully see Big Bucks win a sizeable amount and if he didn't i'd be getting a decent enough return if Big Bucks placed.

I was due to go over to France for the Irish Six Nations game so i planned to go up to London after the racing and get the Eurostar on the Friday with one of my mates who lived in London at the time. I didn't actually have too much cash on me (payday was actually on that Friday) but with my treble placed online i thought i'd be alright as i had a cash card. When i got to the dublin airport to fly out i realised that for some reason my bank had taken out my direct debits a day early (Friday was Paddys day) so i was left with barely anything for spending money.

The flight then got rerouted to London because of fog and the airline hadn't put on any shuttle buses so i had to jump in a taxi with 4 other people that I didn't know and we settled on a £300 fee, £60 each. Eroding my funds basically to nil. It was alright though Big Bucks would come through for me and at least place...

Then after that debacle i had to make my way up to London but i'd not got enough for the fare, thankfully one of the lads i'd met on the taxi down paid for my fare (he'd won big on Doctor Harper in the Pertemps) and saved my bacon somewhat.

Then when i got to Paris i found out that my other big bet Silviniaco Conti had managed to throw away the Gold Cup.

Doctor Harper didn't run at Cheltenham in 2014. He won the equivalent race at Aintree that year, but that was almost a month later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

Certainly not the most prestigious of races but for some reason this race won by Just James in 2002 always stuck with me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=70Sj_j2F87A

The horse is never visible during the race and then appears from nowhere in the last 100 yards.

yaboya1 wrote: »

Doctor Harper didn't run at Cheltenham in 2014. He won the equivalent race at Aintree that year, but that was almost a month later?

Fingal Bay, my bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Three races I love watching back, as much for Simon Holt's commentary as the races themselves are the 2003 champion hurdle, 2004 gold cup & 2004 tingle creek. "Up the hill, can the old boy hang on?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Hardy Eustace 2nd Champion Hurdle

Beef or Salmon bating Best Mate at Leopardstown with Paul Carberry waving to Jim Cullothy - Was there, everyone in stitches except the stewards

Treve 2nd Arc win. Star horse the year before, wasn't having a great season and was 9/1 or 10/1 to win the Arc. The build up to the Arc the following year was very good with all the mouthing off by Treve's jockey.

Australia getting bet by Grey Gatsby in the Irish Champion Stakes. Australia, the hyped horse follows in both of his parent's hoof prints by failing to win the ICS by inches. Anyone in the stand that day had taken a deep breathe when they saw Joey go very wide and way too early around the bend. Ryan Moore's genuine shock said it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Re Dan I used to pull my hair out saying Gatsby had got a shocking ride at York the time before by Hughesie it was shocking!! Kevin Ryan said after leopardatown Hughesie said he gave it a bad ride and should have been closer

Remember one of the lads backing JFK and Australia in a double that day 'evens for two absolute dead certs'.

St Nicholas Abbey coming back and winning the Turf is one of my favourite flat racing memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭uxiant

They used to say that Australia didn't like being amongst other horses and it was one of their concerns going to Epsom. Maybe Joseph had that at the back of his mind and thought going wide was the safest route at Leopardstown because he believed he had enough horse under him to cover that extra ground. Unfortunately for him he didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

Re Dan I used to pull my hair out saying Gatsby had got a shocking ride at York the time before by Hughesie it was shocking!! Kevin Ryan said after leopardatown Hughesie said he gave it a bad ride and should have been closer

That explains how bullish my two buddies were about Grey Gatsby . I had a token each bet on Trading Leather (RIP) but my mates were absolutely bullish to the point that GG would bet Australia with Ryan Moore on board, both nearly got into a row on the course with someone who had overheard their private conversation and claimed that Australia was a dead cert. Felt sorry for Joseph that day. Saw Derek Smith walk by later, so you politely nod (not that he would have noticed) but dying to laugh :D , after all Kevin Ryan is also one of our own.

JFK had a bad one too.

That turned out to be a good card, as did the following day.(2014) Lad to have seen Gleneagles

I remember the St Leger. Two horses went a bit bananas. One was the popular stayer Brown Panther (RIP) and Pallasator around the ring. I , being oh so clever backed Leading Light, despite knowing that Ascot Gold Cups take a lot out of a horse. Boy I always had wished that Missunited did not get injured at Goodwood, she might have ran a mighty race at the St Leger, Winters would have HAD to have tried her if she was okay

Any way, the two lads,again, bullish about Brown Panther. They were big fans of the horse. Michael Owen , much to my anger , had been saying that week that the Leger might have been the "easiest way to get a Group 1 . Brown Panther went flying down to the start. I asked the lads how much they had on and laughed. "Ah, lads, ye might as well head to the pub now, its over". Low and behold, Brown Panther certainly had it in the bag well before the final furlong pole. Some ride by the jockey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

In my first race at Epsom, 7th June 1996, I backed the winner, Granny's Pet 5/2f.
    But in the six runner 5f 2yo sprint Herecomestheknight broke a leg and was put down behind the screens.

I remember the well-dressed owners, a man and woman, running up the course to about the 3f pole where the horse had stopped.
    A spectator at the rail asked me how long would it take the horse to be well again.
    He thought the Land Rover and horsebox were bringing the horse to horse hospital.

Later that day my 16/1 bet in the Oaks, Lady Carla, won by 9l.
    I'd backed her for the race on the morning of the Lingfield Oaks trial which she won.

Lt Dan wrote: »
    Brown Panther certainly had it in the bag well before the final furlong pole. Some ride by the jockey.
    Just for you. I was there that day with my camera.
    Brown Panther jockey in light blue jacket, black cap.

413072.JPG

Fountain of knowledge and nuggets of gold as usual, Diomed.

That definitely was not from the camera phone lol.

That was a decent line up for a St Leger race.

I was there too , all I could say was "Ah for **** sake",another good tip ignore while the two mates were jumping up and down like madmen (they won big, the f*****)

From my memory, or was that the British Long Distance race?, Leading Light got a bit of a bump. I know he got injured at the Ascot race

Roll on one year later, in awful weather, Order of St George stormed home, and one was wondering where the hell Brown Panther went to, only to find out the poor lad had died

Fountain of knowledge and nuggets of gold as usual, Diomed.
    That definitely was not from the camera phone lol.
    That was a decent line up for a St Leger race.
    Leading Light is in the striped sleeves on the outside in the chasing group, white face.
    Brown Panther went with the Ballydoyle pacemaker, then went away from him from a long way out. He outclassed them.
    The camera was a Nikon 800 with a 70-300 zoom lens.
    A problem at The Curragh is real photographers can cross the track and stand on the infield, and take photographs with the sun at their backs.
    Punters can only take photos into the sun, and never get a good photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

There is only 1 Barizan

The most confident 20/1 shot ever. If only it was that simple now . The head carriage on Mr Mole is comical thank god!, as he had no interest in passing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NEwqHXWasA

Harbour Law winning the St Leger as well. Laura Mongan first woman to ever train a winner in the classic. The horse took an age to hit top gear and just done them on the line from a superb ride from George Baker. Had a nice few bob on at 20s.

As for bad memories, Well Chief falling in the 2007 Queen Mother Champion Chase has to be up there along with Cue Card falling in the Gold Cup last year but Ill focus on Well Chief. That year was his best chance of winning the race as he went off as the favourite. As a Moscow Flyer fan back in the day, Well Chief was a horse I developed a particular fondness for after Moscows retirement. He was a brilliant horse who eventually turned into a bridesmaid of Cheltenham, good enough but could never get over the line. I thought it would be a matter of time before he won the big one after that galant performance as a 6 year old in 2005, I was devastated when he fell that year in 2007. He also had two of his prime years robbed by injury and then when he did return he was getting on and was up against another equine freak in Master Minded to whom he came a very good second behind in the 2009 Champion Chase after almost two years of the track. I have to say Well Chief is probably the best horse to have never won the Champion Chase

Hardy Eustace 2nd Champion Hurdle

Beef or Salmon bating Best Mate at Leopardstown with Paul Carberry waving to Jim Cullothy - Was there, everyone in stitches except the stewards

That was a pretty comical moment. It was a terrific performance from Beef or Salmon that day to be fair. Was always a brilliant horse around Ireland but could never translate that form to Cheltenham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

The day ruby remounted kauto star at Exeter and nearly got back up on the line! That started my love for that horse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭ipitydafool

Denmans Gold cup win in 2008 has to be one of my favourite horse racing memories. Him and kauto in their prime really were superstars. I wasnt into racing too seriously before then but the build up to that gold cup really sparked my interest. If you get a chance to watch the race, the commentary by Richard hoiles especially towards the end of the race is spine tingling.

https://youtu.be/fIQTzaCWnmA

Probably one of saddest memories was the day our conor fell and died. He had the potential to be one of the great hurdlers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭satguy

I recall some of the great Monksfield v Sea Pigeon battles in the Champion Hurdle. Also Night Nurse ran some great races.

Great times, I always took 3 days off for Cheltenham...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

Red Rums third national in 77 stands out among my early memories as he had gone from villain to hero for me. I was so disappointed in 73 that he got up to beat the gallant Crisp that I was against him in 74 and 75 but his heroics will never be equalled I think as the race has lost a lot of its unique challenge and is a far better class of race nowadays so harder to compete in.

Other favourite memories in no particular order:

Golden Fleece derby. Potential wonder horse
    Dawn run gold cup. The mare is beginning to get up.
    Desert Orchid first king George. I felt that he would stay.
    Shergar derby. The choirboy came of age.
    Imperial Call gold cup. I felt that he'd stay too.
    Isrtabraq champion hurdle. What a brilliant hurdler. In his pomp there never was a faster horse over a hurdle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

Sea the Stars seems to have been forgotten since Frankel came along but he was outstanding but never got the rating as he only did enough to win. The Arc win when he was boxed in in the straight was phenomenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Panrich wrote: »
    Red Rums third national in 77 stands out among my early memories as he had gone from villain to hero for me. I was so disappointed in 73 that he got up to beat the gallant Crisp that I was against him in 74 and 75 but his heroics will never be equalled I think as the race has lost a lot of its unique challenge and is a far better class of race nowadays so harder to compete in.

Other favourite memories in no particular order:

Golden Fleece derby. Potential wonder horse
    Dawn run gold cup. The mare is beginning to get up.
    Desert Orchid first king George. I felt that he would stay.
    Shergar derby. The choirboy came of age.
    Imperial Call gold cup. I felt that he'd stay too.
    Isrtabraq champion hurdle. What a brilliant hurdler. In his pomp there never was a faster horse over a hurdle.

Agree with those, the Peter O'Sullevan commentaries being a big part of most of them of course. Some more from the 70s and 80s for me would be

Grundy's King George - the "Race of the Century" at the time
    The Minstrel 1977 Derby - L Piggot a force of nature in the saddle
    Aldaniti's National, cannot watch either the finish or the John Hurt movie without welling up
    Dancing Brave in the Arc

and more recently

Royal Academy Breeders Cup mile
    Arazi Breeders Cup juvenile
    Have to mention Papillion in the National, first big win for Ruby

Recent Nationals have been good too I thought - Mouse's emotion last year. Oliver Sherwood's reaction while being interviewed when Many Clouds wobbled after he won.

Bad memory would be "the National that never was" in 93.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Harbour Law winning the St Leger as well. Laura Mongan first woman to ever train a winner in the classic. The horse took an age to hit top gear and just done them on the line from a superb ride from George Baker. Had a nice few bob on at 20s.

"Laura Mongan first woman to ever train a winner in the classic"

"the classic" as in the St Leger or just any classic?

Yeah, was brilliant, George Baker had a great year too with Charlton's stayer as well. Touch wood Baker will recover after that nasty fall in St Mortiz

Special Duty , 2010 1000 Newmarket Guineas, trained by Criquette Head-Maarek

: Well by default, Cecil's horse got booted out. Funny thing is, Special Duty "won" the French Guineas in similar fashion.

Denmans Gold cup win in 2008 has to be one of my favourite horse racing memories. Him and kauto in their prime really were superstars. I wasnt into racing too seriously before then but the build up to that gold cup really sparked my interest. If you get a chance to watch the race, the commentary by Richard hoiles especially towards the end of the race is spine tingling.

https://youtu.be/fIQTzaCWnmA

Probably one of saddest memories was the day our conor fell and died. He had the potential to be one of the great hurdlers

Worse thing about Our Conor was that Barry Connell bought him for a lot of money (the guy never seems to have much luck) and had promised to donate any prize money won by Our Conor to Charity, I think to the Injured Jockeys fund or something like that. Awful way to start the first day of the festival. At least Jessie Harrington got rewarded , a classy act. Awful for Dessie because by the end of the year the great man was dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYASMgtuFrA

Royal Acadamy.

One of the best commentaries on either the UK or US version.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLCJMlLLriQ

Sea the Stars seems to have been forgotten since Frankel came along but he was outstanding but never got the rating as he only did enough to win. The Arc win when he was boxed in in the straight was phenomenal.

Faster Guineas too. But Frankel camp will talk about strong head wind etc.

How good was Sea The Star's opposition.?

Fame and Glory, Twice Over, Cityscape (1 Group 1 in Dubai) Stacelita (did her thing in the US) Youmzaine , the Japanese Horse in the Arc , Masterofthehorse,Rip Van Winkle , Conduit , Dar Re Mi,Vision d'Etat, Cavalry Man ,

O'Brien threw everything at STS.

I wonder is it the fact that Frankel was foaled in Britain, being British and trained by the resurgent Henry Cecil that got the British racing public all soft about this horse. Some of the hyperbole seems a bit much. But, look at how he bet and what they did

His best performance was the Irish Champion Stakes, but yeah, the Arc, he really turned it on when he got the gap. Jim McGrath's commentary was outstanding . If you check out the other versions of the commentary, it is a stark contrast,(a very posh Englishman , very polite and not too excited by in marvel of the horse, but acting like the achievement was nothing)

"perfection in equine form, the horse of a lifetime"

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Auroras_encore

Denmans gold and kautos betfair chase in 2011 always stick out to me

saddest would be golden cygnet in the scottish champion hurdle came along night nurse and sea pigeon on the bridle but unfortunately fell at the last and died of a brain hemmorhage not long after

ziggy wrote: »

Personally I think that people who crab about Frankel just hate horse racing. What other possible reason could there be. Never mind anything else the burst of acceleration in the Royal Lodge was just a 'wow' moment, Queally could barely hold onto him, it was just a monster in action. Loved it and his Guineas.

Couple for the memory bank - Hurricane Fly's novice hurdle at Leopardstown. I was there that day and there was just an amazing sense of 'this horse is something else'. Also Beef or Salmon wearing down the Listener in the Hennessey (yes I backed him and was there!)

On a personal note firstly backing Butlers Cabin when I was literally down to a fiver at Cheltenham (won at 46/1 on the tote) and the first time I ever took my kids racing (Navan) a random old guy in the betting ring gave us a 50/1 winner in the last - had to explain to them on the way home that that didn't normally happen, they thankfully got the bug though.

"perfection in equine form, the horse of a lifetime"

Still brings chills watching and listening to that. I wonder did he have it planed or just came out of the top of his head

You noticed how forced and contrite the commentary for Frankel's last race was. Similar fashion, similar kind of statements made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭robbiezero

This one for me. Incredible weight carrying performance. Came up the home straight like an arrow, burning off all comers.

robbiezero wrote: »
    This one for me. Incredible weight carrying performance. Came up the home straight like an arrow, burning off all comers.

That was one of the best staying chase performances of all time imo. He gave What a Friend 22lbs that day and a 4L beating and he came out in his next 2 races and won the Lexus Chase and Aintree Bowl.