Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway man detained in the US

• 20-03-2017 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭

Just heard on Claire Byrne Show that an undocumented Irish man has been detained in the US.

First off, is this really news?

And secondly, first contributor on the show said "our thoughts are with his family".

HE'S NOT DEAD FFS!

He's illegally in the country and he's been nabbed. Are we meant to start shedding tears for this guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Oooh he must be a criminal...they can keep him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

NIMAN wrote: »
    Just heard on Claire Byrne Show that an undocumented Irish man has been detained in the US.

First off, is this really news?

And secondly, first contributor on the show said "our thoughts are with his family".

HE'S NOT DEAD FFS!

He's illegally in the country and he's been nabbed. Are we meant to start shedding tears for this guy?

Of course we are, sure the Irish are a great bunch and should be exempt from following the laws of other countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Aongus von Bismarck on securities fraud charges?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Is that the Egyptian fella at it again? Whatever happened to him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

One of hundreds of Irish people living over there illegally. Sickener for the bloke but it's hardly news-worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

PRAY FOR HIM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Is that the Egyptian fella at it again? Whatever happened to him?

Apparently he's living off a drip and they keep putting back his court date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭hungry hypno toad

Don't suppose they mentioned why he was detained?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

Fake news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

Its all fake news until a GoFundMe page has been set up.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭beertons

He was playing hide and seek in a big place.

He lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭denismc

He was from Galway, maybe we should build a wall around Galway!
    There are some bad hombres in Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It's as if Irish Illegals were not getting nabbed before his year :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

There's a vigil being held outside the Galway embassy in Dublin for him tomorrow night, if anyone's interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Pete Moss wrote: »
    There's a vigil being held outside the Galway embassy in Dublin for him tomorrow night, if anyone's interested.

Hogan's on Georges Street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Don't suppose they mentioned why he was detained?

He was up before the courts in Boston for drink driving, according to to the RTE News Now app on my phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

He was up before the courts in Boston for drink driving, according to to the RTE News Now app on my phone.

Should be deported so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Should have stayed at home and drawed the dole and got a free house like the rest oh them. Bring him home I say and let us the taxpayers look after him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Hogan's on Georges Street?

Apologies, I should've clarified the address. It's the Supermacs on O'Connell Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

I'd say kenny grassed him up to get into Trumps good books...

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

NIMAN wrote: »

An illegal immigrant. Would be refreshing for them to just say it out like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Refugee? Surely? Fleeing an oppressive regime. FG would skint him alive if he came home and worked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

FREE HIM!

Or dont, not bothered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

If you ever go across the sea from Ireland
    and maybe at the closing of the day
    You may find yourself detained just outside Boston
    And bounced back home by air to Galway Bay.......

The good times are over for the men from the West.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I am fed up of how we are suppose to have sympathy for people who break the law in the US.
    Any of us who go to the US on a tourist visa/ESTA know the rules. People know the law. It is not our country, however much they celebrate Irish culture in the US. If one is not a US citizen, it doesn't matter how many American cousins one has.
    The US is a great country, but it is not ours, and we would hope the Irish authorities would deport illegals in this country from wherever they are from.

People from Ireland and elsewhere have always been detained in the US for deportation, the Trump obsession is tiresome, shock he said he will enforce the law on illegal immigration, like enforcing the law is the crime, rather than being illegal being the crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Shamelessly stealing this quote from somewhere (can't remember where) - "Calling an illegal immigrant 'undocumented' is like calling a drug dealer an 'unlicensed pharmacist'."

Seriously, I'm in favour of open borders and immigration but this whole ridiculous "newspeak" campaign of people trying to literally alter reality by using inaccurate language is insufferably irritating and has absolutely no chance of succeeding in its goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

I'm sick of the double standards.

Guy mouthing off about all these immigrants and refugees from Syria...

1 brother on the agri visa in Australia and the other "undocumented" in the US...

But they are "hard workers" apparently... when they aren't drinking or fighting....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Omackeral wrote: »
    An illegal immigrant. Would be refreshing for them to just say it out like that.

People aren't illegal, whatever their immigration status.

Victor wrote: »
    People aren't illegal, whatever their immigration status.

Their presence can be illegal. If I gain entry to somebody's house without their permission and refuse to leave, I am an illegal occupant. The word "illegal" simply states that my status as the latter noun (in my example, occupant, in the former example, an immigrant) is illegal. If I drive a car after having been banned from doing so, I am an illegal driver - as opposed to legal ones, who are not banned. If I fire a gun in public and I am not authorised to do so, I am an illegal gunman - as opposed, for instance, to a member of the Garda ERU, who is a legal gunman / gunwoman.

If I am an immigrant who is in a country illegally, I am an illegal immigrant. If I am any <insert noun here>, but my being that noun is a violation of the law, then I am an illegal <insert noun here>. Simple as. If one required official authorisation to become a clown and I dressed as one and performed in a circus without getting such clearance, I would be an illegal clown.

The phrase "undocumented immigrant" is an incredibly obvious attempt to alter reality without actually doing the hard work of getting pro-immigration people elected and passing new laws to repeal old ones. It is a pathetic and incredibly irritating form of "activism" - and I say this as a staunch opponent of the very concept of national borders at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Replace the word undocumented with illegal ffs. Funny how illegals in Ireland here are not referred to as undocumented.

The hypocrisy of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

maybe they could detain the lad who killed Garda Adrian Donohoe who's living in the US illegally

That would be sound of them. Didn't he knock up some young one though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,998 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

If I am an immigrant who is in a country illegally, I am an illegal immigrant. If I am any <insert noun here>, but my being that noun is a violation of the law, then I am an illegal <insert noun here>. Simple as. If one required official authorisation to become a clown and I dressed as one and performed in a circus without getting such clearance, I would be an illegal clown.
    If your being in the country is a violation of the law, then it's fare enough to call your presence illegal.

However, being in the US without having a right to remain there is not, in itself, a violation of US law. It renders you liable to being detained and deported, but that doesn't make it a violation of the law. After all, having a mental illness such that you are a danger to yourself or others renders you liable to detention, assessment and (involuntary) treatment; do you go around saying that people are illegally mentally ill? Being a child at risk of harm renders you liable to detention in a place of safety; is such a child illegal?

"Undocumented" is correct; an undocumented immigrant doesn't have documentation entitling him to remain. "Illegal' is not correct; it's not a violation of any law to be without that documentation.

"Illegal" is an inaccurate and intentionally pejorative term used with respect to undocumented immigrants.
    . . . Seriously, I'm in favour of open borders and immigration but this whole ridiculous "newspeak" campaign of people trying to literally alter reality by using inaccurate language is insufferably irritating and has absolutely no chance of succeeding in its goal.
    That's quite ironic, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭JackTaylorFan

This is obviously a retaliatory measure against all Paddies after Enda went to the Whitehouse last week and stuck a metaphorical fungar up at Trump and co. with his "immigrancy" speech before taking a literal **** on the whitehouse lawn - and that's where shamrock comes from.

But seriously that speech was priceless.

Thanks, so entirely correct fair for them to chuck him out. Thankfully he didn't kill anyone while drink driving.

Apologies, I should've clarified the address. It's the Supermacs on O'Connell Street.

I'd love a Mighty Mac meal about now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

One caught, only 49,999 news stories to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The stupid twat drew attention to himself by driving while drunk and his illegal status was discovered. Now the idiot is going to be deported and rightly so. The only unfortunate part about the whole thing is he's going to be sent back here and so Ireland will have one more idiot to look after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Just what we need, another drunken driver on the streets. W@nker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,759 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Most likely when this selfish drink driving illegal immigrant idiot returns home he will be perceived as some kind of innocent victim of the Trump era and end up getting lots of airtime on RTE.

Yes, he will get a heroes welcome.

denismc wrote: »
    He was from Galway, maybe we should build a wall around Galway!
    There are some bad hombres in Galway

F*cking Knacker Dwarf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I wonder will Ed Sheeran write a song about him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Omackeral wrote: »

Yeah. Where were his 'documents' like - in the wardrobe at home? Undocumented me hole.

Non-stories like this get put out when you have an entire station dedicated to 'news' around the clock. It always gets silly - whether its Sky News on the box or breaking news websites.

They jump on hard news like the McGuinness thing then when it comes. It's like a sick perch swimming past a pike's snout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Apparently he's living off a drip and they keep putting back his court date.

Like a hamster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Replace the word undocumented with illegal ffs. Funny how illegals in Ireland here are not referred to as undocumented.

The hypocrisy of it.

I'm not sure I agree with the term 'illegal' or even 'illegal alien'

They aren't illegal in and of themselves. Its seems overly pejorative.

Peregrinus wrote: »
    If your being in the country is a violation of the law, then it's fare enough to call your presence illegal.

However, being in the US without having a right to remain there is not, in itself, a violation of US law. It renders you liable to being detained and deported, but that doesn't make it a violation of the law. After all, having a mental illness such that you are a danger to yourself or others renders you liable to detention, assessment and (involuntary) treatment; do you go around saying that people are illegally mentally ill? Being a child at risk of harm renders you liable to detention in a place of safety; is such a child illegal?

"Undocumented" is correct; an undocumented immigrant doesn't have documentation entitling him to remain. "Illegal' is not correct; it's not a violation of any law to be without that documentation.

"Illegal" is an inaccurate and intentionally pejorative term used with respect to undocumented immigrants.

If the law requires that one either be a citizen or have official authorisation to be present in a particular country, then being present in that country without satisfying either of the aforementioned criteria is illegal.

Are you stating that there is, in fact, no law on the US statute books either federally or state-by-state which requires that somebody be authorised in one of the aforementioned ways in order to be considered a legal resident in the US as a whole or in that particular state?
    That's quite ironic, really.

Not at all. When you're in favour of a cause, there's really nothing more irritating than those who sabotage it from the inside by being extremists who push people away with their ridiculous and inflammatory rhetoric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,998 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

If the law requires that one either be a citizen or have official authorisation to be present in a particular country, then being present in that country without satisfying either of the aforementioned criteria is illegal.

Are you stating that there is, in fact, no law on the US statute books either federally or state-by-state which requires that somebody be authorised in one of the aforementioned ways in order to be considered a legal resident in the US as a whole or in that particular state?
    As far as I know, there is no such law. If you know to the contrary, I'm sure you can link to the text of the law concerned.

There is a law which says that, if you haven't got the appropriate documentation, you can be deported. But not having left, when nobody has sought to deport you, is not against the law.

By way of analogy, if I come into your house on the equivalent of a tourist visa (as a guest at a party, say, or to read the meter) my presence in your house is perfectly lawful, even though I had no right to enter in the first place, and have no right tor remain. Once you ask me to leave, I have to go. But if you haven't asked me to leave yet, there is nothing "illegal" about my presence, even if the party is over or the meter has been read.

So, an undocumented immigrant in the US is liable to be deported at any time, and to be detained for the purposes of deportation. But it's not illegal to be liable to deportation, any more than it's illegal to be liable to being sectioned under the mental health legislation, or liable to be taken to a place of safety under the child protection legislation.

The US could make it an offence to be present in the US without the necessary documentation/approvals/status, but they haven't done so, and this is deliberate. They have created other offences connected with immigration, and no doubt some undocumented immigrants have committed one or more of those offences. But simply being an undocumented immigrant is not illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Who's gonna be there?

Ruth Coppinger, Brìd Smith, Paul Murphy for sure, but who else.?

Joan Collins maybe.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

As far as I know, there is no such law. If you know to the contrary, I'm sure you can link to the text of the law concerned.

According to http://immigration.laws.com/illegal-immigration ,
    The laws revolving around illegal entry or overstaying are found in Section 1325 in Title 8 of the United States Code

There are plenty of websites which go into it.

It is not a criminal offense to be unlawfully present in the US. (Depending on how you got in, that entry in itself could have been a criminal offense). However, it is a civil offense to be unlawfully present in the US. So, if you wish to equate 'unlawful' with 'illegal', then, yes, they are illegally present. If you wish to equate 'illegal' with 'criminal', then, no, they are not illegally present. I, personally, go with the former. (Quite a few things are not considered legal, but are decriminalised, from prostitution to lane-splitting)

Example:
    http://blogs.findlaw.com/blotter/2014/07/is-illegal-immigration-a-crime-improper-entry-v-unlawful-presence.html
    It is a violation of federal immigration law to remain in the country without legal authorization, but this violation is punishable by civil penalties, not criminal