Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe's Last Stand; Ireland v England 18/3/2017 Aviva Stadium 1700; RTE2, ITV

• 17-03-2017 10:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

The Real Bledisloe Cup

JoeSchmidt_app.jpg

V

Eddie-Jones-394522.jpg

Ireland
    |
    England

01: Jack McGrath|01: Joe Marler
    02: Rory Best (c)|02: Dylan Hartley (c)
    03: Tadhg Furlong|03: Dan Cole
    04: Donnacha Ryan|04: Joe Launchbury
    05: Iain Henderson|05: Courtney Lawes
    06: CJ Stander|06: Maro Itoje
    07: Sean O Brien|07: James Haskell
    08: Jamie Heaslip|08: Billy Vunipola
    |
    09: Kieran Marmion|09: Ben Youngs
    10: Jonathan Sexton|10: George Ford
    11: Keith Earls|11: Elliott Daly
    12: Robbie Henshaw|12: Owen Farrell
    13: Garry Ringrose|13: Jonathan Joseph
    14: Simon Zebo|14: Anthony Watson
    15: Jared Payne|15: Mike Brown
    |
    16: Niall Scannell|16: Jamie George
    17: Cian Healy|17: Mako Vunipola
    18: John Ryan|18: Kyle Sinckler
    19: Devin Toner|19: Tom Wood
    20: Peter O'Mahony|20: Nathan Hughes
    21: Luke McGrath|21: Danny Care
    22: Paddy Jackson|22: Ben Te'o
    23: Andrew Conway|23: Jack Nowell

It's Joe vs Eddie, Obi Wan vs Darth Vader, Brian Boru vs Oliver Cromwell, this is the big one.

England chasing a second consecutive Grand Slam, Ireland clinging desperately to the remnants of a season that promised so much when it kicked off with "that" win in Chicago. I'm under mod instructions to keep it positive, so here we go, let's all find our happy place!

The Line-Ups
    A couple of changes in each side, for England the inevitable return of Billy Vunipola for Nathan Hughes gives them a new dimension in attack, while Anthony Watson comes in for Jack Nowell who drops to the bench. No surprises there really, and otherwise it's all as expected. This is essentially England's strongest lineup and that is very bad news for us.

For Ireland, things are a bit spicier. Injury to Rob Kearney means Jared Payne comes in for only his third start at full back, but the big one is Kieran Marmion coming in for a baptism of fire with his first Six Nations start in a do-or-die game against a team chasing a 19th straight win. The only unenforced change sees Henderson coming in for Toner, one of Joe's stalwarts paying the price for a lacklustre display in Cardiff.

Payne doesn't weaken the team in a major way; his sometimes-suspect aerial skills might be tested by England but hopefully he can bring the defensive structure which has been conspicuous by its absence this year.
    Marmion went some way to reassuring us last week with a zippy performance off the bench in Cardiff, and maybe a snappier scrum-half will bring a different dimension to our attack, more of which below...

Finally, Andrew Conway is in line to make his internatonal bow, seven years after his Leinster senior debut. It's been a long road of catastrophic injury and undelivered potential but his form this season has earned him this shot. Rumours persist about the fitness of Keith Earls so he may yet find himself starting...

What's gone wrong with Ireland?
    Well, not much really. We haven't played badly as such. Defensive lapses against Scotland cost us the opening game, of all the trouncings Italy have had, ours was the most convincing and we were deserving of our win against France.
    The most concerning display, unfortunately, was the most recent. Wales came flying out of the defensive line and competed like demons at the breakdown, and we didn't seem to have a response. We looked bereft of a Plan B in attack and reverted to one-out runners with very little end result. If England were looking for a blueprint on how to beat Ireland, they got it last week. Can we turn it around?

What's gone right with England?
    Again, prior to last week, not much. They stuttered against France, Italy and Wales before absolutely annihilating Scotland with a pretty phenomenal performance. But throughout the last 18 months and 18 wins, they've had no problem grinding out wins when they need to, in contrast perhaps to Ireland who've come out on the wrong side of tight margins more often than not.

But we can win this, right?
    Yes. Absolutely. There is no doubt that we can win. The last 12 months have shown us that we can beat anyone. We are at home. The bookies handicap has England as four-point favourites which is not a massive margin.

Sweet.
    Yeah, but will we win? That is a lot less clear. We need a massively improved performance from last week. Key players have to stand up and contribute a lot more, the likes of:
    • Rory Best - both from touch and in open play, he needs to be the world-class player we know he is and not the fading force his birth cert would indicate.
    • Sean O'Brien - Almost anonymous in Cardiff, his bullocking runs were as non-existent as his impact at the breakdown, he was completely overshadowed by Tipuric.
    • Johnny Sexton - just stay on the pitch FFS
    The list doesn't end there but those three are absolutely key.

Sure the weather is a great leveller, isn't it?

Forecast is for rain and wind and in bygone days, that would be a good thing, but now? Less clear. With a back three that is less secure under the high ball than previous incarnations, maybe we won't see the non-stop kicking game that Eddie Jones has predicted. Given the handling errors and lack of precision that have dogged Ireland, another 80 minutes of greasy-ball-handling (ooooh, matron), isn't necessarily what we want.

How can we get at England?
    They don't have many weaknesses tbh. If running hard and fast at George Ford doesn't work, we may find ourselves running out of ideas. With Itoje at 6, they have an extra option for defensive lineouts and it won't have escaped their notice that we are rubbish out of touch this season.

How can they get at us?
    Billy V is going to run very fast in Marmion's direction, you can be sure of that. But beyond that, the Ford-Farrell midfield gives them footballing options that we just don't have and some of the tries that they ran in against Scotland simply look beyond us. So defensive solidity is key, and hopefully Payne will help in that regard. Overall, it should be relatively even up front but they just look to have a better idea of what to do with possession.

Prediction
    Yerrah, f**k it, Ireland by 5.

Jerome Garces is the ref, possibly the best ref in the world, so probably not a factor.

EDIT: Just to clarify, Ireland have a lot more than pride to play for. Losing tomorrow, coupled with a win for Wales in Paris, would see us fall out of the top 4 and into the second seeds for RWC 2019. Luckily, Scotland cannot overtake us as they will get no points even if they hammer Italy, so if Wales lose, then we can relax somewhat.

And just to remind ourselves:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Good write up...But Ireland to win by 5?.... Think you're being a little optimistic myself....But would love to be proved wrong !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Heaslip MOTM, whether we win, lose or draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭flatface

It would be a huge turnaround to take this game. This team deserve better than 3 losses but they just haven't clicked this 6 nations. With nothing to lose and Pride on the line we may see some great old fashioned Pashun to quicken the heart.
    I reckon a plucky defiant loss by 10 is on the cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

Change the date in the thread title. You had me fooled for a minute!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

Ireland win, by 11+ points.
    Cj Stander will score a try.

All Ireland have to play for is pride, and that is why they'll win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Tight game.

Think there'll only be a couple of points in it.

Ireland to win 4 - 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Previous incarnations of England have had a tendency to let the pressure of expectation get to them, say what you like about Jones, he won't let that happen. This is going to be as tough a test as we have faced, to win it our performance level is going to need to be 100% accurate. Heart says yes head says no, England by 10. Will be over the moon tone wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

England by >10

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Thread title deserves a slap!! Pissed it will only be a virtual one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Annabella1

England by 10-15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭kuang1

I'm gonna make no prediction whatsoever.
    Just happy to be going.

All I really wish for is the crowd to be tuned in from the start and produce an electric atmosphere. I'm worried that the distribution of tickets may have been a bit too corporate-ey...
    Any chance we have of victory will hinge on a vocal crowd helping to psyche out these England boys.
    We saw how rudderless they're capable of being against Italy, (although they will have learned from that no doubt) that's where we need to get them to.
    I think they lack on-the-field leaders (so do we) and we need to capitalise on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

On the floor Payne is the best Irish full back since Jim Staples; there is no two ways about it but his return is a massive plus to the back line. His defensive game is spot on and it will be needed with Joseph's deep runs but where he will be really dangerous is in his line breaks, a set piece that we've really not made a lot of use of this season. I'd be more concerned about the wingers not being able for it; both Zebo and Earls cannot afford to have a day or shirking contact tomorrow.

I said on here last week that Marmion's one weakness is that he isn't Conor Murray, which is no bad thing. There is no question about it; he is more than ready willing and able for tomorrow.

In the pack, I wonder if Toner's place on the bench is more so tactical then a dropping. His line out work wasn't the best in Cardiff but when Best is more Jim Bowen than Jocky Wilson with the Dart any jumper will be found wanting. Henderson offers a little bit more mobility on the park than Devin and thus his means we have the 4 quality back rows on the park, something that is a must against rush defence merchants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Good thread title!

I just hope we get our intensity at the breakdown correct, don't want to see Marmion buried half way into a ruck to get the ball all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

kuang1 wrote: »
    I'm gonna make no prediction whatsoever.
    Just happy to be going.

All I really wish for is the crowd to be tuned in from the start and produce an electric atmosphere. I'm worried that the distribution of tickets may have been a bit too corporate-ey.

Hopefully. You just cant beat the gentle burble of a quiet crowd, knowledgeably tuned in and following the rugby itself, broken only now and again by a ripple of applause for good play, sportingly granted each side impartially.
    Brainless morons shouting their heads off ("Come on Ireland!!!!" - well done, I'm sure they heard you and will now remember to try to play well), roaring like angry apes just because their team is walking up to a 5m lineout - spoils it for everyone else, brings nothing to the atmosphere, and only makes them look like soccer fans - this is rugby not soccer. But yes, the corporate box brigade are probably responsible for bringing a lot of that nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,954 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Glad Garces is reffing, prob the best ref going presently.

England by 2 scores.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I'm not sure why anyone thinks it'll be a big win for England, apart from Scotland (who got down on bended knee for them) our results are very similar. Even out points scored and points conceded are pretty similar.

Our biggest problems this season have been mistakes we've made so if we can tighten them up we should do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

enzo roco wrote: »
    Ireland win, by 11+ points.
    Cj Stander will score a try.

All Ireland have to play for is pride, and that is why they'll win.

All night party, still drunk, yeah? Or just start really early???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,515 ✭✭✭swiwi_

As Joe would say (like any good Irishman apparently...),"always remember to forget the friends that proved untrue, but never forget to remember those that have stuck by you"

Pithy dictums being his "trump" card for the weekend...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Glad Garces is reffing, prob the best ref going presently.

England by 2 scores.

13-3 penalty count in Aus game. He likes what Ireland do at ruck time and I think this is one area where Ireland will profit from.
    Hoping for a massive increase in performance from SOB.
    But unless the lineout prospers where will Ireland score 5 pointers?
    15 v 20 1 v 2 tries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Hopeful, not expectant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Berticus

This England team are overrated imo. They were lucky enough to get wins against France and wales and were rattled for a good while by Italy. For Scotland, it was a matter of champions or nothing and once that possibility was out the window (15 minutes in!), Scotland gave up. England obviously racked up the points then and in fairness had some great set piece tries but a deflated Scotland made them look this good.

I believe Ireland are at least second best out of the six teams and this game is in the Aviva where our record is superb. For those reasons, I think this will definitely be a close game.

Then really it's a matter of how we play, can we win those fine margins tomorrow? I think if the crowd gets behind the team tm (not like against France!) and we function well at the lineout, we will have a great shot at this.

• Interested to see how Marmion goes. Shame as it is about Murray it's the only way he was ever going to get game time. I think he'll do well.

Berticus wrote: »
    This England team are overrated imo. They were lucky enough to get wins against France and wales and were rattled for a good while by Italy. For Scotland, it was a matter of champions or nothing and once that possibility was out the window (15 minutes in!), Scotland gave up. England obviously racked up the points then and in fairness had some great set piece tries but a deflated Scotland made them look this good.

I believe Ireland are at least second best out of the six teams and this game is in the Aviva where our record is superb. For those reasons, I think this will definitely be a close game.

Then really it's a matter of how we play, can we win those fine margins tomorrow? I think if the crowd gets behind the team tm (not like against France!) and we function well at the lineout, we will have a great shot at this.

There is always someone who spouts the over-rated line. Regardless of the result tomorrow, England have strung 18 wins together. I'm not sure what Ireland's historical consecutive wins record is, but it would be well short of 18.

England have flattered to deceive at times, and should definitely have lost to Wales, but have you watched Ireland this 6N? Mediocre springs to mind.

Home advantage, underdog tag, the old enemy etc - basically all the well-worn cliches that usually lead to Ireland playing quite well will come into play tomorrow. Payne might help the attack cut through more than butter, but only if Ireland park the static one-off ball runners that are easy to defend.

I don't see Ireland winning because the pack has been underperforming - especially Best, the 2nd row, and Schmidt still has the balance of the loose forwards wrong. It will be a big ask of the midfield to defend well, and the Irish wingers strike fear into no-one. Not hard to imagine Sexton going off injured either, leaving Marmion and Jackson instead of Murray/Sexton. Chalk and cheese.

It goes without saying I'd prefer Ireland to win, but it will require one of those glorious plucky under-dog performances. After autumn, Ireland should have been looking to stamp their mark on the 6N, instead it has been a bit of reversion to type, not helped by a selectionally uber-conservative Schmidt.

I'd say England easing to victory is the most likely outcome, followed by a narrow Irish victory, or worse case scenario an English schooling. Ireland's best weapon is probably English over-confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Berticus

swiwi_ wrote: »
    There is always someone who spouts the over-rated line. Regardless of the result tomorrow, England have strung 18 wins together. I'm not sure what Ireland's historical consecutive wins record is, but it would be well short of 18.

England have flattered to deceive at times, and should definitely have lost to Wales, but have you watched Ireland this 6N? Mediocre springs to mind.

Home advantage, underdog tag, the old enemy etc - basically all the well-worn cliches that usually lead to Ireland playing quite well will come into play tomorrow. Payne might help the attack cut through more than butter, but only if Ireland park the static one-off ball runners that are easy to defend.

I don't see Ireland winning because the pack has been underperforming - especially Best, the 2nd row, and Schmidt still has the balance of the loose forwards wrong. It will be a big ask of the midfield to defend well, and the Irish wingers strike fear into no-one. Not hard to imagine Sexton going off injured either, leaving Marmion and Jackson instead of Murray/Sexton. Chalk and cheese.

It goes without saying I'd prefer Ireland to win, but it will require one of those glorious plucky under-dog performances. After autumn, Ireland should have been looking to stamp their mark on the 6N, instead it has been a bit of reversion to type, not helped by a selectionally uber-conservative Schmidt.

I'd say England easing to victory is the most likely outcome, followed by a narrow Irish victory, or worse case scenario an English schooling. Ireland's best weapon is probably English over-confidence.

I think it's worth noting that in this run of 18 victories, England haven't played New Zealand at all or Ireland in Ireland. Ireland won 10 in a row in 2015 which is the record...

In relation to home advantage, I wouldn't put this down as just "another cliche". The Aviva is clearly a very difficult place for teams to come to and in all sports, it's known to be a factor for teams winning/losing.

I'd tend to disagree that if Ireland win it will be a plucky, underdog type performance. If we win, it will be on merit and more a reflection of the team that beat NZD, SA and Oz only a few months ago. The 6 nations is a strange competition and throws out some weird results like Scotland vs Ireland this year.

In saying all of that, I do think that we need to adjust a couple of aspects to our gameplay and selections but this should come over the next year. To a certain degree, we have been figured out by other teams...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

It's hard to be too hopeful. Think we needed a bit more if a shakeup in the backrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

Feel we are due a sin bin for the opposition given the penalty count stats are in our favour every game.

Sin bin for an England player who gives too much heart over head with the stakes they are playing for.

Ireland to take advantage and see out an otherwise tight game.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Last (at least until 2022, but possibly ever given the way these things tend to go) Six Nations game on RTE also. End of an era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,675 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

icdg wrote: »
    Last (at least until 2022, but possibly ever given the way these things tend to go) Six Nations game on RTE also. End of an era.

...good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

MJohnston wrote: »
    ...good?

Well that new Tom Mcguirk guy is unbearable

Lucy8080 wrote: »
    Feel we are due a sin bin for the opposition given the penalty count stats are in our favour every game.

Sin bin for an England player who gives too much heart over head with the stakes they are playing for.

Ireland to take advantage and see out an otherwise tight game.

Please let it be Hartley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

...good?

No. This is incredibly bad.

TV3 will have Matt Cooper hosting and he's awful. They're just generally awful at showing rugby. I'm dreading it and am glad I'll have access to ITV.

Meh, they did okay for me during the RWC. As long as the panel is good, I don't mind.

Although saying that, I could do without hearing Matt Williams ever again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

They had decent pundits, although Hugo MacNeil, jesus.

It's Cooper that is my main objection tbh. He's just brutal.

• Last time Ireland won the Negative-Triple Crown anyone?

Please no thanks. Some of us have to deal with this **** on a daily basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Elvisjuice

they were awful during wc , awful editing camera work just crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

TV3 is merely diet ITV. The one way they can raise their rugby coverage about ITV is by assuring us of no Jeremy Guscott :)

Berticus wrote: »
    I think it's worth noting that in this run of 18 victories, England haven't played New Zealand at all or Ireland in Ireland. Ireland won 10 in a row in 2015 which is the record...

I realise they haven't played NZ, but through no fault of their own. At Twickenham they would be an excellent chance. Ireland we see today.

In relation to home advantage, I wouldn't put this down as just "another cliche". The Aviva is clearly a very difficult place for teams to come to and in all sports, it's known to be a factor for teams winning/losing.

I agree. This is one of Irelands problems: very difficult to beat at home, not so much on the road. England have got to 18 by winning away from Twickenham.

I'd tend to disagree that if Ireland win it will be a plucky, underdog type performance. If we win, it will be on merit and more a reflection of the team that beat NZD, SA and Oz only a few months ago. The 6 nations is a strange competition and throws out some weird results like Scotland vs Ireland this year.

Well I agree there too. But you will have to find the intensity from autumn that has been conspicuously absent in Feb/March. Being the underdog might help, historically it has.

In saying all of that, I do think that we need to adjust a couple of aspects to our gameplay and selections but this should come over the next year. To a certain degree, we have been figured out by other teams...

Absolutely. Maul, kicking, double arounds. I kept a close eye on what Ireland did in the Welsh 22 last week, and it was extremely mundane. Mostly forwards hanging out from the ruck doing league-style hit ups. For all his supposed amazing attention to detail Schmidt doesn't seem to do invention off 2nd and subsequent phase ball.

Cheers for the reply, my comments above.

And good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

I hope we show some fluency and speed in the backs. Let's risk interceptions over just standing around waiting to be tackled.

The lineout is one of many worries for me. Please God Henderson performs as a proper second row in the scrum as well.

Vunipola personifies Polynesian power. He's going to be a hard man to contain and will create space for lads like Joseph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Would it be the worst thing in the world if we got a bit of a beat-down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Is it just me being a part-time rugby watcher, but I don't quite get all the hype about JS and this current squad of Irish players?

OK so we beat the All-Blacks, but in the great scheme of things has JS been a great coach for us? Are we really as good as the Irish Indo tells us? Are the players worthy of celeb status?

For me, we always come up short. Both in the WC and in this Six Nations we simply haven't been good enough. And that with supposedly one of the worlds best squads and the worlds best coach.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Is it just me being a part-time rugby watcher, but I don't quite get all the hype about JS and this current squad of Irish players?

OK so we beat the All-Blacks, but in the great scheme of things has JS been a great coach for us? Are we really as good as the Irish Indo tells us? Are the players worthy of celeb status?

For me, we always come up short. Both in the WC and in this Six Nations we simply haven't been good enough. And that with supposedly one of the worlds best squads and the worlds best coach.

I doubt they could be viewed as one of the world's best squads, but they generally perform well as a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

For me, the big difference between the two teams at the moment is that in a tight match, England will find a way to win and Ireland will probably find a way to lose. That's 'all' it is. I don't think anyone should doubt that Ireland's ceiling is up there with England's, back to back 6N wins and the NZ victory proves that. Just Ireland are struggling to convert.

I think part of that must be psychological. I think the Irish team looks easily rattled and why they'll always rally, it seems a bit easy to get bursts of points off of them when things are going wrong. You can put England on the back foot but the points come slower.

Technically speaking, I like England's outside backs a *lot* more at the moment (not much between Joseph & Ringrose in attack mind) and, much as I admire what Henshaw offers, Farrell's role as second distributor is a big part of why England converts pressure when we make it. The ability to take half-chances is a big difference between England and Ireland at the moment, and I think that's why.

My guess is that for Ireland to win, they need to start hot and dominate up front. No reason those things can't happen, although the lineout needs to be fixed and the forwards need to run onto the ball at pace.

Good luck and may the best Farrell win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

England by 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Would it be the worst thing in the world if we got a bit of a beat-down?

Yes it would...it would mean the likes of yourself and others could come her to lambast the team and gloat about how "poor" we are, even if the performance was good but the result went against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭funsize

Can anyone suggest where to watch the game as a family in Dublin? We'd rather not be in a pub. Are there any outdoor screens or indoor places like shopping centres?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Ireland by 8
    Hartley to get sent off
    CJ to go on the rampage
    Eddie Jones to explode in temper
    & joe to get an extension to the extension on his contract

It is foretold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

So, here we are. 6 Nations final day, and its all a bit dead rubber, anti-climax, sorta feel to it compared to the titanic clash we had hoped the last game would be.

Anyway, wasnt really fully tuned in lately, but see from the title that it is nevertheless a very very serious game for Schmidt personally, and his career as Irish coach.

So this is D-Day. Do or die, highnoon, judgement day, the final reckoning, last chance saloon, a final roll of the dice, hero or hung, armageddon.

Will Joe still be in office come this evening, or will he be packing his bags ? A great servant to Irish rugby (is there any better obit line than that in Irish rugby?), he certainly raised the bar. And delivered titles. So either way, we are forever grateful. But, as with politicians, it seems that all coaching careers end in failure.

(Opening then of course the discussion on who do with get next. What top coaches are available? Do we take this guy Raspberry from Munster? Or a punt to unearth another gem like Joe from relative obscurity?)

A little sad it has come to this. But Good Luck Joe, either way.

• Would it be the worst thing in the world if we got a bit of a beat-down?

If it gave Schmidt a kick up the arse and made him realise whatever he's doing isn't bloody working, then no.

If it's just BAU afterwards and he keeps picking the same players with the same manner of play, yeah it pretty much would be in a rugby context.