Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbour and Masonry Drill at Night

• 15-03-2017 10:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭

hi sorry if I'm going slightly off topic, but I'm looking for a bit of advice??

I have a neighbor who in the last couple of weeks has started doing DIY on their house, only problem I have is they are using a masonary drill ( that's what I think it is, sounds like they're drilling through wall) at 10pm/10.30pm and also hammering. I haven't said anything don't want to cause hassle, but I think its a bit too late... any advice??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

would they be people you could approach and have a chat with?
    in a perfect world people would have the cop on to realise that not everyone wants to listen to them hammering at after 8/9 p.m. but some people are inconsiderate.
    could you say something to them? i realise you shouldn't have to and probably don't want to, but it's that or else endure their diy.

good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Kajemo wrote: »
    hi sorry if I'm going slightly off topic, but I'm looking for a bit of advice??

I have a neighbor who in the last couple of weeks has started doing DIY on their house, only problem I have is they are using a masonary drill ( that's what I think it is, sounds like they're drilling through wall) at 10pm/10.30pm and also hammering. I haven't said anything don't want to cause hassle, but I think its a bit too late... any advice??

Are you sure it's a masonry drill? I can think of no work scenario where I'd be using a masonry drill for weeks. Next time you see our neighbour, simply mention it to him, and ask him if there's a timeframe for whatever project they are working on. If it's something like putting in new cupboards, personally I'd just let them get on with it and finished quickly. If it's a longer project, then it might be worth discussing a more reasonable cutoff time for using power tools.

None of the above needs to be in any way confrontational by the way - they are all reasonable requests between neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Kajemo

It looks like they are gutting the place so I imagine its going to be a long project.

I really am not the clued up on power tools, but they are two doors away and our house felt like it was shaking the drill was so loud, also the banging/hammering is un real.
    as I said I'm reasonable but its the time they choose to do it.

hmm I guess I can have a chat and see, I'm just trying to get other peoples views I mean am I being unreasonable??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Sounds like they are using a Kango hammer, and knocking internal walls, given your description. That being the case, 10 at night is a ridiculous time to be working. Certainly have a word - the neighbours have to know they're disturbing you.

ok so , yeah deffo will. Thanks for the info. I guess I just wanted to make sure that I wasn't being unreasonable.

thanks guys. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭shafty100

im not sure but i think it use to be illegal to make excessive noise after 9 pm , disturbing the peace ,it might be worth checking this out before talking to the neighbours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Its not illegal. Maybe if you were in an apartment complex there would be "quiet hours" then you could catch them on that but if they are private houses....there is nothing.

Hopefully they are decent people and if you mention it to them they will stop it at a reasonable hour. If not - prepare to suck it up as nobody can help you, they are breaking no laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

if it was midnight or later id say fair enough, but working at 10pm is fair enough. Some people work during the day and only have time in the evening.

People who work nights have long accepted that they can't tell a neighbour not to use a lawnmower at 9am. As far as I'm concerned (as are the gardai for noise complaints) 9am-11pm is a free for all on anyone making noise / using noisy tools etc…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

if it was midnight or later id say fair enough, but working at 10pm is fair enough. Some people work during the day and only have time in the evening.

People who work nights have long accepted that they can't tell a neighbour not to use a lawnmower at 9am. As far as I'm concerned (as are the gardai for noise complaints) 9am-11pm is a free for all on anyone making noise / using noisy tools etc…

11pm is not reasonable to use a large power tool that will also send vibrations through the structure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭sassyj

Not at all reasonable. And the Guards do not get involved in noise complaints, it's a civil matter.

I really don't think it's a reasonable time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,219 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I can't remember where now but I heard about somebody who had issues with noise before and they got no where because the noise finished up at around 10/10:30!

Anything up to about 11pm is fair game imo. As others have said when can they do the work if they are working all day if they can't work in the evening. It's going to be annoying at 7pm or 10pm and it's bit what I would consider late.

You can take a day off, of it at weekends, straight after work etc
    But upto 11pm is not reasonable and I well into the region of being a selfish prick.

Young school age going Kids tend to go to bed before 9pm.
    Many people with early starts go before 10.

If you can't do it earlier , don't do it.

ted1 wrote: »
    You can take a day off, of it at weekends, straight after work etc
    But upto 11pm is not reasonable and I well into the region of being a selfish prick.

Young school age going Kids tend to go to bed before 9pm.
    Many people with early starts go before 10.

If you can't do it earlier , don't do it.

Im usually in bed till noon on a Saturday and noise in at 10am that wakes me is tough and to be honest it's the same at 10pm imo, to me it's early enough to be fine making noise. Taking days off or early evening is not always practical people need to get work done just as much as you need your kid to go to bed. It's also not like it's a thing that will go on forever it will be for a time and then be finished and forgotten about.

We will agree to differ, but if you were my neighbor, there would be strong be words and any kind of relationship would be gone. As I said power tools at night outs you in the selfish prick category

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

....... wrote: »

And you have every right to do DIY and fair enough if you don't care what your neighbours think of you, but do you really think its the decent thing to do??
    I mean as you say yourself you tend to go to bed earlier then that, I would imagine if the shoe was on the other foot and you were settling down for a nights sleep at 10/10:30 then the whole house started to shake from drilling and hammering you wouldn't be long in changing your opinion....

Thanks that's a great solution.

I'll go get some this morning, thanks. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,927 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

I have a neighbor, they don't work..just gamble and laze about. Genius idea to put down flooring on a Sunday night. Works continuing on after 11:00, I was over there in a flash banging on there door

"Oh are we keeping you awake"

Inconsiderate A-Holes. I have to be up at 5:40 Mon - Fri, whilst there in La La Land rising sometime in the afternoon.

I would never let that slide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

Any noise that is a nuisance outside of reasonable hours should be complained against.
    11pm at night is a ridiculous time at night to be making noise,the poster above who said hed close the door on someone complaining and go back to work?We would have a serious run in.Everyone has the right to peace and quiet in their own home and when you are making noise at night which is affecting someone else you should definitely stop.
    I would go over and ,in a nice tone,asj him can you agree a time when they cut off.
    I fell out with a neighbour over their dog barking at crazy hours but today,the dog is quiet and I get the sleep I deserve.I don't care about my relationship with the neighbours.It was their fault we fell out.

[QUOTE=davmol;103006112
    11pm at night is a ridiculous time at night to be making noise,the poster above who said hed close the door on someone complaining and go back to work?We would have a serious run in

I would close the door if it was before 11pm.

A serious run in? What does that even mean? You have no rights to tell someone to be quiet before 11pm so you could run in whatever you wanted, but you have no entitlement to silence between 8am-11pm.[/quote]
    No Rights??Are you telling me that in a residential area where people live that they are not entitled to peace and quiet in their own home?In that case why are there noise pollution laws?Why are there procedures in place for Dogs barking at unsociable times?
    I don't know anyone that would happily sit there in their own home after a hard days work,tired,or people that may be getting sleepless night due to having children,that would accept that noise until that hour.
    The stress that could cause on people in ridiculous and over a long period.
    A serious run in meaning if my neighbour shut the door on me and was an inconsiderate pr1ck who thought he could make a racket causing me and my family stress then I would call the council for noise pollution along with many other courses of action.
    Tell me ,if there was constant partying in your neighbours house and you were exhausted listening to it all the time,would you be happy with it.If your stress level were thru the roof listening to this racket time after time after a prolonged period would you be happy with this?

davmol wrote: »
    No Rights??Are you telling me that in a residential area where people live that they are not entitled to peace and quiet in their own home?In that case why are there noise pollution laws?Why are there procedures in place for Dogs barking at unsociable times?
    I don't know anyone that would happily sit there in their own home after a hard days work,tired,or people that may be getting sleepless night due to having children,that would accept that noise until that hour.
    The stress that could cause on people in ridiculous and over a long period.
    A serious run in meaning if my neighbour shut the door on me and was an inconsiderate pr1ck who thought he could make a racket causing me and my family stress then I would call the council for noise pollution along with many other courses of action.
    Tell me ,if there was constant partying in your neighbours house and you were exhausted listening to it all the time,would you be happy with it.If your stress level were thru the roof listening to this racket time after time after a prolonged period would you be happy with this?

The issue is the noise is at around 10pm or 10.30pm at night and not at 11pm. If it was after 11pm the OP would find the situation easier to deal with but because it's before 11pm in my experience the OP is going no where really.

ted1 wrote: »
    11pm is not reasonable to use a large power tool that will also send vibrations through the structure

No, it's not. Particularly if there are small children, an elderly person or a baby in a neighbours house.

Thread is quite illuminating on how selfish and inconsiderate people can be. I'm sure the people who think up to 11pm is fine would be disgusted at the suggestion they use the weekends to do the noisy stuff.

Or perhaps they'd be so hungover that the use of a Kangol hammer at 8am by the neighbours might elegantly illuminate to them how obnoxious it is when people show no consideration.

Have a quiet word with the neighbours, OP. If they react badly then you know it's fine to both avoid them, and show no consideration for them at all if you have work of your own to do sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

Anything after 9pm or 10pm is incredibly inconsiderate imo.

People could be trying to sleep at that hour.

Babies, toddlers and the elderly, or people who have work very early should all wear earplugs to accommodate you. Or else you could have some consideration and accommodate them.

I know which I think is more reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Ear plugs.. if you wear them too much you get ear infections

Also they prevent you hearing what you need to hear; callers, household needs..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

So no one should do any DIY during the hours of 8am to 11pm to accommodate YOU? Ah thats grand then.

Extrapolation fail...

Has anyone given a cite that states that such noise/disturbance as mentioned in the OP is 'grand'?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

No one has any entitlement to complete silence between the hours of 8am - 11pm. What part of that are you having difficulty understanding?

Who said anything about 'complete silence'?

Can you cite relevant legislation or not?

Not your ornery onager

Legally or not,if someone  was using power tools late in the night and if that was affecting my child sleeping or me relaxing after a hard day at work then then the person causing the noise better get used to some loud techno and heavy bass pounding thru their walls from midnight to 7am day in day out.There are also plenty of other measures I would take too.
    And,the poster said above that since you are living in a populated community you should expect noise.Well the opposite is true,if you are living in a residential area you should do everything you can not to be disturbing your neighbours peace.Its called basic consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

11pm is a joke- personally I'd find it annoying any time after 9pm, but that's just me. But then, I've always been blessed with neighbours who actually give a cr*p about others.

OP, I would certainly approach them and try to come to some compromise- say if he agrees to finish between 10 and half 10. Don't go in all guns blazing, test the waters to see what they're like. TBH the fact that they think what they've been doing is ok makes me wary enough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Graces7 wrote: »
    Ear plugs.. if you wear them too much you get ear infections
    Even with the best quality most expensive earplugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

We're doing up an old house for the past 8 months and I wouldn't dream of using power tools late at night. I met the neighbours in the first few days of owning the house and on learning they had small kids, asked when their bedtimes were so I wouldn't be keeping them awake at night - unless it's a case of one or two quick to drill holes that'll be done in under a minute, I don't use power tools after 7. And wouldn't even do that much after 9. It's not like there isn't plenty of other stuff you can do late at night when you're gutting a house: stripping wallpaper, painting etc. cause next to no noise.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,910 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

if someone  was using power tools late in the night and if that was affecting my child sleeping or me relaxing after a hard day at work then then the person causing the noise better get used to some loud techno and heavy bass pounding thru their walls from midnight to 7am day in day out.

Would having loud techno and heavy bass pounding from your house all night not affect your child's sleep? Or your own after a hard day's work? If you could blare music all night without it affecting the people living in your house then surely someone else doing something noisy in their house shouldn't bother you or your children either.

You're being silly.

Often in situations like this a quick conversation can go along way towards sorting things out. Noise is inevitable when renovating a house. And if evenings and weekends are your only times to work then that's when the noise will happen. But a bit of consideration for the people living closest to you isn't too much to ask either.

Could you offer any help, OP? Have you any skills that could help to move the project along to get it finished quicker and maybe mean late night noise doesn't have to happen?

if someone  was using power tools late in the night and if that was affecting my child sleeping or me relaxing after a hard day at work then then the person causing the noise better get used to some loud techno and heavy bass pounding thru their walls from midnight to 7am day in day out.

Would having loud techno and heavy bass pounding from your house all night not affect your child's sleep? Or your own after a hard day's work? If you could blare music all night without it affecting the people living in your house then surely someone else doing something noisy in their house shouldn't bother you or your children either.

You're being silly.

Often in situations like this a quick conversation can go along way towards sorting things out. Noise is inevitable when renovating a house. And if evenings and weekends are your only times to work then that's when the noise will happen. But a bit of consideration for the people living closest to you isn't too much to ask either.

Could you offer any help, OP? Have you any skills that could help to move the project along to get it finished quicker and maybe mean late night noise doesn't have to happen?

You're being silly.

I wouldn't be staying in the house while the techno is being played.
    Yes,you are right,its silly to expect quiet in a residential neighbourhood and to expect your children to be able to go to bed at a reasonable hour so they can get up for school the next day.
    I can guarantee you the techno would be getting blared and I would be staying in a relatives close by so its not actually silly at all and when you are dealing with inconsiderate people like that subject neighbour(who hasn't responded to anything reasonable) the only thing you can do is fight fire with fire and give them a taste of their own medicine.

Is the Noise still going on OP?
    Have you talked to the neighbors about what their doing? Did they give you a time frame for the work to be carried out?
    Their has to be a point when the DIY will end.

Well if he gave up his job to help the neighbour, or sold his car so the neighbour could hire some help it would be done already!

:pac: pure gold.

I've seen people do a good bit off work with masonry drills and generally they wouldn't be doing it for weeks on end. My basic point to the OP was they should be an end in sight and they should talk to their neigbhour about when it might be.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,910 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

I wouldn't be staying in the house while the techno is being played.

And what about consideration for your other neighbours?
    Yes,you are right,its silly to expect quiet in a residential neighbourhood and to expect your children to be able to go to bed at a reasonable hour so they can get up for school the next day.

I'm confused. Where did I say any of this?

Noise is inevitable when renovating a house. And if evenings and weekends are your only times to work then that's when the noise will happen
    You are basically saying that its inevitable that if its the only time that renovations can be done then so be it.So,if my child cant got to bed early to get up for school,then tough,as its the only time the neighbour can do the work.
    We can presume that its an adjoining wall the neighbour can hear the tools through,this is the window  up against.The other neighbour in my semi detached wouldn't hear it as they are not connected to my house.

And maybe if the OP has any skills to help the neighbour they could offer to help. Like neighbours often do?

What Planet do you live on?Is it some type of Utopian place where people would give up their evening  after a hard days work or sacrifice time with their kids so they can renovate a neighbours house that they don't even know.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Mod:

Special Circumstances, you've offered zero advice to the OP, you just appear to be using the thread to take potshots at posters. The off topic posts have been deleted.

Don't post in this thread again.