Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ireland legends vs england leg ends

• 15-03-2017 11:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭

lads anyone know if this will be televised live or even later. Cant make it to Dublin on Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Did you intend to call them leg ends? Is that some kind of bell end? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

in their wisdom, this is on at the same time as the u20s game in Donnybrook, a double header with the ladies going for the grand slam, so both of them will be live. may get highlights later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭ssmith6287

fully intentional :D

Bit silly to have it the same time. woulda been some craic to have it before the senior game in the aviva

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,111 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I'm thinking of heading into the double header in Donnybrook... Give a bit of support, especially with the Women's Rugby World Cup coming up this Summer.

looking at the potential starting 15 Id fancy them against the senior side :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I'm not sure how I feel about Leinster pushing this game on social media so hard. It's scheduled against CURRENT Leinster players, including a bloody grand slam decider, being played in Donnybrook (you know that stadium we spent so much on redeveloping?)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

I'm heading to Donnybrook myself i find it wierd that this was scheduled against the U20S. I know it's for a good cause but I'm surprised that possible future provincial and national players​ are in a possible fight for a crowd against past national players.

also with the womens tournament coming we need to have full attendance at all them games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,969 ✭✭✭✭phog

I watched our game v Scotland in The Goat and they had tickets for this game on sale there. I bought three and no handling charge - happy days. :D

As an aside - in The Goat for away Internationals they sing Amhrán na bhFiann before kick off

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The Goat is good for matches, decent atmosphere. I doubt the signing is a regular thing, never happened when I was there.

Anyway, is the legends game on the telly?

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

awec wrote: »
    The Goat is good for matches, decent atmosphere. I doubt the signing is a regular thing, never happened when I was there.

eirsport 1

sydthebeat wrote: »
    eirsport 1

Ack for feck sake. This eirsport bollocks is a nuisance.

The guy that announced it said they do it for all away games

phog wrote: »
    The guy that announced it said they do it for all away games

Weird, wasn't done when I was there for the Chicago game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

What do they do, mute the telly during Ireland's call and sing A na bhF instead? A bit 'ra', no?

Neil3030 wrote: »
    What do they do, mute the telly during Ireland's call and sing A na bhF instead? A bit 'ra', no?

No, they show the anthems including Ireland's Call, and then as the players get ready and the TV goes on the ad break they play & sing Amhrán na bhFiann

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

is odriscoll playing. haven't heard his name announced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

ssmith6287 wrote: »
    is odriscoll playing. haven't heard his name announced

No, I don't think so, the squad is:

Simon Best
    Justin Bishop
    Isaac Boss
    Tony ‘Mushy’ Buckley
    Shane Byrne
    Reggie Corrigan
    Jan Cunningham
    Gordon D’Arcy
    Kieron Dawson
    James Downey
    Gavin Duffy
    Stephen Ferris (Waterboy)
    Maurice Field
    Jerry Flannery
    Mick Galwey
    Marcus Horan
    Anthony Horgan
    Shane Jennings
    Paddy Johns
    John Kelly
    Simon Mason
    Geordan Murphy
    Paul O’Connell (Waterboy)
    Mick O’Driscoll
    Ronan O’Gara
    Alan Quinlan
    Eoin Reddan
    Michael Swift
    Liam Toland
    David Wallace
    Paddy Wallace

Some players more deserving of the 'legends' tag than others...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I'm not sure how I feel about Leinster pushing this game on social media so hard. It's scheduled against CURRENT Leinster players, including a bloody grand slam decider, being played in Donnybrook (you know that stadium we spent so much on redeveloping?)...

It's for charity though isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

I'll be heading from the SCT final at 2 across the road to the 20s and women's game

I watched our game v Scotland in The Goat and they had tickets for this game on sale there. I bought three and no handling charge - happy days. :D

As an aside - in The Goat for away Internationals they sing Amhrán na bhFiann before kick off

Blow ins...

Blow ins...

Supporting a neighbour's child :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

https://eirsport.grabyo.com/g/v/QYwD41zpBys

A few lovely scores here and a great turn out by the looks of it. I hadn't realised it was on eir.

No Hayes at all. Outraged.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I see they were all wearing No. 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Fun game except for Frankies commentary he was awful.

Jerry Flannery was on a mission. He was all over the pitch tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Thought Flannery and Quinny were in great shape.

Comment about Gaillimh being up the average age by ten years was a classic.

Quinny nicking the try off Jenno poaching at its best 😝😝😝

Foley's sisters​ were TJs in the first half and his sons were in the 2nd half.

Aside from the weather it was a great evening, because they all wore 8 it was hard to know some of the players or keep track of who was on or off. England looked to have trained together a but but their lineout was a mess and i think we might have loaded the team with younger players in the final quarter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭exaisle

<snip> and i think we might have loaded the team with younger players in the final quarter.

Ya think? :-)

Good craic....and obviously the home side were never going to lose, hence the introduction of a few eh younger legends late on. Tyrone Howe whom I think scored the final try had about 10mph on anybody else on the pitch...most of them were only good for about ten yards at full tilt until the petrol ran out... In fairness, there was some slick handling out there and credit to all bearing in mind the conditions.

As an earlier poster said, Flannery and Quinlan were outstanding...it was a well attended match and given the cause, that was particularly good to see.

Just as an aside, could I just say that the food served from the second chip van from the back of the Anglesea stand was without doubt the worst I've ever had the misfortune to attempt to eat at any match. It was complete and utter ****e and I wouldn't feed it to starving animals. On a cold night like last night, what one would really like and expect would be something relatively hot and cooked. The meat in the burger was cold, the onion was raw (you fry/saute the onions on a burger to caramelise them, lads, that's what gives the flavour) the bread was cold, and there was token bit of lettuce stuck on top which was probably warmer than the rest... Only I had returned to the stand before I took a mouthful, I'd have decorated the inside wall of the chip van with the rest of it... Even the accompanying chips were only luke warm. For €9 for a burger and chips, you expect a bit better. Profiteering at its worst.

Next time I'll try them before I return to the stand....so be warned!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

exaisle wrote: »
    Ya think? :-)

Good craic....and obviously the home side were never going to lose, hence the introduction of a few eh younger legends late on. Tyrone Howe whom I think scored the final try had about 10mph on anybody else on the pitch...most of them were only good for about ten yards at full tilt until the petrol ran out... In fairness, there was some slick handling out there and credit to all bearing in mind the conditions.

As an earlier poster said, Flannery and Quinlan were outstanding...it was a well attended match and given the cause, that was particularly good to see.

Just as an aside, could I just say that the food served from the second chip van from the back of the Anglesea stand was without doubt the worst I've ever had the misfortune to attempt to eat at any match. It was complete and utter ****e and I wouldn't feed it to starving animals. On a cold night like last night, what one would really like and expect would be something relatively hot and cooked. The meat in the burger was cold, the onion was raw (you fry/saute the onions on a burger to caramelise them, lads, that's what gives the flavour) the bread was cold, and there was token bit of lettuce stuck on top which was probably warmer than the rest... Only I had returned to the stand before I took a mouthful, I'd have decorated the inside wall of the chip van with the rest of it... Even the accompanying chips were only luke warm. For €9 for a burger and chips, you expect a bit better. Profiteering at its worst.

99% sure it was Fionn Carr.. He wasn't listed and appeared from nowhere to run rings around England.

My missus also hates that chipper. Think it's called O'Briens. Awful stuff.

dregin wrote: »
    99% sure it was Fionn Carr.. He wasn't listed and appeared from nowhere to run rings around England.

He still plays! They should at least have kept it to retirees, poor auld fellas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Hahah can't believe they put on Carr, he's still a pro! Playing 7s at a high level too.

Gas. Home advantage hey? ;)

tbh, Flannery was on another level too. That and his hairdo... and a scoop or three had me think it was him that ran that in until I saw Carr running back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

Isn't mark cueto still playing with sale as well he was in the English side.

Tomtom364 wrote: »
    Isn't mark cueto still playing with sale as well he was in the English side.

No, he's been retired for a couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

exaisle wrote:

dregin wrote: »
    99% sure it was Fionn Carr..

Fionn Carr has a burger van? The things people do to stay involved in the game :)