Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girlfriend told me she has feelings for another man that she works with

• 27-02-2017 4:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

Hi, im 25 years old. Girlfriend is also the same age. Me and my girlfriend have been together for over 7 years, happy and do alot together as a family. We both work very hard. We have a 5 year old child together. We do alot of family things, Go on holidays, spend days away as a family. Dont seem to get any spare timw just as a couple. Hav had a fairly good/very good sexual relationship together. Experimenting in different things. Any way more to the point...

In the last few months and weeks things have gone down hill...
    We wernt having as much sexual encounters as we normaly had. A few times per week and now its goin to the point where we would "do it" once ever 3-4weeks.

In the last 3-4 weeks iv been getting bad vibes off her. Seemed like we were drifting apart. But we were doing nothing about it. Just letting it happen in front of our eyes.

Then 2 days ago she hit me with a bombshell. We had an argument, and i tried to get some info out of her as to whats going on between us both. She said that she doesnt think we should be together....
    And i thought that their was more to the statement she said. So we sat down together after a full say of fighting to sort things out.

We talked for hours and i kept going back to a problem i thought was the cause off all this in the first place.

I asked her was the problem we wer having anything to do with our sexual relationship together.

She eventually came out and told me everything.
    She said that she has VERY strong feelings for another man she works with. Feelings so strong that she cant control. She said she feels that soon it will end up going so far as to the point that she will start cheating on me with him. He has no clue about her feelings. And she has talked with another friend from work but getting nowere with that conversation.

After hours of talking it grew on me that she was honest about what she was feeling. And she had not acted on it.

Earlier on in the relationship we talked about threesomes to spice up things.
    I brought the idea up that if the feelings towords him are over powering that id be comfortable to invite him into a threesome.
    (Thinking he would be the perfect candidate)
    Although she hit me with the bad news that she has feelings for another man i thought id act positivly instead of just walking away from it on bad terms and destroying our relationship and life together.

She said today that her feelings towords me have strenghtened since our conversation.and shes feeling alot better about herself and us in general. I havnt stopped thinking about this all day. Its causing me to lack consentration in other things.

I am very open minded about things. Dont get annoyed and never get emotional about anything. But im on the fence about what is going to happen after this act.

The main problem that i have is, they both work together. It could lead to things at work when im not ther that she would feel she could get away with without telling me. She has also admitted telling me she is getting to a point that she will end up cheating, the only time she is around him is when shes at work with him. So the only obvious place to commit the act of cheating is at work.

Can somebody shine some light on this situation.
    Bareing in mind we are a very open minded couple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

The threesome idea with your man? No, just no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭GingerLily

Having a threesone with her work colleague is literally the worst possible solution to your problem, they work together, the negative consequences are endless for both your relationship and her professional reputation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

She can control herself to not cheat if she chooses. Wether she chooses to or not is another question.

Agree with the poster above. Threesome with a guy she works with is a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Andrews46

b_mac2 wrote: »
    The threesome idea with your man? No, just no.

Any reason why not??

Shes admitted that it will eventaully get to a point where she will cheat.

My real problem is the whole "cheating" part.
    I couldnt deal with the fact she would go behind my back and do such an act. But i dont class it cheating if we invite him in to a threesome together.

So maybe inviting him in together for a threesome will solve the urge that she has for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Andrews46 wrote: »
    Any reason why not??

I couldnt deal with the fact she would go behind my back and do such an act. But i dont class it cheating if we invite him in to a threesome together.

So maybe inviting him in together for a threesome will solve the urge that she has for him.

Op you say this guy has no idea of her feelings towards him. He could be in a relationship, married, gay! How will it solve anything by suggesting this to him and he is horrified by the idea?? And even if he agrees she still has to work with him so you would have no idea if it was happening without you while they are at work.

She can control herself to not cheat if she chooses. Wether she chooses to or not is another question.

Agree with the poster above. Threesome with a guy she works with is a bad idea.

She tells me she never had such a feeling before. She cant get over it and its getting worse. Any ideas on how to get over the feeling she has??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I applaud your reaction.

What works for some folk doesnt work for others and I have many friends who are poly or in open relationships so it can work but openness and honesty and trust are paramount. It appears that she has told you the truth and this has taken a lot of the allure off her forbidden hidden fruit.

First, this guy might have zero interest in her and it would take a brave man for a work colleague to say- can I bring you home to bang me while my hubby watches. I don't think that's realistic.

She has to make a decision if she wants to end everything you have to chase a bit of lust. If she does then fair enough, but if you allow her a free pass here she will cheat on you for the rest of your life. Don't do that to you kid unless you are happy with that becomming the status quo. I suspect if the shoe was on the other foot would she be happy with you brining home a work colleague for a bit of casual?.

Dovies wrote: »
    Op you say this guy has no idea of her feelings towards him. He could be in a relationship, married, gay! How will it solve anything by suggesting this to him and he is horrified by the idea?? And even if he agrees she still has to work with him so you would have no idea if it was happening without you while they are at work.

I know the guy. Hes single and straight, but doesnt know of any feelings she has towords him. Thats my point, iv got a problem that the thought of her cheating or finding out shes been cheating would crush me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

She tells me she never had such a feeling before. She cant get over it and its getting worse. Any ideas on how to get over the feeling she has??

Yes- Stop being a selfish person and get over it. It's just lust- its not an excuse and "uncontrollable". She's teeing you up here to be a mug. People are responsible for their actions.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Any reason why not??

Is that not compounding the problem? She cheats, he wins. 3 some, he wins.

I'd be telling her to cop herself on. Or get out of the house.

I applaud your reaction.

What works for some folk doesnt work for others and I have many friends who are poly or in open relationships so it can work but openness and honesty and trust are paramount. It appears that she has told you the truth and this has taken a lot of the allure off her forbidden hidden fruit.

First, this guy might have zero interest in her and it would take a brave man for a work colleague to say- can I bring you home to bang me while my hubby watches. I don't think that's realistic.

She has to make a decision if she wants to end everything you have to chase a bit of lust. If she does then fair enough, but if you allow her a free pass here she will cheat on you for the rest of your life. Don't do that to you kid unless you are happy with that becomming the status quo. I suspect if the shoe was on the other foot would she be happy with you brining home a work colleague for a bit of casual?.

Im fairly open, and so is she. Its just this speedbump in the relationship im trying to deal with in the right way. I could be ignorant and disagree to it all and in my eyes the relationship we have will be done and dusted in a few weeks or months. She will become dishonest and comit to cheating if its ignored.

Im not alowing a free pass as it will end she could get an inch and tale a mile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

7 year together, only 25, have a child. I wonder is this a bad case of the grass being greener on the other side? Or the relationship having run its course. People change a lot between 18 and 25.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

It sounds like she has checked out of your relationship and is determined to cheat with fantasy work guy, framing it as not being able to stop herself.

You OP makes you sound like a bit of a door mat. She has no respect for you or her child if she is willing to cheat with a random guy from work. You walking away would not be the one destroying the relationship, it's her acting on feelings she has for another man which would do that.

Have you tried couples conselling?

If you are looking for a threesome go through other more appropiate channels than lads from her work who she has feelings for.

7 year together, only 25, have a child. I wonder is this a bad case of the grass being greener on the other side? Or the relationship having run its course. People change a lot between 18 and 25.

We have known each other since age 13-14. Ending up together age 18. Having a child together 2 years later. Kinda like it was meant to be. Happy together for the last 7 years. We are in the middle of taking the next step in our life with a mortgage on a house together. And then all this happens....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Virgil°

Any reason why not??

Because we aren't talking about the OPs girlfriend getting an itch for a threesome. If it was just that, and she had an idea of some guy she'd like to do it with and her boyfriend was fine with that then happy days. But it isn't that.

She's admitted that she has "very strong feelings" for this other guy. A sexual encounter with this person while still supposedly being lovingly committed to the father of her child is the worst kind of solution to this problem. That'd be like throwing a stick of dynamite into a fire to put it out.

You say you are open minded OP, but lets be honest here. You really only considered this threesome option as a desperate band-aid solution to getting around your girlfriend cheating on you. I really don't think you've fully considered the ramifications of this.
    Do you really want to have a sexual encounter with your girlfriends crush? Like really really? If you don't then don't. I can't see a good outcome from any of your choices here OP. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

It sounds like she has checked out of your relationship and is determined to cheat with fantasy work guy, framing it as not being able to stop herself.

You OP makes you sound like a bit of a door mat. She has no respect for you or her child if she is willing to cheat with a random guy from work. You walking away would not be the one destroying the relationship, it's her acting on feelings she has for another man which would do that.

If you are looking for a threesome go through other more appropiate channels than lads from her work who she has feelings for.

Yep the fact that she also said she sees herself cheating or whatever it was she said, seems to me she knows he has feelings too. Who gets a crush on someone and instantly assumes they will have an affair. She seems to know it would be inevitable which I would assume is because they have been flirting already or she has some idea of his feelings. This to me seems like she has not just suddenly developed feelings for a colleague but that they have developed feelings for each other. That's just my reading of things though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

He's her work colleague.....

You are suggesting all this with her work colleague? Like, I assume they are not just in the same building, but actually work (in a team or something together?)

How has she grown these very strong feelings for him or she knows that he likes her? I think you've said they dont spend anytime together outside the office?

Is there information missing some where?

Thanks for that reply. Il be sure to look into couples counceling. As i think thats what we need. The part i cant get over is the whole "cheating" part. Although she has told me before she acted upon it. Whitch is a bonus. It takes alot to tell a partner that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Op sorry but I'm going to be blunt.

She is using you and will no doubt act on her impulse if not soon it will be down the line.

I would suggest getting onto a solicitor about being ahead when sh1t hits the fan and she uses the child against you.

You need to think now and honestly not waste more time.

Yes we all look at other females or females males but that sort of dreaming and telling is her working up to actually doing something about it.

I'll also ask how do you know she hasn't worked on it or had an affair already.

Look it may never happen but honestly she has told you she has feelings for another guy it might pass over but what about the next guy and what happens at parties and company events as you know yourself guys can be pretty stupid(I'm one) and if a girl throws themselves on you it ain't easy to turn that down obviously when single.

We have known each other since age 13-14. Ending up together age 18. Having a child together 2 years later. Kinda like it was meant to be. Happy together for the last 7 years. We are in the middle of taking the next step in our life with a mortgage on a house together. And then all this happens....

Are you sure you were that happy though? Sure, childhood sweetheart romances can work out but they're the exception rather than the rule. You've got to admit that she tied herself down very young, not just with a relationship but with a child. She may be rebelling against it.

Ok so ye have not been with anybody else?

And now when it is getting serious and you will legally be tied together forever and potentially never have other partners she suddenly develops feelings for this guy and the solution is to sleep with him in a threesome?? Op I think this is very much a case of her panicking about settling down having not experimented with others, whether ye are prepared to work through it together is up to you both but I really don't think it should involve a threesome with this particular man.

Mortgage you will be stuck paying till child is out of education and her to move in whom she likes. Tread extremely careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Mod Note
    Post deleted for being below standard. Due to the nature of the issues here our charter is strictly enforced. If you're not sure if you should post or not just ask if your post is civil and more importantly if it offers constructive advice. If the answer to either is NO then just don't post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

I don't believe for a second you're ok with this. I think you fear losing her so badly, breaking up the family/ mortgage worries that you'd let her away with nearly anything, but you're human, and I know this is destroying you deep down know matter how hard it is to admit. Imagine being there when your long term girlfriend gets off with her work crush in front of you, Jesus wept.

I don't believe it's healthy to maintain this faux controlled act, unless you lack the ability to feel emotions you need to stop this before it happens or let her go(she may already be gone).

Virgil° wrote: »
    Because we aren't talking about the OPs girlfriend getting an itch for a threesome. If it was just that, and she had an idea of some guy she'd like to do it with and her boyfriend was fine with that then happy days. But it isn't that.

She's admitted that she has "very strong feelings" for this other guy. A sexual encounter with this person while still supposedly being lovingly committed to the father of her child is the worst kind of solution to this problem. That'd be like throwing a stick of dynamite into a fire to put it out.

You say you are open minded OP, but lets be honest here. You really only considered this threesome option as a desperate band-aid solution to getting around your girlfriend cheating on you. I really don't think you've fully considered the ramifications of this.
    Do you really want to have a sexual encounter with your girlfriends crush? Like really really? If you don't then don't. I can't see a good outcome from any of your choices here OP. :(

True that, id do anything to save the relationship. And i thought that comitting to a threesome with the man she has strong feelongs may make her over come that "strong feeling" after the whole thing toook place. Its a desperate measure to save the relationship that we have. We have both invested the best part of our lives together, have a child and just about to start a new chapter in out life together. On the other hand i could just deny it all to myself. Let the relationship fall apart, and she ends up leaving and going off with the man in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

It does seem like she's not as invested into your relationship anymore but could you both get away even if it was just overnight just the 2 of you. You both need to get away from familiarity maybe somewhere you've never been before and see if that helps.

True that, id do anything to save the relationship. And i thought that comitting to a threesome with the man she has strong feelongs may make her over come that "strong feeling" after the whole thing toook place. Its a desperate measure to save the relationship that we have. We have both invested the best part of our lives together, have a child and just about to start a new chapter in out life together. On the other hand i could just deny it all to myself. Let the relationship fall apart, and she ends up leaving and going off with the man in question.

It won't save it though.
    Let's say you go ahead with the threesome, her "desires" are fulfilled and you fall in love again and all is rosy...what happens when she gets feelings for roy down the road and pat from the shop and whoever else... threesome with them too? Do you see what I'm getting at? I'm just trying to show how unfair it is on you op, not to trivialise your situation.

Thanks for all the replys. I will take everything into consideration. Apreciate all the input you guys have to say. I wll talk through everything i feel and we will see were we stand. Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭dmm82

But what if you go ahead with this and her connection with this guy gets even stronger after the threesome? And he feels the same way about her? Are you going to be OK with them continuing to see each other just because they're not doing it behind your back? Where do you draw the line when you've opened up the floodgates on something like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

I still dont understand hows shes so gotton close to this guy (to develop such feelings).

This is from a female perspective. To try understand is it something developing between them (mutual) or is her off in her own head (lusting) and day dreaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Virgil°

Let the relationship fall apart, and she ends up leaving and going off with the man in question.

I think the real problem here OP is that no matter what you do, this is already happening or going to happen. And nothing short of her suddenly pulling a 180 is going to stop it.

Right now you're in shock because she really landed a bombshell on you. Take some time to process it before leaping into anything especially something as mental as a threesome with her office crush. Don't feel you need to be ok or cool with this. This is about as upsetting a thing as anyone could face in a relationship.

Thanks for all the replys. I will take everything into consideration. Apreciate all the input you guys have to say. I wll talk through everything i feel and we will see were we stand. Thanks again

Best of luck but I've been there with short term gf and cut em loose was only option. Hurt like hell but honestly was best thing ever done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

I'd walk away, let her air herself out or find herself or what not. She might come back might not. Your gonna end up hurt either way. Pull the plug simple as. Go find yourself someone who appricates what you'll do for them.

Op I would also consider if she would ever dream of letting this happen if things were the other way round, if you fancied a woman in work, would she suggest a threesome? Would you even go along with that? Or would you realise that while you might want to, it would end in disaster for all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

An open relationship isn't the solution either. You both work on getting back on track or go your separate ways. If she ends up in a more deep and meaningful relationship and you don't you'll just feel more defeated than ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

If threesomes work at all its only when neither you nor her have feelings for the invited third.
    I'd bet my house that a threesome with this particular person would finish your relationship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭GritBiscuit

Feelings going so far that she'll cheat anyway - happy to have the option of threesome? OP, that sounds suspiciously like "I'd have sex with another man without you there but sure, now you've busted me, you might as well watch".

This isn't as if she brought up the way she felt or the threesome - was she going to keep quiet until she was cheating? Way, way, way too many issues in there to throw your self-respect away too in joining a sex session with people who may well be happy to be a two-some - that's not a mutually enjoyable situation, that's pure desperation on your part.

I think you are much better off deciding what your ideal relationship is, the kind of behaviour and communication you expect from a partner and going from there...and I'd agree the alarm bells are ringing re the sudden jump from he doesn't know to imminent affair...

Best of luck. Awful situation to be in. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

OP if you have a threesome with this man involved, you will literally watch as you lose your girlfriend. Do not do this, please! That'll be a ridiculously traumatising thing to experience.

It sounds like she's testing you to see how you'll react and plans on sleeping with this guy at the first available opportunity, ideally with permission if you're a fool enough to give it. The alternative is to shelve her feelings and not act on them and she's communicated to you that that's not on the table here.

I applaud your open attitude and what you're going for here, but it's getting taken advantage of. I'm sure she's not a bad person by any means, it's just maybe this is the beginning of the end and her realising she wants to broaden her horizons having only been with one person, and that's incredibly difficult to do when your lives are as embedded as yours are, so it leads to messed up situations like this. It sucks OP, no two ways about it, but if I was you I'd start mentally preparing for this to end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

I have been thinking, something isn't adding up for me here. I mean, this sounds all very odd. She works with this guy, has admitted to you that she has feelings for him, but I am under the impression that this guy is non the wiser at all.

What strikes me as odd, is that for her to come out and say this to you is a really big gamble, what if he has no interest in her at all? I mean, for her to say that, she would want to have some assurance that he feels the same.

Are you sure you have got told the full story here OP? I don't mean to stir it up.

I just feel someone is leaving something out along the lines here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Yellow pack crisps

Unless you have no feelings at all the threesome is a great idea! Imagine you do have feelings and seeing the guy your gf, mother of your child getting pleasured by and not being absolutely broken by that because in her own words she has very strong feelings for him and she isn't sure she won't act on them! You are the gateway to that affair and will have no one to blame but yourself! Threesomes can be tough on strong couples but for a couple in the midst of life changing discussions it's the death knelt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bilbot79

A possible scenario here is that the ops girl simply wants the relationship to end and the 'other guy' thing is a bit exaggerated. Maybe she doesn't like him as much as she thinks but wants the story to form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

She told you she fancies this single man in work and wants to have a threesome with him.
    How would she feel if you made this suggestion to her - can I bring Mary home for a bit of adult fun?
    As for having a threesome with someone from where she works? I would not do this. This will end your realtionship. It will only be a matter of time before her co workers find out what they both did. Long term it would not be good for him or for her.

My feeling is that she is not telling you the full story. They might be a bit more that friends. He might be happy to have some adult fun with her but might have no interest in having a realtionship with her. I know men and woman who won't get involved with people who have children.

Suggest to her that you go to relationships conselling and see what she says. She has a choice to make now. Is she willing to willing to go to realtionships counselling with you and try to keep your realtionship going?

My feeling also is that you have been talking about getting a mortgage together. This may have made her realise that she wants out before you both commit to this. My advice to you is that you don't apply for a mortage with her. Don't leave yourself paying towards a house for her and what man she has in her life.

It is not easy to have feelings for someone who does not feel the same about you or wants to have you in reserve when they play the field. You deserve better than this. If she wants to play the field let her brake up with you. If she does let her know that you won't be the reserve for her if she finds out the grass is not greener.
    Don't get into arguing with her in front of your child as they don't need to see and hear this.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,907 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

lady 5000 wrote: »
    She told you she fancies this single man in work and wants to have a threesome with him.

She never suggested a threesome. OP did. And he doesn't say whether or not she agreed. But she has said she feels better about their relationship now.

OP, the only thing you two should be considering at the moment is counselling. You are together a while. You're young. You have a lot of responsibility and you're about to take on more. Older couples than you get 'the 7 year itch'. It's not uncommon, and credit to your gf she came to you with her feelings. Now, her reasons for telling you could be many. Ranging from genuinely being confused and wanting to be honest with so you could help her cop on to herself, to wanting to float the idea of ending your relationship. Only she knows what's going on in her head and heart.

Go to counselling together and learn to reconnect as a couple. Sometimes relationships can just start drifting and it is easy to get distracted by something a bit more exciting. As far as you know she hasn't acted on it. So that's a positive. Ask her to come to couples counselling with you and see what you can do to strengthen your relationship again.

Yes, let's not forget this all stemmed from her becoming more distant and giving off bad vibes. When asked, she said she didn't think they should be together. Spicing things up in the bedroom is a mere sideshow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

OP, you seem to be the analytical and logical type. You see your relationship like saving money in a bank - you put some money in and get a return on your investment. The truth is they are more like running a business and having a customer - you could put loads of time and money in and lose everything, and less often, put a little in and get lots back.

It looks to me what you have here is a good customer gone bad. In this scenario, do you think inviting your main competitor in, who possibly has better features and deals than you do for a better price, is a good idea?

Your partner seems to have drifted through your relationship and now wants to taste something different. A shame you had to bring a child into the world before working this out, but it is what it is. She should have come to you before it all came to a head, as she knew this for months - and I bet she repeatedly said nothing was wrong. So much for talking about her feelings...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

"Going" to cheat on you?

Mate, she already has, the sooner you understand that the sooner you can start reacting logically to all of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭timmy880

I don't know if you should continue a relationship with this girl.

If it was me I'd always have doubts in the future. She has become infatuated by the thought of having sex with a guy at work who judging by the story you've told, she barely knows.

Even if things go the way you want them to and ye end up having a threesome and saving this relationship in the short term (and that's a big if), it's highly likely this type of situation will keep presenting itself in the future. And eventually you'll be left out of the picture altogether.

It's unfortunate and ye have a kid together but surely you deserve somebody you can trust and not somebody with the habit of becoming sexually obsessed with male work colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

My guess is she thinks she can do better which is kind of deluded because a 25 year old girl with a child is not going to be in high demand. So if she was to pursue this affair you can be pretty much assume it will end in a train wreck down the road.
    Its a pity there is a child in the mix but unless she has a come to Jesus moment I think you should get out of there because it looks like the relationship will fall apart anyway, if not now then in a couple of years time.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

It's counselling or nothing for you two OP. Though unfortunately she may already have moved on. All that rubbish about "uncontrollable emotions" is just softening you up for the bad news. Adults in a committed relationship control their emotions and she's clearly not making an effort right now. Don't be taken for a ride here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

TallGlass wrote: »
    I have been thinking, something isn't adding up for me here. I mean, this sounds all very odd. She works with this guy, has admitted to you that she has feelings for him, but I am under the impression that this guy is non the wiser at all.

What strikes me as odd, is that for her to come out and say this to you is a really big gamble, what if he has no interest in her at all? I mean, for her to say that, she would want to have some assurance that he feels the same.

Are you sure you have got told the full story here OP? I don't mean to stir it up.

I just feel someone is leaving something out along the lines here.

I was thinking the same. Is it possible she's just trying to spare your feelings / avoid a row and has actually been seeing this guy for a while.
    No one would turn their life upside down on the off chance that some bloke they work with might be interested!
    silverharp wrote: »
    My guess is she thinks she can do better which is kind of deluded because a 25 year old girl with a child is not going to be in high demand. .

What a ridiculous thing to say, and very insulting to everyone involved. Not everyone views 25 as over the hill, or a kid as baggage.

Beyoncé is 35 with a kid and pregnant with twins - do you reckon she'd be deluded to think she was in demand!

As for the threesome idea OP - Jaysus no, no good whatsoever could come of that!