Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seven Earth-sized planets found orbiting nearby star

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Marty Morrissey's home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 stone castle

ryanair negotiating a deal with the aliens to land on the 7 new planets

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I wonder how many comments underneath the Guardian article mention Jeremy Corbyn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭skankkuvhima

Nearby? Up near the post office nearby or a bit further?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

They can take their time with it. Current rockets would take tens of thousands of years to reach them.

it's only a 2 hour flight to get there

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,985 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Think I read that it would take an airline 44 million years to get there , should we really care about something that is so far away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Think I read that it would take an airline 44 million years to get there , should we really care about something that is so far away?

Should we really care about anything?

We do, so there it is.

so you're saying aliens are real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

as long as we bring plenty of drink it should be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,059 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Imagine a planet full of Healy-Raes ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

ShamoBuc wrote: »

It's impossible to even consider taking an airline to them as there is no food that will last that long so the airline crew would die from starvation long before they reached the planets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

I popped over there on a Bharium Class Star Cruiser... the 2nd planet is awesome... all the popcorn chicken you can eat... waitresses in skimpy outfits and no limits on smokes with the duty free... and their smokes don't cause cancer, make you look awesome when you smoke them and make your knob or boobs 36% bigger for 28 earth minutes!!!

you 2 wouldn't be let into the new universe anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭JOSman

They can take their time with it. Current rockets would take tens of thousands of years to reach them.

€5 each way plus €60 for luggage. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

it's only a 2 hour flight to get there

Unlikely Ryanair will be flying there, although relatively close to us-

"At about 40 light-years (235 trillion miles) from Earth, the system of planets is relatively close to us, in the constellation Aquarius. Because they are located outside of our solar system, these planets are scientifically known as exoplanets.":eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,906 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

6824767fa974849c8b60dfeed3b5f0efa9077b35c3eec2fbdd19283171634e5b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Teddington Cuddlesworth

This is exciting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

39 light years away?
    Proxima B is only 7,500,000 km away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

biko wrote: »
    39 light years away?
    Proxima B is only 7,500,000 km away.

I get the feeling I am missing a joke :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Loved hearing about this today. Imagination goes a bit mental when you read stuff like this:
    The planets also are very close to each other. If a person was standing on one of the planet’s surface, they could gaze up and potentially see geological features or clouds of neighboring worlds, which would sometimes appear larger than the moon in Earth's sky.

Someone over on reddit has the main points summarised here, if anyone wants them.

1) Spitzer detects 7 earth size planets around the TRAPPIST-1 Star System
    2) 40 light years away
    3) 3 planets are in the right zone for liquid water
    4) Have measured the masses and radi of earth-size planets
    5) Can look at atmosphere and bio-signatures
    6) Planets are close to each other, you would see them similarly as you would see Earth’s moon.
    7) Planets are so close, they interact gravitationally on each other.
    8) Trappist-1e is very close in size to earth. It receives a similar amount of light as Earth does.
    9) Trappist-1f (MIGHT) be water-rich and similar in size as earth (NASA just said currently no detection of water). Receives about as much light as Mars.
    10)Trappist-1g is largest in the system, 13% larger radius than Earth. Receives about as much light as Mars and the Asteroid belt.

Somewhere between 5 and 10 years we should have some sort of atmospheric composition data for these planets as well. Fascinating stuff, imo.

just accept your stuck on this planet,

there;s no alien utopia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Their spaceports will be located 20,000 miles outside the Alien Capital city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

It's in the Trappist system

TRAPpist system.......

ITS A TRAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I popped over there on a Bharium Class Star Cruiser... the 2nd planet is awesome... all the popcorn chicken you can eat... waitresses in skimpy outfits and no limits on smokes with the duty free... and their smokes don't cause cancer, make you look awesome when you smoke them and make your knob or boobs 36% bigger for 28 earth minutes!!!

You did in your bollix , everyone knows you get seasick on the drive to Skerries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It's impossible to even consider taking an airline to them as there is no food that will last that long so the airline crew would die from starvation long before they reached the planets.

I'm pretty certain the food on some budget airlines is indestructible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭JackTaylorFan

The google homepage animation to celebrate this discovery is actually quite funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    Their spaceports will be located 20,000 miles outside the Alien Capital city

Just a 20 minute bus journey from the spaceport to the capital for a fee of 56,999 schmeckles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

-=al=- wrote: »
    Just a 20 minute bus journey from the spaceport to the capital for a fee of 56,999 schmeckles

What's the exchange rate euro to schmeckles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

jamesbere wrote: »
    What's the exchange rate euro to schmeckles

1 schmeckle = €140.29 :pac:

-=al=- wrote: »
    1 schmeckle = €140.29 :pac:

Was alot better before brexit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

The google homepage animation to celebrate this discovery is actually quite funny

Made me smile! Very cute.

Noo wrote: »
    Made me smile! Very cute.

I know, right? :)

You did in your bollix , everyone knows you get seasick on the drive to Skerries.

Fair enough... I might have had my head in the jacks for the trip over... but after those big boobed waitresses and popcorn chicken I felt super! Also they have pills in the local version of Tesco that stop motion sickness and makes your poop into confetti! Farts are a scream now I can tell you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭Patser

If they have religion there, would they be
    Trappist monks?

Please don't hate me....

Bet their beer would be out of this world!

Ok, I'll get my coat.....

Patser wrote: »
    If they have religion there, would they be
    Trappist monks?

Please don't hate me....

Bet their beer would be out of this world!

Ok, I'll get my coat.....

They have an awesome religion where everyone gets their own god... I was given Bill Murray, but I think you could ask for a Trappist monk... I then traded Bill in for Salma Hayek when she was a hot dancer in From Dusk to Dawn... then I found own the vampire version of her was my own personal devil! So I changed back to Bill Murray and found out the corresponding devil was Christie Moore after a visit to Shell to Sea!!!

The beer was good though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Very interesting and exciting news - who knows what else is out there waiting to be discovered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

Very interesting and exciting news - who knows what else is out there waiting to be discovered!

Is that really you Audrey??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

we have been becoming the sci-fi of yesteryear for some time now, space colonization and mining are inevitable i think...

anyone else thinking of that new sci fi show The Expanse (which is actually quite good)

hopefully the megarich arsehole planet****ers leave first as per my theories leaving earth to the poorer but more environmentally conscious folk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

40 light years away.
    Light travels 300,000km in second.
    A billion km in an hour 1,080,000,000.
    Current space rockets go at about 30,000km/h
    That's 4 years to travel the time light takes 1 hour to travel.
    360,000 hours of travel x 1,080,000,000km per hour.

360,000x1,080,000,000 = distance
    / 30,000 avg speed = 12,960,000,000 hours or 540,000,000 days or 1,479,452 years. Give or take.
    What really is the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

I bet if their is life on one of them planets more advanced than us they could have sent a space probe our way a looong time ago, by the time we send ours and it gets on its way the 2 of them will fooking collide in the middle and we will never know.
    When this happens ther will probably be a 2nd or 3rd 1000 year old tree over my grave or an ocean so as exciting as it is I'm now going to have a nice coffee and a smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Don't mess wit de Aliens.

Look what happened to John Hurt!

Leave them be I say...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

You now when we view these planets we're actually looking at them in the past. The amount of time it takes for the light from TRAPPIST-1 to travel here would make it look as if we're witnessing it in the past as opposed to it's present self. For all we know the star could have been destroyed but we wouldn't know about it. In fact if they were to look at us right now. They'd see our planet from the way it was 39 years ago. Of course nothing much would have changed for us visually over the last 39 years, But still....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Academically curious. And that is about it I'm afraid.

The light we have just observed left that place when John Lennon was playing concerts here.
    Light, mind, not a rocket.

I'm not so excited.

gramar wrote: »
    40 light years away.
    Light travels 300,000km in second.
    A billion km in an hour 1,080,000,000.
    Current space rockets go at about 30,000km/h
    That's 4 years to travel the time light takes 1 hour to travel.
    360,000 hours of travel x 1,080,000,000km per hour.

360,000x1,080,000,000 = distance
    / 30,000 avg speed = 12,960,000,000 hours or 540,000,000 days or 1,479,452 years. Give or take.
    What really is the point?

So which bus should I take?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

It's unlikely to have any complicated alien life (if any at all) as it seems to be a very young system (may only be half a billion years old). In comparison our solar system is nine times older.

Incidentally, everything on Earth will be incinerated half a billion years from now :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,438 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Incidentally, everything on Earth will be incinerated half a billion years from now

Oh we may not have to wait that long, with the way things are going at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Oh we may not have to wait that long, with the way things are going at the moment

It's a best case scenario :pac:

I really wanna play the new Mass Effect already