Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hiring Suits

• 18-02-2017 1:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Patww79 wrote: »

1. Wedding in June. When would I want to be looking for these? 1.5 - 2 months in advance
    2. Two of my wedding party are in the UK so I'll never get everyone together in advance, so can they get measured or something and send them on? I was the same. Ended up buying 2 piece suits for them in next for €100 each. They got them themselves and I paid them back. We rented waistcoats and shirts and ties from local shop €40 each. Got them sized when they were over before the wedding. Was handy. Lads got to keep the suits so bit of a present. I had my own expensive suit already tho so just had to make sure they were in something vaguely similar. might not suit you.
    3. Would I need to take out my own insurance on these or do the shop provide some system to cover accidental damage? We didn't get and were never offered any insurance.
    4. Is there anything to watch out for as regards the above where the shop pulls a move you will almost always end up paying out regardless? Never in my experience of renting suits but wud depend on shop and reputation.
    5. Do you hire shoes too or just tell the party a colour or do you buy shoes for everyone? Didn't buy shoes. Just told the lads brown. No one will even notice unless one turns up in boots or something. You can hire shoes if you want. See if they'll throw them in for free.
    6. Do shops just keep the bare minimum of suits or would they have a change up or down in size to suit someone at the time of the hire? They usually have loads of sizes but go in early enough in case some are hired out when you head in.
    7. The flower thing in the pocket, is that the suit place does that or the wedding florist? It's the florist

Filled in our experience above. Shop around, eventually they all look similar so most of all make sure you are comfortable. You'll be in it all day! Good luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭garbeth

Hi

I would say the sooner the better you get things sorted for your own piece of mind. Think you would need at least 6 weeks for suits to be ordered but that would be cutting it fine.

We used Debenhams. You go into a store and order. They then give you access to a website to see how your order is going. Not sure but maybe the two in England could also visit their local store and have their measurements taken. You can then get the suits delivered to your local store. They have a great range

Don't know about insurance. We didn't get any extra.

Don't know about the shop pulling anything. It all went smooth for us.

We got shoes with the suits. Think this was easier as morph everyone would have dress shoes.

We tried on the kilts around 2 weeks before hand and made any adjustments then. Would presume that most stores would allow for this.

On our second wedding we did flowers but went to a florist for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Garbeth - did you hire from Debenhams or buy there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

1. Wedding in June. When would I want to be looking for these?
    2. Two of my wedding party are in the UK so I'll never get everyone together in advance, so can they get measured or something and send them on?
    3. Would I need to take out my own insurance on these or do the shop provide some system to cover accidental damage?
    4. Is there anything to watch out for as regards the above where the shop pulls a move you will almost always end up paying out regardless?
    5. Do you hire shoes too or just tell the party a colour or do you buy shoes for everyone?
    6. Do shops just keep the bare minimum of suits or would they have a change up or down in size to suit someone at the time of the hire?
    7. The flower thing in the pocket, is that the suit place does that or the wedding florist?

http://www.debenhams-formalhire.ie/formal-wear.aspx Debenhams do suit hire as well as sell them.

1. No harm in doing it as early as possible.

3. Have you taken out Wedding insurance already? If so it would be covered under than. I've never heard of a shop doing it.

4. I don't really understand the question. You return the suits and be there when they check them to cover yourself. A shop wouldn't last long if it got around that they were screwing people over anyway.

5. Have them wear their own shoes. I would assume most men have a pair of dress black and brown shoes?

6. You'd be measured for size before you collect the suits and then collect the correct size a few days before the wedding.

7. Buttonhole is provided by the florist. It would usually match the church flowers and bouquets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

On (6), what if I go in a couple weeks and everyone gets measured and then someone puts on a couple of stone by June? Would shops normally keep some other sizes?

That was my issue too. One the lads kept lying! Eventually went with UK multiple thats here too so he cud sort himself out. Debenhams have a massive range so cud be ur best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

On (6), what if I go in a couple weeks and everyone gets measured and then someone puts on a couple of stone by June? Would shops normally keep some other sizes?

Depends on where you go. I would have thought someone would have enough cop on to let you know beforehand so you could let the suit place know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭garbeth

Garbeth - did you hire from Debenhams or buy there?

Rented. You can build the suits online at the website. Think you can edit the sizes there as well.

Here is the website. https://www.sortmyweddingoutfit.com/Debenhams/Formal/OutfitBuilder/Build?utm_source=DFH&utm_campaign=nav_outfit_builder&utm_medium=homepage

Can't remember how long we could of kept them for as it was 3 years ago. Debenhams were local so we sent them back the next day. Think we had until the end of the week.