Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Got Scammed

• 13-02-2017 9:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20

Yes I'm a gullible idiot but I got scammed out of €300 a few hours ago. I was walking home when a car pulled up and asked if I would be interested in a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge. Usually I'd assume it was stolen and say no but he had a very convincing story about how he had just lost his job and needed to sell the phone fast to pay for rent.

I got in his car (dumb move i know) and checked out the phone. He showed me his receipt and the box and all the accessories. It seemed legit and when I asked how much he said €150. Obviously that sounds way too good to be true but I suspended my disbelief as he seemed genuine. Next thing he says he's also selling his iPad and he'd do a deal for them both if I was interested. I said that I was and he said he'd give them both for €350. I should mention this fella was a traveler, so yeah strike 4 or 5 for me being a gullible fool. Not saying they're all like that but they do have a reputation for scamming people.

I didn't have the cash on me so we stopped at an ATM (another dumb move). I mentioned that i may not have €300 in my account. What was really suspicious was how he said he'd do a deal for whatever amount i had as he needed to meet his landlord and was in a big rush. I stupidly felt sorry for him believing everything he said and he kept saying it was ok if i didn't want to buy it and that he'd have to go and find another buyer. This kinda reassured me that he was being truthful and made me wanna close the deal.

Anyway I went to the ATM when i realised i didnt have my card with me and had left it at home. I told him that i lived near bye and he seemed nervous about bringing me home. Kept saying he was in a rush. He asked who else was home. I mention that others lived there and he kept saying to not tell anyone (strike 77, yeah I'm that dumb) as they'd think it was suspicious. He agreed to drop me as i reassured him that I'd pay him. I should mention i had checked out both the phone and the iPad and both seemed to be working fine.

So i go into my house and get the €300, i bring it out to him and I was about to hop in and sit down in the passenger seat when he tells me not to get in and to come over to the drivers side window. He again shows me the iPad and phone and puts them into a blue zip bag with all the accessories. In my head I'm thinking "don't give him the money till i get the bag off him"

He hands me the blue zip bag and i give him the cash. Thinking I've scored a bargain I shake his hand and tell him it was good doing business (cringing so much right now). So he speeds off and i go into my house without checking the bag again, I get into the house, open the bag only to find 5 pieces of wood stuffed inside :(

Obviously at the last second he switched one bag for an identical one using the cover of the door so i wouldn't notice and also because I'm a big f****** idiot (not sure if I've previously mentioned that). The worst part is not the money but the fact i could be so gullible and naive to fall for such an obvious scam, hopefully i will learn from this experience..anyone else as dumb as me? Feel free to slate me, i deserve it.

tl;dr i got scammed cos I'm a gullible idiot, don't let it happen you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I've got a carry case full of bricks, I mean a laptop for €200 if you're interested.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Yes I'm a gullible idiot but I got scammed out of €300 a few hours ago. I was walking home when a car pulled up and asked if I would be interested in a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge. Usually I'd assume it was stolen and say no but he had a very convincing story about how he had just lost his job and needed to sell the phone fast to pay for rent.

I got in his car (dumb move i know) and checked out the phone. He showed me his receipt and the box and all the accessories. It seemed legit and when I asked how much he said €150. Obviously that sounds way too good to be true but I suspended my disbelief as he seemed genuine. Next thing he says he's also selling his iPad and he'd do a deal for them both if I was interested. I said that I was and he said he'd give them both for €350. I should mention this fella was a traveler, so yeah strike 4 or 5 for me being a gullible fool. Not saying they're all like that but they do have a reputation for scamming people.

I didn't have the cash on me so we stopped at an ATM (another dumb move). I mentioned that i may not have €300 in my account. What was really suspicious was how he said he'd do a deal for whatever amount i had as he needed to meet his landlord and was in a big rush. I stupidly felt sorry for him believing everything he said and he kept saying it was ok if i didn't want to buy it and that he'd have to go and find another buyer. This kinda reassured me that he was being truthful and made me wanna close the deal.

Anyway I went to the ATM when i realised i didnt have my card with me and had left it at home. I told him that i lived near bye and he seemed nervous about bringing me home. Kept saying he was in a rush. He asked who else was home. I mention that others lived there and he kept saying to not tell anyone (strike 77, yeah I'm that dumb) as they'd think it was suspicious. He agreed to drop me as i reassured him that I'd pay him. I should mention i had checked out both the phone and the iPad and both seemed to be working fine.

So i go into my house and get the €300, i bring it out to him and I was about to hop in and sit down in the passenger seat when he tells me not to get in and to come over to the drivers side window. He again shows me the iPad and phone and puts them into a blue zip bag with all the accessories. In my head I'm thinking "don't give him the money till i get the bag off him"

He hands me the blue zip bag and i give him the cash. Thinking I've scored a bargain I shake his hand and tell him it was good doing business (cringing so much right now). So he speeds off and i go into my house without checking the bag again, I get into the house, open the bag to find 5 pieces of wood inside :(

Obviously at the last second he switched one bag for an identical one using the cover of the door so i wouldn't notice and also because I'm a big f****** idiot (not sure if I've previously mentioned that). The worst part is not the money but the fact i could be so gullible and naive to fall for such an obvious scam, hopefully i will learn from this experience..anyone else as dumb as me? Feel free to slate me, i deserve it.

This is going on years never deal with anyone that comes to you.

If you want something you do the looking.

Traveller paying rent.... You mad.

Its like the Italian (fake) leather jacket where guy needs to offload as getting flight and no room for all these expensive and new jackets.

nullzero wrote: »
    I've got a carry case full of bricks, I mean a laptop for €200 if you're interested.

Sounds cheap where about....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

anyone else as dumb as me?

Nope. Not anywhere. Ever.

Op you are lucky you got two things usable such as fire wood and a zip bag. Win win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I keep wining lotteries I have never entered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

And now you can't report it cos he knows where you live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

One born every minute comes to mind

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

A pikey wanting to pay rent Lol

Jokes aside, is their not any camers that may have caught his reg number near the atm ?

Wait a minute, the van was probably stolen too :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Fair play for sharing

And now you can't report it cos he knows where you live.

Sure boss I done so many I can't even member where I leffft me other bag of timber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Hey, at least you have 5 pieces of wood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Tonight your home will get robbed and you'll have no bag and no wood. Double scammed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,927 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Dunno what to say and not sound 'smart'. As much as you were gullible you were a bit greedy and that blinded you.

I'm sure you're not the first one and you won't be the last. And it will have taught you a valuable lesson and it only cost you €300, too. Could have been worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Virtanen

When I was in college, someone fell for this and handed over €100 for what he thought was a Notebook. Ended up with an Argos catalogue in a box :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

I laughed out loud. I'm sorry, you got done like a Christmas turkey. That's a ridiculously stupid thing to have done. A 700 euro phone for 150. Stunning stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭johnny_tractor

look on the brigh side, maybe he will put the money to good use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

You've learnt a valuable lesson op.
    If something is too good to be true then it usually is.
    What sort of car was he driving?
    Yes you've been stupid and fell for what can only be described as one of the oldest cons out there.
    Don't ever EVER visit naples.

look on the brigh side, maybe he will put the money to good use

Its in my buy another house cash fund.

Big fat Gypsies weddings and Valentine's and cash for wiping me a#s with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

He hands me the blue zip bag and i give him the cash. Thinking I've scored a bargain I shake his hand and tell him it was good doing business (cringing so much right now). So he speeds off and i go into my house without checking the bag again, I get into the house, open the bag only to find 5 pieces of wood stuffed inside :(

Here you go OP

Actually OP can you PM your email. I might have an urgent business deal you might be interested in. I need to move some money out of Africa and can give you a cut.

Reati wrote: »
    Actually OP can you PM your email. I might have an urgent business deal you might be interested in. I need to move some money out of Africa and can give you a cut.

Prince that you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭VonLuck

You keep saying that he needed the money for rent and his landlord, but you knew he was a traveller. Did that throw up an "oh wait" moment for you?

Either you are incredibly gullible or this never happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

This one is going a good 10 years. I know 2 lads have been caught with it so I wouldn't feel too bad.

Call it a lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Put it down to experience, a valuable life lesson learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Its in my buy another house cash fund.

Big fat Gypsies weddings and Valentine's and cash for wiping me a#s with.

Yep so anyone asks the question how these yokes have so much wealth at their disposal ( big houses, weddings and new vans) without actually having any jobs i think this thread gives someway of a clue...

What p****s me off is you don't have Revenue or any other revelent authorities knocking on their doors enquiring where they get their undeclared money from :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

I cant understand why anyone would pay for something without looking in the bag.
    I bought a guitar recently from a highly reputable German music store and I opted for POD.
    I had a highly irritated postman waiting in my hallway while I checked my new guitar before I handed over the cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Micky 32 wrote: »
    .............What p****s me off is you don't have Revenue or any other revelent authorities knocking on their doors enquiring where they get their undeclared money from :mad:

From selling timber ? obvious innit ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭pimpmyhat

You were naive on so many levels,
    Getting in the van , showing him where you live etc.

But at the end of the day no one died,
    I know you must feel very annoyed and ashamed of yourself, but that will pass.

Take it as a lesson learned as previous poster said it could of been a lot worse than 300 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

What kind of wood was it? Like was it expensive mahogany or cheap MDF or chip board? I be really pissed if it was only mdf!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Absolute years , my buddy got scammed out of 500 euro even borrowed money off several barmen in the pub... He was working in the bar at the time and ended up with 2 bags of sugar meant to be 3 Nokia phones you may recall the slide down phone from the matrix ...Thats how far back the scam is going

Frankly op..... Kinda feel for you but tbh moronic falling for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Guy Sajer

Don't forget to lock your doors! Chances are they will come back to get their wood back.

gctest50 wrote: »
    From selling timber ? obvious innit ?

And gates that rust to sh1t and genies and other such absolute knocked of and dodgy as fook crap.

Water bottles use to be the tool for the job which was in the bag.

I cant understand why anyone would pay for something without looking in the bag.
    I bought a guitar recently from a highly reputable German music store and I opted for POD.
    I had a highly irritated postman waiting in my hallway while I checked my new guitar before I handed over the cash.

This scam relies on not giving the bag to the mark. You never get the bag withoit handing over the money by that time it's too late.

They pressure you with the risk of losing the amazing deal if you press to check the package first. Even I'd you manage to get the goods they'd likely just get out and mug you. If you are a difficult mark they just move on and find someone else. It's not like having a legit postman turn up with a package that is for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

This happens quite often when buying off Adverts and DoneDeal. Nothing wrong with these two sites but plenty of people offer to meet you half way or meet in a car park etc.
    The golden rule is always call to their home address. If they don't want to give it then move on to the next ad

Guy Sajer wrote: »
    Don't forget to lock your doors! Chances are they will come back to get their wood back.

What doors.....

Sure the door was open boss.

The OP said he got the bag before handing over the money. In a way he was lucky he didn't look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

I have a very simple rule of thumb which will protect you from scams in almost all situations. The rule is never do business with someone who approaches you. Today for example, the guy who is repairing my bike phoned to say there is a bit more to be done than I asked him to do. I told him, no thanks but if i think the extra work he suggested does need to be done, I will get someone else to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Why do people keep quoting that fooking essay. We know what you're responding to!

Makes read in the thread on my piece of wood very difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

There's an awful bang of troll off this thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

I know a guy in his late 50s who paid around €200 for an "Armani" leather jacket cos the scammer called him "young man" !

Why the F do people keep quoting that fooking essay. We know what you're responding to!

Makes read in the thread on my piece of wood very difficult.

High tech wood...

degsie wrote: »

Trolls you. I mean says you

degsie wrote:

It's winning After Hours though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

You must be very wet behind the ears.
    Rule of thumb. Don't ever buy anything from a traveller. They are a scourge on society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I have some magic beans for sale boss.

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Rule of thumb. Don't ever buy anything from a traveller. They are a scourge on society.

Boss I'll have ya know its part of de cultures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭backspacer

Am calling bull**** on this, I refuse to believe anyone is this gullible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Gwynplaine wrote: »

Not even a time traveller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

You sure he didnt give you wrong bag by mistake and will return later when he realiseds his mistake ?