Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Entitled expats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Where were they "promised" jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

Christ on a bike, these people have honours degrees, sound like a pair of idiots. Why didn't they start applying for jobs before they left Canada? seems obvious, but they went out on a limb without researching employment in their specific fields, accomodation, childcare or transport costs!!?
    If anyone suggested to me they would return to Ireland for work, Id tell them to think hard about it and compare their emigrant lifestyle to what they might expect here regarding living costs and pay expectations, without even going into it I warned off a cousin about returning here unless he had work lined up based on my own experience.

I've heard how things are better, not that I believe it significantly. My current job is well below my experience and pay, looking to improve my situation, I keep hearing about jobs and still apply and I hear nothing too, for the most part, people I speak to bar a small few say the same thing.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Depends on what they do for a living. They mention Masters degrees, but if that's in a dead or dying industry (like journalism for example) or one that's slow to recover then qualifications coming out their ears wont help them. I'm sure there are jobs, just not the kind they are looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Where do they find these people, it can't be a true representation of expats thinking of or have come home. They were promised job, by who?
    They seem to think just because they had a job somewhere other than Ireland, Irish employers should be begging them to share their "world experience". They have degrees, who doesn't? It's now the equivalent of saying, I have a leaving certificate.

This couple came home because they didn't want their 1yr old to be Canadian, so it's not like they were forced or it was urgent, they could have done some research into their industry in Ireland, they could have applied for jobs, they could have contacted agencies, they could have done something, cause it looks like they did nothing and now wonder where is the jobs their intitled to.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

We wanted Max to grow up Irish, to know what “the craic” is first-hand, 

Jesus wept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

To be honest with you the way they go on about honours degrees and masters degrees annoys me a bit too.

"I have a masters degree but cant find a job!" There's something irritating about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,831 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Glenster wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/abroad/returning-to-ireland/we-moved-home-to-work-but-where-are-all-the-promised-jobs-1.2966791

I'm seeing a lot of the above in the last six months.

Bunch of lads who disappeared to Australia for 5 years, got some tangential experience in between travelling, and then rock back complaining about where their job is!

The two in the article are worse. Came back without organising a job, with a nipper to feed! I wouldnt hire them, they're too irresponsible.

At least they'll feel at home, safe in the comfort and knowledge that some things never change. Bitterness and begrudgery are still alive and going strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭CaptainR

Pawwed Rig wrote: »

Jesus wept

I find people who wax lyrical about "the craic" are usually mind numblingly dull.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

The article doesn't go into much detail at all.

All we know is that they (presumably) thought they would find a job easily in their field. We don't know what field either of them work in, or would like to work in.

It was a risky move not securing a job before moving back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Why would you move home on the strength of a few friends and family saying there's loads of jobs?
    How stupid can you get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

To be honest with you the way they go on about honours degrees and masters degrees annoys me a bit too.

"I have a masters degree but cant find a job!" There's something irritating about it.

To be fair, I'm unemployed, have a masters and years of experience but I can't find a job. My last job was a bit weird so I'm finding it hard to find a good fit. Having said that it sucks. I spent the last three years in my last job getting two degrees and a masters whilst working full time. I killed myself because I thought it would get me a better job or would at least help me find a job.

Grayson wrote: »
    To be fair, I'm unemployed, have a masters and years of experience but I can't find a job. My last job was a bit weird so I'm finding it hard to find a good fit. Having said that it sucks. I spent the last three years in my last job getting two degrees and a masters whilst working full time. I killed myself because I thought it would get me a better job or would at least help me find a job.

I have a masters, but i've always felt it was more of a box ticking exercise than anything else when it came to looking for a job.

It has nothing to do with the job I work in, I feel as though, professionally, the only thing it was good for was allowing me to apply for the first entry level 19K a year job I had in 2011.

We hired a girl there last week on a three month basis with a masters to go through boxes of legal files and sort them. Literally anyone with literacy could have done the job.

We went for the person who did the most normal interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

I'm an ex-pat myself, but don't often hear attitudes like those expressed in the article. I did have a conversation with an Irishman one day who worked in the US for around ten years until he allowed his green card to expire. He went home, but then came back to the US illegally, and told me without a hint of irony, that he couldn't get a job at home because of all the 'fcukin foreigners taking them'.

Anyway, unless family circumstances or my health dictated it, I wouldn't dream of coming home without either lining something up or sussing out the jobs market for myself.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Economic migrants, none of this 'expat' nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

"I have a masters degree but cant find a job!"

That kinda sums up entitlement in one sentence.

Look at me, I have a Masters. I'm super smart. Yeah like all the other tens of thousands of people with Masters.

These 2 sound quite stupid, to simply come back home without a job lined up. If they were so smart maybe they should have done a bit of research first. Surely they know about the concept of research? They are highly educated after all.

You can do interviews over the internet too. They could have been applying for jobs whilst still in Canada.

Numpties. Deserve no sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Displaying an awful lot of 'oh woe me' Celtic Cub attitude there.

What strikes me (apart from the fact that two wondefully employable people with degrees and masters can't get a job :rolleyes: ) is that they don't mention their chosen preferred field of work and poor hubbys' name is never mentioned !! She strikes me as a very self-important person and if she comes across in interviews like she does in that article then I could see why she might struggle to get a job. People that refer to their kid as a 'Wobbler' would do nothing for me either..

BTW, for all we know the 'reputable company in Vancouver' could be Starbucks or McDonalds

Anyway, there's a follow up !!! (Rachel must have a friend working in The Times )

On Sunday, Rachel Healy writes about the palaver of bringing a baby born abroad back to live in Ireland, and the differences in parenting approaches (especially to breastfeeding) between Ireland and Canada.

And here it is...

http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/abroad/returning-to-ireland/the-palaver-of-bringing-a-baby-born-abroad-back-to-live-in-ireland-1.2970814

Anyway, there's a follow up !!! (Rachel must have a friend working in The Times )

And here it is...

http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/abroad/returning-to-ireland/the-palaver-of-bringing-a-baby-born-abroad-back-to-live-in-ireland-1.2970814

TLDR: She brought the wrong form and had to come back a week or two after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

Neyite wrote: »
    Depends on what they do for a living. They mention Masters degrees, but if that's in a dead or dying industry (like journalism for example) or one that's slow to recover then qualifications coming out their ears wont help them. I'm sure there are jobs, just not the kind they are looking for.

You hit the nail on the head. She said they both had a background in media, which is not the most employable job even within the boom.

http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/generation-emigration/there-s-nowhere-quite-like-vancouver-1.1971732

I can't believe there is still an attitude of I have a masters and therefore I should be able to get a good job in 2017. The funny thing is if you do a decent undergrad in a decent Uni like Trinity, UCC or UCD, you don't even need a masters for most employers. A sound undergrad, beats some BS course with a second rate 'masters' anyday.

The people who left during 2009-2013 with college degrees were generally like our finest. They will struggle to get a job back here even with full employment. If their degree didn't cut it during the boom, it wouldnt cut it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

They rarely say in what subject strangely enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

padd b1975 wrote: »
    They rarely say in what subject strangely enough.

Probably something like 17th-century French Literature.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

And another gem from her earlier today... "The Palaver of Bringing a baby..."

And from 2 years ago, telling us how great Canada is:

http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/generation-emigration/there-s-nowhere-quite-like-vancouver-1.1971732

Jesus Wept. We didn't send a search party out for the Moany Mummy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dwayneshintzy

I thought this thread would be about something else....."entitled expats" (never immigrants) in countries who find themselves above the local culture, refuse to learn the local language and are incredibly insular. I live in Hong Kong, and it's something you come across very, very often.

Incidentally, the Irish aren't nearly the worst for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Jaysis these 2 fcukers are annoying me.

Aaaanyway, they used to work at Newstalk.

"Rachel Healy, from Dundalk, who did summer work in The Argus while studying journalism, worked in Newstalk as a researcher and producer before leaving to take up a job as producer with 'Seoige' on RTE in 2008.

When the programme finished, she was left with no work and no prospect of work.

With boyfriend Simon Doran, who also worked in Newstalk, she decided to emigrate to Canada, moving to Vancouver to start a new life.

They have both found jobs, and she says that 'although it's a far cry from what we expected to be doing, it's been great so far'.

'Life here is just so different. Everyone's friendly and polite, and even the news reports are happy and full of cheer, which makes us laugh when we think back to the dark days in Ireland.'"

Great to have you back Rachel....not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

People say that folk that stay at home with mammy are overindulged in a lot of cases (and that would be true), BUT do not underestimate the overindulgence that economic migrants get when they are over in Ozzieland or Canada via Skype or other platform.

There is an element of them thinking that the entire country has stopped because little Johnny or Jacinta went to Perth for 6 months. You get forgotten about very quickly.

And don't get me started on those gimps that surprise their parents by returning and recording it for the Facebook likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Pedantic hat on but surely if they're back they're now repats. Although from some of the examples a different word beginning with "re" may be more apt a description.

Anyway, we may be looking to come back soon. A network engineer, an ITU nurse and a nipper. I would assume we'd not be stuck for jobs but I'd be going back with a lot more prepared than just that assumption. The world is a much smaller place now, communication tools are so simple and readily available , there is no excuse to not have interviews/offers lined up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I have close family near Vancouver and she is right re the high cost of food etc there. I send tea over often.

After six months away they will lose their immigrant status and revert to needing full visas etc .. one of my family visited and outstayed here by one day and is now back to landed immigrant status, after nearly 50 years there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

At least they'll feel at home, safe in the comfort and knowledge that some things never change. Bitterness and begrudgery are still alive and going strong.

Where is the bitterness and begrudgery. Pardon me if we feel like people who have been gone for 5 years don't qualify as better than us.

Here look i've a job in a multinational at the minute give your man a ring there and tell him he can have my job. Poor fella sure almost forgot what the craic is hes been gone so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭wuffly

What a load of twaddle.... I live abroad myself and wouldn't consider a move unless we had jobs organised. Haven't seen any marketing trying to bring me home? Only noticed campaigns for nurses. Maybe I'm missing something? I've spent 6 years working abroad in an industry that barely exists at home. I'd need to diversify my skills or change altogether to move home. My own problem to fix. I do find there is a lot more emphasis on post grad qualifications where I live now than at home. From when I worked at home experience along with the basic qualifications were more highly regarded. Here some jobs won't consider experience without an MBA or similar even with years of relevant experience.
    Regarding the PPS no. again total BS, two phone calls and one visit to the tax office sorted. She does have a point regarding breastfeeding but she sounds so condescending about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 goodluckduck

Article from same couple in 2014:

"We live in the middle of downtown Vancouver, one block from the main entertainment district. We moved three times in three years, upgrading condos every time"

Fast forward to today:

"We can’t afford a car because of the huge rising cost of insurance, especially for people who have been living abroad for a few years."

Had they lived within their means and put some savings away as 'masters-educated professionals' during their years in Canada they might have saved the price of a used car between both of them.  Maybe even had some savings left over to fall back on during the inevitable job hunt.  Instead they return with nothing to offer only a moan in the national newspaper and an expectation that the Irish taxpayer will fund their retraining. Pair of jokers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

theteal wrote: »
    Pedantic hat on but surely if they're back they're now repats. Although from some of the examples a different word beginning with "re" may be more apt a description.

Anyway, we may be looking to come back soon. A network engineer, an ITU nurse and a nipper. I would assume we'd not be stuck for jobs but I'd be going back with a lot more prepared than just that assumption. The world is a much smaller place now, communication tools are so simple and readily available , there is no excuse to not have interviews/offers lined up.

Your wife will have her choice of hospitals, both private and public. Private will even offer relocation packages.

If you're a well experienced network engineer, you shouldn't find it all that difficult either.

But yes, why anyone would land in a country assuming a job will fall into their laps is beyond me.

Iang87 wrote: »
    Where is the bitterness and begrudgery. Pardon me if we feel like people who have been gone for 5 years don't qualify as better than us.

It's a crap article in a crap paper designed to do this exact thing to all of ye moaners. And you're all falling for it hook line and sinker.

Before you get unnecessarily riled up, think about why what you're reading was written.

I don't understand why this need to be explained after the last year we've had in the media.. If people don't realise by now that crap like this is written for clicks and shares, and has no basis in reality, society is doomed to hate people for no reason other than media profits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

It's a crap article in a crap paper designed to do this exact thing to all of ye moaners. And you're all falling for it hook line and sinker.

Before you get unnecessarily riled up, think about why what you're reading was written.

I don't understand why this need to be explained after the last year we've had in the media.. If people don't realise by now that crap like this is written for clicks and shares, and has no basis in reality, society is doomed to hate people for no reason other than media profits.

I didnt read the article and I wont read it I was having a hop off another poster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Pawwed Rig wrote: »

Jesus wept

I stopped reading at that sentence.

It's too early on a Monday to build up the amount of ire that the rest of the piece was likely to cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

LETS KILL THEM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

elefant wrote: »
    I stopped reading at that sentence.

It's too early on a Monday to build up the amount of ire that the rest of the piece was likely to cause.

I regret giving them a click

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭wtlltw

We wanted Max to grow up Irish, to know what “the craic” is first-hand.

I hear Fundalk is a mad place!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

osarusan wrote: »
    LETS KILL THEM

That's a bit OTT.

Let the child live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

Graces7 wrote:
    I have close family near Vancouver and she is right re the high cost of food etc there. I send tea over often.
    Gone be the days when they used to send the dollars home to mammy in ballygobackwards during the famine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

PARlance wrote:
    Let the child live.
    "That boy is our last hope.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

They're a pair of fückwits, we don't need idiots like that here. They should return to Canada or where ever they gained such high levels of dumbness and stupidity and get their old jobs back.

Their children will never know what the craic is first hand with a pair of idiot parents like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Kevwoody

**** them, they like many others fecked off when this country was on its knees leaving everyone else to pick up the pieces, now when there is a whisper of things improving slightly, they all come running back believing it's their right to have a job??

**** off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/abroad/returning-to-ireland/we-moved-home-to-work-but-where-are-all-the-promised-jobs-1.2966791

I'm seeing a lot of the above in the last six months.

Bunch of lads who disappeared to Australia for 5 years, got some tangential experience in between travelling, and then rock back complaining about where their job is!

The two in the article are worse. Came back without organising a job, with a nipper to feed! I wouldnt hire them, they're too irresponsible.
    Did we want our one-year-old son to be Irish or Canadian? The answer, for us anyway, was easy.

We wanted Max to grow up Irish, to know what “the craic” is first-hand, not as some foreign concept his nostalgic parents tried to instil in him when all he wanted to be was an “awesome” Canadian.

Jesus Christ - there's so much wrong there that's it's hard for me to get started.

Disrespectful idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

social media marketing manager
    What advice would you give other Irish considering a move to Canada?
    Do your research and decide if you prefer the laid-back, outdoorsy west coast, the 9 to 5 faster pace of cosmopolitan Toronto that's half the distance to home, or if you want to make a lot of money living in the middle of nowhere with quite severe seasons in northern Alberta.
    :p

Working in media...got herself an article or two in the Irish Times.

Maybe she's looking to go down the route of 'post stuff for people to react angrily too (and click on)' that has worked for people like Katie Hopkins and Louise O'Neill before her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dwayneshintzy

Kevwoody wrote: »
    **** them, they like many others fecked off when this country was on its knees leaving everyone else to pick up the pieces
    The people in the article are complete idiots and I won't remotely defend them. But this view here is totally unfair.

Many/most people left because there was no prospect of a job. How is staying in Ireland on the dole preferable for the State?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭ArthurG

The way she goes on about her friends 'left behind' in Vancouver, you'd think they were living in the back hole of Calcutta.

I also find that those who consider themselves incredibly well educated, qualified and intelligent are often sadly lacking in all the aforementioned......

But this view here is totally unfair.

Many/most people left because there was no prospect of a job.
    +1.

you sometimes see this view on boards - that the people who stayed did so out of some duty or loyalty to the state, sacrificing their own comfort/career so that they could help rebuild the country, in comparison to those who selfishly abandoned the state in its hour of need.

It's absolute nonsense.

Lads

Everything, now I mean *everything* ever written by the Irish media on the darling children of Erin who had to flee these shores in the end times of 2008 and after is rubbish and ye know it.

Don't do this to yerselves. Don't encourage the IT. Don't give the precious ickle darlings featured the attention.

Gwan about yer day. You know it's good advice.

Usual bloody whinging. **** off for an easier time, come back for an easier time when ya realise that where you went you'll be screwed raising a kid on the same money you were on before.

Things are picking up big time but there's more than a little surplus in social media experts. These guys look like they're trying to combine "social media expertise" and the death-breath of journalism to turn a quick buck.