Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question re pickups and motor tax

• 12-02-2017 1:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16

My husband is looking to buy a double cab pickup e.g. Toyota Hilux for work and family use. However, he has now been told you cannot tax a pick up in Ireland privately, even if it has seats in the back, isofix points etc. Can anyone advice on if this is the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭darg

No problem taxing them privately. It can get a bit tricky taxing them commercially at the lower rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Taxing privately = paying 2.5/3.0 tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Vixter

Thank you both for your responses, much appreciated.

The vast vast majority of people tax them commercially regardless of use. Why pay massive private tax when you can have cheap commercial tax, you would be mad.

Or just don't pay any tax. That's cheaper again.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Or just don't pay any tax. That's cheaper again.

Not when you get stopped at a checkpoint and fined. Guards don't care about commercial tax and even if they did it's very hard to prove what is and isn't commercial use on the side of the road.

I know well into the double figures of people who use commercially taxed vehicles for either partially private or fully private use and never did I hear a single one even come close to having any problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Not when you get stopped at a checkpoint and fined. Guards don't care about commercial tax and even if they did it's very hard to prove what is and isn't commercial use on the side of the road.

I know well into the double figures of people who use commercially taxed vehicles for either partially private or fully private use and never did I hear a single one even come close to having any problems.

Here in Co. Wexford the guards are hauling off commercially taxed vehicles being used on the weekends for sport. The motor tax office aren't handing out commercial tax discs that readily either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭road_high

jca wrote: »
    Here in Co. Wexford the guards are hauling off commercially taxed vehicles being used on the weekends for sport. The motor tax office aren't handing out commercial tax discs that readily either.

There's the kind of bs that drives me insane about this country. Screw easy hard working targets for petty non sense like this- is it really anyone's business how a commercial vehicle is used if that includes work and leisure. How is this even inforcible? God we really do live in a nanny state if what you're describing is true.

€1000 a year tax dodge on a 3.0 is hardly petty nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

And these commercial vehicles parking in loading/unloading bays and they not even loading / unloading goods

road_high wrote: »
    There's the kind of bs that drives me insane about this country. Screw easy hard working targets for petty non sense like this- is it really anyone's business how a commercial vehicle is used if that includes work and leisure. How is this even inforcible? God we really do live in a nanny state if what you're describing is true.

The people driving these commercial vehicles are far from "hard working targets " as you put it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

The people driving these commercial vehicles are far from "hard working targets " as you put it.

no that would be the PAYE worker, with no choice but to pay through the nose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Where has that happened? I am out and about in my crewcab all weekend every weekend and have been waved through several checkpoints in the last number of months with just a glance at tax, ins and cvrt.
    Anyhow, is this business use? Yes guard, on my way to price a job, see the vet, check premises/stock. Very hard law to enforce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭chicorytip

road_high wrote:

Is it not the case that an owner wishing to tax their vehicle as commercial is required to supply v.a.t. returns to the motor tax office as proof that they are engaged in legitimate business?

They're hardly seizing ones that are being used legitimately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Chiorino

chicorytip wrote: »
    Is it not the case that an owner wishing to tax their vehicle as commercial is required to supply v.a.t. returns to the motor tax office as proof that they are engaged in legitimate business?

In a word, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    What if your job is a weekend based sport i.e your company works on race cars? Not everybody works Mon-Fri.

Im sure the Gardai can call Revenue who can verify that. But if you are a plaster or a plumber with a surfboard in the back of your pickup on a Sunday, I think you are to have a hard time justifying that to the Gardai.

The Gardai use common sense in situations like this.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    What if your job is a weekend based sport i.e your company works on race cars? Not everybody works Mon-Fri.

I don't work Mon-Fri myself, and have always been waved through in the company van on the weekends, a blind man on a galloping horse can see the van is a legit business. The people who are getting their vans impounded by the Guards aren't a commercial enterprise, enterprising maybe(in their eyes) but not much in the way of paperwork to back it up.

Chiorino wrote: »
    In a word, no.

A guy working with me has started up a new business in the last 6 months and went to tax his van in wexford motor tax office. The girl on the desk made him go to his accountant for some document before she'd tax the van for him. He doesn't have any sign writing on the van and got the third degree at a checkpoint in Ballon coming back from pricing a job on a Saturday afternoon, it is happening.

No they aren't simple as that. Considering the amount of people I know driving them as family cars it's just not happening.

You have to fill in a declaration signed by the gaurds as to what business you are using it for. That goes off to revenue who check if you are filing a tax return. If you are not you will get a letter to file a tax return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

A guy working with me has started up a new business in the last 6 months and went to tax his van in wexford motor tax office. The girl on the desk made him go to his accountant for some document before she'd tax the van for him. He doesn't have any sign writing on the van and got the third degree at a checkpoint in Ballon coming back from pricing a job on a Saturday afternoon, it is happening.

I just don't believe that vehicles are being seized for this issue.. in the last 8 years I have been through checkpoints at all times of day and night and weekends and never once has a Garda asked about the jeep (2 seat commercial), or it's use.. that included a MAT check in Enniscorthy on Nunnery road a short while back at 11.30 pm on a Saturday. As far as I can see there's some other reason for them to be checked out

Crewcabs are of more interest as they're often used as cars.

Sure look at the amount of 5 seat commercial discoverys on the school run alone on the road, there is no way it's being enforced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

A fair point I suppose, but yet to see it appear on Garda twitter feed or something better than "my cousin's friend's brother who's married to a Gard said...."