Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've joined the wanker club.

• 05-02-2017 1:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,573 ✭✭✭✭

And I'm not even ashamed. My car is old as hell, it's nothing fancy even. But it's my pride and joy, it gets washed twice a week and polished once every 3 or 4. It's as immaculate as I can make a 13 year old car look.

Over the last three months however I've picked up THREE separate "dings" from trolleys and/or careless drivers when it's parked in normal spaces. I'm absolutely anal about it so they get repaired and the money comes out of my pocket. Have a new one today about the size of a two euro coin, looks like the corner of something whacked it. Lovely little dent with some paint scraping in the middle of the dent for extra bonus points.

I'm now one of those **** who takes up two spaces. I honestly don't care anymore. Judge me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Best thing to do is park in the very far corner of a car park.
    What annoys the **** of me with that solution is you will then find gob****es parking next to you even though you are a 5km walk from the entrance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,573 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

bear1 wrote: »
    Best thing to do is park in the very far corner of a car park.
    What annoys the **** of me with that solution is you will then find gob****es parking next to you even though you are a 5km walk from the entrance!

Lonely car syndrome.

Weepsie wrote: »
    Expect someone to try and squeeze in and do some serious scraping. This time you'll deserve it though

If someone tries to squeeze into a space which has half of the space taken by another car then that person is an utter eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I have to admit... I thought ya bought a BMW when I read the thread title :p

But yea I hate marks/scratches/dings on my car so I sympathise completely. It's not always easy to avoid taking up 2 spaces though... there's a particular shopping centre I frequent with the litte fella at the weekends, and the spaces are barely wide enough as is but when you need to leave a bit more room to get the back door open as well, it's very easy to be on/over the line on the other side.

Many car parks haven't kept up with the general bulging of cars in the last decade. Even "small" cars are a fair bit bigger than their predecessors but the car parks are still laid out like they were in the 80s/90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭flatty

I bought a nice car a while back. Parked it very early one morning in a huge shopping centre car park, and was pretty much the only car there (there were maybe thirty or forty cars in well over a thousand spots at 6am on a Saturday). I nonetheless parked it right over in a corner, as far from the buildings as possible, and nowhere near any other entrance. Still, when I came out , there were only a very few cars, and about 95% of the spaces were empty, but someone had parked right beside mine, so I couldn't open the door fully. There was no damage, but people are strange.

flatty wrote: »
    I bought a nice car a while back. Parked it very early one morning in a huge shopping centre car park, and was pretty much the only car there (there were maybe thirty or forty cars in well over a thousand spots at 6am on a Saturday). I nonetheless parked it right over in a corner, as far from the buildings as possible, and nowhere near any other entrance. Still, when I came out , there were only a very few cars, and about 95% of the spaces were empty, but someone had parked right beside mine, so I couldn't open the door fully. There was no damage, but people are strange.

I call that Lemming Syndrome. "Uhhh that looks like a good idea to not get the car damaged.. I'll park right next to him!"

Simple answer though.. park at a 45 degree angle! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭PixelTrawler

And I'm not even ashamed. My car is old as hell, it's nothing fancy even. But it's my pride and joy, it gets washed twice a week and polished once every 3 or 4. It's as immaculate as I can make a 13 year old car look.

Over the last three months however I've picked up THREE separate "dings" from trolleys and/or careless drivers when it's parked in normal spaces. I'm absolutely anal about it so they get repaired and the money comes out of my pocket. Have a new one today about the size of a two euro coin, looks like the corner of something whacked it. Lovely little dent with some paint scraping in the middle of the dent for extra bonus points.

I'm now one of those **** who takes up two spaces. I honestly don't care anymore. Judge me.

Im curious to know what model car you have as mine is also 13 years old. It gets washed once or twice... a year and polished every 3-4!

I love having an old car that at this stage I cant care less if it gets yet more dings and trolly scrapes...

Edit - I can still remember the first ding on it. It was new to me / 3 years old. Nearly broke my heart. I got worn down over time...people are so ignorant in car parks. I've been sitting in it while gotten hit by car doors twice... they could even see me sitting in it before doing it... some people are unreal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭honda boi

Horde mentality :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Good man, i'll see you down the back some day in our four spaces. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭flatty

I like having an old "throwaway" car.
    At present I have one nice car and one beautiful classic. I still pay for parking at work, but on the odd occasions I don't cycle, I take my chances parking a mile away at the roadside and walking in, as the work car park spaces are so small that even with care, you'd get a ding every month or two. I'm pathologically averse to it.

I don't think the make or model has anything to do with it. My point being how dare anyone slam into my car and then walk off... The absolute cheek. I wouldn't think of doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭PixelTrawler

I don't think the make or model has anything to do with it. My point being how dare anyone slam into my car and then walk off... The absolute cheek. I wouldn't think of doing it.

I fully agree, was just curious... I wasnt questioning your efforts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I have to admit... I thought ya bought a BMW when I read the thread title :p

Aren't all those BMW **** driving Audis these days? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

lads , it's a car , not a piece of gold or kryptonite or whatever , law of probability and time and all that , it' going to degenerate whatever you do , get over it or get therapy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭bidiots

bazz26 wrote: »
    Aren't all those BMW **** driving Audis these days? :p

Nope, gone back to the mercs by the look of it

Oops69 wrote: »
    lads , it's a car , not a piece of gold or kryptonite or whatever , law of probability and time and all that , it' going to degenerate whatever you do , get over it or get therapy.

Sounds like your the type to ram a trolley into a car and f off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Damaging and disrespect for other people's property through sheer carelessness should not have to be tolerated or seen as obsessive. Maybe we should wonder up to one of these careless people's homes and take a chunk out of the front of their house with a sledge hammer. Sure it's only property.

But you wandered into the motors forum to stir a bit of $it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Aaaagggghhhhh funny how this came up today.

This morning I go with my 2 year old to supermarket and there's a good few spaces available around front of car park so I do my usual , park a good bit away , (2year old loves the walk anyway)

Come back and there's a car parked next to me ..... Like in middle of know where!!!!! Not only that parked so close I had to put boy in though other side of car and climb in.

Op....... Your dead right !!!! F@ck em . pricks .

Anger management course form filled in and ready to send ....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    OP I feel you pain, my resprayed car has three nice marks from the same. I wouldn't mind but its a KEI car its about as small as a can get :mad:

Sligo car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

I've never had a car park dent and I've never administered one either, just luck I suppose.

For you maybe.
    People work long and hard just to keep a car on the road, let alone buy a new one, and it's a ****ing disgrace when someone carelessly smacks into the car and then pisses off.
    It happens to me a few times.
    With the Passat within a week of buying it someone nudged my front bumper with their bumper to the point where it cleared the paint off of it.
    I had only just spent 6k on it and had that as a lovely reminder of what pricks people can be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I've often driven around a car park a couple of times to see where's the best place to park. If I have to park in a space where another car is beside me I always get out first and hold the doors of my car open so the children don't bang our door off the car beside us. Some people just don't care and will pull up beside you fling their door open and hit your car and then walk off. Can't understand that mentality.

If An unexpected gust of wind slams you're door into another car in a car park , its hardly you're fault is it , it's an act of god .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭flexcon

If An unexpected gust of wind slams you're door into another car in a car park , its hardly you're fault is it , it's an act of god .

Try telling that fact to my Landlord charging myself for the main door hinge getting loose and needing replacing as the wind took the door wide open one evening....:(:(

sorry back on topic! Your point is valid though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,596 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Total rubbish. 100 percent your fault. No question.

How could you think otherwise

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Since when is a thirteen year old car, "old"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

OP

WELCOME to the Club

51788977-jpg.121330

Total rubbish. 100 percent your fault. No question.

How could you think otherwise
    And it's this widespread attitude and the scaled up consequences of this attitude that has lead directly to the unaffordable insurance premiums in this country .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

As with anything it's all in the details. In a quiet car park, a bit of a walk from the shops or what have you, fair enough.

Busy car park or near the entrance, expect people like me to take great delight in parking so close to you you won't be able to get in the driver side door. More than one wanker club :pac:

Since insurers decided that anything 10 years+ is a "death trap" and loaded premiums accordingly :(

Not to mention the often punitive tax rates!

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Since insurers decided that anything 10 years+ is a "death trap" and loaded premiums accordingly :(

Not to mention the often punitive tax rates!

Tell me about it.

710 tax per year
    2700 insurance
    The joke yearly NCT moneyspinner
    The car WRECKED from appaling roads
    The tax on fuel

You'd need a second job to keep a car on the road at this stage...and then some wanker comes along and puts dents in it just to add insult to injury and your insurance is absolutely USELESS fot it. 2700 a year just to have the piece of paper in the window, you'll never actually use it.

And it's this widespread attitude and the scaled up consequences of this attitude that has lead directly to the unaffordable insurance premiums in this country .

What a load of nonsense.
    Can you correlate between slamming car doors and insurance premiums increasing?

Every other fecking thread.

Insurance companies themselves have said fraudulent claims are costing the average motorist €50 a year. It's not great but it's hardly breaking the bank. It's like distracting a toddler with a bunch of keys, look at the jingles, look at the jingles... Look at the real reasons for insurance premiums and moan about that, or better still do something about it.

What a load of nonsense.
    Can you correlate between slamming car doors and insurance premiums increasing?
    Yes , it's the 'blame culture' in Ireland , everyone has to have someone to blame for even the smallest thing that happens , a car parked in a car park with a couple of hundred other vehicles is eventually going to impact with one of them, it doesn't have to be anyone's 'fault ', people need to accept theses happenstances and get over it . This can be extrapolated to people sustaining a minor neck strain of a few days duration in a RTA being compensated to the tune of 20 k € in addition to having thei vehicle repaired , hence the insurance premiums .

There is always someone or parties at fault, they should pay in the vast majority of cases.

So someone's proud and joy gets slammed into and the person should be all "Ah shure I should have expected that".
    Do you own a car?
    Find it funny you're on a forum spouting that people should get over their cars being hit.

There's a difference between a minor dent / tip / scratch as outlined in the op and "getting slammed into ", but this underlines my point ,it's this exaggeration in claims especially for medical reasons that has the insurance premiums through the roof .

You're making absolutely no sense. The OP clearly outlined he's not claiming, now you're talking about medical claims. There's a very easy way to avoid medical claims - don't injure someone.

It's prescisley this attitude, which didn't take much to elicit from various posters that has lead to most younger drivers in this country being uninsurable and most other drivers struggling to pay ,and of course it'll be the very same people with the same attitudes moaning on a forum about insurance premiums .

I'm not really following I have to admit.

What you're saying is a few people maimed/killed due to stupidity is the social cost 'of doing business' in relation to motoring?

I'm not really following I have to admit.

What you're saying is a few people maimed/killed due to stupidity is the social cost 'of doing business' in relation to motoring?
    You may need to read my posts more carefully , you're degree of response is really quite hysterical , try to be a little more proportionate .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Vowel Movement

Ive featured in the local Facebook "parked like a knob" a few times:pac: welcome to the club

You may need to read my posts more carefully , you're degree of response is really quite hysterical , try to be a little more proportionate .

I've read them a few time trying to work them out. As far as I can see you're saying carelessness is outweighed by the fact that it means people can't drive. It's a very odd position to be frank.

To illustrate the point you think the wind taking a car door, is somehow an act of God. I call it an act of stupidity by an idiot who didn't know it was windy despite the obvious markers.

You seem to be suggesting that if you tail-gait and cause someone injury it's no one fault as well. Again, to my mind we're back to an idiot.

Could you clarify where I'm misunderstanding you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,596 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

It is people with your attitude that are rising premiums. If you didn't damage my car I wouldn't be claiming.

What are you on about?
    You're mentioning medical issues in a thread about someone who has had his car scratched/dented, why?
    I find it amusing that you are saying people are hysterical or exaggerating but your posts are nothing short of "huh?" territory.
    You're obviously here to talk nonsense.
    You didn't answer if you own a car so I'll ask it again and if you do own one how would you react if someone dinged it, scratched it or put a minor dent on it?
    I imagine you'd be moaning about it as well.

I've read them a few time trying to work them out. As far as I can see you're saying carelessness is outweighed by the fact that it means people can't drive. It's a very odd position to be frank.

To illustrate the point you think the wind taking a car door, is somehow an act of God. I call it an act of stupidity by an idiot who didn't know it was windy despite the obvious markers.

You seem to be suggesting that if you tail-gait and cause someone injury it's no one fault as well. Again, to my mind we're back to an idiot.

Could you clarify where I'm misunderstanding you?
    You're presuming every accident is due to human factors , yes the majority of them are but accidents also happen because of acts of god or mechanical failure etc . , whether it's a car air an aeroplane or whatever , Threre's not always someone to blame , you really need to take on board that mature view point.

What are you on about?
    You're mentioning medical issues in a thread about someone who has had his car scratched/dented, why?
    I find it amusing that you are saying people are hysterical or exaggerating but your posts are nothing short of "huh?" territory.
    You're obviously here to talk nonsense.
    You didn't answer if you own a car so I'll ask it again and if you do own one how would you react if someone dinged it, scratched it or put a minor dent on it?
    I imagine you'd be moaning about it as well.
    YES , I drive and also pilot a private aircraft , I had my new car scratched two days after I bought it last year , yes i was annoyed but really I moved on and based on my experience of life , you meet people who will own up and self-centered liars who won't no matter how clear the evidence , its just a fact of life.

You're presuming every accident is due to human factors , yes the majority of them are but accidents also happen because of acts of god or mechanical failure etc . , whether it's a car air an aeroplane or whatever , Threre's not always someone to blame , you really need to take on board that mature view point.

Silly little comment designed to try and wind me up aside, your point is answered by foreseeablity and duty of care in the tort of negligence. The point you seem to be trying to make is one of quantum and admittedly Ireland has an issue here. That's been dealt with too a degree further up in the thread.

The real issue we have is people who for whatever reason don't think they should be responsible for their own actions or don't realise what what the outcome of their actions could be. Unfortunately the effects of that are far more serious than €50 on your premium each year.

Incidentally, air crashes are routinely investigated and blame assigned, its the foundation of aviation safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

Sine the insurance companies said so.

YES , I drive and also pilot a private aircraft , I had my new car scratched two days after I bought it last year , yes i was annoyed but really I moved on and based on my experience of life , you meet people who will own up and self-centered liars who won't no matter how clear the evidence , its just a fact of life.

Well then there you go.
    The op came on to rant or release some annoyance that his car was hit again and you went on about medical issues, insurance rises and that people are exaggerating.
    The op never even mentions going through insurance, nor medical issues nor that the general publics attitude is the reason are premiums are high.
    Do you think insurance would be this high if judges didn't award idiotic amounts for the smallest of issues?
    If my car was hit I wouldn't come on and make a thread but if it happened I would come on and release steam..