Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst landlord ever stories

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭REM76

I worked with a fella who would "brag" he had three lodgers. Truth of it was the poor thick couldn't pay his mortgage and these guys were keeping his head above water.

He talked about them like he was doing them a favour, giving out if they stayed the weekend or had their girlfriends over. It's people like that that give real landlords a bad name. These guys are reluctant amateurs. The government has made this worse with their tax-free incentives and no proper lease to 'lodgers'. That's their answer to a housing crisis, two fingers to the tenant.

Off topic - back to slagging landlords now please

Not all letting agencies are ***** though, rented in Manchester with a letting agency called Urban Marmalade. They were amazingly good. We had two babies at the time and boiler packed in.

Bedtime without hot water is a full-on nightmare for parents.

One call and he sent out plumber to fix, which he did in about 60 mins.

When we were leaving, they pleaded with us for other tenants, but we were going to Oz. As a thank you, we left them an LCD tv for the next tenants.

That agency were a dream to deal with and there was mutual sadness when we were leaving. When we got to Oz, they gave us a glowing reference and made our move so much smoother. You get what you give.

The vast chasm between professional landlord and amateur shmuck, who can't pay his bills, is illustrated so clearly in this thread and yet they get bracketed so unfairly in the same category.

Ironic that a thread set out to slag off landlords, becomes a thread where they receive the most plaudits and compliments.

Maybe we should have a thread for thick Dubs who have mortgages on ****ty houses.

MrRolex wrote: »
    Renting a room in a houseshare is one thing, but living with your landlord is another.
    REM76 wrote: »
    I would never have stayed with an owner-occupier

Viewed a few places before that advertised they were not owner occupied.
    One at the end of the viewing I asked what's the landlord like.
    Oh. haha. I am the landlord.
    Oh right I wish you'd been up front with that in the ad, I've no interest in living with a landlord
    Huh. Why not.

Because it's not a tenancy? It's something completely different where i'd have zero rights? Plus you're always living in THEIR house.
    Like do you actually not get the difference
    Also you lied in the ad sooooo see ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Yeah it's pure and utter bull. I am essentially a house guest in my own home when she comes to stay for how ever long she pleases and it's one rule for her, another entirely for myself and the other tenant.

The worst thing is in London you can get away with doing whatever the hell you want and could raise the rent by 1000 percent while reducing the services or mod cons you provide to your tenants and there'd always be someone desperate enough to pay it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,792 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

REM76 wrote: »
    Maybe we should have a thread for thick Dubs who have mortgages on ****ty houses.

Mod:

You've been on a long trolling spree today. Any more nonsense from you and you're gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Lived with a mate in a flat straight out of the comedy series Rising Damp. An old dilapidated building with as many tenants crammed into the house as possible. The joys of Celtic Tiger renting

The living carpet was so old and mank that we used to play guessing games as to what colour it may have originally been. The window frames were so rotted that we had to tape them up in the wintertime to stop a breeze from entering the rooms. The landlord had control of the heat and only had it scheduled for a couple of hours a day, leaving the place freezing at times.

The landlord tried the same cr*p as was already mentioned on this thread about cleaning charges when we were leaving. We replaced he grill in the kitchen out of our own pockets as the one left to us was rusted, but he used the fact that it wasn't pristine when we left as an excuse to charge us.

The real kicker was the bathroom. We repeatedly complained about a leak in the ceiling of the bathroom, wasn't a huge deal, it was more to warn him about the structural damage to his house. And he would always complain that it was the people upstairs not using their shower curtain, missing the point entirely. He had the cheek to try and charge us for the damp in the bathroom when we were leaving.

Anyway, this guy wasn't the brightest and told us all about this before we had paid the last rent installment, so we just didn't pay it and got our deposit back that way. As it was all cash in hand with no written contract, nothing he could doo about it. A few months later, I called in to see if there was any mail and the landlord answered. Apparently the ceiling caved in while the people upstairs were having a party, a direct result of the water damage we had highlighted. Luckily the place downstairs was empty at the time. The landlord, ever the tight fcuker, was in the house fixing it himself instead of getting a builder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

When we first moved here, the house we lived in had no heating or hot water, you couldn't lock the back door, couldn't flush one of the two toilets, we had a hole in the ceiling. Complained to the landlord more times than we could count, never did anything, and we couldn't afford to move for a year and a half when we finally put the cash together for a deposit. Absolutely awful, specially considering the rent she was charging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I was the letting agent in a country town agency. Some very odd/unsavory landlords out there. One chap had a lovely 4 bed detached house in a nice estate near town centre. I got him a lovely Lithuanian couple and all was well for a few weeks. They were looking like great tenants, house was never cleaner and they weeded and replanted the borders and flowerbeds. With LL's permission, the husband replaced rotten parts of the fencing and even put down very professional decking etc.
    Then the wife got as part time job and also started a part time course in the local college. Now the house was empty during the day.
    She complained about their ESB bill going up, but we couldnt pin down any real cause. Then one evening she arrived in the office in tears, and begged me go out to the house with her.
    There on the duvet were two big dusty footprints.
    It turned out the LL was letting himself in when the house was empty, and probably doing laundry. He was also using her computer, as her History folder revealed. The footprints on the bed was very worrying. She thought he was just crass for standing on the bed with shoes on (shoes in the house are very unusual in most E European houses) but I suspected that he had probably been removing a camera.
    Confronted him, but all was denied. Turned out the house was his brothers in NY, so I have no idea where the rent was going.
    He was a maintenance man in a fairly swanky hotel, so god knows what he got up to there.

They moved out as soon as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Lived in a bedsit in an old Georgian house in the early 90's, landlord was an Iraqi fella, nice chap but a miserable cúnt, anyway I was in the jax, beside the cooker one friday evening before going for a few pints, brushing me teeth and the ceiling caved in as I was spitting out the toothpaste, walloped me on the back of the head, nearly knocked me out, regardless, still went for pints, but when he called for rent he tried to tell me it was my fault for leaving the shower on too long and I'd have to pay for it. I said I was moving out, so he says I'm not getting my deposit back cause I damaged the shower ceiling, at the time I was friendly with a traveller lad and he told me to tell yer man that I was going to nail the door of the flat shut with a horse inside unless he gave me my deposit, the day I was leaving my traveller friend pulled up with a horsebox and parked outside, the Iraqi fellla gave me everything I was owed and apologised profusely

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I viewed a room in a house when I was only a teenage student and I didn't realise the guy who owned it was living there as well. He was this big bloke with a dodgy leather waistcoat that was stuck to him and a huge cowboy hat, 'Dublin John' they call me, he said. The room was tiny with a single bed and he said he was in the house most of the time. Then things gone pure weird, he started asking me did I go out at night. I was like yeah obviously, I'm young, in college having the craic. Then he said 'oh I suppose you'll be flat on your back there some nights after bringing fellas back with you'. I told him straight out I was with someone and that he outside in the car if he wanted to go out and meet him. He started saying that he knew what ones like me were like didn't matter who they were with, they'd still be hanging off someone else. I got out of there seriously fast. Imagine living with him though, no way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

A friend of mine moved into a place after the landlord moved out and into a new property, everything was grand until she opened a dresser and found a personalised onesie with the landlord naked printed on the front of it with a tail at the back and fins, he even had his same arm tattos on it, that's how she knew it was him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

s4uv3 wrote: »
    I had one that was a right weirdo.
    I rented a two-bed housheen from her, at the rear of a bigger unoccupied house that she also owned.
    Anyway. I started seeing my now husband, and he used to stay over, as you do. As luck would have it, I left before him one morning so when she did one of her sly "inspections", he was there and I wasn't.
    So I got summoned to a meeting and presented with a list of rules.

He wasn't to park his jeep in the yard incase it dirtied her "lovely tarmac". It, and all his work gear that was in it, was to be left out on the main road.
    Rent was being increased by 30% due to the fact that I was now "sub-letting" (I wasn't)
    I was to contribute a few hundred Euro to landscaping work she wanted done at the back of the house.
    I was to close the front gate at all times and never leave a window open when I wasn't in (this one's fair enough).

I moved out a few weeks later, and the place is still empty :)

Hope you peed behind the couch before you left. Would serve her right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

NB every landlord I have ever had complains that you left the house filthy; one tried that when his house had flooded as he had laid stone tiles on bare earth and when it rained, as it does here, the water came up through them.... He had first called my family begging them to get me to stay..

Here after less than three weeks, I am still learning the differences between the info I was sent and the reality. Agency a joke.

The worst? I had asked for isolated and was assured in writing that the nearest house was half a k away... PERFECT! When I came I went right past the house as 50 metres away.. Yep another house ... And building work in progress? Three houses and a working farm barn? ( NB Because of disability etc I was unable to view, but have done this before, asked all the right questions and never any problems)

Owner is abroad and waxed lyrical re the family home... Ah well!

There had been other issues with the agent.

Learning the comings and goings here and working around them... the house next door is an AIRBnB..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

uch wrote: »
    anyway I was in the jax, beside the cooker one friday evening before going for a few pints, brushing me teeth and the ceiling caved in as I was spitting out the toothpaste, walloped me on the back of the head, nearly knocked me out, regardless, still went for pints,

lol :D you're a true irishman