Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

De Valera's grave vandalised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Ally Dick wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0125/847752-de-valera-grave/

Whatever about your politics, to do this is the lowest of the low

I doubt it was even political. Probably just some mindless oaf scanger scum.

Graves are unfortunately vandalised there all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Tis poor form alright Dick

I note 'A man in his 50s was arrested'. Was it this guy again? You'd think he'd move home if he dislikes it here so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

dfeo wrote: »
    Graves are unfortunately vandalised there all the time.

Not many people know, the man who invented crosswords is buried up there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Stravos Murphy

Some no hoper half cut on cider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Ted111 wrote: »

Yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

dfeo wrote: »
    Yeah?

He's 6 down 2 across

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I note 'A man in his 50s was arrested'. Was it this guy again? You'd think he'd move home if he dislikes it here so much.

Or this gobsh1te (although he looks older than his 50s)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pifibs_q7ec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,183 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I was going to make a joke about 3 down or something or other but then realized not that funny

Vandalizing any grave I think is the lowest of the low

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

I was going to make a joke about 3 down or something or other but then realized not that funny

Your last ten posts are in the donald trump thread.
    You're very funny, interesting and exciting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I'm not Religious in the normal sense. Desecrating anywhere People put their dead is extremely scummy. We understand the people are gone. But it's more about the family having a place to be close to and remember the loved one.

Your last ten posts are in the donald trump thread.
    You're very funny, interesting and exciting.

????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Can't imagine what I would feel like if someone vandalised my family's grave. Pathetically low thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Dick thing to do to anyone's grave. Some right sad hoors about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

????

Teds gonna make martingriff rub the lotion on its skin or get the hose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

CJ's grave is regularly danced and pissed upon.

WT Cosgrave's gravestone was vandalised and toppled not long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Disgraceful, guy should be forced to pay for the damages.

fizzypish wrote: »
    Teds gonna make martingriff rub the lotion on its skin or get the hose!

Shudders why man why

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

The invention of Crosswords is attributed to Arthur Wynne, British born, died in the USA, was cremated and his ashes scattered at sea. Who have you in mind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

If he gets The Joy, he would want to hope that Noely is out after his stretch for armed robbery. Noely doesn't like people who desecrate graves. Ask Fran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

CJ's grave is regularly danced and pissed upon.

The dude from Grove Street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Reati wrote: »
    The dude from Grove Street?
    You a busta!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Cervantes2

How is De Valera a murderer?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

scumbags probably didn't even know who DeValera was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Some no hoper half cut on cider.

Is that a cryptic clue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Cervantes2 wrote: »
    How is De Valera a murderer?:confused:

Perhaps the 'wade thru blood' speech that he gave weeks before the civil war?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Dev would be turning in his grave

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 CeannairBluexx

Dev would be turning in his grave

Too soon ???? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Too soon ???? ;)

You'll have to forgive me, I'm Devo over this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Winterlong wrote: »

that caused the civil war

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

His wife Sinead and son Vivian are in there to. An utterly disgraceful act.

AnneFrank wrote: »
    that caused the civil war

Yeah, a speech caused the Civil War...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Was reading about this today and I thought it was very sad. I dislike De Valera with a passion, due to his backward thinking and his love affair with Nazi Germany primarily but this was a terrible thing to do. Would love to see the culprit getting caught and convicted.

Berserker wrote: »
    Was reading about this today and I thought it was very sad. I dislike De Valera with a passion, due to his backward thinking and his love affair with Nazi Germany primarily but this was a terrible thing to do. Would love to see the culprit getting caught and convicted.

He didn't actually have a love affair with Nazi Germany. In fact information relayed from Ireland, like weather patterns before D Day, was instrumental in winning the war against Nazi Germany. He did send a telegram to the German Ambassador on the death of Hitler to maintain an air of neutrality, but there was no doubt about where our interests lay in WWII.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Conto

De Valera was of minimal influence during that period, he cut a marginalised figure during the Civil War. He was notable for giving some incendiary speeches in the build up to the war, talk of wading through rivers of blood. He was notable also for his 'Legion of the Rearguard' statement to bring an end to the war.

The reality however was that the military leadership proceeded with the war as they saw fit, paying him little heed. Similarly, the eventual decision to call off the military campaign was made by the military leadership too. He just put some flowery words on it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

In plot 14D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Dev was as corrupt as they come and incredibly backward thinking.

Founder and hero of Fianna Fáil.

Enough said.

Winterlong wrote: »

So, if I said looks like there will be bloodshed in Syria, that makes me a murderer?

That's...nonsense.

He didn't actually have a love affair with Nazi Germany. In fact information relayed from Ireland, like weather patterns before D Day, was instrumental in winning the war against Nazi Germany. He did send a telegram to the German Ambassador on the death of Hitler to maintain an air of neutrality, but there was no doubt about where our interests lay in WWII.

He also sent Dublin's fire brigades up to Belfast during their 'Blitz'.

He had faults, yes, certainly...but people these days seem to only see one side of Dev, the cartoon-like villain of the Michael Collins movie.

The old style ex revolutionaries of his era didn't conduct themselves in a self-interested manner 'trousering' vast wodges of cash, that came later with 'the Men in the Mohair Suits'.
    On the minus side, they did kowtow to the RCC, but at that time, who didn't?

Berserker wrote: »

http://www.historyireland.com/20th-century-contemporary-history/ailtiri-na-haiseirghe-irelands-fascist-new-order/

The Irish government took a pro-Allied stance throughout the conflict, covertly assisting Britain and the United States in a variety of distinctly un-neutral ways. And the taoiseach of the day, Éamon de Valera, famously protested against the ‘cruel wrong’ done to Ireland’s fellow neutrals when they were invaded by Nazi Germany in 1940—even if, still more famously, he was to blot his copybook by condoling with Dublin’s German minister over the death of Adolf Hitler five years later.

De Valera himself confided to an American journalist in July 1940 that ‘the people were pro-German’. The leader of the opposition, Richard Mulcahy, received a number of reports indicating that ‘mass opinion [is] setting pro-German’ the following year. American military intelligence was told the same thing by a ‘highly reliable’ member of the Oireachtas—most probably James Dillon—who lamented that ‘there was no anti-Nazism in Éire’. Looking north of the border, Freddie Boland of the Department of External Affairs found that ‘the vast majority of nationalists in the six-county area are absolutely pro-German’. And foreign diplomats, journalists and visitors were often startled by the evidence they found across Ireland of widespread pro-Axis sympathy, with ‘huge swastikas and anti-British symbols’ chalked or painted on walls and hoardings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

A healthy person would never do that. Not to someone so long gone, before any of us were even thought of. It seems to me like a sad symptom of something.

De Valera himself confided to an American journalist in July 1940 that ‘the people were pro-German’. The leader of the opposition, Richard Mulcahy, received a number of reports indicating that ‘mass opinion [is] setting pro-German’ the following year. American military intelligence was told the same thing by a ‘highly reliable’ member of the Oireachtas—most probably James Dillon—who lamented that ‘there was no anti-Nazism in Éire’. Looking north of the border, Freddie Boland of the Department of External Affairs found that ‘the vast majority of nationalists in the six-county area are absolutely pro-German’. And foreign diplomats, journalists and visitors were often startled by the evidence they found across Ireland of widespread pro-Axis sympathy, with ‘huge swastikas and anti-British symbols’ chalked or painted on walls and hoardings.

He also faced down opponents on both sides, across the Dail and indeed from more Republican elements, that had welcomed the rise of fascism in Ireland as John A. Costello had done, or met with Nazis like the IRA's Sean Russell. Keeping us out of the conflict was one of his greatest achievements.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Disgraceful, guy should be forced to pay for the damages.

This is it. Mental health issues or not if the damage was deducted from his wages/SW he'd soon find something else to do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Probably done because he wasn't Oirrrish enough, born in the U.S and half Spanish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

They should've just fixed it and told no one but the police.

They only do it for the attention

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

infogiver wrote: »
    This is it. Mental health issues or not if the damage was deducted from his wages/SW he'd soon find something else to do!

A bit harsh if the guy has mental health issues, i'd agree with you if he didn't though

Glenster wrote: »
    They should've just fixed it and told no one but the police.

They only do it for the attention

Bit hard to do that unnoticed on a 'high profile' plot in the middle of a graveyard open to the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

It's deplorable but does set you thinking about other notable people's graves.

Where is Churchill or Hitler's grave and how do they fare, for instance?

What's your plan to escape a slow and painful death yourself etc etc.