Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do You Tell People You're Going For Lunch

• 23-01-2017 1:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭

Before I go on lunch, I usually tell the more senior members of staff that i'm going on lunch. I do it as a polite courtesy to let them known i'll be away from my post. I work at a desk where i'm mostly answering phones, so I think it's only right to tell them i'll be going on lunch and won't be around for a bit. Although it doesn't seem like I have to tell them. They don't seem to care either way, but I do it anyway.

What about other people? Do you tell people you're going on lunch? or do you just think "F*ck it, i'm entitled to my lunch break and i'm going on it. I can't be bothered telling anyone".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

We don't close for lunch so its courtesy to tell colleagues that you are taking it to ensure there is cover if the need arises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭duffman13

If I haven't got a defined time for lunch id normally let someone know, it's a bit of courtesy to let people you work with know you won't be at your desk for an hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭GalwayGirl26

I'm a teacher- so our lunch is a set time, bell rings, go to staffroom.

However, if we want to leave the school, we have to sign out at reception, and then sign back in (marking the time in both cases). Apparently, it's a fire safety thing, but honestly it feels like we're being monitored along with the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Stravos Murphy

I am on a drip and wear a nappy at work never need to leave my desk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

No, because I've been a salaried senior engineer who manages my own time for a long time, and having to go in for any of this "An bhfuil cead agam dul amach??" bollocks would culminate quite quickly in someone being kicked through a window.
    ...if we want to leave the school, we have to sign out at reception, and then sign back in (marking the time in both cases). Apparently, it's a fire safety thing, but honestly it feels like we're being monitored along with the kids.

Nonsense. I've never encountered that, and been in and out of big American shops all my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

jimgoose wrote: »
    No, because I've been a salaried senior engineer who manages my own time for a long time, and having to go in for any of this "An bhfuil cead agam dul amach??" bollocks would culminate quite quickly in someone being kicked through a window.
    ...if we want to leave the school, we have to sign out at reception, and then sign back in (marking the time in both cases). Apparently, it's a fire safety thing, but honestly it feels like we're being monitored along with the kids.

Nonsense. I've never encountered that, and been in and out of big American shops all my life.

Ohhh look at you with your fancy workplace windows .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,887 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

The poster is a teacher, do they employ them in shops in America: Trump will sort that, as you call it, "bollocks"

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I do so the rest of the team are aware, nothing to do with management.

The poster is a teacher, do they employ them in shops in America: Trump will sort that, as you call it, "bollocks"

What are you talking about? I'm talking about being treated like an adult in a workplace. I have never encountered the requirement to "sign in and out" of a place of work except a school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭MrMorooka

You probably have to use an access card to get in and out of the building/through turnstiles, and that is saving that information somewhere. It could be brought up if needed. So don't be so confident that you're not being tracked like the teacher signing in and out- it's just more advanced. I'm an engineer too and I can't stand people like you who seem to be so arrogant and ungrateful for the amazing conditions they have at work in comparison to so many others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I only tell them when I'm going for a shíte!

MrMorooka wrote: »
    ...I can't stand people like you who seem to be so arrogant and ungrateful for the amazing conditions they have at work in comparison to so many others.

:confused: Jaysis!! :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Just get up and walk out the door at any time. It doesn't matter as I'm not micro managed. Occasionally if I need to discuss something with a colleague I'll ask them to join me.

Used to have a boss who rostered it and would call you out for being back from lunch a minute or 2 late. Nightmare to work with and staff morale was low as they were treated like children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Goose, Fallon , Morooka detention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

We have it in my company that you need to inform someone if going off site in case of evacuation, so we then don't need to send people looking. Never had any issues with it and no one has ever been pulled up for informing that they are going off site.

I usually ask everyone around who's going for break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

My manager is based in the US and he's not even at work yet himself when I'm going out for lunch. It only becomes an issue really if the fire alarm goes off and there's a roll-call at the assembly point.

Only if I'm asking someone if they want to head out to the shop with me to get a sandwich or sit down in one of the lunch rooms to eat. We have no set lunch time and people head off when ever they want for lunch no such thing as having to inform someone that you are going or where you are going. I'd head home for a half day without telling anyone never mind going out for lunch.

Swiping in and out at the front door takes care of any fire evacuation situations, surprised its not done similarly in other places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Riddle101 wrote: »
    What about other people? Do you tell people you're going on lunch? or do you just think "F*ck it, i'm entitled to my lunch break and i'm going on it. I can't be bothered telling anyone".

Most jobs I've worked in were either a set time for everyone or you could choose your own break time. Sometimes its not part of the culture or necessary to tell anyone youre going for lunch so it's not really that you can't be bothered but in most of my experience, it would be pointless and the boss would be like "ok...eh what are ya telling me for?"

I was working in a lab before and it had the worst set up. You got 30 mins exactly for your main break. They were very strict on clocking times and the clocking machines just so happened to be situated as far away as possible from the canteen???!! No one went out for lunch because you didn't have enough time so the canteen was always packed and you'd end up queuing for ages. Then you'd have, oh all of about 7 minutes to sit down, relax and eat your lunch whilst constantly checking your watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭kerryked

Think it all depends on what kind of job you're in.

If some of your colleagues are going to be waiting for you to come back from lunch so that they can go (in retail for example) then I think it's common courtesy to let them know you're going, unless there's a roster for break times.

If you're working in an office where most of your work is 'independent', to a degree, then I think there wouldn't be any need to tell your colleagues you're off to lunch.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I work best alone. Who am I to tell anyone I'm going for lunch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I tell my team, but that's because they are right beside me but I think I always mentioned I was off out when I worked in a smaller company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Yeh id say it to my team as im heading out every day usualy followed by "does anybody want anything" if im going in shop or that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Nah, quit being so clingy.

What do you want me for? If its incredibly urgent I'm on the mobile; if its important you should have thrown me a meeting request; if its horsesh*t, leave me alone.

ChikiChiki wrote: »

Used to have a boss who rostered it and would call you out for being back from lunch a minute or 2 late. Nightmare to work with and staff morale was low as they were treated like children.

In fairness, as a team leader, there is nothing more irritating than people taking 65 minutes for lunch, three 15 minute coffee breaks a day, arriving in at 9.05 and always having their bags packed and computer turned off at 4.59.

Someone who games the system like that is just soul destroying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

Glenster wrote: »
    In fairness, as a team leader, there is nothing more irritating than people taking 65 minutes for lunch, three 15 minute coffee breaks a day, arriving in at 9.05 and always having their bags packed and computer turned off at 4.59.

Leaving the office at 5pm??? ...ah to work in the civil service....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

As a team leader, I hope you'd appreciate the quality of work, not quantity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

ongarboy wrote: »
    Leaving the office at 5pm??? ...ah to work in the civil service....

Are civil service not on flexi time?

razorblunt wrote: »
    As a team leader, I hope you'd appreciate the quality of work, not quantity.

He's not Mozart. The job he's doing is either right or wrong. I'm not going to break down in tears at the elegance of his spreadsheets. I want it done right for at least the hours he's contracted to do it in.

If his work was done flawlessly it'd be grand, but its not. I don't expect it to be but I also don't expect him to down tools the second he hears the imaginary whistle in his head everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

What's all this "going for lunch" mallark. I'm lucky if I get the chance to get up from my desk to heat some food in the microwave most days

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Eau de toilette was supposedly invented for use by officers on French galleys. The oarsmen weren't allowed to go to the little boys room due to the chains. So I'm guessing they didn't go out for lunch either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Bambi985 wrote: »
    What's all this "going for lunch" mallark. I'm lucky if I get the chance to get up from my desk to heat some food in the microwave most days

I would suggest a time management course or making a business case for more staff. There is always time for a min 30minute break. It's simple employee welfare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I would suggest a time management course or making a business case for more staff. There is always time for a min 30minute break. It's simple employee welfare.

Yep. There are the odd days where we have an emergency but they're few and far between. I get 10 minutes in the morning and afternoon and an hour for lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I just slink off. I prefer my colleagues to be unaware of my whereabouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

At this stage- if someone did not know where I was between midday and one they should be sacked for their lack of observation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Just get up and walk out the door at any time. It doesn't matter as I'm not micro managed.

This. I am surprised by the amount of people that feel compelled to notify others of their lunch plans. I just walk whenever it suits me, anytime from 12-3 and any duration from 5 mins to 90 mins.

On a tangent, I do feel our workplaces are becoming very "Americanised" as a result of the all the US multinationals. It sickens me to be honest.

• Site Banned Posts: 33 themagiconion

I just shout out... I'm Off To Lunch I'll Catch Ye Later. And off I go :D never did anyone every say Ok, not a word from them all.

Usually call centres have set lunch hours- 12-1 or 1-2 etc. I don't see the need to tell Management OP - if you're entitled to your lunch just go.

Another aspect of doing this is that you're simply asserting your right to take a break (within the company rules of course)- if you kept coming to me telling me everyday that you're going to lunch, I'd think that you couldn't make decisions yourself without reference to your boss the whole time.

Because we take lunch when we want it's just a courtesy to let "management" know. If they have something lined up for one of us but we're away for an hour they can prioritise properly. Doesn't seem like a big deal and is just a courtesy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I just go on my lunch break unannounced and, on my return, if I realise that nobody has noticed I was gone I'll take another lunch break .......... have even gone home an hour early on occasion declaring "I never took my break today so I'm off home!" ......... been doing it for years and have never once been pulled up on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭god's toy

When your company is 200 odd years old, a combination of: 'Sure, It's always been done that way' Plus weaponized union's rock solid call of: '30 year old work practice, just try and change us!' Plus some new age thinking of 'have some Flexi Time' all the cool kids are doing it now...

Means my bosses think I come in at 8, take lunch at 1 and home at half 4 and so never question where I am.

Truth be known: I don't abuse that trust...

Funny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

My manager doesn't give a monkey's when I go! Tend to just head off with the gang at the same time every day anyway

I used to work for someone like this, he was so "clock orientated" that he was a right pain in the arse, he never seemed to appreciate the extra 30 minutes here and there I would work to get something completed that day. But he would moan if I dropped five minutes somewhere else (late train for example).

I now work somewhere else and time is of my own choosing, as long as the work is dome, the boss is happy.

MadDog76 wrote: »
    I just go on my lunch break unannounced and, on my return, if I realise that nobody has noticed I was gone I'll take another lunch break .......... have even gone home an hour early on occasion declaring "I never took my break today so I'm off home!" ......... been doing it for years and have never once been pulled up on it.
    The quiet cog in the machine is never noticed, but miss one deadline and they'll be over you like a plague of locusts. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Team this and team that!:D

I remember when the Americans started introducing that BS term into this country. I remember when the Irish started adopting it. It's still a BS term that pits everyone against each other. Team me bollix!

As for lunch? Should be at the very least rostered with the shift, unless you work in a place that closes for traditional lunch hours. Horrible thing not knowing your lunch hour until the morning of your days work. In fact, pretty poxy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I often mention it to the cat but he's usually wholly disinterested in anything I do.

Agricola wrote: »
    I often mention it to the cat but he's usually wholly disinterested in anything I do.

AIX admin, is he? :D

I take lunch from 1pm to about 2:05 every day. If I leave my desk at about 12:40 to walk to the shop I'm usually just back to start lunch at 1pm :D

I couldn't work in an environment of strict start, lunch and finish times. It's needless in many work places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Deub

I tell all my colleagues or they tell me.... So we can go all together. If one of them can only come 30min later then we wait 30min.

Good fun to eat all together.

Deub wrote: »
    I tell all my colleagues or they tell me.... So we can go all together. If one of them can only come 30min later then we wait 30min.

Good fun to eat all together.

Aye that too. If someone has a call the rest of us generally can go when we want but it's no hassle to wait a few minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

The quiet cog in the machine is never noticed, but miss one deadline and they'll be over you like a plague of locusts. :pac:

I'm far from quiet!!! :D

I suppose it helps that I'm the one who sets the deadlines in my workplace. ;)