Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Defrosting windshield with water.

• 21-01-2017 11:48PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,208 ✭✭✭obi604

A couple of mornings over the last week, I have had to defrost my windshield. Now it's nothing major or think but still has to be done. The way I do it is fill up a jug from the tap with just lukewarm water.

Am I risking cracking the windscreen etc like this ?

Or would this only potentially happen if it was a lot colder, like -10 when I tried to defrost ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,654 ✭✭✭TheBody

I cracked my windscreen by pouring cold water on my car. Never again.

My morning routine on a frosty morning is to:

1. Start car
    2. Scrape off heavy ice with one of those scraper tools from Halfords.
    3. Finish off a few things in the house while the car warms up and the frost melts.

I also keep a can of de-icer in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

A lot of cars are stolen while defrosting in driveways, and insurance companies will not pay out. Lukewarm water is absolutely fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭veetwin

TheBody wrote: »

1. Start car
    3. Finish off a few things in the house while the car warms up and the frost melts.

Just be aware that during Step 3 thefts of very fine cars are common place on frosty mornings. No way would I leave my car running while unattended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,208 ✭✭✭obi604

1. Start car

Hi. Did this crack happen on a particularly cold morning ?

obi604 wrote: »
    Hi. Did this crack happen on a particularly cold morning ?

I honestly don't remember how cold it was. All I know is my windscreen had a huge crack in it. I had to replace it.

A lot of cars are stolen while defrosting in driveways, and insurance companies will not pay out. Lukewarm water is absolutely fine.

I live in the wilds of the countryside. I see that it may be a problem in towns.

Anyway, based on my experience, lukewarm water is definitely not fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭blackcard

obi604 wrote: »
    A couple of mornings over the last week, I have had to defrost my windshield. Now it's nothing major or think but still has to be done. The way I do it is fill up a jug from the tap with just lukewarm water.

Am I risking cracking the windscreen etc like this ?

Or would this only potentially happen if it was a lot colder, like -10 when I tried to defrost ?

There is a danger of the windscreen frosting up again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,488 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Lukewarm water and then set wipers to intermittent for a few mins so it clears all water residue to prevent it from refreezing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I'll fill the kettle and let it go halfway to a boil, or what I think is halfway. Give the wipers a few sweeps once the water has cleared the ice. Never had any issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,898 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Mix vodka or gin half-and-half with water. (The cheapest, obviously!)

Store in a spray bottle at room temperature. Spray on frosty windscreen...works like magic. (because alcohol has a much lower freezing point than water)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Beer Assistant

You don't need water lads just put one foot up on the left wing and one on the right wing straddling the bonnet, two bird's with one stone your morning wizz and windscreen defrosted,... Cillet bang one squirt and your done!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

You don't need water lads just put one foot up on the left wing and one on the right wing straddling the bonnet, two bird's with one stone your morning wizz and windscreen defrosted,... Cillet bang one squirt and your done!!

Just bear in mind that's a frosty metal surface you're standing and if you fall you'll land on your wizzer first and probably end up wizzing through a tube for a while.

• Site Banned Posts: 72 ✭✭Mr Whom

1. Start car

4. Return to car to find it long gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Zatoichi

Put on some de-icer. Leave for a few minutes.

Then throw some luke warm water on it.

ofc If I know it's going to be frosty then I put the frost cover on it the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,488 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I've a fear of using some of the de-icing products from hearing stories that they feck up the paintwork, any truth in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I use de-icer or lukewarm water.

I start the car, turn on the heat, throw hot water on the window and leave it heat up.

Chances of it being taken are tiny and even if it was its insured (obviously you don't tell your insurance you left it running outside). Nearly every house in my estate has their cars started and warming up on the frosty mornings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

I start the car, turn on the heat, throw hot water on the window and leave it heat up.

Chances of it being taken are tiny and even if it was its insured (obviously you don't tell your insurance you left it running outside). Nearly every house in my estate has their cars started and warming up on the frosty mornings.

What's the name of it there bud for research purposes like? smileys_whistling_823718.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,642 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Out of interest how do you explain to your insurance company how the thief drove off in your car from your driveway with the car keys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,208 ✭✭✭obi604

Would the windscreen only potentially crack if it was a lot colder, like -10 when One tried to defrost ?

Or could it happen when it's 1or 2 degrees also ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,152 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I honestly don't remember how cold it was. All I know is my windscreen had a huge crack in it. I had to replace it.

Have you considered the water your poured wasn't luke warm and perhaps you let the kettle finish boiling..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

bazz26 wrote: »
    Out of interest how do you explain to your insurance company how the thief drove off in your car from your driveway with the car keys?

Threatened me with a weapon as I was walking out of the house, took my car keys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭freddieot

I never had a problem using lukewarm water (not hot) and I've been doing this for 37 years on all makes of cars.

Several cars stolen this year from my estate though with either the keys taken from though the letterbox or of course some people thinking they can leave them running in the driveway to defrost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Heated windscreens are a great invention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,395 ✭✭✭markpb

Threatened me with a weapon as I was walking out of the house, took my car keys.

Fairly sure the insurance company will look for a statement to the guards corroborating that. Lying in a sworn statement isn't a minor offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

You do know that IF your fiendish plan is rumbled by the insurance company you will, most likely, NOT be getting insurance again. And I'm not talking about car insurance - house, life, mortgage, travel, public liability etc, etc....
    Better to not leave the car running unattended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I turn on the ignition, get the heaters blowing, then use an ice scraper to knock off the ice. I never leave the car unattended.

Would never dream of using water, it's too too risky, especially if your windscreen already has any small nicks in it.

I like the water/alcohol spray suggestion from another poster.

bazz26 wrote: »

I'm sure you can think of something without me listing reasons (I have heard of it happen someone and they said the keys were stolen from the house as an example).. It's ridiculous with the price we pay for insurance that they can get out it paying it for something like this so easily.
    markpb wrote: »
    Fairly sure the insurance company will look for a statement to the guards corroborating that. Lying in a sworn statement isn't a minor offence.

You hear people reporting their phones stolen all the time (if something as happens it that insurance doesn't cover and they want to claim. This involves making a statement to the guards and doesn't bother people to make it up.

As for people being afraid to use water I've seen my parents use water for decades, I've done it my self in various different cars on frosty mornings since I started driving many years ago and I've seen multiple other people do it for years and years and never once did I hear of a windscreen being damaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

...This involves making a statement to the guards and doesn't bother people to make it up.
    It bother insurance companies!;)
    Although they do get bothered when you have a legitimate claim also!