Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charlton motor company - Longmile Rd

• 20-01-2017 1:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭

Avoid avoid avoid!!

Bought car before christmas and still waiting on logbook.

Owner keeps saying "ye sending it out" blah blah blah and still no sign.

Blames everyone but himself for the delay.

Avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Isn't it 'Charton'?

If not you should 'put em under pressure' till they send it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭kopkidda

Sorry yes Charton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Discussed here
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=94575857

You're not the first to have this issue. They have an eventful past too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

They are just fobbing you off. They most likely didn't get it from the previous owner and hope you go way and sort it out yourself.

bazz26 wrote: »
    They are just fobbing you off. They most likely didn't get it from the previous owner and hope you go way and sort it out yourself.

Ye definetly what it is, I know this is the case.

Hope others don't make mistake of buying off this mob.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Lol I had the same issue, I eventually got it. Now I got it a few days after I rang motor tax office in Shannon to ask what the process was to get it. So I don't know if they actually sorted it out after my numerous calls or it was Shannon doing my a favour. That said the car I traded in is still in my name and I have to get that sorted. I got a decent price on the car because of its lack of history but I wouldn't be going back to them again.

Plenty of other car garages around with tons of cars, best go somewhere else to avoid this ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

kopkidda wrote: »
    Avoid avoid avoid!!

Bought car before christmas and still waiting on logbook.

Owner keeps saying "ye sending it out" blah blah blah and still no sign.

Blames everyone but himself for the delay.

Avoid.

I think you can get a form in your local Garda Station to transfer ownership to garage. Then get peace commissioner or Garda to sign form and send to Shannon? It might be worth a trip to your local Garda station and see what they say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I think the way it works is you get a form from Shannon/motor tax office, fill it in, bring it to a dealer to verify/sign off that the car is what the VIN says it is, get a peace commissioner and the Gardai to sign it and then send it off to Shannon. Shannon then write to the registered owner that have on record informing them that ownership will transfer to you unless they contact them to object. They then wait xx number of days for the owner to reply before transferring ownership over to you.

Sound lads