Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

International tractors

• 19-01-2017 1:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭

Could someone give me advice on used international tractors.....im in the market for a used tractor and ive 5k to spend.....I was looking at the IH range or am I mad.....tractor will have little use except for drawing turf from the bog for 3 households.....distance from bog to house is approx 20 miles on public roads.....any help or idwas thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

5k - so I assume 2 wheel drive?

20 mile on the road so ideally an XL cab because there's more room better view, quieter etc. but look out for rust, particularly in the doors.Second-hand XL doors, hen's teeth

Bog - wide tyres, maybe even on the front as well.

Generally a nice tractor on the road, even the earliest had synchromesh gears, usually pretty good brakes - check these, taking note of how far the pedal goes down the first time. Nice power steering but prone to wear in older 2wd models. There's a bushing kit to tighten it up.

For the road, the ones with dual power are faster on the road up to 35kmh but older dual power models - they call it a torque converter - were problematic. They seem to have sorted them out in the 95 series but may be best avoided in the older models. Symptoms ard similar to a skipping clutch, especially when taking up the drive as you head uphill out of a hollow after coming down a previous hill

Handbrake sorted in the 95 series - you're unlikely to find a working one in an older model. If you do, wire out the warning light to a buzzer or bright lamp, they wear out rapidly if driven with it on

Gears - crappy range lever but you sound like you'll be mainly going in the one direction so not an issue

Lift - generally ok and pump is not dear and is easy enough fo replace. Worth having a good pump as it does the steering also and a bad pump could leave you with a stiff steering when you throttle down to tick over as you take a turn

Normal "buyer beware" rules apply go everything else, engine, gearbox, clutch oil levels, linkages, wiring etc.

Now, I appreciate that you'll not get all that for under 5k so there may be some compromises

Edit: Example, but no price
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/1988-case-ih-785xl-2wd-tractor-for-sale/13949897

Ps you don't want to hear this but you do know you'd buy a fair bit of turf for this:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Tomtom2106

Thanks for that......but when u say 95 series what do u mean......a bit clueless about that
    As for the turf yep would get a good load out of 5k but have our own banks so get even more at cost
    Im looking at a 1981 IH 684 on dd but cant paste the link as im new......its in longford.......would be greatful for your input......thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Who2

Tomtom2106 wrote: »
    Thanks for that......but when u say 95 series what do u mean......a bit clueless about that
    As for the turf yep would get a good load out of 5k but have our own banks so get even more at cost
    Im looking at a 1981 IH 684 on dd but cant paste the link as im new......its in longford.......would be greatful for your input......thanks

they are great old tractor,engine and lift wise, the tanks can fill with dirt if not looked after but they are a good reliable old tractor and easy to work on. the gears can sometime stick but theres a trick with a bar to knock them back in that youll become fairly good at. i sold mine years back and still kicking myself, they are a very handy tractor that will turn on a button.

Thanks who2

......but when u say 95 series what do u mean......

You mentioned a 1981 IH 684

Thats an 84 series

85 series newer 685...785...885(most popular)

95 series newest from early 90's

These were all Coventry tractors

There's also a German range with heavier back end's and right hand gear change..844...956. All the way up to the big 6 cylinder yokes that'd sink at the thought of going to the bog

Do a bit of searching, both on here and on the UK forums and you'll find out lots.

Thanks for that.....unfortunately 95 series seems to be outside my price range deep joy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Thanks but by the time I get it transported up to me.....im in offaly.....it will cost me too much......going by the pics I reckon that it will need 2 new tyres on the front soon....more cost.....ah the joys of motoring....lol.....but thank you for taking the time to post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

5K budget for a road tractor is a tight ask. For that budget you are looking at a direct from farm purchase. I think you will have to just look at all options and look at different tractors. The export market is taking a fair whack of tractor's in this price bracket. This gives them a minimum trade in value. Most tractor no matter what nick in the 70HP bracket are worth 3-4k in this bracket.

Slava Ukrainii

Yea.....tell me about it and masseys are going for mad money no matter what condition......that why im looking at the internationals.....maybe im mad.....only time will tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/deutz-dx90/14271117

Lot of tractor for the money. Never have to worry about frost !

Would not have a clue with that make of tractor to be honest

Cousin has the big brother of that yoke. A DX 6.50. Been very reliable. Only thing that caused him a prob!em was the exhaust manifold burned through, and he had bother finding one. Important that brakes are working properly, and don't let hay and dirt build up around the brake disks, in case of fire.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/deutz-dx90/14271117

Lot of tractor for the money. Never have to worry about frost !

I like the way he drove it into the biggest boghole on the farm before taking the photos.

Looks much nicer than the oil Massey in the background. If its as good as it looks, would be a fine tractor.

She's fairly old and resprayed, you'd have to give it a serious checkout, the deutz is way better value, I've driven them before.

For road work, have a look at one of the XL cab ones for comparison before you buy that one

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/international-685/14389638

or the newer version with black/silver (maybe out of budget but may be worth it)

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/case-int-685/13856912

Farmer wrote: »
    For road work, have a look at one of the XL cab ones for comparison before you buy that one

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/international-685/14389638

or the newer version with black/silver (maybe out of budget but may be worth it)

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/case-int-685/13856912

That first one is way better value than the one the op is looking at. However I reckon a FWD would be the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I've driven every make of tractor I can think of.

We have an international, New Holland and MF

I hate the international more than I can describe.

Pile of Dung. I think its the Gears that drive me nuts the most.

I've driven every make of tractor I can think of.

We have an international, New Holland and MF

I hate the international more than I can describe.

Pile of Dung. I think its the Gears that drive me nuts the most.
    Did you ever drive the mid 80's fords with the column change, I have one, diaster of a yoke with a loader as I have to change the two levers going from forward to reverse, fcuking thing is geared all wrong.

Cheers guys.....theres alot of good machines out there in or around my price range.....the problem is the cost of getting most of them transported to me......deep joy

Drive it home, you'll be used to her by then....

Cheers guys.....theres alot of good machines out there in or around my price range.....the problem is the cost of getting most of them transported to me......deep joy

We had a thread on that here once.

"How far would you drive a tractor"

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056915227/1

I brought a 784 about 75 miles once and survived :D For me, that'd be enough though, it depends a bit on the tractor.Last one I got delivered as part of the deal, cost a bit extra, can't remember exactly but no more than 200

Yea im hoping that will happen.....waiting on sellers to get back to me......id only chance driving a tractor about 50 miles or 3 hours before id give up....lol

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Drive it home, you'll be used to her by then....
    Even if the seller has enough trust in his tractor he'll at least drive it halfway to your destination and let you take it the rest of the way. If not I'd be wondering about it.

Sounds like a good idea......never thought of it that way.....thanks

Thanks guys

Did you get sorted

Slava Ukrainii

Not yet but have my eye on a 674......why u ask.....have you something

No it was the way you posted thanks lads it is usually where a thread starts to end so I taught you were after picking up a tractor

Slava Ukrainii

Ah no bother.....whoops.....posted that on the wrong one

Would I be mad taking a sellers word and trying to buy sight unseen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yes!

IMO there's enough tractors out there that you shouldn't need to do that.

Ah sure I know......but the one im kinda interested in I cant get up to see it during the day...and feck all point looking in the dark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Farmer wrote: »
    IMO there's enough tractors out there that you shouldn't need to do that.

That coupled with the fact that there's enough cute hoors painting up rough yokes that it'd be madness to do it.

Ok......thanks.....not one of my greatest ideas.....lol

Ill try my best to get up and see it

Anyone around the Carrickboy area that could do me a favour.....please and thanks

Would I be mad taking a sellers word and trying to buy sight unseen
    Maybe a 10% chance at best not worth it though, you need to go and see it and check it out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

Anyone around the Carrickboy area that could do me a favour.....please and thanks

What do you need Tom?

Ill PM you

Need an opinion on something.....a tractor ive enquired about the seller has cut nearly 500 off the price.....are they trying to move it on quick or trying to hide something.....can't get to see it until next week.....any opinions....thanks

:D Probably best answered over on the Psychics and Mediums forum
    .Sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Tomtom I used to have a 784 and it was a super tractor for a 2wd. I loved the gear shift on the left hand side. I have an 454 for about the yard/doing light work. As Who2 said the gear linkage could get jammed on occasions but it's not a major problem when you got to know how to free it with the aid of a bar. My only reservation about IH is that they were awful hard on front wheel bearings. There used to be a seal to stop dung etc getting into the stub axle but they wore over the years. Bearing are cheap to buy and easy to fit (10 min job) but once the stub axle is damaged you will be forever changing them. I often spent weeks during the winter driving the 784 on three wheels with a good lump of timber bracing one side of the front axle until I got a chance to put in new bearings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Need an opinion on something.....a tractor ive enquired about the seller has cut nearly 500 off the price.....are they trying to move it on quick or trying to hide something.....can't get to see it until next week.....any opinions....thanks
    If you are not sure about what you are looking at then do yourself a favour and get (pay) an recommended agri mechanic to accompany you to look at the tractor.
    TBH I would not buy a house without getting an architect/qualified engineer to examine it and I know feck all about buildings or structures.

Yep....hear you on that one

Anyone know a mechanic around the Carrickboy area.....thanks in advance

Went to look at a IH 674 today......dont think they are me.....gear location etc are a bit mad and couldn't get used to it