Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Watching porn in Public?

• 18-01-2017 12:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭

I read this article on BBC over lunch today.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-38638339

It's a bunch of comments from folk who have witnessed other commuters watching porn through various media or reading porn mags.
    Personally, I find them hard to believe, but that's the cynical "didn't happen" way of thinking nowadays.

Has anyone experienced this from either side of the fence? Either as someone watching / reading (for whatever reason) or being alongside someone watching it?

-OP input- Apart from those emails in college that would blast out sound at full volume or load a full screen image that couldn't be closed easily, the closest I've seen, was on a 2 day training course, the instructor was having issues getting into our work wifi, I was new to the company and had the same issues myself so offered to help, when I went to the url and started typing his previous search history there to see. We both pretended I hadn't seen the links to RedTube!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

No. I find that cracking one off to a violent squirter in a public place is difficult to do without getting caught

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

That train picture was my first thought too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I've experienced it once, in a small tourist office at the northern tip of Norway. There was 1 guy sitting at the only PC in the place and was looking at this email and opening gay porn. He wasn't subtle about it either.

Nothing against looking at porn (I am quite the researcher of it myself), but when you come across it in a setting like this where you least expect it, then it does make you a little uneasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Looks like this is being blown out of proportion. The daily mail and other news outlets are doing the same piece.

I call bs on it. Now I know it happens but it's one of those things that can easily be blown out. As we can think to ourselves "just because I haven't seen it... It must still happen tho" - but how often :pac:

An article can blow it out like it's a new trend or something. When in truth it's just some idiots (or what ever word you wanna use) here and there. Like there has always been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

worked with a guy who was fired for watching while at work. I dont think public is much of a stretch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I wouldn't normally be one to believe these stories unless I witnessed them myself, but maybe 4 or 5 years ago I was walking down the main street of a town in NW Ireland, and there was a guy, maybe 55 or so, sitting on one of the black wire benches you see on the pavements, flicking through a top shelf mag, not a care in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

A good many TV shows these days could be taken up incorrectly if only glimpses were viewed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I have seen many people looking at porn on their phones on the bus. Like its very common. I am surprised that people don't believe it does happen.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Lux23 wrote: »
    I have seen many people looking at porn on their phones on the bus. Like its very common. I am surprised that people don't believe it does happen.

Damn chrome restoring previously closed tabs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Have never watched porn on public transport but have messed about with girls and done the deed on planes and trains in the past and had a bit of me time in the jax once or twice

I did see a fella get absolutely burned watching an aul blue movie on the laptop , on the Dublin - Portlaoise train once, he had wireless headphones on but they either died or disconnected and nobody was left in any doubt as to what he was watching and why he was rummaging in his track bottoms pocket so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't know why anyone would watch porn outside of having a ****. For the most part it's shyte. Once you've seen one porn you've seen them all, they all seem to follow the same format.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

jaysus can you imagine when VR kick in?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭fixXxer

I worked for a brief time in an internet café and you'd be hard pressed NOT to find people watching porn. There was one fella in particular used to come in and he'd have so many IE windows open he'd lock up the computer and ask you very politely if you could fix it so he could continue.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

naughtb4 wrote: »
    A good many TV shows these days could be taken up incorrectly if only glimpses were viewed

Yup. I was watching Insecure at work yesterday when someone walked in. I had my back to the wall, luckily, cause there's no way "it's a comedy" was explaining that scene!

Game of thrones in particular stands out as one that should only be watched in the privacy of your own home ahahahahaha

You can avoid that by humming the theme tune while you watch it. That's what I do when I watch GOT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

fixxxer wrote: »
    I worked for a brief time in an internet café and you'd be hard pressed NOT to find people watching porn. There was one fella in particular used to come in and he'd have so many IE windows open he'd lock up the computer and ask you very politely if you could fix it so he could continue.

What would you prefer I do?? Reboot it myself?? Get a job you like!!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I would like to watch it while commuting, but no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

silverharp wrote: »
    jaysus can you imagine when VR kick in?

Already 3d porn out, Not long till you get contraptions to hook up to your lad for the full experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭fixXxer

What would you prefer I do?? Reboot it myself?? Get a job you like!!!! :mad:

I liked that job until you made it a also a part time jizz mopper!

McGaggs wrote: »
    I would like to watch it while commuting, but no.

i done it once never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

Spartacus: War of the Damned springs to mind.

You couldn't even talk to someone in work about the episode as you were basically admitting to watching softcore porn.

"Did you see the episode of Spartacus last night?"
    "Yes"

End of conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't know why anyone would watch porn outside of having a ****. .

I would be the same with going to see a stripper. I just dont get it. Surely you would be more frustrated leaving the show than you were going in?

Like going in to a restaurant to look at nice food. But you are not allowed to touch or eat.

Winterlong wrote: »
    I would be the same with going to see a stripper. I just dont get it. Surely you would be more frustrated leaving the show than you were going in?

Like going in to a restaurant to look at nice food. But you are not allowed to touch or eat.

Depends what kinda club it is ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't know why anyone would watch porn outside of having a ****. For the most part it's shyte. Once you've seen one porn you've seen them all, they all seem to follow the same format.

Its totally bizarre when you hear about people watching porn together (when they arent getting down to it themselves). Like a bunch of lads watching porn with a few cans. I could never understand that. Ew.

Depends what kinda club it is ;)

Like the LLS happy endings for everyone in the audience :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Its totally bizarre when you hear about people watching porn together (when they arent getting down to it themselves). Like a bunch of lads watching porn with a few cans. I could never understand that. Ew.

Soggy biscuit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Already 3d porn out, Not long till you get contraptions to hook up to your lad for the full experience.
    Pretty sure that already exists. Not Googling that from work, though!
    worked with a guy who was fired for watching while at work. I dont think public is much of a stretch.
    That happen in Swords, by any chance? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

J Mysterio wrote: »

Never got that myself.
    I know this sounds stupid but a few guys sitting around watching a porn, getting turned on while giving commentary sounds... Well gay :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

I remember in college in around 2000 (before fast broadband at home) some fellow very openly browsing and downloading porn in a packed computer room. Now, private computer behaviour is fine and what he did with that material is his business, but I remember being really shocked at his public gathering of the material. I regret not telling him to cop on to himself and show some consideration for those (women) around him. I was only a first year or so and was timid. I'd have a go now if I saw it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I always watch porn on public transport. I even pleasure myself some days. best to sit down the back. I shot me load so many times on different buses. You can't beat a danger ****.

boombang wrote: »
    I remember in college in around 2000 (before fast broadband at home) some fellow very openly browsing and downloading porn in a packed computer room. Now, private computer behaviour is fine and what he did with that material is his business, but I remember being really shocked at his public gathering of the material. I regret not telling him to cop on to himself and show some consideration for those (women) around him. I was only a first year or so and was timid. I'd have a go now if I saw it again.

Women don't like porn ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

brevity wrote: »
    Spartacus: War of the Damned springs to mind.

You couldn't even talk to someone in work about the episode as you were basically admitting to watching softcore porn.

"Did you see the episode of Spartacus last night?"
    "Yes"

End of conversation.

That was the exact one I was thinking about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

I was wondering why the two young wans on the bus found the 1812 overture
    so.... hem...entertaining.

this?

and kept replaying the end bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

Agreed. That is why I only watch Game of Thrones, Masters of Sex and other such shows at home. I think I was watching The Affair or something similar on my tablet heading down to Kerry on the train once sitting in a fully occupied 4 seater and just had to give up and change over to reading Boards.ie!!:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

ongarboy wrote: »
    Agreed. That is why I only watch Game of Thrones, Masters of Sex and other such shows at home. I think I was watching The Affair or something similar on my tablet heading down to Kerry on the train once sitting in a fully occupied 4 seater and just had to give up and change over to reading Boards.ie!!:(:(

Haha I remember watching Borat on the laptop on a full plane mums kids around everything. Next thing that mankini wrestling scene. For those who haven't seen the film it's supposed to be a fight but they both happen to wear those Borat mankinis and I guess the funny bit is that its shot like a gay porn movie only the mankinis don't actually come off but they're not covering much to begin with. And it looks fairly explicit all the way like noses stuck down hairy cracks stuff.
    It may have been all in my imagination but I thought there's at least a dozen people behind me thinking wtf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Sure didn't some man get beat up on a train a few years ago for looking at gay porn on the train. Two fellas looked at a mans laptop when he went to the toilet and when he came back they bet the shíte outta him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Looks like this is being blown out of proportion. The daily mail and other news outlets are doing the same piece.

I call bs on it. Now I know it happens but it's one of those things that can easily be blown out. As we can think to ourselves "just because I haven't seen it... It must still happen tho" - but how often :pac:

An article can blow it out like it's a new trend or something. When in truth it's just some idiots (or what ever word you wanna use) here and there. Like there has always been.

Please stop typing 'blow it out'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Haha I remember watching Borat on the laptop on a full plane mums kids around everything. Next thing that mankini wrestling scene. For those who haven't seen the film it's supposed to be a fight but they both happen to wear those Borat mankinis and I guess the funny bit is that its shot like a gay porn movie only the mankinis don't actually come off but they're not covering much to begin with. And it looks fairly explicit all the way like noses stuck down hairy cracks stuff.
    It may have been all in my imagination but I thought there's at least a dozen people behind me thinking wtf!

Remember watching Borat in the cinema when about half a dozen patrons walked out in apparent disgust at that scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Remember watching Borat in the cinema when about half a dozen patrons walked out in apparent disgust at that scene.

Haha.

I was just watching one of those "new" 360 degree videos on your tube the other day. Was quite impressed with it. It was at an aquarium in the US - and I was standing in the middle of the living room with my tablet pc turning on the spot - looking up - looking down - watching the whole thing.

Watched the video three times and different experience each time. Spotted an enormous turtle on the third go that I had somehow missed the first two times.

And of course the first thought that popped into my head when I was finished was "This would be _ace_ for an orgy porn. I wonder if anyone has stuck a 360o camera in the middle of an orgy yet".

If not - I wonder what kind of money it would take to get the equipment together to have the dubious honour of being the person to record the worlds first 360o porn video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

You're in a bad way if you can't get the bus or train to work without feeling the need to have a w@nk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

The BBC's Siobhann Tighe was unsure what to do when she sat down on a bus beside a man who was watching porn on his mobile phone

1. Stand up.
    2. Find another seat.
    3. Sit down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

I was just watching one of those "new" 360 degree videos on your tube the other day. Was quite impressed with it. It was at an aquarium in the US - and I was standing in the middle of the living room with my tablet pc turning on the spot - looking up - looking down - watching the whole thing.

Watched the video three times and different experience each time. Spotted an enormous turtle on the third go that I had somehow missed the first two times.

And of course the first thought that popped into my head when I was finished was "This would be _ace_ for an orgy porn. I wonder if anyone has stuck a 360o camera in the middle of an orgy yet".

If not - I wonder what kind of money it would take to get the equipment together to have the dubious honour of being the person to record the worlds first 360o porn video.

Pretty sure it exists already since VR headsets like the Vive, Rift, Google Cardboard are readily available.

Rule 34 and all that.

Also, I recently installed a new Reddit app that had NSFW preview disabled by default, so when scrolling through /r/all I hit a rather nasty 50/50 post whilst on the bus. I don't think anyone seen it as I swiping back like a madman as soon as it loaded, but if they did I'm sorry! No one needs to see that sort of thing, ever.

Well there goes my excuse to record a porno and explain it away as "all in the interests of science and modern technology" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It's like farting in public. If you can do it without anyone else noticing, it's grand.

circadian wrote: »
    Pretty sure it exists already since VR headsets like the Vive, Rift, Google Cardboard are readily available.
    Of course it exists already, porn and technology go hand in sticky hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

I remember being a terrified first year late one night in a computer lab in uni and a greasy looking guy was blatantly watching porn on a lab computer.

I was totally disgusted, i then noticed him around the campus all the time.

What a pathetic thing to do.