Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christiano Ronaldo

• 18-01-2017 10:33am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭

Anybody watch the ronaldo documentary on tv3 last night? it was an interesting account of his life, i thought the situation with his son or mini me was a bit disturbing, he was more like a pet or pet project to him, jorge mendes is one clever operator he has the whole ronaldo family in the palm of his hand, hes a used car salesman if ever i saw one, a real life ari gold from entourage but at the same time, ronaldo is good to his family and remains reasonably grounded aside from the fact that he has personal managers, cooks etc who all seem to be his mates whom he has given jobs to, its your stereotypical case where a guy from the streets made it good and he drags up all his family and mates with him so at least he didnt forget them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Never know what to make of him. One the one hand he's one of the biggest egotists/narcissists to ever step on a football pitch. His constant looking up in the stand to see himself on the big tv............. :D

Then there's clips where he scolds some press people for laughing at a little kid who was trying to tell him how much he admires him.
    He's a real Jekyll and Hyde.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭jezzer

Agricola wrote: »
    Never know what to make of him. One the one hand he's one of the biggest egotists/narcissists to ever step on a football pitch. His constant looking up in the stand to see himself on the big tv............. :D

Then there's clips where he scolds some press people for laughing at a little kid who was trying to tell him how much he admires him.
    He's a real Jekyll and Hyde.

Yes I completely have to agree, i'm the same i cant make him out at all, he can be so nice and sometimes humble then he will go around saying that he is the best footballer ever, like on the documentary he made sure he showed his fleet of cars asking his kid which one was missing from the garage (it had to get a new tyre) then he was saying hello to some random kid on the street... i dont think he even knows what to make of himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

He didn't come across as annoying as I thought he would, but I think denying his child a mum is ratehr sad.

NIMAN wrote: »
    He didn't come across as annoying as I thought he would, but I think denying his child a mum is ratehr sad.

ah theres something a bit warped about that whole relationship with his kid, sure the kid has a good upbringing and anything he wants but its not right in terms of how he is doing it....its like he wanted a mini me so he effectively went out and bought one

The OH watched it with me and she was shocked to hear that no mum was allowed on the scene. He must have offered plenty of cash to someone to get lost and not contact the child.

But surely any mum worth her salt would always have feelings for how her little boy is getting on?

The OH watched it with me and she was shocked to hear that no mum was allowed on the scene. He must have offered plenty of cash to someone to get lost and not contact the child.

But surely any mum worth her salt would always have feelings for how her little boy is getting on?

apparently it was a girl in LA and she was paid a large sum of money to sign a contract stating she would never have anything to do with the child but apparently she has been looking to get in contact, its very messy, ronaldo tried to control the situation like he does with every aspect of his life, problem is its not right doing that with a human being, basically we wanted to have CR junior but still wanted to maintain his playboy ways.... his auld lady seems a bit of a weapon but ronaldo can do as he pleases.... had to laugh when the recovering alcoholic brother said that he started drinking as young as aged 20, try coming to ireland pal, more like 10 years old they start on the booze....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

As others said not easy to work out and they keep shooting his ego saying he's the best footballer ever... (I think Messi is)
    But as has been touched on he also does many good things and he hasn't forgotten the oppressed such as the Palestinians which in this day and age is a brave move from someone in the public eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Duggie2012

look a lot of it was a bit staged but so what. the thing i took from it is how dedicated he is to been the best. hes basically a loner who has dedicated his whole life to football. it seems he has no real friends other than his family and a few advisors. in fairness he deserves every thing he has cause he has worked bloody hard to get where he is. i say well done to him. hes been a pleasure to watch down through the years and still is even if hes not the player he was.

Duggie2012 wrote: »
    look a lot of it was a bit staged but so what. the thing i took from it is how dedicated he is to been the best. hes basically a loner who has dedicated his whole life to football. it seems he has no real friends other than his family and a few advisors. in fairness he deserves every thing he has cause he has worked bloody hard to get where he is. i say well done to him. hes been a pleasure to watch down through the years and still is even if hes not the player he was.

I would have to agree, he worked damn hard to get where he is and i am glad the documentary didnt just focus on the flash lifestyle, they showed how damn hard it was to get there, imagine leaving an impoverished small island to go to the big city at 12 to make it in the game, he basically sacrificed his whole childhood to make it, going to Manchester when he was 18... your right he is a complete loner who has no life outside of football, he mentions he has no friends in football and the only people in his life are his family and jorge mendes and a few old pals from the island whom he now employs, t would have been the same for messi they whole family had to move from argentina to spain so messi could make in with barca, these two lads didnt just accidentally become the best in the world their whole lives have been dedicated to it, you would hope that when they retire at such a young age that they dont go off the rails

First off, that comment about drinking at 20, I said the same thing too when he said that, "Jez over here you'd be on the sauce for 5 years already".

Anyway, I commented a few times that it seemed a very unnatural situation. Its like a little tight group of people who only have themselves to talk to, like he and they have no friends outside of the group. Of course one documentary can't show us his entire social life, but it does appear he hasn't got one. He is very focused on being No1, and he probably thinks he is. But I am sure this takes a lot of time to try to be the best, and he has decided that's all he will do until he retires. Its definitely a cocoon he lives in, and the dynamic of the group seems to be to tell him how good he is.

Then again, its not like folk like him can have a normal social life is it? If he went out a walk or shopping he'd be mobbed, so they probably get used to a life of seclusion and having things done for them. I got the feeling the odd time the little boy has no interest in the life, or football. I have my own beliefs that the boy should have a mum as he's growing up, he's getting a very strange lifestyle forced on him. He'll not want for anything ever, but material things aren't everything. Maybe Ronaldo is over-compensating for the fact that his Dad was an alcoholic and probably neglected his sons, so instead he is going to control and smother his own child?

I do think he is an egomanic. Messi doesn't come across as the same type of character. When you watch Ronaldo play, its all him, him, him. He often doesn't celebrate with his team mates or thank them for assists, its like they are unimportant compared to him. Football is a team game and he is a major individual.

First off, that comment about drinking at 20, I said the same thing too when he said that, "Jez over here you'd be on the sauce for 5 years already".

Anyway, I commented a few times that it seemed a very unnatural situation. Its like a little tight group of people who only have themselves to talk to, like he and they have no friends outside of the group. Of course one documentary can't show us his entire social life, but it does appear he hasn't got one. He is very focused on being No1, and he probably thinks he is. But I am sure this takes a lot of time to try to be the best, and he has decided that's all he will do until he retires. Its definitely a cocoon he lives in, and the dynamic of the group seems to be to tell him how good he is.

Then again, its not like folk like him can have a normal social life is it? If he went out a walk or shopping he'd be mobbed, so they probably get used to a life of seclusion and having things done for them. I got the feeling the odd time the little boy has no interest in the life, or football. I have my own beliefs that the boy should have a mum as he's growing up, he's getting a very strange lifestyle forced on him. He'll not want for anything ever, but material things aren't everything. Maybe Ronaldo is over-compensating for the fact that his Dad was an alcoholic and probably neglected his sons, so instead he is going to control and smother his own child?

I do think he is an egomanic. Messi doesn't come across as the same type of character. When you watch Ronaldo play, its all him, him, him. He often doesn't celebrate with his team mates or thank them for assists, its like they are unimportant compared to him. Football is a team game and he is a major individual.

You are right on so many points here, it is a complete cocoon he lives in which, while it isolates him from the outside world and the madness allowing him to concentrate on football, its not healthy either, he has nobody to challenge him, his agent jorge mendes would smell his farts if asked, all because ronaldo is worth millions to him, but ronaldo is over 30 now and hasnt that many years left, will mr mednes and his sidekicks still be knocking around then? whilst you have to admire him for being the nest he can be, its also important to have a balance in life, the situation with him and his kid is unusual and not healthy for the kid, its a weird and fake set up...and i agree, he is overdoing it with his son because of his dad, it seems that for ronaldo everything in life has to be perfect, the best footballer, the perfect parents, he created the perfect son etc, life isnt like that and when he is no longer no. 1 he may get hard to accept that... messi certainly is a different fish, far more open and modest, ronaldo is all about ronaldo but hes not all bad at the same time....some priceless comments from his team mates about ronaldo getting all the attention....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Duggie2012

jezzer wrote: »
    You are right on so many points here, it is a complete cocoon he lives in which, while it isolates him from the outside world and the madness allowing him to concentrate on football, its not healthy either, he has nobody to challenge him, his agent jorge mendes would smell his farts if asked, all because ronaldo is worth millions to him, but ronaldo is over 30 now and hasnt that many years left, will mr mednes and his sidekicks still be knocking around then? whilst you have to admire him for being the nest he can be, its also important to have a balance in life, the situation with him and his kid is unusual and not healthy for the kid, its a weird and fake set up...and i agree, he is overdoing it with his son because of his dad, it seems that for ronaldo everything in life has to be perfect, the best footballer, the perfect parents, he created the perfect son etc, life isnt like that and when he is no longer no. 1 he may get hard to accept that... messi certainly is a different fish, far more open and modest, ronaldo is all about ronaldo but hes not all bad at the same time....some priceless comments from his team mates about ronaldo getting all the attention....

do we know this though?? like we never hear from Messi really, can he speak english properly even? i'm not sure he can. point is i know a fair bit about Ronaldo but i know practically nothing about Messi. He's no saint either, you hear a lot of reports of him pushing his priviliges with Luis Enrique when he doesnt get his way. Basically i'm messi and you need me more that i need you so do as i say type of thing. Either way we worship them both.

Duggie2012 wrote: »
    do we know this though?? like we never hear from Messi really, can he speak english properly even? i'm not sure he can. point is i know a fair bit about Ronaldo but i know practically nothing about Messi. He's no saint either, you hear a lot of reports of him pushing his priviliges with Luis Enrique when he doesnt get his way. Basically i'm messi and you need me more that i need you so do as i say type of thing. Either way we worship them both.

well i think you have answered your own question, we dont know much about messi because he keeps to himself and doesnt court the limelight like ronaldo does....of course messi loves himself as much as ronaldo does and throws his toys out of the pram also but hes more of a team man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Let's not forget his tax avoidance either

lertsnim wrote: »

yes for a guy who is on around 300k a week that was pretty stupid...

lertsnim wrote: »

I wonder with big stars like this, do they even know they are avoiding tax?

Looking at that show the other night, it appears these guys have their lives run for them, have a group of people doing everything for them. I'm sure Ronaldo doesn't handle his business himself, but employs people to do it.

If so, they probably either never told him where his money was or else something like "we think this would be a good investment" and he simply said "yeah grand".

I wonder with big stars like this, do they even know they are avoiding tax?

Looking at that show the other night, it appears these guys have their lives run for them, have a group of people doing everything for them. I'm sure Ronaldo doesn't handle his business himself, but employs people to do it.

If so, they probably either never told him where his money was or else something like "we think this would be a good investment" and he simply said "yeah grand".

yes that would be a lot of it, with messi his auld lad was managing his money and he got messi into that mess (no pun), as you saw with ronaldo the other night, he has his own personal manager and his brother handles a lot of his business affairs, i think something like 30% of premiership players go bust within 5 years of finishing playing due to bad investment advice.... looking at ronaldo he lives in cloud cuckoo land, not saying that he is stupid, far from it but he is a footballer and his job is to play football and he puts everything into that leaving the money and business dealing to his entourage.... now hes obviously worth over €100 million but his whole entourage are reliant on him for a job and now 31 he may have 3/4 years left at the top after that his earnings decrease dramatically, if his inner circle arent lookign after his interests, things could change rapidly, although players are better advised these days, if you look at bobby moore, english world cup winning captain in 66, he had the world at his feet, one of the first superstars but as soon as his career was over his life went into freefall, marriage ended, went bust, its a very fickle world just like acting or music or boxing, if they dont have the right guys looking out for them it never ends up well...