Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the most amount of money you ever lost??

• 18-01-2017 12:03am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30

Many years back I had £3000 in cash in an envelope to put down on a 1994 Mitsubishi galant, got the train down to the nearest dealership, got off the train and realised it had been nicked from my coat. To this day, I still weep a little thinking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Yep. It would have been the most I ever earned from an honest, and very hard, weeks work.

The circumstances surrounding the loss haunt me to this day.

Don't Ever carry a f**king wallet, lads!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Bout 3 fiddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Never lost money. Not especially careful. Just lucky I suppose...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Stravos Murphy

Lost a monkey buying a lemon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Often lost like maybr 50 or bit more on nights out

But once when i was on the dole....had e25 left to do me for 4 days and needed to buy petrol to go for an interview and lost e20 of it.....that hurt like fcuk

Had to empty petrol outta the lawnmower and generator at home to go along with the fiver i had....done a lot of free coasting etc to get home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Lost my wallet on a day out in Dublin. Bus ticket, cards and all my money bar 2 euro was gone.

I bought a scratch card and won a tenner, enough for the bus home. Happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,036 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Lost 100,000 on purchase of house.

Lost 10,000 on buying Irish bank shares.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

You're assuming that I have money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I've never lost anything... money, wallet, phone, cards, virginity... nothing.

I did buy a Sony MiniDisc player (in 2005) though. Does that count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Geuze wrote: »
    Lost 100,000 on purchase of house.

Lost 10,000 on buying Irish bank shares.

Ouch.

And the 50 quid I lost 8 years ago still haunts me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Lost £20 once in the train station but found an envelope with £3,000 in it before getting on the train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Worst I can think of is losing a €50 note out of my pocket once, left me utterly sickened for the whole week.

Doesn't quite compare to some of the stories here, mind :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

RayM wrote: »
    I've never lost anything... money, wallet, phone, cards, virginity... nothing.

I did buy a Sony MiniDisc player (in 2005) though. Does that count?

I have three. Two portable and one hifi separate....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

endacl wrote: »
    I have three. Two portable and one hifi separate....

I'm sorry for your troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭deisedav

Had my wallet robbed on the train to Dublin. I was going to the airport after to go on a holiday. Had a grand in the wallet and all my cards . Still sick at the thought of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I lost a tape with 'My Rifle, Pony, And Me' on it in the bog once :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I once left money, can't remember the exact amount, approx 120 down on a paint tin in woodies. Walked off and forgot it, but it was still there when I went back to look. I had 150 stolen outta my bag over a weekend turns out it was my housemate and he stole a lot more off the others. Apart from that I don't recall losing any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭metroburgers

Many years back I had £3000 in cash in an envelope to put down on a 1994 Mitsubishi galant, got the train down to the nearest dealership, got off the train and realised it had been nicked from my coat. To this day, I still weep a little thinking about it.
    Lost £20 once in the train station but found an envelope with £3,000 in it before getting on the train.

£6000... can you describe this train?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I lost my wallet 3 times one time there was over 100 in it ; ) I got my wallet back twice out of the three. Once I got jumped by 3 lads and had it taken. I got it back the next day minus the money around 40 quid.but still had my cards. Someone handed it into my college at the time and they called me . Another time I lost the the gardaI called to my door and asked me had I lost a wallet and why didn't I report it. They told me to bring I'd down to the garda station and get it. Still had the money in it ; ) the third time lost it when I was drunk in mayo. I Knew I left it in a bar but couldn't remember where the bar was I was that drunk ; )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Lost a fiver on a Liverpool game once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭alroley

Had my wallet stolen when I was about 8. There was £30 in it, which to 8 year old me was a massive amount of money. It was also one of those wallets from The Den that I had gotten in a pack after they showed my drawing on the show. Gutted again now just thinking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

Lost scratch cards worth about €30 once. Randomly found €40 on a footpath later and kept it. Still feel a bit guilty about keeping the cash :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,240 ✭✭✭Guffy

Left my wallet on the car seat once and forgot to lock the door :sic:

Absolutely my own fault but had 90 euro taken. They left the wallet but i was on dole at the time so was a fair chunk of change for someone to take, on a monday morning, from a car seat.

I think the worst thing was they took my smokes too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

I've found more money than I have ever lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Left wallet in locker room after finishing work (was empty from what I could gather), went out to the car park before realising. Went back in......say no more than literally 2mins had passed between leaving and re-entering the room.....wallet emptied of 120 quid.

Just proved what sort of scumbags inhabit the company I worked for.................still do. Don't trust a single one of 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Most money I lost was on a horse I had a tip on just over six years back. It was a plot horse (trained with the sole intention of having a punt on a certain day... after maybe not trying all that hard before hand). I had won grand a few weeks before and it's as rare as hen's teeth that I get any info off this chap (he's involved in racing) and so I said fcuk it, as if it wins (because of the odds being so nice) I would have more money than I have ever had in my life and so I went all in.

Was told only to back it around midday. It was 16/1 the night before, but I did as I was told. Just placing the bets was tough, as some bookmakers flat refused the bet, and so I had to split the money into around eight amounts and was even a refused in a few places then. The first bet I got on was at 12/1 I think and the last was at 13/2. In the end anyway I got it all on and the horse was 3/1 fav on the off.

Horse broke well enough but the jockey decided to sit at the back and give the rest of the field many many lengths, in a 6f race! Two furlongs from home he's still sitting last and only giving hands and heels, despite other jockeys in front of him reaching for the whip and going hell for leather. Entering the final he's cruising and I'm screaming at the fcuker (as where many others) to get a move on and a furlong or so out the jockey finally decides to ask the horse for effort and goes for a gap.. and the horse responds immediately and takes off like a bullet! Starts pounding up the centre of the track...... only to lose by less 3/4's of a length!

Be no surprise to racing fans that the jockey was the one and only Jamie Spencer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Cake Man

McDermotX wrote: »
    Left wallet in locker room after finishing work (was empty from what I could gather), went out to the car park before realising. Went back in......say no more than literally 2mins had passed between leaving and re-entering the room.....wallet emptied of 120 quid.

Just proved what sort of scumbags inhabit the company I worked for.................still do. Don't trust a single one of 'em.
    Harsh, the exact opposite happened me. Left apartment building one morning about a year ago and saw a wallet on a chair with nobody around. $120 inside and the usual haul of cards. Tracked down the guy on Facebook to let him know and gave it back to him. I'm surely due a few karma points!

Most I lost was about E320, not in the normal "lost" sense but blew it stupidly on a bet. A very fancied team played a quite unfancied team in a game, lumped it all on the fancied team with a handy E50-60 return. "Easy money" I thought....until the unfancied team flew out of the blocks and romped home to an easy enough win, bloody typical!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

learn_more wrote: »
    I've found more money than I have ever lost.

Picked up a tenner on the street earlier this evening. Paid for my groceries lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

I haven't lost money but I'm in denial for the last few months about a watch my parents bought me for my 25th birthday. It's a really beautiful watch and I can't find it anywhere :(

My mam always carries her purse and she's forever putting it down and forgetting where she's put it. She lost it one day in a shop and she had about 350 in it. She got really upset telling the shop assistant because she also had a photo of her friend who had passed away in the purse.

The shop assistant ended up ringing her that evening saying that she searched everywhere in the shop for about an hour and eventually found the purse under some clothes on a shelf :) she said that she was so happy to find it because she'd recently lost her father and when my mam had mentioned her friend's photo, she was determined to find the purse for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭mickmac76

Lost €70 once that was the only time I remember losing money. One time I found €90 so it balances out in the end more or less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Most money I lost was on a horse I had a tip on just over six years back. It was a plot horse (trained with the sole intention of having a punt on a certain day... after maybe not trying all that hard before hand). I had won grand a few weeks before and it's as rare as hen's teeth that I get any info off this chap (he's involved in racing) and so I said fcuk it, as if it wins (because of the odds being so nice) I would have more money than I have ever had in my life and so I went all in.

Was told only to back it around midday. It was 16/1 the night before, but I did as I was told. Just placing the bets was tough, as some bookmakers flat refused the bet, and so I had to split the money into around eight amounts and was even a refused in a few places then. The first bet I got on was at 12/1 I think and the last was at 13/2. In the end anyway I got it all on and the horse was 3/1 fav on the off.

Horse broke well enough but the jockey decided to sit at the back and give the rest of the field many many lengths, in a 6f race! Two furlongs from home he's still sitting last and only giving hands and heels, despite other jockeys in front of him reaching for the whip and going hell for leather. Entering the final he's cruising and I'm screaming at the fcuker (as where many others) to get a move on and a furlong or so out the jockey finally decides to ask the horse for effort and goes for a gap.. and the horse responds immediately and takes off like a bullet! Starts pounding up the centre of the track...... only to lose by less 3/4's of a length!

Be no surprise to racing fans that the jockey was the one and only Jamie Spencer.

I had a similar story with regards a plot horse down in Roscommon, I knew/know both the trainer and owner so no fear of any Messing going on. Horse had 2 stone in hand was the talk and was a moral certainty now that he was trying and we should be able to get 16/1 maybe 20/1 the following day as long as we sat tight.

Stuck to the rules no bets before 11am and then whack away. Got my few hundred on at prices ranging from 8/1 down to 11/2 and was happy enough with myself as believe it or not the horse went as short as 6/4.SP was 11/2 i think.

Got a call about an hour later from the owner telling me not to back it as they were gonna pull the horse as someone had went too early and he himself couldn't get anything on so horse was a non jigger.
    Throughout the day between the half dozen or so of us that knew about the job we tried work out who had ****ed it up for everyone else but noone was owning up.

The owner would be quite pally with a couple of the books on track and got onto one from one of the main bookmakers in Ireland and asked where the money had come from. He said give him 10 minutes and hed see what he could find out. Turns out one of our lads that was saying he hadn't got any of the double figure prices was talking rubbish, he looked for a monkey e/w at 16/1 that morning at about half 9 and got 200 on at that and the rest sp. The bookmaker could tell exactly which shop and what time it happened and our pal hadn't a foot to stand on. I found it crazy just how easily a bookie could trace that down so quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

About 150e. I was playing a GAA match on one pitch and a tractor towing a mower was cutting the other pitch. Much to my disappointment, on his way out, the tractor had mowed over a few coats and turned my coat into fire kindling. Another guy lost a Walkman.

When I'm carrying a large sum around I always put it in my shoe. I know it sounds manky, but it works.

However, one time I was desperate for money as a teenager because I was a walk from home late at night and starving. Had 1 euro to my name. And lo' behold, about 15e came blowing across the road. It could have been more but I just saw that and grabbed it. If that isn't divine intervention, I don't know what is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

I had a similar story with regards a plot horse down in Roscommon, I knew/know both the trainer and owner so no fear of any Messing going on. Horse had 2 stone in hand was the talk and was a moral certainty now that he was trying and we should be able to get 16/1 maybe 20/1 the following day as long as we sat tight.

Stuck to the rules no bets before 11am and then whack away. Got my few hundred on at prices ranging from 8/1 down to 11/2 and was happy enough with myself as believe it or not the horse went as short as 6/4.SP was 11/2 i think.

Got a call about an hour later from the owner telling me not to back it as they were gonna pull the horse as someone had went too early and he himself couldn't get anything on so horse was a non jigger.
    Throughout the day between the half dozen or so of us that knew about the job we tried work out who had ****ed it up for everyone else but noone was owning up.

The owner would be quite pally with a couple of the books on track and got onto one from one of the main bookmakers in Ireland and asked where the money had come from. He said give him 10 minutes and hed see what he could find out. Turns out one of our lads that was saying he hadn't got any of the double figure prices was talking rubbish, he looked for a monkey e/w at 16/1 that morning at about half 9 and got 200 on at that and the rest sp. The bookmaker could tell exactly which shop and what time it happened and our pal hadn't a foot to stand on. I found it crazy just how easily a bookie could trace that down so quickly.

Great story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

Kind of the opposite for me... young lad and I went away once for a premiership game... before going into the stadium, I notice a ticket on the ground... looked around a few minutes and saw a upset looking man... asked him if he lost his ticket... when I gave it back he was so happy...

Later on the bus after the match, my young lad spots a wallet between the seats in front of us... £100 and a few 1000 roubles in it... we handed it into the lost and found...

I'd like to think I showed the young lad a good example and that we picked up some good karma on the way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

I lost €5,600 in one day in my spread-betting days. That was my single worst day on the markets.

Overall lost around €35k over five years, fortunately finally got sense when my account was cleaned out and stopped it. I was initially successful, was shorting bank stocks in 2007/2008 and long on gold (made €900 the day Lehman Brothers went down - easiest money I ever made), but beginners' luck leads to overconfidence in that game, as I discovered in 2010/2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Judging by the use I've made out of it, I may as well have lost 95% of all the money I've ever come across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Some lucky some not so lucky!

I think I'm the former, just about..for now anyway!

Most I have ever lost is a tenner I think, and I remember finding 150 euro once!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I've lost 50 euro but I've had money stolen from me twice in a place I used work, scumbags, 120 was taken from my purse one time and the second time 70 oh and also someone stole my benefit Bella bamba blusher from my coat pocket at work aswell which costs about 35 euro, I think stealing the blusher was worse than the money as it was used, ud have to be some scumbag to do that, and whoever robbed me would obviously have been talking to me at work all the while having robbed me, I decided not to mention my blusher bing robbed cause I didn't want to give the scumbag who robbed it any attention or let them think they got to me, don't work there any more thank ****, I've seen people on a few occasions drop 50s in front of me and I've picked it up and given it back to them, I don't think it would bring u any luck keeping money like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

Arghus wrote: »
    Judging by the use I've made out of it, I may as well have lost 95% of all the money I've ever come across.

Only 95%??

If it's any consolation, this guy inherited a fortune, and spent all of it, every last cent, on debauchery:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1227679/The-Satanic-Marquess-Was-knife-throwing-drug-addicted-John-Hervey-Britains-debauched-aristocrat-ever.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭colmufc

Lost a few 20s on nights out , was at work one day when a guy left his wallet down on a fruit stand to ba Lance the stuff he had in his hand went to the counter and paid with change he had in his pocket , found the wallet and looked over the cameras guy was gone checked it to see if he had a business card or a name at least he had €600 cash in it I found a card with his office number on it he collected it later that night , barley even a thanks out of him prick didn't even miss it til his boss called him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Only 95%??

If it's any consolation, this guy inherited a fortune, and spent all of it, every last cent, on debauchery:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1227679/The-Satanic-Marquess-Was-knife-throwing-drug-addicted-John-Hervey-Britains-debauched-aristocrat-ever.html

That is no consolation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,776 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Used to get paid in cash so end of the week wages in wallet, was rent day....Paid monthly....so hop out the car with about a grand go and pay rent only to discover the wallet missing. Was utterly ****ing sickened only to get a call an hour later from my tattoo artist asking if I lost my wallet. Some lady rang him explaining she found it. Met her the next day, not a penny missing and legit refused to take 50e as a thanks , caved when I gave it to her friend for them to have lunch on me