Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cars with no spare tyre - what do you do?

• 17-01-2017 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭

I see a lot of cars these days don't have a spare tyre.

Do people rely on breakdown assistance in the event of a puncture? What will they do at the roadside or would you have to be towed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Run flats.. Foam.. Pray you don't get a flat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I got away with it for 5 years. Got rightly caught then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Ya I'm thinking the foam would have to do but can you drive the car at normal speed.

I had a space saver wheel on a car before and went above the 80km limit and ended up breaking the power steering belt and faults came up on the car that had to be cleared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭Glebee

I have the foam in my boot. I have no faith in it at all. ive been meaning to pick up a spare from a breakers yard for the past four years at least. Got a puncture once but was in a town so could locate a garage and get sorted. Ive had about 2 punctures in about 5 years im guessing. One of these days im going to get let down bad....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Luckily my friend has a saloon civic so I borrowed his spare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭2012paddy2012

I bought a space saver tyre and threw it in boot. Those foam yokes are useless....Just drive handy to a garage to get repair. You will be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Not having a full size spare would put me off buying a car. What proportion of cars in, say, the last ten years have them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Damien360

I don't think the foam is worth a monkeys. I get company cars and always request a full size spare.

My last 2 punctures

1. Fast deflate on N4 approaching Longford at 100kmph during overtake. By the time I pulled in the tyre was shredded on the wall.

2. Small L road near Clane making room for another car and caught the edge of the Tarmac wiixh was higher than I expected which shredded the inner wall.

The foam would not have sealed either of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

I recently bought one from the UK. Space saver with original Jack and brace. Cost about 230 delivered. Continental tyre too.

I had a repair kit with a compressor but was told numerous times that if I put that shiite in the tyre centers wouldn't go near it.

Luckily the car was an estate and had a well for the wheel. Not great it's a space saver but a hell of a lot better than the previous option. Money well spent and I will be glad if I never use it .

Do the insurance companies cover it under breakdown assistance?

Don't want to get stranded miles from home on a wet winter's night.

Would they tow away the car and give you a replacement or pump it with foam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Another example of how the manufacturers are pulling the wool over the eyes of regulators.
    On safety grounds all cars should be fitted with a proper spare tyre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Can of tyre-weld to lift it off the rim and then be buggered.

elperello wrote: »
    Another example of how the manufacturers are pulling the wool over the eyes of regulators.

I believe it is partly down to emissions and wanting to reduce weight of the vehicle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Dexter Bip

Have done 50000 km in Europe over the last ten years with a Motorhome without spare or incident. Reading this makes me frightened. I think I need an extra wheel........:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭happywithlife

Have nowhere to store spare so it'd be roadside assist for me. On the two occassions I've had a flat one was in town so got to nearest garage before it was completely flat and other was at home so just rang local guy I use who came to the house
    Probably have two flats when I go out now in the morning 🙄

I believe it is partly down to emissions and wanting to reduce weight of the vehicle.

Exactly, it's a three card trick.

They take away the wheel to improve emissions and reduce cost and the unfortunate customer is left on the side of the road with an aerosol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

The oh's folks got a new Baleno this year. Instead of a spare it has a bottle of spray and a tiny little compressor.

You're stranded if you cut a tyre or buckle a rim. The father in law is pretty old school so I think he's going to source a spare and chuck it in the boot :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

What regulator ?

ted1 wrote: »
    What regulator ?

Sorry I should have been more specific -

https://ec.europa.eu/growth/sectors/automotive/safety_en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

I see a lot of cars these days don't have a spare tyre.

Do people rely on breakdown assistance in the event of a puncture? What will they do at the roadside or would you have to be towed?

Bought a space saver on eBay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

I got no spare with the Astra, when I was buying it I thought I could buy one from a scrapyard but they seem to be rare enough, there is one on eBay for £495+£115 postage:eek:
    I think it says in the handbook you can't put a space saver on the car, so it has to be a full size spare,
    For now I just have a can of tyre foam!

Edit, £610 does not include a centre cap or a feckin tyre?! Its just the alloy itself!

bladebrew wrote: »
    I got no spare with the Astra, when I was buying it I thought I could buy one from a scrapyard but they seem to be rare enough, there is one on eBay for £495+£115 postage:eek:
    I think it says in the handbook you can't put a space saver on the car, so it has to be a full size spare,

Edit, £610 does not include a centre cap or a feckin tyre?! Its just the alloy itself!

Why would you get a spare alloy?
    just get a steal rim

So get an steel rim.

Sorry I should have been more specific -

https://ec.europa.eu/growth/sectors/automotive/safety_en

That's not specific , can you reference the relevant section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Cupra280

In 2004, I bought a car that had no spare tyre, but a can of junk and a compressor. That did work well.

I've used run-flats since 2007. I know the ride and road holding aren't comparable to standard tyres, but the peace of mind is worth it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I think the cans of foam are fine tbh. Used them once on a motorbike and once on a car, got me home and then to a garage the next day.

You are screwed if you shred a sidewall though, obviously. Current car has a boot-mounted spare which is a full-sized alloy. Which is nice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

ted1 wrote: »
    That's not specific , can you reference the relevant section.

I bet you get invited to all the parties.

I see in the details of my insurance for breakdown assistance it says it covers 'punctures that require assistance'.

That makes me wonder if they will come out for small punctures that could be repaired by the foam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Most car insurance policies include breakdown assistance.
    Most car Warranties also include breakdown assistance.
    if you get a flat, just call for assistance?

Also the AA have this:

http://www.theaa.com/newsroom/news-2013/aa-pioneers-universal-spare-wheel.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

My Civic (9th gen) didn't come with a spare but it did come with space for one (such space was called 'additional storage space' by the Honda salesman :( )

I bought a space saver on ebay only last week. I'm thinking I'll drop the foam and compressor into the Honda dealership seeing as they think they are so good they can have it. Seriously, the salesman was saying it's a great idea just supplying the foam instead of providing a spare because elderly people weren't able to use the spares anyway, the clown was stepping on so many landmines it was hilarious. Just as well I was set on a Civic anyway:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

Why would you get a spare alloy?
    just get a steal rim

It's a 19 inch wheel, I can't find a normal steel wheel that size, only space savers,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

my current car has run flats which is great and a curse. 3 punctures this year (haven't had 3 punctures in last 5 years before that) and had to get new tire each time as they wouldn't repair them.

My OH car has a can of spray in the boot. Still don't know how manufacturers get away with not having a spare. Its all well and good saying that we have roadside assistance but that's waiting at the side of the road for an hour or more and the car gets towed to a garage to get a new tire etc etc. This just results in a lot of time wasted when if there was a spare even a space saver you could be back on the road in 15 minutes.

I saw on the configurator that a space saver is an added option on the new 5 series that's coming out soon.

Is there anything out there that would allow you to store a spare wheel on the towball hitch?
    Storing it vertically but be able to drop it down so you could access the booth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

heroics wrote: »
    my current car has run flats which is great and a curse. 3 punctures this year (haven't had 3 punctures in last 5 years before that) and had to get new tire each time as they wouldn't repair them.

My OH car has a can of spray in the boot. Still don't know how manufacturers get away with not having a spare. Its all well and good saying that we have roadside assistance but that's waiting at the side of the road for an hour or more and the car gets towed to a garage to get a new tire etc etc. This just results in a lot of time wasted when if there was a spare even a space saver you could be back on the road in 15 minutes.

I saw on the configurator that a space saver is an added option on the new 5 series that's coming out soon.

I agree...but I deal with "Joe Public" on a daily basis..and in my experience, its amazing the number of people who will not change a wheel. People will call for assistance for dash warning lights for blown bulbs, low adblue and TPMS warning lights etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

I have an Astra too. Try Ebay. Thats where i got mine. Be careful of the wheel bolt distances but i got a genuine kit inc brace and jack for about 230 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

It's a 19 inch wheel, I can't find a normal steel wheel that size, only space savers,

You don't need a 19 inch wheel. A smaller wheel with the correct stud pattern and offset coupled with a taller profile tyre to maintain the same rolling diameter as your alloys will suffice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 nibles48

Yep call brake down assist and get them to toe you to the nearest tire guy. Happened to the girl friend on patricks street. The AA guy was very nice and toed her car to blackpool for us. I still made it up from mallow to her befor the AA got there tho. Not exactly ideal

you can get a 17" with a non low profile tyre making the outer dimensions the same.

I have a space saver and I think its the best compromise. I wouldn't like to have no spare but I don't see the need for a bulky and heavy full size spare taking up space in the boot either.

Put on the space saver it will get you home and/or to a place to fix the puncture on the other tyre.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I'd concentrate really hard on not getting a puncture. Like really really hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Mine came with a decent sized spare, but it won't fit over the upgraded brakes so I removed it. 12V compressor, TyreWeld & Breakdown assistance for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Run flats are arguably safer. Current gen ride well also. Only disadvantage is cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭PN14

I just bought a full size spare from breakers yard, jack and wheel brace from motor factors. Not ideal and takes up boot space but better than can of foam. Mazda 6. Main dealer do supply spacesaver but at almost 600 euro full size alloy from breakers for 200 euro including tyre much better option
    Madness no spares with cars. I always insist in spare being included in deal for OH's car when she changes at a minimum space saver. The 6 is a company car so had no dealings on purchase.
    Get a breakdown on a Friday evening after close of business or on a sunday and you are stranded until tyre place opens the next day. Fine if you are commuting close to home maybe but not much good if you have a 200km commute ahead of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

I have one of these

Tubeless Tire Plug Repair Tool
    http://s.aliexpress.com/b2Qj22EF

And a compressor, it'll get me going with minimal damage to sidewalls before it's properly fixed.
    But.. if it's sidewall damage.. dunno what I'll do.. phone for a recovery truck.

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    Mine came with a decent sized spare, but it won't fit over the upgraded brakes so I removed it. 12V compressor, TyreWeld & Breakdown assistance for me.

Useless when th side wall goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

This craic of no spare at all drives me nuts. Any time one of the drivers in our house gets a flat, it's invariably a sidewall cut and/or a dented wheels, so compressor and foam useless. I get a secondhand wheel every time we get a car with no spare.

Problem with Astra J and insignia is that they have a different stud pattern to anything else (incl older Opels) so almost impossible to get a secondhand wheel at the breakers for these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭Glebee

lifer_sean wrote: »
    This craic of no spare at all drives me nuts. Any time one of the drivers in our house gets a flat, it's invariably a sidewall cut and/or a dented wheels, so compressor and foam useless. I get a secondhand wheel every time we get a car with no spare.

Problem with Astra J and insignia is that they have a different stud pattern to anything else (incl older Opels) so almost impossible to get a secondhand wheel at the breakers for these.

What sort of money would you expect to pay for a decent second hand from breakers??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I have a spare(and three wheel sets. Yes. I am mad), but it remains in concourse unused condition :D in the boot. I have had a minor puncture and when I did I used the can of tyre weld stuff and that got me home. The one time I had a (bowel loosening) blow out where the tyre wall ripped, as luck would have it I happened to have two of my other wheels in the boot.

TBH if I had a car that came without a spare as standard I'd scour scrappers for one and keep it in the boot if that were possible.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

thankfully my 2012 superb came with a full sized spare (thats what was in the boot when I bought it second hand!)
    The insignia I had before came with the space saver wheel. you really had to stay to 80kph and accelerate slowly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

Apologies in advance if there is already a thread running on this. Mod please kick this to the right place if required.

The modern convention seems to be that new cars are being sold with no spare wheel or a spare wheel with a get you home tyre or a can of repair gunk that seems to be largely useless.

Is there a source or link showing which vehicles fall in to the above categories ?

P.S. Just realised that I have accidentally parked in Classic Cars. Mod. please clamp me or remove me to the right place.