Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NCT - how to reduce CO emissions?

• 15-01-2017 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭

So I have a 00 Opel Corsa passed NCT last year had 0.07 CO% emissions this year it failed on low idle CO 3.69% so quite a jump don't know why. Passed on everything else this just let it down.
    So few questions. What does the figures have to be re emissions for NCT to pass is it different on different types of cars or are they the same percentages for all. He was very vague just said it was too high and needs to be looked at maybe they cant give too much info out. So what am I looking at here just the engine to be cleaned out? or a more expensive job. Costs and time involved? I want to get it into garage this week and off to NCT again at the w/end to get the job out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It's different based on the age of the car, older cars had higher limits.

Is the car burning oil?
    When was it last serviced?
    Is there a hole in the exhaust?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Phil.x

This is what you need.
    https://www.dipetane.com very cheap from your local petrol station.

I was told (NCT) "there's something broken in your engine" as the readings were so high, after a tank of petrol and a bottle of this it was clean as a whistle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭miss choc

Serviced just before Christmas they exhaust is fine it back box needed changing and they did a few checks. Yeah was thinking about buying that but dont want to put it in and bring back for NCT and fails again could be a few other probs so I might just get it checked out. The car is 16 yrs old passed last year dont understand how emissions went from 0.07 to 3.69 CO I don't do a lot of driving either just to the local shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Phil.x

miss choc wrote: »
    I don't do a lot of driving either just to the local shops.

I think you've answered your own answer.

Mine was 17 years old, FYI.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

A decent drive for 20 mins may help, diptane may help. Could be a lambda sensor etc. Always a difficult question to answer. Any lights showing on dash by any chance. Know anyone with even a cheap diagnostic scanner as these usually pick up lambda sensor failures easily enough. Can always go to a decent garage than can scan for code errors.

I've had lambda sensor issues before that wouldn't throw a code on the dash but came up on a cheap diagnostic kit. Changed the sensor with one from micksgarage and it passed the NCT afterwards. It had failed on emissions as well. If that's all the car failed on, it would be well to have it scanned for errors and take it from there.

Just see now
    low idle co 3.69% cant be above 0.50% (was 0.07 last year)
    HC 61PPM whatever that is
    High idle Lamda is 1.00 and co is 0.01% HC 20ppm so need to get these figures down

Lights and sensors all fine not flickering on dashboards. By the way is there a kit you can use to check all these co emissions and lamda figures like a diy emissions test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

Post a picture of the sheet if you can, high co reading means the car is running rich or the cat is unable to work effectively enough to remove the Co.
    With your result it's not the cat as the high idle is fine, more likely a fuelling issue. Possibly maf sensor.
    When the hydrocarbons HC are high then it's time to service change spark plugs etc, in this case it won't help you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I second the MAF sensor suggestion. Herself had one of these (3 cyclinder 1 Litre Corsa B yeah?), failed NCT on emissions, whether the garage cleaned the maf or actually put in a new one it sorted it out straightaway.

Miss choc there is no DIY emissions test that you can do in your driveway - many garages do have the equipment though.
    It is possible to DIY clean a MAF sensor if you google it.

So I've popped the car in today just to double check everything is alright. Heres the thing I've been told to bring it for a good spin before the NCT clear out the engine emissions on high gear trouble is I'm a learner and I'd be nervous enough on a motorway anyway. Is there somehere northside I can give it a good pre drive and how long would I need to drive it for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

So I've popped the car in today just to double check everything is alright. Heres the thing I've been told to bring it for a good spin before the NCT clear out the engine emissions on high gear trouble is I'm a learner and I'd be nervous enough on a motorway anyway. Is there somehere northside I can give it a good pre drive and how long would I need to drive it for.

Stick it in third gear and drive at high revs for 20 minutes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

lots of garages have emission tester so you should get it tested pre nct

I'll have to drive it somewhere where I can put the foot down to drive it in high revs :) not traffic lights every second

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Truckermal wrote: »
    Stick it in third gear and drive at high revs for 20 minutes!

Third Gear, 20 mins, High Revs and L plates :pac:

Try get someone else to bring it for a spin..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

TallGlass wrote: »
    Third Gear, 20 mins, High Revs and L plates :pac:

Try get someone else to bring it for a spin..

Ha ha it was only afterwards I seen the learner driver bit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Lads ye have obviously never driven one of these... lack of revs can't be an issue - you have to wring its neck to move one of those corsas at anything beyond bicycle acceleration. Lack of revs was certainly not the cause of herselfs car failing emissions.

Pick an nct time that traffic won't be bumper to bumper and spin around for 20-30 minutes before you get there. A diesel being tickled around town all day might benefit from a harsher cleanout but one of these corsas should be fine without the Italian tuneup. Imho.

Exactly highest my 1L has gone is 4th gear it hardly is a power machine I just use it for driving round for appts/shopping. I'm unfortunately not in a postion just to get a random or family member to drive it for me and I'm not gonna hit the motor ways. My nct is 12.40 nice time hardly any traffic so gonna give it a spin up 30 mins beforehand Collins ave/Finglas before I head out to Northpoint. She's still in the garage so will see what the outcome is fingers crossed I dont need to change cat converter.

So got the car back today cost was €250 unfortunately I couldnt get a detailed breakdown of the costs as the boss rang today to say his girlfriend was having a baby and he was in the hospital so I had to make do with the guy there that just gave me my keys and receipt. I asked him when the boss gets back if he could message/ring to give me an exact breakdown of costs all I know is the guy today said they had to bring it to a guy who had an emissions tester and something about a lamda sensor he didnt really know other stuff. I know there is labour and vat but just want to know what they actually did for €250 he says it will deffo pass on Sunday anyway better!:(

well depending on how much the sensor cost him and it was anywhere in the region of say €75 - €150 and then labour on top. You'll need an itemized receipt detailing what was done.

Yep deffo maybe the sensors can be dearer for older cars then probably had to clean the filter once it passes I hope to not be forking out any more money on her for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Best of luck with NCT let us know how you get on

Well passed anyway down from 3.69% to 0.03 this week I'll have to get an itemised receipt of what the garage did for €250 it seems a bit high

For Lamba sensor, Emissions test and Labour, that sounds about right. The sensors are not cheap and an emissions test would be around 40/50€ I would imagine.

Yeah I was looking at prices on Micks garage it wasnt the boss just another guy and he did mention a lamda sensor I just thought might be bit cheaper for a 00 1L maybe not

Nah the lambda sensors can range between 75 - 160 easily and that's just for the part. Now it's not hard to change a sensor, most of the time spent is trying to get the old one off as they always seem to be fecking welded tight. Some needed to be wired up as they don't all come with a connection but most would.

Yeah mad little thing like that is so dear at least I didnt have to get a new cat converter might never have been changed and car is 16yrs old

Yawns wrote: »
    Nah the lambda sensors can range between 75 - 160 easily and that's just for the part. Now it's not hard to change a sensor, most of the time spent is trying to get the old one off as they always seem to be fecking welded tight. Some needed to be wired up as they don't all come with a connection but most would.

Nice lashing of WD40 on there and give it 30 mins. Should change it tune then ;)