Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you care what people think of you?

• 15-01-2017 5:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Melisandre121

If you knew people thought badly of you, would it affect or upset you? Be honest..

I try not to let it bother me what anyone thinks but unfortunately sometimes it does get to me.

What about you AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Yes I care way more than I should. I think it's why I'm such a people pleaser.

Couldn't care less...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

No!.......*Rings Samaritans*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

If I say no people will think I'm cool and like me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭GritBiscuit

Honestly? Depends who is thinking badly.

I care what certain people think, like friends and family, because I both respect their opinion and want them to think well of me. I care about what a boss or colleagues think because the alternative isn't great for my job prospects. I care about what strangers think only so far as I don't really want to look like an asshole with zero dress sense.

People that I don't like, don't respect &/or have little to no impact on my life, I don't really give a monkeys what they think for the most part...good or bad. Life is too short to give people like that any power to be able to affect you. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Once upon a time I did but I'm learning not to. The world is full of all sorts of people with different personalities. Can't please them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

If ye could see me, OP, ye'd have ye answer! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

One of the few advantages of getting older ...no more f*cks to give :D

take me or leave me ..couldn't care less

• Site Banned Posts: 33 themagiconion

It never bothered me in all honesty. I was once told from a person that they didn't like some things about myself but I just told them that if they didn't like some things about me then why do you call me a few days of the week to go out with you. I never saw the person again thankfully. Who cares what people think, there is more important things to be getting on with in life to actually care what some people think. It never really bothered me though because everyone is different in their own way, and I respect that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 barbie1

No because there are people that I don't really either like or dislike, I don't loose any sleep over them as I don't generally think about them.
    Then there are others who would be closer in my circle , again the same as above but there are others that I would get on better with, just a chemistry and shared outlook on life I think. There are others I still *like* but have absolutely nothing in common with. Others I probably would not choose to sit down with as don't like something in their *way of being* if that constitutes not liking them then so be it.
    Personally I try to be a good person but I fall into the above categories for other people too...... it's normal...

Be true to yourself a try not to be the person you think others want you to be, it gets too exhausting......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

I used to think no but I definitely do.

I hate that aspect of me as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

As long as I do right by my family and friends and they like me I don't really care what anyone thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

People do judge others. Usually because they are not comfortable in their own skins themselves and want to project their insecurities onto someone else.

But I don't give a fig if they do.

I don't break the law, am a nice person, will not embarrass anyone. Just like I would want to be treated myself.

So to answer OP..... NO, it is their problem not mine what they think of me. And where it has happened, they over time have been quietly ditched too.

Life lessons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Ah of course I do, everyone does. The people who are quickest to deny it are the ones who care the most IME.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Ah of course I do, everyone does. The people who are quickest to deny it are the ones who care the most IME.

That is true for most people to be fair. We all want to be liked.

But the price of that is something I will not tolerate from certain people. No way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Its nice to be liked, unfortuanally everyone is not going to like you & some may even dislike you for what ever reason, Unless they have a genuine reason & you can understand were there coming from, that's ok, if not feck them.

I'd hate to find out that people who I like and admire think badly of me. It's important to me that the people I care about think well of me, as I do of them. I care very little about what people I dislike think of me.

Generally speaking it's healthy to be conscious of how other people perceive you, and to want to be perceived well by people you interact with. People are sociable creatures and there are very few of us who truly don't care if the world thinks we're horrible and unlikable and find nothing about us to like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

No. SO FÜCK OFF CÜNT!!!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

When I worked professional appraisals were important. If people's opinions could have negative impact on my life I would care about the consequences but the people themselves not too much.

I really couldn't care less.

I'm 42. I'm very happy with who I am. If someone doesn't like me, I regard it as their loss. I have a very high sense of self worth. I've heard some fantastic rumours about me, from dealing drugs to affairs, I know individuals who have bad mouthed me, tut tutted about my social life etc...I found it a little hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I really couldn't care less.

I'm 42. I'm very happy with who I am. If someone doesn't like me, I regard it as their loss. I have a very high sense of self worth. I've heard some fantastic rumours about me, from dealing drugs to affairs, I know individuals who have bad mouthed me, tut tutted about my social life etc...I found it a little hilarious.

Okey dokey then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Some people, family and friends I care about, obviously yes.

Others, definitely not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Depends what it is. If people think I'm a rapist, paedophile or murderer then I care. Otherwise no. Don't give a sh1t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Too much.

People that are important to me I should care about.

Everyone else, nyeh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Sums it up for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Cartouche

Peoples negative opinions of you are usually more a reflection of them than you.
    You really cannot help what others think of you
    Most human unhappiness is a result of overthinking and nothing more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

"I turn to you and I say thank goodness for the good souls that make life better" -Starsailor.The rest can fcuk off,put your energy into the decent people out there.

Cartouche wrote: »
    Peoples negative opinions of you are usually more a reflection of them than you.
    You really cannot help what others think of you
    Most human unhappiness is a result of overthinking and nothing more

Not always. If you consistently act like a dick, good people will rightly think you're a dick.

If you find that lots of people think very little of you, it's probably time to wonder why nobody thinks well of you. Sometimes it's not them, it's you.

Overthinking is a crock though, I couldn't agree more with that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Definitely depends on who might be thinking badly of you. I challenge anyone to honesty say that they don't care what their children think of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Everyone does to a certain extent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

Very much so unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Some people doth protest so much they sound like one of those Strong Woman memes favoured by your more crazed FB friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,837 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I only care what my family and parents think and they don,t mind. They are the only people that are important after that no I don,t care as long as I am not breaking the law or harming anyone else. What I do is my business not theirs.
    Why worry what a stranger thinks if they have a problem with how I look or or what I wear then its there problem not mine.

As for overthinking I can do that too mostly in the mornings but find the easiest way not to do it is to simply not think just get up and do.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

I care about what the people closest to me think. They matter to me. Acqaintances and strangers, those I used to know, not at all do I care. Now this doesn't mean I go around doing whatever I like without any thought for my fellow humans. If I want to leave the house wearing six shades of green then I will, or eat alone, or sit in a quiet pub with a book, or voice my opinions, then I will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

I really don't anymore....I used to but age and life experience teaches you that life is too short to care about things like that. I suppose *life ain't worth a damn til you can say "I am what I am!"*

*may not be posters own words*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

In hindsight, no unless its someone I care about. In the moment, I generally do to an extent, although less so the older I get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

I'm good enough, I'm smart enough, and doggone it, people like me!:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I find as I get older I care less and less, but when it comes to people I care about, then that doesn't change, that is what matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Less-and-less so as I get older.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

"Those who mind don't matter, and those who matter don't mind!"

Lately I care less and less about what people think of me. It's a fine line though!

I'm certainly not consumed by other peoples' opinions of me and what I am and amn't doing with my life.

But at the same time, I think it would be quite obnoxious to completely disregard others' views ... I mean ... say if everyone were to consider me to be a nasty feckarse, and it was totally unanimous, it's unlikely that everyone is wrong?!

So I suppose I absorb what others think of me - bearing in mind that I don't and can't actually know what others think of me; at best the information is filtered through their delivery, and my interpretation of whatever they may divulge.

I can live with not being popular though. I'm a good decent person with a healthy level of respect for myself, and being able to say even just THAT and mean it, means more to me that winning any form of popularity concert! After all, I'm the only one who actually has to LIVE with myself ... so if I'm OK with me (and I am), then I don't really waste much brain-space with what anyone else thinks of me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Only Family and friends, after that don't give a toss what other people think of me.

like, and im only saying like,

the problem here is that and answer of 'no' doesnt actually give you any info as to whether the poster is a total ar$ehole or not, i mean hitler would have answered no if he was irish and had a boards account and been logged in tonight and answered this question and by most accounts he was an awful man altogether like

so yknow self reviews and all that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

mickrock wrote: »
    I'm good enough, I'm smart enough, and doggone it, people like me!:

He's hilarious, haven't laughed so much in a long time !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭twill

It's about balance and not letting fear of other people's reactions dictate your behaviour. And also, don't show that you care what other people think. They can be pretty merciless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

If you knew people thought badly of you, would it affect or upset you? Be honest..

I try not to let it bother me what anyone thinks but unfortunately sometimes it does get to me.

What about you AH?

Try not to but anyone who says they dont is simply lying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭daithi7

Would you think poorly of me if I answered yes !? ;)

That's just tragic so.

• People who say that they don't care about what other people think of them are lying.

Why does every woman in the country put make up on in the morning? Because they hope that people will think that they are pretty.

Why do people smile when deep down they feel sad. Because they want other people to think that they are a positive happy person.

There's a thousand more examples that I could give to illustrate the fact that we all want to be accepted and liked by our peers.

People who say that they don't care about what other people think of them are lying.

Why does every woman in the country put make up on in the morning? Because they hope that people will think that they are pretty.

Why do people smile when deep down they feel sad. Because they want other people to think that they are a positive happy person.

There's a thousand more examples that I could give....

What about the likes of me who headed in to town today with my hair pulled back and not a scrap of makeup on?

I see where you're coming from but there are plenty of others like myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

What about the likes of me who headed in to town today with my hair pulled back and not a scrap of makeup on?

I see where you're coming from but there are plenty of others like myself.

Fact you are so aware of dressing down shows you care thus proving their point. His or her point is bang on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭daithi7

Some delicious irony on open display in this thread.

Some posters are so keen to show boards readers that they don't actually care what other people think of them, that they feel they must post on in this thread to let people know their opinion on this.

Ah yes, they don't care what other people think of them, just what other people might think of their opinion. (Otherwise why post on a message board!?)
    That makes sense, doesn't it!? Yes, I thought not also!! :-)