Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dirty Harry

• 14-01-2017 9:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭

Was rewatching the Dirty Harry films the last few nights. They are great films and the early ones are so ahead of their time. A quick review of each:

Dirty Harry: The first film is so ahead of its time. After taking down a few minor criminals, police officer Dirty Harry Callahan sets about bringing a terrorist styling himself Scorpio who is killing innocent people at random to justice. His clashes with the system are established and the terrorist gets off even after being captured but when he tries again to kill, Harry is there to take him down for good. Do you feel lucky!

Magnum Force: Major criminals are being killed and Harry is on the case. After preventing terrorists hijacking a plane and taking out robbers, Harry is ready to concentrate on the case and is shocked to find it is cops who are responsible. For once, Harry is exactly what the criminals need!

The Enforcer: After the usual setpieces to whet the appetite (this time, Harry has to take care of a conman and then deals with more robbers), Harry has to investigate a terrorist group who are causing problems. With the help of an African American Martin Luther King-like leader, Harry is able to gather information and stop the terrorist group's kidnap of the Mayor of San Francisco.

Sudden Impact: The first 3 films were made in 1971, 1973 and 1976. 8 years later, this film came about in 1984. The film featured 2 parallel stories: the first was Harry's series of shootouts with agents of a gangland figure who got a heart attack after Harry appeared at his table. The other is a woman killing a series of men. It transpires that she is a gang rape victim and when Harry is assigned to the case, he finds out it is her who is killing these men and instead of turning her in, he joins forces with her and finishes off the last rapist who also happens to work for the gangsters Harry is dealing with. He pins all the murders on that last man.

The Dead Pool: Not to be confused with Deadpool. This film from 1988 is the last Harry film to date. It is underrated in my view and is in its own way as good as the previous 4. While the gangster agents v Harry shootouts are a copy of the Sudden Impact plot, the whodunnit murder mystery is a new one for Harry. The murders are inspired by a guess which celeb will die game called the dead pool. We are lead to believe for a long time that the murders are carried out by a horror film maker (played by a young Liam Neeson). Instead, it is a deranged fan of the film maker.

I then got to thinking about this current era of the reboot, revisit and remake. Will we see a new Dirty Harry film? If we did, what format would it take? Set today as a reboot? A continuation in the 1970s or 1980s? And who would play Harry? I cannot see anyone who could replace Clint here at all. But then again I thought no one but Mel Gibson could do Mad Max until Tom Hardy proved otherwise. I was not around when the early Bonds were first released so have been used to various Bonds but some of the diehard Connery fans who were there to see the original releases of his classic Bonds love Timothy Dalton and Daniel Craig too. So, is there another Dirty Harry out there? I hope so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

The last Dirty Harry Film came out in 2008.It was originally called Dirty Harry: The Retirement Years, but the studio decided to change the title to Gran Torino.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Originally Frank Sinatra was going to be Dirty Harry which sounds quite mad until you remember he had some success as Tony Rome a couple of years earlier. Still one can only imagine the texture and tone would have been somewhat different with Ol' Blue Eyes (but no he wouldn't demand to sing the theme!). The role was then turned down by Robert Mitchum and Burt Lancaster - you can see a trend - clearly Warner Bros were thinking middle aged to veteran cop. Others connected included Steve McQueen and Audie Murphy who Don Siegel knew for years as the as the Scorpio Killer.

DH is a artfully made film, the combination of elements is pretty much perfect but Magnum Force is pure brute er force by comparison esp the shootings at the pool party (curious that both the first two films feature them). Director Ted Post didn't do subtle (see Beneath the Planet of the Apes for further proof) but it rattles along and the cast of psycho cops is good.

The Enforcer is Dirty Harry's feminist phase, with future Cagney and Lacey star Tyne Daly in terrific feisty form as Harry's latest sidekick. Beyond that though it's pretty thin stuff.

I didn't like Sudden Impact at all I have to say - saw it in 1982 and have never felt the need to watch it properly again, but when I do catch a glimpse I'm struck by how grim/dark the visuals are which makes it looks very cheap.

The Dead Pool is actually quite good fun, Liam Neeson and the whole rock video part is amusing as is the car chase with a twist. It's no work of art but it'll pass the time.

As for remakes and/or franchise extensions (gawd help us) - no. What's the point? It is a surprise that there hasn't been any remakes and that can only be because Eastwood has enough clout to make sure such a notion doesn't become reality. Whoever takes on the role would need to be a newcomer, anyone else is doomed.

Its remarkable how many detective movies and shows have lifted scenes from the first Dirty Harry movie. Almost every scene in the film you can place in movies made afterwards.
    Don Siegal does for running chases what William Friedkin did for car chases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

I've seen all 5 films although the last two I've difficulty remembering.

First three were outstanding. My favorite of them all has to be Magnum Force, I thought David Soul and Hal Holbrook were brilliant. Holbrook manner in the film really stands out.

The airplane hijacking scene was one of many outstanding scenes in the franchise as well as the supermarket robbery shootout.

Nobody could forget about one of the main themes across all films is Harry Callahan's Smith & Wesson Model 29 .44 Magnum hand cannon. Even years later the .44 is still associated with him.

If it wasnt for these movies I'm of the belief that Clint Eastwood wouldn't have been as successful as he became in the 80s and 90s and even today. Even though he had already done the Dollars trilogy.

As for a reboot ? Absolutely not ! There are some movies out there that it could be done with and some have been successful to date but Dirty Harry is one not to touch. There is too much of a legacy attached to it. Its one of the old Hollywood's greats thats best left alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

The last Dirty Harry Film came out in 2008.It was originally called Dirty Harry: The Retirement Years, but the studio decided to change the title to Gran Torino.

I heard this too that Gran Torino was first meant to be a Dirty Harry film. It would have worked well as Clint's final Harry film and all as it is a great film too. But in the end they decided to go with a Polish American war veteran instead of Harry.
    Originally Frank Sinatra was going to be Dirty Harry which sounds quite mad until you remember he had some success as Tony Rome a couple of years earlier. Still one can only imagine the texture and tone would have been somewhat different with Ol' Blue Eyes (but no he wouldn't demand to sing the theme!). The role was then turned down by Robert Mitchum and Burt Lancaster - you can see a trend - clearly Warner Bros were thinking middle aged to veteran cop. Others connected included Steve McQueen and Audie Murphy who Don Siegel knew for years as the as the Scorpio Killer.

Yes. And John Wayne was mentioned too. Frank Sinatra would have done a good Harry in his own way as would Steve McQueen (he turned it down because he considered it too like Bullitt). Robert Mitchum would have carried it as well (his brother actually stars in many of them by the way) as would Burt Lancaster. But Clint got it and defined it.
    DH is a artfully made film, the combination of elements is pretty much perfect but Magnum Force is pure brute er force by comparison esp the shootings at the pool party (curious that both the first two films feature them). Director Ted Post didn't do subtle (see Beneath the Planet of the Apes for further proof) but it rattles along and the cast of psycho cops is good.

The first 2 Harry films are so ahead of their time and are excellent. I read that Elvis loved both these films too. The Scorpio guy in the first film was crazy. What was his motive and background? The fact that he was a wimpy looking guy who was a total coward when the violence turned on him only added to his evil. Who is the girl he first shoots? I would think his ex and that's what started his descent into terrorism and then he felt he could make some cash via extortion.

In Magnum Force, it is obvious we have a group of cops who look up to (and misjudge) Harry and go out killing major criminals. The theme here was that while Harry may have unorthodox ways, he was a good man and a good cop.
    The Enforcer is Dirty Harry's feminist phase, with future Cagney and Lacey star Tyne Daly in terrific feisty form as Harry's latest sidekick. Beyond that though it's pretty thin stuff.

The Enforcer was the first Harry film I ever saw and was a fan ever since. I must say I enjoyed it but the first 2 are even better. The death of Tyne Daly's character, potentially Harry's near future girlfriend, gave the climax a revenge flavour.
    I didn't like Sudden Impact at all I have to say - saw it in 1982 and have never felt the need to watch it properly again, but when I do catch a glimpse I'm struck by how grim/dark the visuals are which makes it looks very cheap.

I love Sudden Impact and it its clever use of the 2 stories and how they are brought together in the end is good.
    The Dead Pool is actually quite good fun, Liam Neeson and the whole rock video part is amusing as is the car chase with a twist. It's no work of art but it'll pass the time.

My main problem with The Dead Pool is it is way too short! The villain was a horrible person and got the end he deserved. Liam's film director character Peter Swan was cleverly used as the main suspect and the car chase is good. A young and serious Jim Carrey features as the rock singer (Axl Rose does the singing as the song is the Guns n Roses classic Welcome To The Jungle, the song that Love/Hate's Nidge wanted at his funeral: I hope Nidge is not dead btw and comes back in season 6) too.
    As for remakes and/or franchise extensions (gawd help us) - no. What's the point? It is a surprise that there hasn't been any remakes and that can only be because Eastwood has enough clout to make sure such a notion doesn't become reality. Whoever takes on the role would need to be a newcomer, anyone else is doomed.

It is surprising a remake has not happened. To me, it seems a role for just Clint. I would love to see a new Harry film but it would have to be done right. I know Clint is in his late 80s now but I guarantee he could still pull it off if he decided to do another one!
    Its remarkable how many detective movies and shows have lifted scenes from the first Dirty Harry movie. Almost every scene in the film you can place in movies made afterwards.
    Don Siegal does for running chases what William Friedkin did for car chases.

That is true. Everything from Lethal Weapon to Miami Vice to Magnum PI to the first Mad Max film to Die Hard to Sledgehammer (a Harry spoof) were influenced in some way by Dirty Harry.
    I've seen all 5 films although the last two I've difficulty remembering.

First three were outstanding. My favorite of them all has to be Magnum Force, I thought David Soul and Hal Holbrook were brilliant. Holbrook manner in the film really stands out.

The airplane hijacking scene was one of many outstanding scenes in the franchise as well as the supermarket robbery shootout.

I agree. These 3 films were so far ahead of their time and influential. The 2 scenes you mention are excellent.
    Nobody could forget about one of the main themes across all films is Harry Callahan's Smith & Wesson Model 29 .44 Magnum hand cannon. Even years later the .44 is still associated with him.

If it wasnt for these movies I'm of the belief that Clint Eastwood wouldn't have been as successful as he became in the 80s and 90s and even today. Even though he had already done the Dollars trilogy.

As for a reboot ? Absolutely not ! There are some movies out there that it could be done with and some have been successful to date but Dirty Harry is one not to touch. There is too much of a legacy attached to it. Its one of the old Hollywood's greats thats best left alone.

The .44 with Harry along with the Walther PPK with James Bond are probably the 2 most famous man and gun partnerships ever. I think Harry made Clint famous outside of the Westerns. His Western classics combined with Harry is what made him what he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The first three are very good, with the excellent 'Dirty Harry' and 'Magnum Force' being the best of the series. 'Sudden Impact' and 'The Dead Pool' aren't really that good, with the latter film, 'The Dead Pool' being particularly awful and a former, 'The Enforcer', featuring some truly laughable 70's style movie "terrorists".

A reboot would be an awful idea though. Harry belongs in the 70's, even if he was ridiculous then. A 'Dirty Harry' today would just be farcical and destined to end up like most remakes/reboots...largely impotent and stinking up the memory of the originals.

Special mention should go to Lalo Schifrin's music for the first two pictures too. Great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

love the series................. Dirty Harry is one of my favorite films of all time...

Another Clint film I love is Coogan's Bluff..

Tony EH wrote: »
    The first three are very good, with the excellent 'Dirty Harry' and 'Magnum Force' being the best of the series. 'Sudden Impact' and 'The Dead Pool' aren't really that good, with the latter film being particularly awful and the former featuring some truly laughable 70's style movie "terrorists".

A reboot would be an awful idea though. Harry belongs in the 70's, even if he was ridiculous then. A 'Dirty Harry' today would just be farcical and destined to end up like most remakes/reboots...largely impotent and stinking up the memory of the originals.

Special mention should go to Lalo Schifrin's music for the first two pictures too. Great stuff.

Top music as you say, really like Schifrin's style, as for Harry being a 70s figure, well Donald Trump is about to become the President of the USA.

Tony EH wrote: »
    The first three are very good, with the excellent 'Dirty Harry' and 'Magnum Force' being the best of the series. 'Sudden Impact' and 'The Dead Pool' aren't really that good, with the latter film being particularly awful and the former featuring some truly laughable 70's style movie "terrorists".

The Enforcer was the one with the terrorist group. Sudden Impact is the one with the rape victim killing her attackers and Harry in shootouts with gangster's henchmen. The latter was also part of The Dead Pool.

Some reboots have been desperate, while others have been a success. I think a Harry reboot will happen and I'd welcome it if it is done properly. A new Dirty Harry that captures the greatness of the originals and of the standard of other great revisits or reboots like Mad Max Fury Road, Casino Royale or The Dark Knight would be very welcome indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭mikeoneilly

Magnum force is my favourite

The scene where Callaghan shoots a good guy in the combat contest is class

Hall Holbrook who plays Briggs is 91 and acting at least until recently

Magnum Force is a great film. I think the twist at the end where Briggs was the main baddie all along was clever.

Whatever about a movie there's an opening for a similar themed TV show imo

Definitely 1980s cop series Miami Vice and TJ Hooker were modeled on the Harry films.

And of course we got a Dirty Harry series: sort of!!:

The Enforcer was the one with the terrorist group. Sudden Impact is the one with the rape victim killing her attackers and Harry in shootouts with gangster's henchmen. The latter was also part of The Dead Pool.

Some reboots have been desperate, while others have been a success. I think a Harry reboot will happen and I'd welcome it if it is done properly. A new Dirty Harry that captures the greatness of the originals and of the standard of other great revisits or reboots like Mad Max Fury Road, Casino Royale or The Dark Knight would be very welcome indeed.

Yeh, that post didn't come out quite right. In my defence, it was nearly half three and I was hammered.

Yeh, Holbrook was one of those great "man in the suit" type character actors. A real face of the 70's, that turned up on TV all the way through my childhood in the 80's.

Check him out in 'Capricorn One'. Another great 70's film.

And of course we got a Dirty Harry series: sort of!!:

I see your 'Sledge Hammer' and raise you a 'Hunter'... ;)

Of course, that was deliberate. Harry was taking note that it was cop who was doing the killings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Exeggcute

Axl, Slash and Duff make cameos in The Dead Pool. Slash has a hilarious scene with a harpoon :D

Love the entire series.

A Modern Dirty Harry?

In the era of safe spaces and all that bollix it would be great but no doubt it would be hijacked by some do gooder brigade who would ruin it.

Any film would be PG12 probably!

Does that make The Rookie a DH film in all but name? (Tightrope was New Orleans and Block was too dark a figure to be considered a Dirty Harry non de plume)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Wedwood

Does that make The Rookie a DH film in all but name? (Tightrope was New Orleans and Block was too dark a figure to be considered a Dirty Harry non de plume)

Point taken, I suppose it highlights how similar Eastwood's cop characters were. He made Tightrope a year after Sudden Impact, where he'd uttered the immortal 'go ahead, make my day' line, so comparisons with Dirty Harry became perhaps inevitable.

On Gran Torino, the similarities with Dirty Harry was more obvious and it was impossible to watch the movie without comparing 'Walt' to Callaghan.

Ps: bit of trivia: Albert Popwell who played the injured bank robber in Dirty Harry ('do feel lucky punk'), appeared as different characters in 4 of the 5 Dirty Harry movies, he wasn't available for The Dead Pool.

Wedwood wrote: »
    Point taken, I suppose it highlights how similar Eastwood's cop characters were. He made Tightrope a year after Sudden Impact, where he'd uttered the immortal 'go ahead, make my day' line, so comparisons with Dirty Harry became perhaps inevitable.

On Gran Torino, the similarities with Dirty Harry was more obvious and it was impossible to watch the movie without comparing 'Walt' to Callaghan.

Ps: bit of trivia: Albert Popwell who played the injured bank robber in Dirty Harry ('do feel lucky punk'), appeared as different characters in 4 of the 5 Dirty Harry movies, he wasn't available for The Dead Pool.

Albert Popwell was Big Ed Mustapha, the African American leader who helps Harry with information, in The Enforcer. He was a cop ally of Harry as well in Sudden Impact.

The Gauntlet was another Clint Eastwood cop film. I haven't seen that one in years. IIRC that was very like Dirty Harry too.

Exeggcute wrote: »
    Axl, Slash and Duff make cameos in The Dead Pool. Slash has a hilarious scene with a harpoon :D

Love the entire series.

A Modern Dirty Harry?

In the era of safe spaces and all that bollix it would be great but no doubt it would be hijacked by some do gooder brigade who would ruin it.

The scene with Axl, Slash and Duff was cool. It is a great series and are the perfect cop thrillers and are what cop thrillers should be.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 299 ✭✭Old Bill

Wedwood wrote: »

Eastwood has a limited range he plays the same hardman character in just about every film hes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭MillField

I love Dirty Harry, one of my favourite Eastwood films. Andy Robinsons performance as sniper Scorpio has to be singled out as one of the best psychopaths in film. It's impossible not to hate him in it!

As for the others in the Dirty Harry series, I'm ashamed to say that I've never seen them. They need to go on my list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

^^^^
    If you like the first you'll love the second one even better.

Of course, that was deliberate. Harry was taking note that it was cop who was doing the killings.

I don't recall that as deliberate. I must have it wrong

Didn't he borrow the gun after and use it to check the slugs later

Old Bill wrote: »
    Eastwood has a limited range he plays the same hardman character in just about every film hes in.

So you've not seen The Beguiled, Honkytonk Man and White Hunter, Black Heart then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

If you remade Dirty Harry today the minute he'd shoot someone the rest of film would have him in and out of internal affairs hearings

/\

Which, in fairness, would be far more realistic, both for the 70's and now. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

So you've not seen The Beguiled, Honkytonk Man and White Hunter, Black Heart then?

Bridges of Madison County for feck's sake!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Ah lads....I was going through the channels last night and what was on only Dirty Harry!

I hadn't really recalled that the main plot is quite short and that is built around a few random scenes like Harry wandering onto the middle of a bank heist etc.

I had also forgotten that the villain is played by the same actor who played Garak in Deep Space Nine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 299 ✭✭Old Bill

No but I think its fair to say that Eastwood is more of a movie star than an actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭fluke

Old Bill wrote: »
    No but I think its fair to say that Eastwood is more of a movie star than an actor.

Hogwash to his limited acting talent. He plays a very against type character in Play Misty For Me.

/\

He's not exactly stretching his talent though. He has a limited range. But, it's an enjoyable range within his small limit. He'd probably be the first to say it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Love the first two Harry films, both are classic's and have great villains for Harry to track down. Andrew Robinson as Scorpio is a fantastic villain, the bus scene when he's slapping around a few kids is crazy. Clint Eastwood was born to play this role, and is the right side of cool to pull off what could be a dislikeable character. The Soundtrack by Lalo Schifrin is a classic. The sequel Magnum Force is probably more brutal and Harry is somewhat more vulnerable in it, written by Michael Cimino (I think he got the job for the fantastic Tunderbolt and Lightfoot cause of his job on this) and John Milius. You have greta performances from the villains and Hal Holbrook is fantastic as well. The last third is fantastic and it's the first film when one of Harry's partner's dies.

Have a soft spot for The Enforcer, Eastwood and Tyne Daly (pre Cagney and Lacy) have great chemistry. Shows a more human side of Harry. The Villains aren't as strong as pervious and the film does have it lulls but it's the last truly great Dirty Harry film in the series.

Sudden Impact and The Dead Pool (the first Harry film I saw, only good for the crazy Jim Carrey miming to Welcome to the Jungle bit, and Liam Neeson hanging about). But you could tell Clint was doing these for the pay check.

Overall a strong franchise aside from the last two films.

Looper007 wrote: »
    Love the first two Harry films, both are classic's and have great villains for Harry to track down. Andrew Robinson as Scorpio is a fantastic villain, the bus scene when he's slapping around a few kids is crazy. Clint Eastwood was born to play this role, and is the right side of cool to pull off what could be a dislikeable character. The Soundtrack by Lalo Schifrin is a classic. The sequel Magnum Force is probably more brutal and Harry is somewhat more vulnerable in it, written by Michael Cimino (I think he got the job for the fantastic Tunderbolt and Lightfoot cause of his job on this) and John Milius. You have greta performances from the villains and Hal Holbrook is fantastic as well. The last third is fantastic and it's the first film when one of Harry's partner's dies.

Have a soft spot for The Enforcer, Eastwood and Tyne Daly (pre Cagney and Lacy) have great chemistry. Shows a more human side of Harry. The Villains aren't as strong as pervious and the film does have it lulls but it's the last truly great Dirty Harry film in the series.

Sudden Impact and The Dead Pool (the first Harry film I saw, only good for the crazy Jim Carrey miming to Welcome to the Jungle bit, and Liam Neeson hanging about). But you could tell Clint was doing these for the pay check.

Overall a strong franchise aside from the last two films.

The first 2 Harry films are so ahead of their time. Scorpio is a great and mad evil villain. In the second film, the rogue cops element (much copied in series and films afterwards) and the surprise that Briggs was the main man was very inventive. The Enforcer is very good as well and once again so ahead of its time.

I like Sudden Impact and The Dead Pool too. Admittedly they are not as innovative as the first 3 and by the 1980s I guess the Dirty Harry persona was copied left right and centre by other films and TV series.